OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Windows Phone 8X Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case

Otterbox HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case

Get the kind of protection that inspires confidence with the Defender Series HTC Windows Phone 8X case by OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
33 out of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Review 1 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Defender for Win Phone 8

Date:January 29, 2014
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I guess its all simply personal preference regarding the size of Defender Series cases. After purchasing my HTC 8X, I realized that the phone was too light and delicate for the use I put my devices through. Although my intention is to keep my tech stuff PERFECT, the truth is the big "accident" is going to happen and its only the quality of workmanship and materials that will determine the extent of the damage. The 8x feels like Styrofoam ready to snap. The Defender Series gives it those qualities that HTC simply ignored. I think its truly ingenious how the live tiles and other functions work when protected by its "Armor". The "accident" has happed three times (at least) There was one in the bathtub and another one of them snapped the clip right off my Defender Series belt "holster". I, as well as another reviewer, made contact with Otter Box while inquiring about finding the front screen to PURCHASE. When I was told that they were not available I was frustrated at first, and, in an almost sarcastic manner replied, "I guess I will have to make a warranty claim." When the rep affirmed my statement, I had to explain it again to make sure he understood what I was saying. There was a tiniest microscopic knurl in the plastic since I had purchased it. I always regretted not exchanging it, but I always told myself I would stop in and pick up a replacement front clear shield. I spent ten frustrating months with that little knurl and after completing the simple "claim" process I now have a completely new case. I will save the "claim" process for another review because I believe the way Otter Box handled my claim deserves its one place here in this thread. So, if they will allow it, you'll see that review in the future. If you want a case you can be sure will keep your phone guarded when that "accident" strikes, the Defender Series is a wise choice. I am fully contented now by the absence of that tiny "knurl" that used to always be the first thing I felt, but NOW- the front clear shield's "touch" screen flows smoothly with the Windows Phone 8 OS.
Pros: High quality, Durable, gives phone the weight it needs
Cons: other comment about large size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome product and service

Date:December 16, 2013
Location: Washington State
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Shortly after I got my HTC 8x phone I bought the Otterbox case for it. I haven't really thought much about it until a month ago when I dropped the phone from about 20' off a scaffolding onto a concrete floor where it hit corner of the case first, bounced and then landed face down with a clatter. When I picked up the phone I expected the worse, but was relieved when the phone appeared intact and then surprised even more when the phone seemed to function without an issue. I was even more surprised when I couldn't find a mark on the case either...
I noticed that the clear plastic of the case had been marred slightly (I don't think the damage was from this instance...) and decided to call and ask if I could get a replacement cover. The representative on the phone said that they don't sell replacement parts but that they would be glad to get me a new case as a warranty action. Two weeks later I had a new case.
I work construction in a variety of harsh environments, I can't use a belt holster because I brush up against equipment and rip the phone off the belt and so the phone goes in my back pocket. The Otterbox lets that happen without damage to the phone and is capable of protecting the phone from what I would call extreme impact events. I've tried other protective covers with less than satisfactory results - I'll never put another phone in anything other than an Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case

Date:December 3, 2012
Location: San Francisco California
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
OtterBox's HTC 8x Defender case is sold and provides security for those hard knox (knocks) of life. Starting with the polycarbonate cage and silicone sleeve the combination provides a excellent level of protection. The screen protector fused to the polycarbonate frame, defends your slick Gorilla Glass II from scratches with no touch sensor hindrance. It however is not a Zagg, not a big deal. One thing about the screen protector is, it does not stick to the screen when you glid your finger over it. You can feel slight airy gap.
The negatives are one the power button tab. It takes some effort to press down on it, just to power cycle your phone on. I guess it's because of the polycarbonate cage that your phone rides in. There is a slight well from the cage to the silicone sleeve. This can be annoying at times, however it is not a deal breaker.
The second issue is the case is not really dust proof. You would find dust/particles underneath the screen protector and on top of the phones glass face. The reason behind this is, the 35mm and usb charging ports are not flushed. Another area where the dust/particles can enter is the mic holes. There are not mess screen there to filter out the dust/particles.
Overall this case protects agains those hard knox and does its job. Would I buy it again or recommend this case? Yes I would.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not dust proof
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not impressed

Date:September 8, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The only positive aspect of this case is the protection. The seals around the camera and speaker openings are not tight fitting, so dust easily gets under the screen protector. The screen protector itself is flimsy and easily damaged. The case is not appealing to look at, making a nice phone look cheap and boxy. At least three times a week I've had to take the phone out and completely wipe it down because of the dust buildup under the screen protector. There is a slight gap between the screen protector and the phone screen, which isn't a huge issue but can cause some rainbow effect on the glass under certain lighting. At this point I'd rather risk damaging the phone than using the case, it's that much of an issue.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, cheap parts
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case

Date:December 5, 2013
Location: Ridley, Pa
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I was super happy to have an OtterBox protecting my new HTC Windows 8X phone. However, after having it for 1 year the silicone cover warped, my screen got damaged and needed to be replaced, and the included belt clip caught on everything around me. I would have much preferred the case had the hard plastic outside and silicone inner layer, like I had for my old cell phone. In another year it will be time to upgrade, hopefully whatever phone I get will have a larger selection of cases to protect it with.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

HTC Otter Box

Date:February 18, 2014
Location: Warner Robins Ga.
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased my first Otter Box for my work phone about 7 months ago. Since then I broke the belt clip slamming it in the car door by accident. When I notified them, they shipped me a brand new replacement free. These covers are the best I've seen and my family is hard on phone and tablets. However because of how well these things are made and work. I have purchased Otter Boxes for all of our phones and tablets! I tell all of my friends that if they want to protect their electronics, buy Otter Box!
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent cutomer service, lots of styles
Cons: hard to find always sold out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great product and warranty

Date:March 18, 2014
Location: hays kansas
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am very happy with my otter box for my windows phone. I did break my clip and tried to purchase a new one but with the help of the people at otter box they took care of getting me a new one. I work in a parts store and am very hard on phones ( dropping them on concrete getting hooked on shelving etc. etc. etc. I wanted to get a brick to wrap my phone in but it was to heavy so I purchased an otter box and I do not regret this purchase at all, very high quality and protection.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case!

Date:August 23, 2013
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After trying a Ballistic brand case, which broke after only 3 months, I decided to fork over the cash for this otter box. The design and quality are good, though a little plain. It would have been nice to see some color inn the case to match the wonderful design of the 8X! Overall I am really happy with this case and was pleasantly surprised to see that wireless charging still works with case on! Hopefully it can stand the abuse I put my phones through!
Pros: High quality, wireless charging still works!
Cons: pricey, uninspired design (could be a bad or good thing)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otter Box is Outstanding

Date:January 20, 2014
Location: COlumbus, OH
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had to replace my Otter Box twice due to the belt clip breaking off. Both times it was at the very end or just beyond the warranty period. Otter Box grabbed this as an opportunity to offer beyond the policy service rather than "that's our policy...NO". The "Otters" (great marketing by the way) were helpful in guiding me through the claim submission phase, the shipping and follow-up. I wouldn't buy from anybody else!
Pros: High quality
Cons: belt clip could be more durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:March 15, 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very solid case. I only have two issues. First, there seems to be a slight air space between the screen and integrated cover. Slightly annoying, not a deal breaker. Second, the opening for the front facing camera is too small. You can see the edge of the case when using it. Very annoying. Probably wouldn't have bought it if I had known beforehand. All in all I like this case and would recommend it to any HTC 8X owner.
Pros: High quality, Durable
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Functional, but not pretty

Date:February 14, 2014
Location: NJ
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have "butter fingers" with phones and have dropped mine a thousand times. The defender case helps me keep my sanity with helping to prevent the impact problems!!! Look/Design is pretty awful, maybe some color options would be nice, it's not a very feminine looking case...very "clunky". Overall, it does what I need it to do and saves me money in replacement phones.
Pros: Durable
Cons: very plain design, no color options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best protection

Date:January 27, 2014
Location: Gainesville,FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love that my phone is protected from everyday mishaps. I cant even count how many times i have dropped my phone. I do wish it looked more girly but I wasn't buying a case to look pretty. I had an issue where the screen popped out and went missing. they sent a whole new case. was not expecting that. great customer service.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

good product

Date:April 1, 2014
Location: Parkersburg WV
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
First one I purchased with my windows phone I had it for about ten months and the silicone jacket got stretched out...after a call to customer service and two pictures of the otter box they sent me a new one. Customer service did a fantastic job ...they were super polite and got my new one within a week
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great quality!

Date:February 2, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My old otter box broke and they gave me a new and improved case for free! I would recommend getting this case especially if you have an HTC 8x. My friend dropped my phone down a case of stairs and my phone is perfectly fine. Also one great pro to this case is that it has a built in screen protector.
Pros: High quality, built in screen protector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Really Tough

Date:October 19, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My wife is a police officer and wears her phone on her belt. The OtterBox is indispensable, as she is tough on her phone. After a year, there was a slight problem with the holster clip (did I mention she is hard on her phone). OtterBox replaced it with no problems. Great company and product.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case Ever!

Date:April 9, 2014
Location: Simcoe, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case Is amazing and i thank u So Much but i would rather a purple,or a Blue on cause i hâte punk So if u coule get me another colour i Will sens back the black one and exchange for a différent color PLZ cause srry but i hate black So PLZ thanks for Ur time have a Nice Day!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dont really like the colour
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

cover

Date:November 25, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I was very disappointed that I could not just buy the plastic cover replacement. You're only option is to replace the entire product. The lens gets scratched and all you can do is either warranty it or buy a new complete unit..
Also the clip breaks and you're done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great!

Date:December 5, 2013
Age: 25-34
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Very Good customer service . My first case broke, and they were able to replace it. I received it in a few days after my request and i love it. It fits my phone just right and perfect when little ones want to use the phone, (to avoid breaking accidents).
Great!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great phone case

Date:October 2, 2013
Location: Delaware
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I'm pretty tough on cell phones and this case has kept my phone in pristine condition. The clip on the phone carrying case broke the second week I had it. I followed the warranty instructions and they sent me a new case right away with no questions asked.
Pros: High quality, Durable, warranty
Cons: clip fragile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HTC Windows Phone 8X Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:February 28, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
It protected my phone like it was supposed to. Only thing that happened was the notch in the case used for holding the case in the holster broke when it hit the floor while going through a security check point. That was the only damage the case received.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>