OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S4 Mini Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini

Otterbox Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini

The Commuter Series case for Galaxy S4 Mini provides slim and rugged protection for your device.
Average Customer Rating:
4.585 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Review 1 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:July 1, 2014
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like the design. Protection without being bulky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Phone Case

Date:June 25, 2014
Location: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I really like my new otterbox. It was very easy to put on and definately protects my phone. (I have already dropped it on cement). My only problem is that it only comes in white and black. I really wanted a pink one. :(
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

S4 Mini Commuter

Date:June 24, 2014
Location: New Mexico
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like this case. I purchased it after having the Commuter and Defender on my previous two phones. The fact that the case's outer cover is plastic is great. It allows it to easily be put into my pocket. Plus its much thinner than the Defender. The rubber portion seems to not be as rigid as previous versions. Whether that's a good thing, we will soon find out. Overall its a great case.
I wish there were more options as far as colors and types of cases go for this phone....
Pros: High quality
Cons: not many options as colors go
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great size case but screen protector not so great

Date:June 20, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Like the case very much small but still protects. Just wish that the screen protector was better. I could not apply it correctly and had to cut down a larger Kindle protector from Marware that worked much better.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: needs a better screen protector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini

Date:June 16, 2014
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The hard plastic shell that holds the shock protection part in place on the phone is too "slippery." I had to put anti-friction tape (skateboard tape) on the plastic to reduce the chance of it slipping out of my hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Does a good job, but...

Date:June 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I bought 2 of these for my daughters ages 18 & 16. After about 5 months the rubber started shredding off both of them and one of them cracked at the top. I filed a claim for the cracked one and they sent me another one. I was going to file a claim on the other one, but my daughter said "why bother, if it's going to do the same thing?" All in all, they protect their phones well, and the replacement process wasn't difficult. It was just irritating to have to deal with. As expensive as they are, you don't expect them to start falling apart after 5 months.
Pros: protects well
Cons: poor quality rubber
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

My Samsung Mini is Safe

Date:May 27, 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Long before Otter Box made protection for phones, my dad had the cases sealing out water and protecting against ware and tear.
It is without doubt - that all my phones are covered by Otter Box - I have dropped my phone, had it flung across a room, slid across the floor - and the phone is just fine.
At some point, the plastic cracks - but better this than the phone!! I highly suggest this product if you care about your phone, and do not take risks with accidents.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish, sporty, rugged
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love It

Date:May 15, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case fits well, it seems to protect the phone very well. It came in the mail quickly. I couldn't ask for more.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Need More Colors

Date:May 7, 2014
Location: UT
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case is great. It fits like a glove and I feel my phone is protected. My only complaint is the lack of color options. My husband has the S4 and my daughter has the Moto G. They both have tons of color options while I have only Black or white and gray for the S4 mini. Not fair. I was hoping to pick out a nice cute case. The white and gray does look nice, but why does otterbox leave us S4 mini users out of color options?
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

SAMSUNG COMMUTER GALAXY S 4 MINI BLACK

Date:May 7, 2014
Location: North west PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
The Otterbox case for my mini fits well, does not make the phone clumsy and does not interfere in any way with the operation of all the phone feature. In fact it makes the volume and shutdown buttons a little less sensitive so I don't make unwanted changes or turn the phone back on when putting it in or removing it from my belt holster. I can't speak to the protection capabilities since I have not dropped my phone, but it does make the phone less slippery and will definitely provide more protection than the bare phone
Pros: High quality, great fit, easy to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great case

Date:May 1, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
great case i definitly would buy another otterbox, the case is also very tough ive dropped my phone a couple times and if it werent for the case my phone would be broken. im definitly glad i chose an otterbox!
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case

Date:April 25, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall it is a good case that does what it says. The only thing that I would suggest is for Otterbox to design a dock to work with their cases.
Pros: Durable
Cons: does not work with dock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox for S4 Mini

Date:April 15, 2014
Location: California
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Had a hard time finding a case or the S4 Mini. This is an excellant fit. Case is of high quality and feels good. Service with Otterbox was was excellant.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Screen Protector is a joke.

Date:April 7, 2014
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I like the case part but I cannot, for the life of me, get the sticky screen protector on without bubbles and stuff stuck on the inside it looks really bad! I have had two from the company. I do not usually have issues with this sort of thing, either. Find a case without a sticky screen protector if you can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case

Date:April 7, 2014
Location: Avon, OH
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is the best there is for protection. Yes, I have dropped the phone 4 feet onto my concrete garage floor and yes, the phone was still in perfect condition therafter. We are a business and put them on all our 40+ phones because of the superior level of protection Otterbox provides. Perhaps most importantly, Otterbox's customer service is stellar and they really stand behind the product. We had a case that became somewhat loose (after 18 months of use!) Otterbox mailed us a brand new case! Great product!
Pros: High quality, Durable, customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nice mini case: One flaw

Date:April 2, 2014
Location: Boston MA
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case was very easy to put on. It does not add bulk so it fits in my jeans' pocket (which was my hope).
One problem...I have a very difficult time charging my phone. The flex part of the case continues to obstruct and press against the plug so it is difficult to get a secure tight connection. It can be done but takes fiddling around for a while to do it.
Pros: Durable, not bulky
Cons: charging hindered by ill fitting opening in case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Protecting a new S4 Mini

Date:April 1, 2014
Location: McKinney, TX
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Purchased this great looking and fitting case for my youngest Sons S4 Mini. One slight problem was with the screen protector. Even better than the case is their customer service. I called requesting a new screen protector and they sent me a whole new case with the screen protector included. Now that's customer service!
Pros: High quality, Durable, great fit great protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter series case for galaxy s4mini

Date:March 27, 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I found it excellent,light,not to masculine. Would recommend it to other people.
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Not a great screen protector

Date:March 26, 2014
Your case definitely protects my phone! However, although I followed instructions, I still have little bubbles and dirt underneath my screen protector which makes it annoying to use my phone!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: screen protector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commuter Series Case for Galaxy S4 Mini
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:March 24, 2014
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
As Advertised....Great Product, a must for your smart phone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>