OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy Note 2 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case

Don't let your new Galaxy Note 2 go naked a day without a case. Get protection that inspires confidence with the Defender Series Galaxy Note 2 case from OtterBox
Average Customer Rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(468 Reviews) 468
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (468 reviews)
5 stars
306
4 stars
103
3 stars
28
2 stars
18
1 star
13
422 out of 468(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

@Otterbox, please come up with a revised design.

Date:January 17, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I’m looking to jump onto the Note 2 train, however one of the selling point for me being the defender case by Otterbox. I’ve owned an OB defender case for my current phone, it’s been great traveling far corners of the globe keeping my lifeline (=phone) working. I need one. However the newly designed screen protector on this note 2 case, looks like a big mistake. How will there “not” get any dirt underneath it with a hole in it for the home button? @Otterbox, please come up with a revised design.
Cons: hole in the screenprotector?!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Awesome case, not so awesome holster.

Date:February 25, 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case is EXCELLENT. I have absolutely no complaints about the case. Protection is excellent and the clear screen cover works extremely well. The holster is a different story. I have broken 2 holsters in 2 months. Otterbox will replace the hoslter under warranty, but you will have to find a pocket big enough for the Note 2 while you wait for it to arive. The weak spot on the holster is around the hinge pin for the belt clip. If you snag this holster on something like a seatbelt or shoulder strap, the belt clip will break instead of just falling off. Hopefully Otterbox will fix this.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: weak belt clip on holster
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Hate This Case!

Date:March 23, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
For protection, this case is Good. However, it collects dust underneath the screen protector. And not just a little dust, massive amounts of dust gets collected and then makes it hard to see the phone's screen. If this issue could be corrected, I would change all my ratings to 5 stars, but for now with this dust collection issue I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS CASE!
Cons: Low quality, massive dust collector
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Dust, Dust and more Dust

Date:April 17, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Phone is protected but with the hole on home button and speaker dust constantly gets under screen protector. Must clean at least once a week
Pros: Durable
Cons: gets dust under cover
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nothing's Perfect

Date:January 29, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I must admit, I love my electronics, and I baby them. First off, I went through 2 different Zagg screen protectors - HD, I had it changed 5 times - bubbles and warpy crinkles, and the Smudge Proof, reduced the clarity of the screen...both did not go very well with the case I purchased (the screen protectors would lift up on the side and cause more bubbles). I returned the screen protector and invested in the Defender Series Otter Box. It's bulky, but it totally protects my phone! I don't use the belt clip, I always put it in my pocket. You do get dust caught in the homebutton opening, I can live with that. But, I did, however, manage to sustain a scratch, I don't know how, because I always use my left pocket just for my phones - no keys, pens, alcohol wipes, meds...just my phone.
So, basically you are paying for an armoured truck to protect your phone, big and bulky,and it does the job. I hope Otter Box changes the design on the screen protector. The inner plastic case does have an inner foam backing for added protection. Inner case is easy to remove and attach. I have noticed a teeny tiny bit of movement between the phone and the inner case. Easy to place in and out of your pockets - I wear scrubs at work on a busy unit and I have to stay to connected to everyone and what is going on in the outside world, so I use my phone quite a bit. My 3 year old niece has dropped it from her height, tiny scratch on the corner of the rubber outer cover. You do have to make an effort to use the volume and power button. I haven't had the the need to use the belt clip.
Would I recommend it to a friend...yes! But, I would tell them the good with the bad. Kinda like the gorgeous cardiac surgeon with the snaggle-tooth smile!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dodgy screen protector - attracts dust scratches
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Good Quality but poor design

Date:December 17, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
This is my first OtterBox and I must say im not impressed. I bought this case thinking my phone and screen were going to be protected, but i was wrong. They neglect to tell you that the volume buttons are very hard to press, and that around the ear speaker there is a big enough space for sand and dust to slip in and tear up your screen. So if you plan on buying this case make sure you buy an extra screen protector, and be ready to gain some muscle in your thumb trying to press the volume button.
Pros: Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

not what i expect

Date:June 17, 2013
Location: Garner, NC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought my phone and case together and installed it on day 1. My main complaint is the massive amounts of dust getting under the screen protector. It finally got to be too much and I removed the phone from the case and there were SCRATCHES on my phone! Yes, SCRATCHES! One would think that a case costing $60 would not scratch the phone it is designed to protect! I'm very disappointed with this product and recommend it to no one. Also, the clip broke within the first 3 weeks of ownership. Not a quality product like the other Otter Box products I've used in the past.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Needs more color options and some revising

Date:February 15, 2013
Location: Clay City , KY
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
First off this case need way more colors. It also needs some revising on the home button. i thought it was supposed to be dirt and dust proof, but it isnt. They also need to make a armor case for this phone. Definetly would buy one.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dust gets under home button
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection

Date:January 2, 2013
Location: Provo, Utah
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I wanted something tough for my new expensive Samsung Galaxy Note II phone. This cover met the bill. It is solid and does not slip. It fits perfectly. I love it. I like the way the holster allows the phone to face in our out and features a swiveling belt-clip. The only problem is that I am worried that the swiveling belt-clip may break. It is made of some type of hard plastic. The note 2 is so big that it would be difficult to wear it on your belt without it catching on something. This is not the cases' problem; I would just like a safe way to carry the bigger note 2. Another thing is that I would like the case to come with an option like a kickstand to hold the phone upright for viewing on a desk for example. I was using the GPS today and wanted a way to use the holster to secure the phone to my dash or the window in my car. I guess I want the phone case to do everything. The thing it does best is protect the phone. Thanks Otter box.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: expensive
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

always use OTTER cases and holsters -- BUT !

Date:March 10, 2013
Location: southern jersey
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have bought the OTTER cases for all my Iphones and Ipads and love the product. very duarable if dropped , quality materials used to make it and great design for the case -- BUT on the Galaxy NOTE 2 the only problem is the holster , I wear mine horizontal which puts the release on the top , and I end up using two hands to release the phone. you cant just use your thumb and release it quickly . you can put your thumb on top and flick the release with your middle finger , but if you have a pull over or a jacket on, that make it hard to release. the phone seems to be very secure , but just hard to get out .
the top competition that I used before OTTER made their holster and case, has the release on the top verticle part of the holster and it is spring loaded , very soft and easily flipped open with one hand using your index finger.
I like how thick the OTTER case made the phone , more managable for my hands , no more thin , fragile girly thing.
also , the protective screen saver hovers , when you touch the screen you actually feel like you are pushing a bubble . lots of air space in between the screen and protector .
If it wasnt for the Otter case durablity , I would switch back to the other brand .
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster release, protective screen saver
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Okay product

Date:February 19, 2013
Location: Michigan
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I was really pumped to get this case and it was everything I imagined it would be. Otterbox class excellence. However, it CONTINUALLY gets a TON of dirt inside the protective plastic cover. This infuriates me because taking the case apart to clean it takes a really long time and some strong fingernails!
Pros: Durable
Cons: gets dirt under cover
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

This is an excellent product.

Date:January 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
After reading the complaints (which is not my own) that dust accumulates under the screen, I read the product description. The dust protection is for the ports, ie: head phone jack, charge port etc. It did not clam to keep dust out of the screen. It appears these people are experiencing static magnetism. I believe if they use a product or even a moist cloth to wipe on the screen, this will eliminate that problem. My only complaint is the belt clip. You will have to be careful not to brush up against things while it is attached. In the past I have had similar designed clips and broke them when something caught the phone and ripped it off. Although, I love how it doubles as a stand! Over all, I am very pleased with the product,
Pros: High quality, Durable, acts as a stand.
Cons: belt clip could easily brake.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Amazing case (Sreen protector...Not so amazing)!

Date:January 17, 2013
Location: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got my Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case about 2 days ago and it's AMAZING! The only problem I had with the case was the built-in screen protector. Immediately dust and dirt got under the protector and it stayed there. It would not budge! lol I was constantly taking the case apart and cleaning it (very annoying). I already had a screen protector on my phone. So, I decided to remove the screen protector on the case. It came off VERY easily and now it's exactly what I wanted! :-)
4 stars only because of the screen protector.....
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: built-in screen protector
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Galaxy Note II Dust Fix

Date:August 19, 2013
I bought my Otterbox for a Note 2 in Jan 2013 and dust was a real problem.
Easy fix; take a small piece of scotch tape (clear tape) and cut a piece that will just cover the opening. Presto no more dust.
I used the real cheap tape from Dollarama (thinner) and have replaced it only two times in 7 months. I estimate each tape lasts me about 4 months so it's not much trouble at all and it keeps the dust scratches to a minimum.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky but good insurance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good protection but....

Date:April 27, 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am a heavy truck mechanic and need a case that protects AND can stay on my belt with its clip. The case is pretty well thought out save for a couple of things.
1. Dust gets under the screen cover A LOT. must disassemble weekly to clean it off. A very touchy operation that must be done carefully as to not crack the plastic screen cover or the clips that lock it all together.
2. The clip is not strong enough at all. Everytime I bump something it falls off! Not good for my line of work.
I will continue to search for a case that protects totally, and will stay on my belt.
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen gets dusty fast., belt clip is not strong enough.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Phone OK after grueling Royal Enfield Ride

Date:April 20, 2013
Location: Kathmandu Nepal
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got the case to protect my Note II on a 875km RE Bullet ride that took us to Upper Mustang Nepal and down into the Jungles of Chitwan, and the phone survived the extremes very well. There was a lot of dust under the protector however, and the inside back case gel had bubbled somewhat. But I am glad to have survived the trip, and having the phone safe as well was a bonus. I sure wish the Armor series had a Galaxy Note II model, then I would have mounted the phone on the bike to take great videos.
Pros: Durable, High quality
Cons: belt clip when acting as a stand is angled wrong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor design gives poor protection

Date:January 27, 2013
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I had the Defender on my iPhone with such great success I didn't even consider an alternative case when I got my Note II. The problem is the poor dust protection. The home button is wide open allowing large amounts of debris into the case. The earpiece hole is less of a problem but I would still like to see some sort of protection there too. To "fix" the home button issue I put a piece of tegaderm transparent dressing on both sides of the hole. I hope that works. With those problems fixed I could give a much more positive review.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: lack of dust and debris protection
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good case but....

Date:January 11, 2013
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Good case protects phone good just like all of other otter box cases I have had in past but for the note 2 case their is a problem for the screen protector!!! There is a gap between phone and front screen clear case protector causing dust to get into phone and have to press harder on screen..I called about this issue with case but no solutions they sent me replacement but still does same thing hopefully they will fix problem
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen protector no good
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I no longer cringe when I drop my phone.

Date:December 24, 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased the Note 2 within days of when it first came out. While waiting on Defender to be made available I purchased two cases. The first one I was a old fashion type soft case that was more like a protective sleeve instead of a case. Then I got the incripio lgnd case which was a portfolio type case. I dropped my phone with this case and the screen shattered. when I got my replacement phone, the defender case had just come out. I drove about 45 miles to get it! This case does exactly what I need it to do. I don't work in construction or any other physically demanding jobs- I am just plain CLUMSY. With this case, I feel that I can actually USE my phone. As a person that checks my phone about 100 times a day, I need protection without having to slide the phone in and out of a case/sleeve, or having to open or close a clasp all day.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not available immeadiately
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Note 2 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Everything great, except screen protector

Date:November 29, 2013
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
I have had the otterbox on my last two phones and nothing is wrong with them. But the one I got for my note 2 when you put all it together, particles get under the screen protector. (The picture will show it better). It gets annoying because it just keeps happening.
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen protector
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>