OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case

The Defender Series Galaxy S4 case is a multi-layer protective case that provides rugged protection for all those misadventures and mishaps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Review 1 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Almost a perfect product

Date:October 3, 2013
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have always looked to OtterBox to protect my phones knowing I will expose my phone to harsh environments and phone abuse. In the past absolutely no issues with the Defender series of cases. Sure some cases were bulky when used with the clip but I used the same case for the life of my phone in rain, snow, heat, dust, dirt, and numerous drops.
I have had a few new issues with the case for my S4 and Otterbox went above and beyond solving the issue. I wear my phone in the clip on my side while at work and the new case and clip would not make a definate click sound when mated. Serveral times a day my phone would fall from the clip and bounce off the ground. Luckily I never lost the phone but it was embarrassing have my phone go across the floor or to not realize I dropped it until I am half way across the parking lot. I made sure I was seating the 2 items together and it was not user error. OtterBox sent my a new case/ clip relativity quickly after contacting customer support. No mating issues with the new case so far and I am pleased.
The only other issue I have had with the case is perspiration or condensation getting stuck under the screen protector somewhat close to the large button at the bottom. Today it did not rain, the phone did not get wet, it was not humid, or did I sweat on the phone but I have a 1/4" size area of condensation sandwiched between the screen protector and the phone. It is somewhat annoying and I would be interested in hearing any sort of a solution.
I am happy with the protecting aspects that this case offers. The case for this model phone is not bulky or hard to use any of the buttons. If the condensation issue could be resolved with some sort of gasket material around the button this case would hit it out of the park.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

First Otterbox, never will be without one again!

Date:July 11, 2013
Location: NW Indiana
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Purchased the black Otterbox Defender case for my Samsung Galaxy S4. The hard portion of the case took a bit of doing to separate into its two halves...take your time and do as the instructional video advises. Once opened however, the S4 fit like the proverbial glove. The rubber outer case fits perfectly as well. The purchase the case gives to my hand is perfect, this will NOT slip out of my hand, no matter what!
Some reviewers have complained about losing their phone from the holster, it is very particular, that is true, but once the case is in, it is IN. No way will the phone fall out of the holster. Could it be designed to make alignment and insertion easier? I suppose so but I am not an engineer so I cannot say. If the owner takes an extra moment and feels the holster with his/her fingers it is apparent when the case is properly inserted. At the point of proper insertion, there is a tactile snap as it locks into place.
I, too, have noticed that dust and dirt do have a tendency to work their way under the openings in the front. When the screen becomes too annoying, I just remove the phone and clean the inside. Not a big deal, for me anyhow, YMMV.
Thanks, Otterbox for making such a fine case and keep up the great work!
Pros: High quality, Durable, great protection, fair price for what you get
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Protection Protection Protection

Date:October 14, 2013
Location: London
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I get enormous piece of mind that it is unlikely that I will damage my expensive Galaxy, thanks to the protection offered by this case.
My experience with Otterbox cases is that a lot of thought goes into the design, so that they fit suggly, allow access to all necessary buttons and provide a good layer of screen protection that wipes clean easily.
The various colours available allow you to have some fun personalising the cover.....pity many of the colours are not available in the UK at time of writing.
I must also give top marks to Otterbox customer service who replaced my cover which got damaged on a recent flight back from the US. Superb service.
The only negative is that as the case has so many bits to it, it can be a little tricky removing, which makes it time consuming to replace battery. A slight pain as my Galaxys power often doesnt last 12 hours and I need to carry a spare battery.
All in all, I'm a very happy customer.
Thank you!
Pros: High quality, Durable, top class customer service, nice choice of colour
Cons: takes time to change spare battery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

I like it...but...

Date:June 11, 2013
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The bad thing about this case is that the front button area is cut out rather than covered with the clear plastic. I have had this case a couple weeks and can already see where dust and grime is collecting around the button and moving up between the screen area and the cover. It's easy enough to clean (just take it apart and wipe), but little pieces of dirt cause scratches on the screen if you're not careful.
Also the thick side buttons require quite a bit of pressure for response by the phone. I'm hoping in time, the rubberized plastic will wear a bit.
Other than that, this case is solid. As other users have said, it does add a lot of bulk, but the protection against drops has been proven to me with 2 previous Otterboxes I've owned. By the way, the white and gray box looks sweet on the white S4.
Pros: High quality, Durable, color, sharp look
Cons: exposed front button, really thick side buttons, weight
+4points
13out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

just bought this case

Date:October 12, 2013
Location: Digos, Davao del Sur, Philippines
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
i just purchased this case yesterday. I live in the southern Philippines...a constantly hot, humid environment. Although the phone is pretty much sealed in the case, there are no condensation problems. At first I had a problem getting my phone out the case (the salesman installed the phone in the case), but on closer inspection vis a vis the little clips, everything went fine. In spite of a fortress like enclosure, you can take the phone out and reinstall quickly.
The belt clip is easy to use and it seems secure, though in this country it might be safer to keep your phone in your pocket....something relatively easily accomplished because the case (though it adds bulk) is not oversized.
I like the case. It seems bombproof; it's easy to get in and out of and it look cool too.
Pros: High quality, Durable, nice looking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case Ever!!!!

Date:June 29, 2013
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have been an Otterbox guy for about 4 years now, and have not been disappointed yet. I'm a merchant seaman, and have dropped my phone twice from about 3 decks onto non-skidded steel decks. Both times expecting to find a yard sale where my phone landed, only to find a couple of scratches on the outer shell. After having my Galaxy S4 for only three days in the defender case I dropped it 4 decks, and again found only a scratch on the outer shell. Those who have problems with the belt clip and loosing their phones, probably shouldn't have a smart phone anyway. Don't blame the case, blame the person. The T-Mobile people tried to sell me their "outterbox like" case, and I told them there is no other case I will put my phone in. Keep up the great work!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, high impact resistant
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Galaxy S4 Defender Holster needs some improvement

Date:June 2, 2013
Location: Newport News, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I’m a OTTERBOX fan & waited for the defender to come out for the S4. 1 week of using it, I‘m looking for something else. Issues found are the design. Holster has issues, the defender for the S3 is designed great but the S4 is different. When you put phone in the holster you have to lineup the 2 back corners perfect or you miss. The holster for the S3 has a long sided tray & phone fits right in place. You have to look at the S4 holster to line it up. Having these small corner tabs to hold it in place is weak and going to break off. The long side of the S3 holster would not do that. The click lock that holds S4 in place is very shallow & small, barely clicks in. Have to tug on S4 to make sure it is secure.
Pros: Durable
Cons: poor design
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A MUST BUY

Date:August 7, 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
If you've decided to invest in a Samsung Galaxy S4, it is essential that you protect your phone and buy an OtterBox.
When I decided to purchase my phone, I asked the sales person what the biggest complaint was and he said "repairing cracked screens". Unfortunately, they're fragile, expensive to replace (even with insurance), and accidents happen. The first thing I did was buy an OtterBox; I'm glad that I did because I just dropped my new phone and it is still in its original pristine condition. These phones are extremely expensive and while the OtterBox is more than I would normally spend on a cell phone case (I'm a frugal shopper), it is well worth the value. I highly recommend that you buy one!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no cons!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case, Great Cause!

Date:April 25, 2014
Location: Greenville, SC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have already field tested my case via leaving my phone on the roof of the car and sending it skidding many feet down the asphalt. The case didn't even scratch.
The in box instructions for putting the case on the phone could have been better, but the video on the website was perfectly clear and helpful.
I didn't think I would use the little stand property of the belt clip, but I find that I am using it to set my message app up in front of my second monitor while working at my computer.
It is a huge bonus that my purchase supports a cause that is very close to my heart, and the logo on it has prompted a few inquiries from people that have seen me out and about with it.
Overall a great product!
Pros: High quality, Durable, supports a great cause.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Why put a hole in a Defender series case???

Date:August 11, 2013
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have used otterbox for a long time with my iPhones previously. Switched to the S4 and immediately placed it in a defender series. WHY is there a hole in the front for the home button?? No one could come up with a better approach? I live in a very humid climate and moisture collects under the screen cover around this button hole DAILY requiring me to take it apart and clean my phone. Besides the fact that this feature makes it completely useless towards spill protection. C'mon Otterbox, you're better than this.. On the plus side, it still has the same drop protection we all enjoy. PLEASE come up with a solution soon.. I dont want to damage this phone waiting for a hole to be sealed.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

SAMSUNG GALAXY S4 DEFENDER SERIES (YELLOW & BLACK)

Date:June 16, 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have purchased and tested a Samsung S4 defender series Otter box case for over 3 weeks time frame. So far it has been doing it's job!
CONS:
☆Good construction thickness, size & weight
☆Decent grip feel for one handed operation
☆Cover flaps protection for majority inputs on device
☆ Can withstand a 14 feet drop without breaking the case!
PROS:
☆No cover flap for IR Port nor LED notifications & front facing camera
☆Built-in screen protector does not cover the home button
☆Silicon body cover decent material
☆Belt clip hostler decent design and workmanship
☆No cover flap for rear primary camera
Overall I am pretty satisfied with my choice of Otter box case and colour.
-19points
4out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Sweet Case

Date:May 23, 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love the case. The design is incredible and I am no longer nervous about using my phone. I know that if it drops, its going to be okay. The phone response through the case is amazing and I am quite happy. I have been an Otterbox customer for about 3 years now; have a case for my ipad too, and nothing has ever happened to my devices.
The only thing that I wish that could be better, is the screen protecter. I cleaned the screen on my samsung S4 before putting on the protector and dust still happens to get under it. Not sure why it happens, but I give it swipe every now and then and its good as new. GREAT John Deere design too.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dust on and under screen protecter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good protection for an expensive phone.

Date:May 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Got this case in black for my Galaxy S4. Time from order to receipt of case was 7 days. The case fits the phone like a glove and gives it a more beefy, substantial feel in my hand. I have heard some complain that the Defender adds too much bulk - but personally I like the added grip and heft it gives the phone. I can tell with this case my phone is well protected - I have already impacted and scuffed the case a couple of times - impacts and scuffs my expensive S4 would have taken. I consider the Defender to be like an addition to phone insurance. All in all I'm satisfied & happy with this purchase.
Pros: High quality, Durable, fits like a glove, looks good
Cons: no cons yet
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing case

Date:September 2, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had this phone case for about two months now. I have dropped this phone many of times and it has fallen in a puddle of water and the phone did not break and is still in its original condition. Just a few days ago I dropped the phone while in the case from a very high place and there was no damage to the phone nor the case. I know that there is a specific height at which the case is effective. I dropped my phone while in the case aprox 30+ Ft at that time i have come to a realize that this is an amazing case and i differently recommend this to others.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: falls off clip a bit too much
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Guaranty you will lose your phone

Date:June 8, 2013
Location: Newmarket, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This is by far the worst phone case and holster I have ever had. I bought the case on Wednesday and lost my brand new Samsung Galaxy S4 on Saturday (fell off the holster at the Walmart store). your phone will easily fall off the holster and you won't even know it. I've had 6 other cell phones before and used different cases and never lost a phone. Do yourself a favour and buy a cheap case and stay away from this brand. I will guaranty you won't regret it. If you decide to buy this case be ready to lose it or insure your phone for any sort of loss.
Pros: nothing positive
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, losing your phone
-69points
6out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Defender for Galaxy S4

Date:September 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I purchased my Galaxy S4, I bought the Defender from the Sprint store upon the recommendation of the Sprint assistant. This is the best phone case I have ever owned. Some people have made the comment that their phone has fallen out of the case. When the phone is correctly mounted, I find this is not true. If the phone is facing into the case, the side with the volume keys will engage the keeper much more solidly. If the phone is facing out, the side with the on/off button is a better engagement with the keeper.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case couple flaws would buy another!

Date:May 28, 2013
Location: North Canton OH
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love the case have had it for about a month now but there are 2 things I've had issues with but not a big deal to me.... This is the biggest issue and a odd one if you talk to someone else with a Galaxy S4 otterbox case you have a echo of urself no matter what i've tested this on S4s and it can't be more true wife and mom have S4s with otterboxes anybody else I talk to no issues. I am not complaining just informing of somethings i've came across... protects the phone belt clip is a big plus for me love it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
-13points
1out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 18, 2013
Location: McNabb, IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Love the colors in it, but hate how fast they rubbed off / faded. Had my case for approximately 5 weeks before all the color started to come off. Told otter box about it and they sent me a new one. My new case has been doing okay so far. I did take a picture comparing the 2 cases when my new one came in so if product research would like to see it I can send it to them. One other item that I am not happy with is when I plug my phone in to charge it then the bottom of my case gets loose and starts to pop off.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great product, image faded quickly

Date:November 25, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love this case, don't get me wrong. It incorporates my two favorite colors, green and pink, in great design. However, about two months after I bought the product, the design was almost completely faded. Outterbox was very understanding about this and sent me a new one. I received the new case within a week and so far, the design has not faded. For the customer service of Outterbox and durability of the product, I would recommend this product to another person.
Pros: Durable, screen protector
Cons: pattern faded quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Galaxy S4 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Galaxy S4

Date:October 1, 2013
Location: New York
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Just got the case with my new phone and found it designed well but a little bulky due to the size of the phone. There is one problem. it will only hold the phone in when I turn the phone upside down. If I put the phone in with the screen facing in or out the same problem. One way it just falls out and turning it 180 degrees it holds tight. Someone else I know got the same case at the same time and has the same problem. Have not contacted customer service yet.
Pros: Durable
Cons: catch on one side fails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>