OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Moto G Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Defender Series for Motorola Moto G

Otterbox Defender Series for Motorola Moto G

Rugged, trusted OtterBox Motorola Moto G case completely encloses the Moto G to protect from drops, bumps, scratches and scuffs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 out of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Review 1 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Money well spent

Date:June 29, 2014
Location: Ontario
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
My cousin highly recommended the OtterBox to me back in January - Having just bought my first smartphone, and knowing myself to be a bit of a klutz, I wanted to make sure it wasn't spider-cracked by February. The first case I received had a minor defect in the soft outer shell, but upon submitting a warranty request I was sent a new defect-free case without any fuss at all.
I am entirely certain that without my OtterBox my phone would not nearly be in its current condition -- it may look like a bit of a brick, but I've dropped it face-first on pavement, tile, and even my car door-frame and it has come through without a scratch. I'd much rather have a brick-phone that lasts me six years than a cracked skinny phone that lasts two.
One thing to keep in mind is that the Glacier grey soft shell does eventually show minor discolouration at the corners, namely if you keep shoving it into the pocket of your blue jeans -- I suspect the darker cases (or jeans with more spacious pockets) don't have this problem. BUT it's entirely possible that you can clean the soft shell separately with some soapy water and a soft cloth. I just havent tried yet.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not particularly elegant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Far from perfect

Date:February 21, 2014
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have the Defender for my Verizon Moto G. It's hard to get in and out of the holster. You have to stop what your doing, and fiddle with it to get it in and out. On the Moto G, it's hard to slide down your notification screen. You have to use your fingertip and get on the extreme top edge of the screen to get it down. The plastic screen cover scratches too easily, for the price that was paid for this, it should be a much higher grade plastic or perhaps Gorilla Glass. Overall it's just ok, BUT it's still the best product out there for the Moto G IMO.
Pros: acceptable
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

My 2nd defender purchased

Date:March 28, 2014
Location: Sunny Calif.
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This is the second defender from Otterbox I've purchased for my phones. The first was for my Atrix 4g which now is finished with. The second covers my Moto G. Yeah, it makes the phones a bit thick and heavy, but well worth the punishment my phones go through as I work in construction/remodeling which consists of very dusty conditions. I particularly like the dust ports covering the power and headphone/speaker jack ports. They seem to help with the protection from dropping my phones as well. Can't say that with those generic covers!
Pros: High quality, Durable, protective
Cons: needs replacement parts, a little too pricey.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good product bad color choice

Date:April 11, 2014
Location: Pa
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I got the hot pink color of this case and my jeans automatically stained it!! It looks disgusting and like it's never been cleaned off but that's definitely not the case. Nothing will take the stain off. So I called in and they are giving me a replacement. They were very nice and I am currently tracking my new gray case. Just a warning... Don't get the pink if you are going to put it in your jeans pocket at all. Once it happens it is too late to fix it!! Overall other than the nasty jean stains it is a very nice and durable case!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

GREAT CASE BUT WORTHLESS HOLSTER

Date:January 24, 2014
Location: KY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
THE CASE IS EXCELLENT. FITS PHONE PERFECT. ON THE OTHER HAND, THE BELT CLIP HOLSTER IS THE WORST I'VE EVER USED IN THE LAST 6-7 YEARS OWNING OTTER BOX CASES. IF YOU BARELY BUMP IT INTO SOMETHING THE PHONE WILL FALL TO THE GROUND. IT DOES NOT HAVE A VERY TIGHT GRIP OR LOCKING MECHANISM. I GOT FED UP WITH THE HOLSTER THAT I STARTED CARRYING THE BULKY THING IN MY POCKET. THEY SHOULD HAVE DESIGNED THE HOLSTER LIKE THE ONE FOR THE IPHONE 4. I NEVER ONE HAD A PROBLEM WITH THAT CASE OR HOLSTER.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad design holster
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Screen

Date:July 22, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall good. I only had two problems. Be careful when you open it for the first time. I cut my thumb open someho when I was trying to separate the plastic. I might have just cut it on my fingernail, but I'm not sure. The other thing was that my friend opened it up and was messing with it when the phone wasn't in the case and broke one of the corners of the screen off of the case. No a big problem though because when the phone is in the case, you can't even tell.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Well worth the money

Date:June 14, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Bought the case because I have a pre-paid plan that does not offer phone insurance. This case is the next best thing to phone insurance. I was curious to see how it would wear over time. For example if the rubber fittings would get lose over time. But I swear this case gets better with age. The only thing I noticed is with REALLY fine dust sometimes it will get inside the case. But really an awesome case absolutely love it!
Pros: High quality, Durable, doesn't restrict screen use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Smartest Choice You Could Make

Date:March 1, 2014
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've kept my Smart Phones wrapped in Otterbox Defender shells since they first became available. They are quiet simply the most intelligently designed protection money can buy for your phones which go without saying are very expensive to replace. Not to mention that the company stands behind their products 100% and will gladly replace them should they ever fail in any way.
I highly recommend their use on all Smart Phones!
Pros: High quality, Durable, intelligent design, stylish, functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case!

Date:March 11, 2014
Location: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I dropped my new Moto G 2 days after buying it, and my Otterbox arrived the next day. I had my phone repaired and I have had it in my Otterbox ever since. It provides great protection, and is well-built and even with me constantly putting it on and taking it off of my phone, it hasn't lost its shape at all. From now on, I'm not taking my phone out of the house unless it is in its case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Very nice

Date:February 13, 2014
Location: tulsa, ok
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Using this product with the Moto G makes it look and feel every bit of a high-end phone. The only thing i'm concerned about is water proof or dust getting into the speaker holes. Other than that, awesome product, and would recommend to others. A little bulky of course, but not too much where my wife can't stick it in her back pocket. I love it. Job well done Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable, everything you would want out of a case
Cons: high price, not waterproof, openings for speakers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Protection for Phone

Date:July 2, 2014
Location: Hot Springs, AR
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quite pleased with the Otter Box for my Moto G. It has an easy grip and protects in all the right places. Two things I'd like: non-glare screen cover, and for the case to come in purple : ) Also, the customer service people at this company do their research! They work on your problem until they have an answer for you! A+++++ on customer service, Otter Box!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:April 10, 2014
Location: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
As a contractor by trade I am not nice to my cell phone and the otterbox cases are a must for anyone in the industrial field. My only complaint is the plastic tabs that hold the inner case together have broken after a few months but in all fairness I am more abusive to my phone than any vendor would recommend and the case is still functional.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: the tabs that hold the case together are weak
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Accident Prone

Date:February 19, 2014
Location: Kansas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I unpacked and had it on in ten minutes. Not bad for being one handed. I read a lot of reviews on this, but one comes to mind. The writer said the phone falls out of the holder. I can hardly get it out! Best money spent since I got the Moto g (gpe). I have recommended to both of my sons. GREAT PRODUCT 100%
Pros: High quality, Durable, good looking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

GREAT PROTECTION

Date:May 8, 2014
Location: Indiana
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The first thing I did was tell a person she could look at my phone, and she knocked it off a bench and it hit the concrete. I have dropped it several times myself. My old phone looked like it had been through a war zone, but because this one has Otter Box, it has come through unscathed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

otter moto g

Date:February 28, 2014
Location: calumet city il
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
i like my otter... it its a hair too close to the screen makes it hard sometimes to open the settings in the top corner. It has already saved my phone while dropping and my son's phone when it fell face first in the snow... it could be a hair more water resistant but it works very well
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not water resistant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it

Date:February 16, 2014
Location: Chesapeake Va
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Ordered the phone and the case at the same time.....got the case a day early which i was so happy about. I have had the Commuter Cases before and love them, but theres just something about the Defender Case that lets you know that it will take a lot of abuse. Get it, protect it.
Pros: High quality, very durable to life's conditions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product!

Date:May 2, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I wanted an OtterBox to protect my phone when I put it on my desk and it attracts my students' attention! It has been even better than I expected protecting the phone from bumps, falls and fingerprints. My only complaint is that I really wanted it in red (but pink is okay!).
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great purchase

Date:March 31, 2014
Location: Kansas
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
i have had this case about a month. so far it has been a good experience. i carry in my shirt pocket and when i bind over it stays put. i don't use the belt clip, for my job it puts it in the way for the size phone i have. i only wish it made my phone water proof.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not water proof
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

My Otter!

Date:May 19, 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great protection and pretty good looks. Only issue I have, and it's only personal preference, is that it is sort of bulky. For the protection it offers, I will use it because it is/has protected my Moto G when I've dropped it by accident.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Defender Series for Motorola Moto G
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

overly satisfied

Date:April 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have never been more satisfied with this product. I have always wanted an otter box for my cell phone and I finally bought a phone that I could buy an otter box for. I love the colors I picked. They happen to be my high school colors.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>