OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop HTC DROID DNA Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case

The Commuter series case for the HTC DROID DNA offers sleek protection that keeps your phone safe from the outside world.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Review 1 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Solid Protection

Date:December 2, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've used the case for almost a week now and am very happy with it. It protects without adding that much bulk to the phone - it still feels thin in your hand. The case fits snug on all sides without any loose edges.
I was worried that the case would interfere with the Qi wireless charging capabilities - I'm happy to say it doesn't. Wireless charging works just fine through the case. I'm using one of the Energizer Qi chargers and have had no issues.
The case makes the volume buttons much easier to press - but I can't say the same for the power button on the top of the phone. I routinely have to press it twice to wake the phone up. Not a deal breaker - and I blame the design of the phone more than the case.
My case also didn't come with a screen protector - there wasn't an applicator card or screen cleaner either. I'm not sure if that is how they ship or if there was a mistake.
Otherwise a great case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: power button hard to press
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent Case

Date:April 10, 2013
Location: Howell, MI.
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I recently bought the Droid DNA and bought the Otter Box Defender case for it but found it to be way too bulky. I returned the Defender and picked up the Commuter and I love it, it barely adds any bulk, actually, i think the DNA is too thin to hold comfortably, the Commuter adds just the right amount of thickness and feels comfortable in my hand.. The Commuter fits perfectly, its stylish with the envelope design on the back and it conforms to the curved back side of the DNA. It comes with a screen protector however, I decided not to use it since the DNA has Gorilla Glass and I didn't want anything to take away from the awesome display of the DNA. It does cover the rear LED light but that's not a big deal for me. The volume buttons work great and are easy to push. The power button is hard to push with the Otterbox but prevents accidental powering on or off.
Pros: High quality
Cons: rear led light is covered
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Disappointed

Date:January 22, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I've purchased Otterbox cases for a galaxy s3, and an iPhone.
The iPhone case fits perfectly, same with the galaxy s3. I was impressed with the fit and protection they both offered. You can imagine how excited I was to receive another quality case from otterbox for my new Droid DNA.
After opening the package and putting the case on my phone, I must say I am severely disappointed. The rubber portion of the case is not fitted properly, and looks bunched in certain areas while the other areas don't line up properly with the plastic shell. The speaker also sounds muddled while the case is on.
I'm not writing this review expecting a refund, or anything free. I just want others to know that this product didn't come as I expected it to, and they might wind up in the same situation I am in.
Pros: came in a timely fashion.
Cons: Low quality, not what i expected.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's an OK case, but has some annoying flaws

Date:December 7, 2012
Location: Maine
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The case feels nice, it feels durable and looks good, but there are some flaws I find very annoying.
1.) The case covers the back side LED indicator - this lights up when the phone is flipped over to indicate you have a notification waiting to be viewed.
2.) The power button becomes very hard to press when using this case. The volume keys work very easily - but the power button takes a lot of force and usually 2-3 tries for me to get it right - it's like it doesnt quite line up to where it should go. I tried re-seating the case, but it didnt help.
Pros: looks good
Cons: poor power button fitment
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case but...

Date:February 10, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I own an otterbox defender for my ipad and absolutely love it. Got this for my new dna and was charging it wirelessly when it started acting up. I have read before that you should charge your devices without a case on to keep the battery cool. I also read that when wireless charging it can make the phone get pretty hot. Anyway I pulled the case off and it looks like it may have melted the soft inner liner. I would suggest that if you use any case on the dna to consider how hot the phone can get. Still really like the case and it fits freat.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: may melt with charging
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

good case, some flaws

Date:January 30, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I totally agree with the comments made by another reviewer:
1. No opening in the back to see the LED light for notifications. I would recommend anyone thinking of purchasing this case to wait and see if otterbox comes out with one that does show the LED light. As of now, NO ONE does.
2. Button to turn off and on is hard to push. I thought it was just me but also see others are also having this difficulity.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no opening for led light.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:January 23, 2014
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The customer service when I had to return the Otter Box for replacement was great. No long wait on hold times, all through the web. I haven't dropped my phone often but when I have there has never been any damage to the phone and miniscule to the Otter Box (if any). Removing the Otter Box is not that easy but not horrible either.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great but could be better

Date:February 2, 2014
Location: Lincolnton, nc
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case protects from minor falls and drops. Nothing else. Dropped my phone off my lap (about 2 feet) and the case was barely touched. My phone on the other hand, shattered! Would like to see a little more durability but overall a great case!!
Pros: Durable
Cons: 2'+ won't save phone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HTC DROID DNA Commuter Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Perfect

Date:March 22, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have owned an Otter Box as long as I have owned a smart phone
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.