OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop EVO 4G LTE Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case

Few things are tougher than an OtterBox. So why cover your HTC EVO 4G LTE with anything else? With 3 layers of solid protection, you're not just getting a case, you're getting an OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
4
43 out of 56(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Review 1 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not Worth the Money

Date:August 28, 2013
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The inner (hard) case itself is adequate. However, the exterior rubber casing breaks down easily. After a 3 months, the rubber cover for the power port had worn off. However, the major issue is that the exterior rubber case has stretched out creating a loose gappy shell for the phone making it difficult to use the buttons on the phone; you have to wiggle the loose rubber around until you make contact with the button. I've attached photos of the gaps created by the rubber breakdown
Overall, the case does do an adequate job of protecting the phone. It's just that it looks like a broken down, stretched-out, cheap phone case after 3 to 4 months.
Cons: Low quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Good while it lasts - but it won't last

Date:August 27, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have mixed feelings about this case. It does provide the best protection available. But design and quality of the neoprene flaps that cover the ports is such that they will crack, tear, and fall off due to the daily repetition of opening the flap to plug in a charger or headset. Otterbox warranty service was excellent, and they have already replaced my case twice due to the same issue. My third case just failed and I'm about to go through the process again.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, won't last, flaps tear off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

poorer quality

Date:July 12, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
my review was acidentally made for the commuter but I have this one. I first got otterbox in 2011, I still have that one. I upgraded my phone on 2/28/13. With the first one the silicon case warped and the flap over the charging port tore. This time the flap over the charging port just tore.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, bulky, lack of colors
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

broke immediately

Date:July 29, 2012
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The fit is too tight between the case and the holster. The clip broke after less than a dozen times of placing the phone in the holster.
The one that I had for the Droid Incredible withstood falling of my belt while I was riding a motorcycle, doing about 40mph. These are great, but this model is designed a bit too tight.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:October 2, 2013
Location: jax,fl
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
bad quality, does not keep phone protected once rubber stretches.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Save your money!

Date:September 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
While it does protect the phone from being dropped, in six months the flaps for the ear phones and charger chord broke off. Then the rubber case began to deteriorate, in eight months the rubber softened and cracked apart, litterally falling off the phone. They did replace it promptly after many attempts to upload photos of the case, but I will probably be doing it again in eight months. I am very carefull with my phone. It lives in my pocket or on my night table and is not subjected to abuse. The rubber case is not durable. Anyway, it is $20 too much.
Pros: protects from falls
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Defender Series Case for HTC Evo 4g LTE

Date:March 9, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have only had the case for about two months and the rubber piece that covers up the charging port broke off. It does not keep dust out from under the protective screen. When you go to take the hard inner case off it breaks therefore it wont hold your phone that great. This has been my second Defender Series case and I am not happy with either one that i have purchased.
Cons: Low quality
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not Happy

Date:November 28, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The soft shell on the outside won't stay in hard shell grove on two different phones I have. The little tab that covers the power port has broken off and this isn't the first time it's happened. I can't recommend this case for the evo and evo 4g let until these issues are worked out. The one thing I like about it is the built in screen protector.
Pros: screen protector
Cons: Not durable, soft shell wont stay on
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

not a quality product

Date:November 20, 2012
Location: long island, ny
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
on my second case already, the first one didnt last a month before the charging port ripped off, then the outer shell became extremely stretched out and was basically useless not to mention the rubber also ripped, lost my receipt so the store wouldnt take it back, i only bought a new one because i have to have a case on my phone and the store has no other case, also hope this one holds up at least 2 months...does have good drop protection
Pros: good drop protection thats it
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, garbage for the money, very expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Protects well, but aesthetics and function...

Date:September 16, 2012
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have had my defender series for this phone for about 4 months now. It was about a month and a half in that the rubber tab that protects the charge port of the phone tore off, from normal wear and tear. I charge my phone probably 2 times a day, and never "play" with the tabs. I was very angry when this happened. I have since requested a new one but have not heard anything as this was only a few hours ago. In addition, the rubber case around the hard plastic case no longer fits snugly. I generally store my phone in my pocket which could be part of this but it shouldn't stretch the amount that it has. The screen also scratches easily, I am very careful not to put my phone on metal or in the same pocket as my keys, yet there are very noticeable scratches that are sometimes distracting. I will say that it has protected my phone a few times from drops though, but only about 2-3 feet onto a hardwood floor.
Pros: keeps dust out well, makes phone easier to hold
Cons: Not durable, rubber skin isn't built well, expensive, hard to get to kickstand
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

First & Last Otterbox

Date:June 9, 2012
Location: Springfield, MO
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
What a let down! The case makes a light EVO 4G LTE, heavy to carry. Several times when carrying on my belt, the case has slipped off the belt. It can happen when driving a car and then when you get out your phone goes flying or setting in a meeting and kapow, your phone suddenly falls off your belt and hits the floor. It seems to be because of the bulk of the case and belt carrier combined places the clip in a bind when sitting. The Otterbox may keep the phone from flying apart, but I am not sure how many landings on concrete or asphalt the phone can take before internal damage occurs. So far the phone has stayed in the belt clip carrier. The belt clip carrier will not stay on while sitting and is uncomfortable causing you to have to shift the phone periodically.
Cons: heavy, poorly designed belt carrier, screen protector dulls screen fidelity, uncomfortable when sitting
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Wears out fast

Date:December 5, 2013
Location: West palm beach
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I've gone through like 6 cases since I've own the phone the material Wears out fast and doesn't last very long although the otterbox warranty is very nice but it wears out super fast the charger cover breaks off the headphone spot doesn't stay on and the worst part is the rubber starts coming off from the kickstand this product is amazing and does its job but wears out super fast
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Otterbox phone protector

Date:October 13, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I do like the phone protector...but the flaws keep me from giving it s 5 star rating. From what i have read online, earlier versions of the case used a different foam outer case which held up better...I have had mine replaced because of coming loose and tearing at the port covers in 3 months. I wish the color choices for my phone were more than black and blue also. The lack of variety and the inherant weakness of the foam outercase will have me looking at other case manufacturers with my new phone.
Pros: built in screen protector, high edges make front screen fairly well protected, 1 year warrantee
Cons: Not durable, lack of colors, poor outer shell construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Dissapointed!

Date:December 4, 2012
Location: Rio Grande City, Tx
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
1st day with this case and already fallen off of my belt twice,
Had a different brand case on my previous evo 4g and never did this happen! my old phone fell out of my shirt pocket once from a third floor to concrete and it did its job, I dont think this case will handle that kind of impact! I shouldve stuck with the other brand! NOT WORTH THE MONEY! Oh and the other brand is cheaper! silicone cover never streched
Cons: Not durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Only Case I Can Find

Date:November 8, 2012
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The case started out great. Then after the first week the rubber that surrounds the case become extremely loose and the charging port flapps ripped off, and my job does not provide me a lot of free time to go buy another one. One day at work I was doing a spinal injury with the phone in the holster, and the phone fell out of the holster while still in the case and fell a maximum of 4 feet and the case broke, Not only did the case break but it also shattered the screen of my phone causing me to pay to replace the phone and buy a new Defender Series case. Now the rubber surrounding the plastic case is starting to come loose again. My only fear is when it falls again will it protect my phone like its suppose to?
Pros: styleish, durable side clip
Cons: stretchy rubber, rip-able rubber, limited color selection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

commonly used covers....

Date:September 22, 2012
Location: Fort Drum NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
the charging port like already reported the flap is tearing already. this is just over 1 month of use. everything else is great just that port cover is tearing so soon. My wifes is already completely off. these were purchased the same day.im active duty army so i need something durable while im in the field. reason i chose this case. now thinking i need to look else wear to replace something that lacks the durability i need.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Lots of Good; But Not Without Some Not-So-Good

Date:July 30, 2012
Location: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I trust Otterbox products because of the protection they provide and the high level of customer service the company offers. The Defender Series Case for the Evo 4G LTE was a "no-brainer" for me once it became available shortly after I got my phone. As noted in the other reviews seen here on the Otterbox website, the silicone exterior skin has a different texture and feel than that on Defender Series cases for other phones. This is great for various reasons, but it also comes with some setbacks. Just like the design on so many other Defender cases, the silicone starts to stretch with use and starts to lose its tight fit to the polycarbonate shell. Also, and most disturbingly, the rigidity of the silicone skin causes it to be somewhat brittle. I have two examples of why this is problematic:
1. The plastic tab that holds the case in the holster is too far from the edge of the case. This allows the tab to scrape over the silicone skin as the case is removed from/inserted into the holster. I've attached a photo showing the gash that has resulted from what I've just described. I didn't necessarily think this would be a problem because the skin is pretty dense/thick, so is shouldn't wear all the way through and cause the skin to tear... But then......
2. The plug that covers my micro USB port began to tear off at the flex point! It got so bad I just went ahead and finished tearing it off (see photo). I charge my phone at a fairly normal rate, which is something I'd expect any case that includes protection for the charging/data port to consider in its design/construction. While not that big a deal, I admittedly was disappointed by this.
All in all, the case does what it's supposed to do: PROTECT THE PHONE INSIDE IT. However, the design/build changes for this particular model case seem to sacrifice basic toughness for visual appeal. I also have a Defender case on an iPhone 4s that I carry for work, and I couldn't imagine the plug for the data port getting weak at the flex point, such as what happened with the case for my E4GLTE. Also, the tab on the polycarbonate shell that also serves as a catch for the holster tab covers the enter width of the side profile on the iPhone 4s, eliminating any chance for the holster tab to come in contact with the silicone skin during holster insertion/removal. A similar design should be considered in a refreshed design of the Defender for the E4GLTE.
Pros: High quality
Cons: questionable long-term toughness of silicone skin
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

From Bad to Great

Date:November 13, 2013
Location: Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
(Bad) I was a little upset at first when my charging port cover broke on my otter box only after a few months.
(Good) But the company replaced it quickly and free of charge. I'll have to see what the furture brings as far as durability, but this cover has pay for itself several times over. I have dropped my cell phone numerous times getting into and out of my vehicle and even stepped on it with my size 13 EEEE boots. The OTTER BOX saved my phone.
(Great) The protective qualities of the OTTER BOX are outstanding.
Pros: customer service, toughness
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Defender review

Date:November 10, 2013
Location: arizona
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Everything was great about the case except the lift up rubber tabs where the ports are. They break off after use and time. Had to have replaced twice with warranty, but customer svc was great.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HTC EVO 4G LTE Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

TOO BRITTLE

Date:September 28, 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Although this product has an excellent warranty,the flaps that cover the ports of the phone of the outer rubber cover and the plastic clips that hold the inner cover together are way to thin and brittle. i feel outer cover i is too hard so when you constantly open the port flaps they eventually tear and come off.(about 3 months for the charging port and about 6 months for the headphone port). The time would have been less on the headphone port if i used it for aux music in my car or at work. i love the overall idea and need something because i work heavy construction. this product is the best i have found for over all value. I have gotten full replacement after following warranty procedures(no hassles or problems).
Pros: does what it is designed for, fits perfectly
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>