OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Nexus 7 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case

Back-seat bickering will become a thing of the past with the Nexus 7 tablet from Google. The Defender Series Nexus 7 case is precisely designed for ultimate form, fit and function while providing practically indestructible protection. The multi-layered Defender Series case for Google Nexus 7 is built with a high-impact plastic polycarbonate shell that snaps together to protect the device from scratches and scuffs. A scratch-resistant screen protector is built into the inner shell to prevent damage to the touch screen while the external slip cover works to absorb impact from drops. The included screen shield/kickstand fits on the front or back of the case and doubles as a kickstand for typing or viewing. Get protection that inspires confidence with the Defender Series Nexus 7 case by OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Review 1 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Grandchild

Date:October 2, 2013
Location: Outterbox
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
I bought it for my grand child's tablet. He has younger brothers and sisters who are not too careful with his tablet but the otterbox protects it so well.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Does Not Fit New Nexus 7 (as of August 2013)

Date:August 22, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The latest model of Nexus 7 which came out in August 2013 has a different shape than the previous model. This case does not fit the newer model.
Cons: does not fit the newer nexus 7
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not a good buy

Date:June 8, 2013
Location: UK
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this case for protection of the tablet but also for the ability of the screen cover to act as a stand for the tablet. The tablet can sit in the stand in either portrait or landscape mode and at either a steep or shallow angle. I use the tablet for ebooks in portrait mode. In either angle position the tablet is unstable and unusable. I'm pretty sure that what was designed didn't include a portrait mode stand and someone decided that if you carefully position a Nexus 7 and no one knocks the table then we can sell portrait mode. Unless I'm wrong and either the instructions don't explain the stand or I've got parts missing. The situation is not helped by the magnets to power off the tablet they project from the lid just where the tablet needs to sit
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product!

Date:June 7, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased the Defender Series Otterbox for my Nexus 7 after suffering a (very expensive) damaged screen. I was looking for some security against future damage to my Nexus. I did quite a bit of research and quickly discovered that the Otterbox Defender was almost universally loved by people who bought it. Now I know why. I have been using my OB for about three weeks and I love it. Its form fit and function are superb. It really fits my nexus like a glove and offers a great deal of protection. It does add significant weight and bulk to the unit but I actually like this. It makes the Nexus very solid (adding significantly to my peace of mind after having broken mine once already). The rubberized back makes it much easier to grip and allows it to stay put when you set it down (and will probably act as a cushion if I ever do manage to drop it). The touch screen works perfectly through the screen protector. The cover serves as a stand which holds the Nexus in landscape orientation at two different viewing angles – this is a great feature. Magnets in the case support the Nexus’ auto-on feature as well. The only complaints I have are fairly minor. The screen occasionally suffers from Moiré patterns which were annoying at first but I hardly notice anymore after using it for several weeks. The stand does not support viewing in portrait orientation (the steeper angle can be used but the unit is not very stable and I am uncomfortable with it). It only comes in black. My wife and I each ordered one and it makes it difficult to tell them apart (a problem I solved by stenciling an initial on mine). It would be nice if different colors or patterns were offered.
On the whole this is an excellent product. It is intelligently designed, solid, and well built. IMO it is well worth the price. I highly recommend it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, supports nexus auto-on feature
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:April 20, 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Just got the case for my Nexus 7. I like the different viewing angles and magnets on the front cover. Also the screen protector is very responsive. All ports and buttons work perfectly. Camera is unobstructed by case. All in all this case will protect your device.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox is #1 in customer service

Date:April 1, 2013
Location: woodland ca
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased and upon arrivial noticed a abrasion on the inner screen protector. I called customer service and I explained the situation they said sorry for the problems and sent me a replacement no problem.when I received the warranty replacement it had the same abrasion and I called and explained that there might be a problem with the manufacturing again they said they were sorry and put in a note about the manufacturing.I felt like they were going to send me a case with the same issue.I was wrong I received a perfect condition and not to mentioned that my nexus 7 stayed in superior protection through out this Minor issue thanks otter box!
Pros: High quality, Durable, superior protection
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

MUST BUY FOR NEXUS 7 OWNERS!!!!!

Date:January 17, 2013
Location: Lansing, MI
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is the best case I have ever had for a tablet. This is the best of durable and high quality and works really well. I don't drop my stuff on purpose but if I ever did this really will work. This case is by far worth the money and you can tell there was a lot of thought put into this case. It feels good in the hand and does add a little bit of weight (for protection). This is a must buy for Nexus 7 Owners. Fairly priced too.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

BUY THIS!!!

Date:January 12, 2013
Location: Lansing, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very, very happy with this case. Excellent quality and design. Perfect fit. Speakers, mic and camera still work perfectly. No noticeable change in wi-fi performance with case on. I could not think of anything I would like to see changed about this case. If you own a Nexus, buy this case. If you put a gun to my head an forced me to find a negative, it is a little bit heavy but the protection seems much greater than the additional weight.
Pros: High quality, Durable, no negative effect on wi-fi
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love this case

Date:January 10, 2013
Location: Fontana, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case, very well designed, great cover, very sturdy, and feels great to hold and use. I wouldn't think twice about buying this again.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very happy man!

Date:January 8, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Just received this today and I couldn't be happier. You can see a massive amount of thought went into this design, down to the magnets that activate the screen on/off function. I also like the port covers that keep the dusts out. Altogether you've turned a very nice but vulnerable tablet into a rugged go anywhere piece of kit. I can honestly say you've doubled my satisfaction of the nexus 7 - well done!
Pros: High quality, Durable, rugged
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Google Nexus 7 Defender Series case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The Most Amazing thing ever!

Date:November 22, 2012
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
From the design to the protectiveness, this is the best case you could get for your Nexus 7. I'm the type of guy that likes a kick stand for his devices. It has one on it too. It is by far the best case I have ever had.
Pros: High quality, Durable, amazing!
-132points
33out of 198found this review helpful.