OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy Note 2 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case

Don't let your new Galaxy Note 2 go naked a day without a case. Get protection that inspires confidence with the Defender Series Galaxy Note 2 case from OtterBox
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(473 Reviews) 473
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (473 reviews)
5 stars
309
4 stars
105
3 stars
28
2 stars
18
1 star
13
427 out of 473(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

BAD design, low quality compared to other OtterBox

Date:April 16, 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Summary:
Overall, very disappointed with the quality of this case, not worth the price in my opinion. It will protect your phone from a drop for sure, but it will drive you crazy with having to clean under the protector (due to the gaping home key hole) and the rubber outer layer will deform over time, not to mention the kick stand (also belt clip) will break for sure, even with minimal usage.
Details:
I have been a VERY VERY pleased customer with OtterBox cases in the past as I've literally had them for every single device I have owned, ranging from HTC's, Samsung's, iPod's etc. And I ALWAYS recommended them to everyone. HOWEVER, I cannot stress enough on how poorly engineered this specific Defender series case is for the Galaxy Note II. I just CANNOT recommend it at all.
1 - The case has a gaping hole on the home-button, Allowing ALL sorts of dust particles, dirt, and gunk to get stuck under the screen protector and spread all over your screen slowly as you use the phone normally. I find myself cracking open the case at least ONCE a week to clean it internally and wipe the screen and make sure its clean again. It even made me SO reluctant to use the home button because I know by using it, I will end up opening the case and cleaning it sooner or later.
2 - The "Kick Stand" / Belt Clip is very stiff to use as a kick stand, 2 weeks into normal usage (placing the phone on my desk at work) it broke, and I can no longer use it as a kick stand anymore. The plastic lock clip that holds it in place as a kick stand (open clip position) snapped. Perhaps if it was made from aluminum or some sort of metal the lock clip would have survived much much longer. It is a weak point which WILL break under normal usage, and render the kick-stand feature unusable very quickly. Note: Belt clip still works, just no longer usable as a kick stand.
3 - Since I have to open the case up and disassemble it every once a while to clean under the screen protector on almost weekly basis, the case in general starts getting very loose once you take it on and off so many times. It starts creaking and making ugly sounds when held in hand.
4 - The rubber outer layer stretches with normal usage (unlike any other OtterBox case I've ever used) and becomes extremely ugly and not secure in place as the corners stop fitting in and latching to the plastic case properly. So it starts to look like the rubber layer is falling off the corners. The back of the rubber outer layer started looking like a huge bubble and was no longer a snug fit, now feels very cheap and not premium at all. At the current price of this case I'd expect this not to happen at all. It happens partially due to the amount of times you need to remove the case and put it back on for cleaning purposes (stated earlier), but I also think the material used is to blame.
5 - When I first got the case and put it on for the first time, the screen protector was a bit bigger than the screen surface area, causing it to bend outwards creating a gap between it and the screen itself. This made touching the screen harder (since you had to depress the protector enough to reach the screen first). This somewhat fixed itself over time with usage and the screen protector shrunk to size eventually. However, I've never faced this with previous OtterBox cases at all. It seems like a QA engineering issue to me. The build tolerances are not sung-fit enough, especially with the outer rubber layer.
All in all, if you MUST have it, keep in mind that you will face these issues for sure. Perhaps ripping off the built-in screen protector and installing a stick-on screen protector instead would eliminate most of the issues above. But in my opinion that defies the purpose of this snap-on case.
Take it from an engineer!
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Barely worth the money

Date:January 24, 2013
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Protection:
all in all its great, feels real sturdy and tight in the case. i just dont like how the home button is open, ive had water get in and with the tight case the water filled all the little areas and basically covered the inside of my phone with water because of it. my phone is fine but no thanks to the case. thats why i gave it a good review.
Design:
lets start with the screen protector, for the first 2 weeks i had it, it popped up like 1/8". that's not much, but its alot when you play games that require perfect timing or pretty much every form of messaging. i could lightly slide my finger over the screen protector and not effect the phone. but now i think it must have warped a little to be more flush with the screen from the heat, so its alot better now. also the button at the bottom leaves an opening for pretty much anything to slide under the screen protector. so prepair to take your case apart at least once a week to clean it. this time around they added little buttons that you can press in to unlock the plastic part of the case so you don't have to worry about breaking the clips like i have had happen with other otter box cases. the plastic inner case has a foam mat in it to provide more protection, so that was a nice addition.
the rubber outer layer has gotten worse in my opinion. maybe they wanted it to be easier to put in and take out of pockets. before i couldnt push my phone across my desk, i had to pick it up and move it. it sucked, but i rarely ever dropped my phone because it would never slide off a surface. with this one, not so much. i can easily slide it across my desk. not good. also, the rubber plugs that plug up the power charger and the 3.5mm headphone jack is kinda hard to take out. you really need to get a good angle on it to pop it open with 1 finger, i don't like that. the s pen opening is good though, they did that just right i think.
last but not least, the buttons. the case does not line up correctly. i don't know what the deal is, but i cant seem to push the power button or the up volume button with this case, i really need wiggle it around while pushing down to get to it, seriously annoying. these are the reasons i give it a fair reivew.
Quality:
I don't know much about quality of materials, but from what i can tell it all seems to be pretty good. the rubber doesn't seem to have any wear and tear on it. i just dont like how the rubber feels, kind of plasticy. that's probably why the phone doesn't stick to surfaces really well. thats why i gave it a good reivew.
All in all i had a evo 4g before my note 2. the otter box case for that phone was almost perfect. its only problem was that if you try to take the case apart, you had a good chance of breaking the little clips that hold the plastic case together. other then that the protection was epit. ive spilt coffee, booz, soda, you name it. my phone never had a problem. with this case i feel that i dont have as much protection. and for this much $$$ i expect to get the best, and that's just not what i got here.
Pros: Durable, tight fit, looks good
Cons: bad design, buttons don't work
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent case with minor flaws.

Date:July 23, 2014
Location: Smithfield, VA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I'm doing this review on a replacement I received, but within the next few days I will be ordering the Defender Surf case for the Note 3 I was just upgraded to, so that should be some testament to the great quality of how well their cases are. When I first purchased my Note 2, after reading many reviews & talking to owner's of the Otterbox brands, this has been the only case I've used since owning the phone. I'm an active person between my work & personal life so I do a lot of climbing, crawling, getting it snagged in seat belts, & constantly bumping into things & this case has held up to all of it. I've dropped my phone on several occasions from various heights, even face down on gravel surfaces, closed it in doors, stepped on & ran over, all without any complications. The comfort of the rubberized slip that fits around the hard case is awesome since I have a such a large phone it makes it very easy to grip, because without it the phone feels like it wants to fly out of my hand like a bar of soap. The only beefs I'd say with the Defender series would be the built-in screen protector, belt clip, & color options. I think the screen protector should be an optional/add on item which could & should lower the overall price, some people like them but I am not one. Many times the built-in protector leaves a gap between itself & the phone screen allowing dust & dirt to become trapped between them & presents the ability to get scratches. Also the thickness of the protector sometimes interferes with the phone's touch sensitivity. I prefer the Defender series because it comes with a holster since the size of my phone is kind of bulky to just carry around in my pocket, especially with a case on it. The downside is if it's dropped with the case in it to provide added weight something on it will probably break, along with the lock for the kickstand feature if used too much. I think the material for it should possibly be made out of a little softer material to maybe withstand some of the daily abuse it's designed for. Lastly I'd like to see at least some of the Galaxy series offer a mix & match option for color choices. The current colors provided aren't bad but personally I'd match different colored components to what I'd like if I could, hey Otterbox not everyone owns an iPhone! Overall I'm very pleased with my product & would give it 5 stars if not for the screen protector & holster, I'm not too happy with the pricing at times but for the quality & not having to worry about buying another case if it breaks or damaged is definitely worth the investment.
Pros: High quality, Durable, replacement warranty
Cons: holster durability, screen protector, color options, pricing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

alternative to clear protective screen

Date:December 21, 2012
Location: midwest
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case, I have used for all my phones, just ordered "Defender" for the GN2
Performance Recommendation (possible product improvement idea)
I have seen in other reviews (and experienced the same), where the OtterBox clear cover (adhered to the shroud with double-sided tape) contains a considerable gap between the built-in screen protector and the actual surface of the phone - where, the touch screen performance is less than desirable (compared to a screen protector that adheres flat over the touch screen).
So, here is what I did.
1. Remove (carefully) the defender's clear screen protector. It should peel off. Be sure to use your thumb to remove residual double-sided tape used to adhere the clear screen protector to the rest of the defender shroud. Basically, what you are left with is a screen-protectorless defender unit - this is ok...
2. Using a clear / anti-glare protector of your choice, put that on the phone. do what you can to make it bubble free. notably the iVisor anti-glare is a bubble-free product.
Comment: for me, I prefer to use the iVisor antiglare, though it does not seat flat on the touch screen (edge-based adhesion) it has minimal to no issues with performance.
3. Re-assemble the OtterBox defender around your phone.
Finally,
What you are left with is a Defender setup where the screen protector is better matched to the phone - no touch performance issues.
I have found with all other units I have assembled that the gap between the edge of the shroud and the new screen protector is compressed comfortably, providing a similar water/liquid resistive feature to the original setup. It actually lends itself to easier cleaning.
So, in the end, I get full performance of the touch screen and the protection of the Defender Series...
In the end, there are no "Cons" per say, the issue with the screen protector I do not give a ding as it is a personal preference - passing along the suggestion to others.
Pros: High quality, Durable, grippable
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The Best Case

Date:October 18, 2013
Location: Leesburg, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is my second Otter case. The Defender case itself transforms the phone from a large device to one that brings up questions from friends and family along the lines of "What is that?" "Is that your phone?". To telling jokes, "I see you brought your laptop". This will happen especially if you clip this monster on any belt. Fun stuff aside. The belt clip/holder doubles as a stand that makes setting the phone down flat on a desk or table a thing of the past. This is my favorite feature. It is also the downfall of the design. The small piece of plastic that holds the belt clip in the open position cracks or breaks off easily, making it difficult 'but not impossible' to stand the phone on its side. After contacting the folks at Otter, they promptly sent me an entire new case and holder (not necessary but very pleased). But after a few weeks with my replacement case the plastic tab that holds the clip open has cracked once again and is probably only days or weeks away from breaking off entirely. I will not be contacting Otter for another replacement, They did their job offering a full blown 100% replacement. I would rather Otter put more time/money and effort into fixing this problem. Maybe it needs a thicker spring mechanism instead of a thinner, static retaining design. See photo of original damage.
But other then that. The case itself will protect the phone and front screen from all sorts of minor falls and scratches. This case is all but worthy of its Defender name. This is not the last phone I will have and it will certainly not be the last Otter case that I buy. Now if only my wife would of had one when she tripped and fell and cracked her galaxy S4. I am certain the Defender would of protected that mishap, but not everyone will have the foresight to purchase or use one.
Pros: the best for now
Cons: design flaw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Expect to replace every 6 months

Date:September 11, 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Pros:
•The screen protector is made of durable plastic unlike the flimsy adhesive-backed sheet protectors you can purchase elsewhere. It is very durable and won't scratch easily. An occasional cleaning between the front screen protector and phone is still needed since dust particles still find their way behind the screen protector every once in a while.
•Superior damage protection from everyday accidental drops and fumbles.
•The belt clip can be used as a stand/support for viewing when the phone is holstered facing you. This comes in handy when watching movies or listening to music.
•The micro-USB charging/interface port and the audio/headset jack are protected from dust and foreign materials by silicone cover flaps. These flaps can be flipped opened when port and/or jack access is needed.
Cons:
•Added weight and thickness.
•Slight decrease in range. (WiFi and NFC)
•Hassle when removing/installing/swapping batteries and microsd memory cards. Case has to be fully dissassembled in order to gain access to the battery door/rear cover.
•The outside silicone cover of the Defender series case started stretching on me after three months of use. It started with a slight gap in all front four corners where the silicone slip-cover mounts/attaches to the front (screen) of the inner 2-piece shell. A month after that the slip cover began to develop slack (stretching) in the rear and a slight buldge appears.
•The belt clip broke on me six months after purchase which renders the holster useless. It would be stronger if the belt clip hinge was made of metal instead of plastic.
Overall:
I would highly recommend this case if you can afford replacing it every 6 months. (Unless you purchase it at a place that is willing to replace it within the warranty period on-site)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nothing's Perfect

Date:January 29, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I must admit, I love my electronics, and I baby them. First off, I went through 2 different Zagg screen protectors - HD, I had it changed 5 times - bubbles and warpy crinkles, and the Smudge Proof, reduced the clarity of the screen...both did not go very well with the case I purchased (the screen protectors would lift up on the side and cause more bubbles). I returned the screen protector and invested in the Defender Series Otter Box. It's bulky, but it totally protects my phone! I don't use the belt clip, I always put it in my pocket. You do get dust caught in the homebutton opening, I can live with that. But, I did, however, manage to sustain a scratch, I don't know how, because I always use my left pocket just for my phones - no keys, pens, alcohol wipes, meds...just my phone.
So, basically you are paying for an armoured truck to protect your phone, big and bulky,and it does the job. I hope Otter Box changes the design on the screen protector. The inner plastic case does have an inner foam backing for added protection. Inner case is easy to remove and attach. I have noticed a teeny tiny bit of movement between the phone and the inner case. Easy to place in and out of your pockets - I wear scrubs at work on a busy unit and I have to stay to connected to everyone and what is going on in the outside world, so I use my phone quite a bit. My 3 year old niece has dropped it from her height, tiny scratch on the corner of the rubber outer cover. You do have to make an effort to use the volume and power button. I haven't had the the need to use the belt clip.
Would I recommend it to a friend...yes! But, I would tell them the good with the bad. Kinda like the gorgeous cardiac surgeon with the snaggle-tooth smile!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dodgy screen protector - attracts dust scratches
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Returning Customer.. Expected More

Date:December 19, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This is my second Otterbox Defender Purchase, the first was for iPod Touch 4th Gen and that case was High Quality. The Otterbox Defender for Galaxy Note 2 is certainly sturdy but Otterbox Quality is just not experienced in this case. First the Screen Protector doesn't touch the screen and it is not even close to the screen. So immediately you notice that you have to apply force to press the screen protector down in order to make contact with the screen. This could have been avoided Otterbox! Do I have a defective case? Should I be sending it back? It's very hard to use my phone now. Other reviews I've read say that in order to use their phone with the OtterBox Defender case they had to remove the screen protector, sand the glue off the case and then buy a replacement screen protector. I spent a lot of money on this case and nowhere in the advertisement did it say that provided screen protector would form a large annoying bubble over my screen. Also none of the iphone or ipod touch defenders had this problem. Next the volume buttons take so much pressure to force down that I feel pain in my fingertips every time I need to change the volume up or down. I'm a full grown man with man hands and yet again iphone / ipod touch defender cases never had this problem. I feel like I've purchased a case that will protect my phone very well, however it takes away the pleasure of using my phone now as it's a difficult task to do ordinary things. Difficult, Painful. Why don't I get the same Quality with this case as I got with my Ipod Touch 4th gen OtterBox Defender? I feel a little miserable over the purchase of this case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, the screen protector is absolutely useless., volume buttons are excessively hard to push.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Note 2 Defender Case

Date:July 24, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
First off you can't write a review because you have to take out all the real comments... Starting to see a bad design direction taken by Otterbox in their designs of the defender cases. If any Otterbox defender case has any type of hole cut out in the screen protector you will become very upset after about a month of use. The bad design flaw of this is that it allows dust to enter under the screen and create a build up of dust between the screen protector and the glass of the phone. You know this Otterbox, why do you design phone cases this way? Look at all the less than good reviews of the Samsung phones with the home button cutout on the screen protector. Here's some good advice based off of the overwhelming less than good customer comments for any cutout designs on the screen protectors... stop doing it!!! Yeah, you can take a hair dryer and heat up the clear screen and pop it out of the plastic case, then you have the Otterbox case without the built in screen protector, but then you have some play with the phone created from removing the screen protector. Why not just make a good design with the plastic case to cover the phone where the screen protector would not need any cutouts? My wife has the Note 2 Otterbox Defender and the screen protector has a cutout for the home button. After a month, there was so much dust built up between the screen protector and the phone we had to just permanently remove the screen protector. The case is rock solid, it's just that Otterbox is a giant ....when it comes to design and execution of the screen protector.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: failure of screen protector design, dust under screen protector
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case ever!

Date:July 3, 2014
Location: Pacific NW
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
When you purchase a very nice phone you have to have premium protection for it so with that in mind I bought the Otterbox.
I LOVE it. It has done an excellent job protecting my phone; I have even dropped my phone onto concrete and the Otterbox has not failed in protecting it! Everyday drops are a cinch for Otterbox!
The only complaint I have is that dirt and lint eventually filters behind the plastic protector (comes in via the home button I believe). Fluid can also get behind the plastic if you spill any liquid on it. I asked Otterbox if they will make a waterproof one but they could not say and since my phone is a Galaxy Note II I doubt we'll be seeing one. The only other drawback is the extremely limited choice of colors; currently using "Glacier" and hubby has a black one for his Note II.
That said, my silicone cover became stretched over the past few months and the plastic screen protector had some deep scratches (imagine had I not had this case on my phone!!) and when I called Otterbox, they simply had me submit a warranty form, and they sent out a new case post haste!
I now believe them when they say their customer service and warranty services are second to none.
Otterbox has earned my business for life! Even though my case is not a color I'd use (it's actually kind of boring grey) I will use this because of the protection factor combined with customer and warranty services!
Pros: Durable, extreme protection
Cons: limited color selections, not waterproof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

"OK" is the best I can give it...

Date:January 1, 2014
Location: The Beautiful Finger Lakes region of Central NY.
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I really liked this case when I first got it, because the phone is so thin, and so slick feeling (to me) that I was constantly fumbling it, and hitting the buttons when I didn't want to, and the case actually solved these issues for me. Plus, with the inner hard plastic cover, and then the softer outer silicone cover, this thing is built like a tank. I Never used the belt clip, always slipped it into my shirt pocket or my front pants pocket all by itself, to protect it from rubbing up against anything else (spare change, keys, etc) that might happen to be in my pocket. However I soon started to notice that it WAS collecting dust and lint in between the cases clear plastic screen and the face of the phone, and being OCD, I couldn't stand that, so I would have to take the case apart to clean it at least every other week. Well this has caused the outer silicone cover to become stretched out and it no longer has the nice tight fit that it had when new. This is my only complaint though, and if the case could be made to be tight enough to be dust proof, and the silicone cover could be made such that it can be removed and reinstalled without becoming stretched out, I think you'd have a superior product, becasue this thing is really built like a tank. You might also want to consider making it in some cool designer colors, because lets face it, black, white, or gray is just lame...
Pros: tough, very protective
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, not dust or lint proof, outer silicone cover stretches out in a short time
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Disappointed in selection & quality for Androids

Date:January 8, 2014
Location: southern US
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Coming from iPhone to Android (specifically Samsung Note 2) I found out that the assortment of cases (colors, designs, etc.) is less than lackluster and disappointing for Androids.
So I am going to compare this Otterbox Defender on my Note 2 to the Otterbox Defender on my iPhone....
- I have both the Black & the Glacier Defender for my Note 2 of which I can make Knight... the only 3 colors (if you want to call them that) available. Wish there was more of a selection. If you like grey and/or black then this is for you, if you want other colors you're out of luck.
- I hate how dust and debri get under the screen protector easily on my Note 2, mainly due to the home button cut-out.
- The screen protector seems flimsy at-best compared to the iPhone's Defender. And overall it doesn't feel as protective as my Defender for iPhone.
- The charging port plug seems to put a bit of weight on the cord which makes me fear that it might mess up the internal parts of the port.
Loved my Otterbox Defender RealTree I had for my iPhone & very disappointed now that I switched to Android. As it is, I have to say that I would not recommend this to a friend (since this is a review for the Note 2 Otterbox Defender).
Please Otterbox give us more variety and just as good (if not better) quality as you put in your iPhone cases.
Cons: gathers debri/dust under screen protector, screen protector is flimsy, charging plug puts some weight on charging cord, doesn't seem as protective as iphone defender, no variety in color, no variety is designs/styles
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

otter box built to protect

Date:September 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am an outside plant tech can I am constantly exposing my phone to the elements. I have had two different phones and will trust NO OTHER CASE with my phone. I've had cases in the past for just looks but if I want TRUE protection I go otter box!. For example I was 30 feet up in my bucket truck and dropped my phone. it hit the black top bounced onto gravel then into a ditch. I rushed down out of the air expecting to see a severly dammaged phone and what I found was unspeakable. The phone the case and the glass on the phone were IN TACT!!!!! the case had some minor marks but it did it's job! I IMEDIATLY went back to working and didn't even have to remove the case.
So upon the purchase of my latest phone It was out of the box it came in and right into an otter box literally was in my hands for about 30 seconds.
I love otter box and how they protect my electronics. I had one issue with the silicon cover tearing in 2 different spots on my new case I took pics and got in touch with otter box. I sent the pics to them and had a new silicon cover in a matter of days. Otter Box is not only a great fit for my phone but the Customer service Is a great fit for me. Any one were to give me another case for free no thanks. If it doesn't say Otter Box It's not for me!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: do not make water proof case for note 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Does Exactly What It Is Marketed For

Date:December 13, 2012
Location: TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Pros:
Durable case
Protects the entire phone
Clip turns into a kick stand
Cons:
Lose some functionality with screen protector
Very bulky
I've had this case for a few days now on my Note 2 and I've got to say it does exactly what OtterBox markets it to do. It protects the entire phone and provides a very durable case to do it with. I personally like that I can secure the clip on the backside and turn it into a kickstand, in case I want to watch movies, etc.
The cons are barely cons when weighed with the Pros but I believe they at least deserve some mention for potential buyers. First off, the Note 2 is already a large phone. All of us that have the phone purchased it knowing that and either purchased it because of that or at least have learned to accept it. This case adds to that size and makes it extremely bulky. It doesn't exactly add something to be envied to a fashion statement but I'm guessing nobody would buy it for that. The other con is that you do lose some functionality with the screen protector. Instead of being able to touch some sections of the screen with your finger, a tap sometimes is needed to do the trick. Working with your stylus easily fixes this and all functions like AirView still work perfectly.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

always use OTTER cases and holsters -- BUT !

Date:March 10, 2013
Location: southern jersey
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have bought the OTTER cases for all my Iphones and Ipads and love the product. very duarable if dropped , quality materials used to make it and great design for the case -- BUT on the Galaxy NOTE 2 the only problem is the holster , I wear mine horizontal which puts the release on the top , and I end up using two hands to release the phone. you cant just use your thumb and release it quickly . you can put your thumb on top and flick the release with your middle finger , but if you have a pull over or a jacket on, that make it hard to release. the phone seems to be very secure , but just hard to get out .
the top competition that I used before OTTER made their holster and case, has the release on the top verticle part of the holster and it is spring loaded , very soft and easily flipped open with one hand using your index finger.
I like how thick the OTTER case made the phone , more managable for my hands , no more thin , fragile girly thing.
also , the protective screen saver hovers , when you touch the screen you actually feel like you are pushing a bubble . lots of air space in between the screen and protector .
If it wasnt for the Otter case durablity , I would switch back to the other brand .
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster release, protective screen saver
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Defender II

Date:November 29, 2013
The defender case is well designed for water and impact protection. However, the holster clip design needs improvement because it acts as a fulcrum when caught on obstructions and breaks. I've used this case for 6 months and overall I'm happy with the phone protection.
I 've damaged and experienced warranty replacements for two separate phone cases during the 6 month period. One of these incidents occurred when my phone was left on top of my vehicle while storing equipment in the rear cargo area. While driving to another location the phone was launched onto the roadway at 45 mph. The Defender case kept the phone intact after contact with the road surface.
Although the phone screen was damaged the phone was recovered and turned into the warranty vendor for replacement. The phone would have disintegrated on contact with the road surface if it was not in the Defender case. I was able to present the damaged phone for warranty replacement proving the phone was damaged not lost or stolen. Ultimately the Defender case saved the price of another phone.
I've had wonderful customer service and quick warranty replacement from Otter Box during both warranty replacements.
Cons: belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Won't leave home without it.

Date:March 15, 2014
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have used OtterBox Defender series on both my Samsung cell phones I have owned in the last 3 1/2 years. I now have the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 phone purchased on 08/02/13 also purchased OtterBox on this date from my Cell Phone Retailer. This is my 3rd OtterBox to receive since I purchased my phone. The one I purchased from the retailer lasted the longest. The Cell Phone Retailer removed my OtterBox plastic case incorrectly and with force broke all the connectors on the hard plastic case, while trying to replace my battery. Perhaps their is a difference in the warranty product replacement. My last OtterBox didn't last but a couple of months. Just received my new replacement today, the screen protector is not like my original. It is harder to keep clean, dust free under the screen protector. Have to clean it at least 3 times a week, in doing this is it causing my screen protector to not be as durable, my cell phone screen is flawed by marks that will not come out. I believe this is due to the dust and particles getting under the screen. One thing I will say about this Company their Customer Service is wonderful, they make every effort to please the Customer.
Pros: does protect your investment.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Otter Box Defender

Date:June 30, 2014
Location: South Georgia
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case does a good job of protecting the phone. I've had my case on it since it was purchased and only have minor scuffing on the phone along the top edge. Otherwise the phone looks new when removed from the case. I did replace the case after a year as the case was looking worn and the screen protector was scratched. But that isn't an issue to me as I feel the case got the abuse instead of the phone. I do wish the case was waterproof. The biggest negative I have is the clip. The clips get caught on things and break very easily. I have had the clip on this phone break a few months after I got the original case. I broke the clip for the new case 2 days after I got it. They did replace it, but I've had the same defender style case on previous phones break in the same place. It seems to be a recurring theme. It's always where the belt clip attaches to the phone clip. They use plastic tabs to connect them. I wish they would change that part that connects the two to a metal attachment. I think that would help the problem. But the case itself is very well built. I like the built in screen protector much better than those stick on ones.
Pros: Durable
Cons: clip not built to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:December 20, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Just got defender this morning. So far I am very pleased. To start this thing is bulky. Very bulky. But that's the tradeoff you get when getting good protection on a phablet. I ordered mine 2 weeks ago and just now got it. I have had no problems navigating the touch screen with the included screen protector. Same with the S-pen. There is a little "play" between the protector and the phones screen when you tap down, but it is nothing that hinders the screens sensitivity. I've drawn and edited several notes without any problems. NFC also works without any issues. Volume controls are a little stiff. However I would imagine that over time it will loosen up. Certainly not a workout like others have stated. Power button works good. Also, as with my last defender for my S2, I expect there to be some dust collection on the rear and front camera indentations as well as under the inside of the screen protector. Especially from keeping the phone in my pocket. But taking the case apart and cleaning it off once and a while really doesn't seem too much of a strenuous task for me. Over all I'm very pleased with look and quality of this case.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks great!
Cons: volume buttons a little stiff
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Mike

Date:May 7, 2014
Location: Nanaimo, British Columbia CANADA,EH?
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am very impressed with the over all protection that the case itself provides for my phone. I do site inspections as a Building Inspector, so protection is paramount and the Otterbox delivers the needed protection. The weak point however, is the swivel belt clip. I received this phone with Otterbox and clip from my supervisor who had used it in his office work for approx 1.5 years. When I received it from him, and started using it in the field, I promptly snapped off the belt clip. Your warranty department is amazing, replacing the offending part quickly, even though I let them know, the unit was out of warranty. Well, here I am again, with a broken clip, snapped off while entering my vehicle. Yes, the Note 2 is a large phone, therefore the larger case makes it susceptible to being struck or caught on something. I think maybe your Design Team needs to re-assess this weak point in an otherwise outstanding product. Perhaps there needs to be a flexible connection allowing some "give" when an obstacle connects with the case, allowing it to move rather than 'snap'
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable, belt clip is weak point
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>