OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

.productdescription ul { margin-left: 15px; margin-top: 10px; } .productdescription ul li { font-size: 1.15em; list-style: disc; padding: 5px 0; } .readable { font-size: 1.15em; line-height: 1.4em; } Sleek and sturdy 2-layer case replaces the worry of damaging your technology with confidence knowing protection’s on your side Self-adhering screen protector guards against scratches, giving you peace-of-mind knowing your touch screen can defend itself from sharp objects Port covers keep out dust and dirt so you can carry your device worry-free in most environments
Average Customer Rating:
3.363 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
23
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
16
61 out of 113(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Useless

Date:April 4, 2013
Location: Boston
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Don't trust the Commuter to protect your phone. I dropped my three month old iPhone 5 for the first time - it fell between 18 and 24 inches onto the driveway and the screen shattered instantly. The Commuter Otter Box was completely useless in protecting it.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor quality for an Otterbox

Date:March 20, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The top of the case cracked a month in. By the 4 month the case snapped by the apple logo cutout.
I had heard from others what great quality Otterbox was. It isn't as great a quality as I thought it would be.
It isn't easy to get the iPhone out once you put it in.
Just bought an Acase. It is far better quality and better made than the Otterbox Commuter case! Won't ever by another one!
Pros: protective
Cons: Not durable
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not as good as they used to be

Date:March 8, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
In the past, I loved all Otterbox things but their quality has gone way down. I bought this case for Christmas and the hard shell cracked in half the first time I tried taking it out of the case. I don't know what they have changed but the iPhone 3, 4, & 4S cases that I had I loved. Then again, those were purchased a few years ago. Not happy with this case at all.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, plastic shell breaks in half
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

DO NOT BUY THIS CASE!

Date:February 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased this case for my iPhone 5 a couple of months ago. It did a great job of protecting the phone, and I didn't have any complaints about it...until I took it off. This case completely destroyed my phone. The phone has deep scratches on the back and sides where the case gouged into the metal. I'm very upset! I will definitely NOT be purchasing another OtterBox case in the future.
Pros: Durable
Cons: damages your phone!
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Worst purchase ever

Date:January 16, 2013
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have been using the otterbox case on my iPhone 5 since mid November and it is just terrible. The iPhone itself is well protected in this case but not only is it not good looking, it cheap quality. The hard plastic casing of the two piece cracks without dropping it. From just remove the case or apply the case it cracks. It not because i dont know how to apply it. I've known quite a few people who have had this issue. I am switching over to the SPG slim armor case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Failed in less than two weeks

Date:December 7, 2012
Location: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I purchased this case (at full retail price) 19 days ago and already it's cracked - not from dropping the phone as I have not dropped my phone yet. The power button was EXTREMELY difficult to press. I loved the color and had high hopes for this case so I folded a little piece of paper and placed it above the power button in the case - that made it just a little easier to press. The power and ac coverage is nice - there are fitted silicone pieces that fold out and fit back in place but after the 19 days the power flap is starting to not fit so nicely. I've contacted Otterbox in hopes that this crack is covered under the limited 1 year warranty but find myself not happy that the purple I currently have (a very dark plum purple plastic outer shell w/ the black silicone inner) is not even available through the company direct - only through Verizon online. This is my first Otterbox case (I've had Incipio up until now) and heard rave reviews from friends but I am sorely disappointed. I will definitely not be purchasing another and going back to Incipio.
Cons: Not durable
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Save your money

Date:November 23, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This is my first Otter Box product, and my expectations were high considering the price paid. I am very disappointed and will not buy another.
1. The 30 pin to lightning (genuine Apple-made) adapter can not be used with this case. The adapter is wider than the case opening. I have to use this adapter to connect my phone to my car's iPod cable.
2. The screen protector provided with the case is a joke. The stickers applied to the screen protector material were very difficult to remove. Also, the material is somewhat oversized for the screen when the case is in place.
3. The outer plastic of the "commuter" model is too hard. The top edge - where my ear comes into contact with the case when on a call - is sharp and actually painful. The back of the case is too smooth and slides around way too easily.
Save your money and buy something with a better design that was actually tested on the product it was intended to protect.
Cons: Low quality, incompatible with device, poor material
-20points
7out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Saving 1/100 cent with a sticker that doesn't come

Date:November 13, 2012
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the screen protector has two paper stickers to tell you what side goes down and what side goes up. Should have spent the money on one sticker that says both that comes off! Both stickers have to be scrubbed off leaving a nice scratched surface to look thru. Don't know what kind of engineering dept let that one fly
Cons: Low quality
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

No longer King of extreme protection

Date:November 12, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I bought this case as I always have since the very first iPhone. The protection provided has steadily decreased since the first Otterbox I had, removing very important dust protections. The speakers for example are no longer covered by dust filters, and instead left open to allow dust to work itself in between the phone and the case to slowly rub pits into the phone. The camera is no longer covered, where other companies have either placed coated glass in front of the camera, or a small door that swings out of the way when needed. the whole area of the earpiece and front camera are left wide open, allowing another access to dust. Lastly the rubber is better than the last generation, BUT, there is now a protective coating which peels if the case is rubbed. Unfortunately for Otterbox, it seems as the company has gotten larger, attention to making the best cases, and providing great customer service (that's an entirely different story) have gone the other direction.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, low dust protection
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

I wished I had waited for the Reflex

Date:November 9, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had two other otterbox iphone cases -- both were Prefix, a one piece case. The two-piece Commuter seems to have bells and whistles that would make it better, but this case's plastic at the base cracked right away and the dust covers for the earphones and charging plug were hard to open.
Wished I had waited -- now I will be returning it and wonder if I will replace it with another otterbox product or go somewhere else.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor Service and Cheap design

Date:October 19, 2012
Location: Portland OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
I have always been a fan of otterbox and their cases, but for the iPhone 5 the commuter case I was very disappointed. When I opened the case it seemed to have a cheap feel to it, not like my previous otterbox cases. The case has no texture to it except the openings making it feel and look like a thin piece of regular plastic. Also the inner shell has flaps that cover the charging port and headphone jack. The problem is that they dont stay closed and keep allowing junk to get in them. When I returned it due to being unhappy with its quality and design, otterbox took it back only after charging me for the shipping. I guess I will have to keep looking for a good quality case.
Cons: Low quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Forgot How to design a case

Date:October 6, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Have used several Otter Box Cases in the past on iPhone 3 and 4's They were great. The iPhone 5 Commuter was not designed consistent with previous commuter cases. Too Bulky (thicker and wider than iPhone 4 case), Poor Quality, Rubber to stiff (feel and difficulty pressing lock button), Edges too sharp, Dock and Headphone covers don't stay closed. I purchased 2 commuters and 1 Defender. Defender is great, I will be returning both commuters.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Uncharacteristic of Otterbox

Date:October 1, 2012
I'll start by saying that I'm a huge Otterbox fan, but the commuter for iPhone 5 is simply a poor product.
The Silicone piece that goes around the phone is not a good fit, it bunches up at the bottom of the phone and the case itself is way too thick.
I've had otterboxes for all of my iPhones and this is, easily, the worst one ever made.
I can't recommend this at all...steer clear of this case or you will be disappointed.
Cons: Low quality, doesn't fit well, rushed product, unnecessary bulk
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Worst Case Ever

Date:September 28, 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have loved my Otterbox cases in the past and was both surprised and disappointed upon receipt of the iPhone 5 Commuter case. The rubberized and hard shells neither fit well with each other or the phone. There are obvious gaps between the rubberized body and the device, negating any 'dust and particulate' protection attempted. The buttons and ringer toggle are difficult to operate, and the port covers simply don't fit the hard shell. As another reviewer stated, there is a slightly sharp edge on the face of the hard shell. The rubberized shell looks like it's years old straight from the packaging, with frayed bits of rubber, odd creases, and weathering all over.
I would neither recommend this product to a friend nor purchase it again for myself.
Cons: Low quality, improper fit, low button responsiveness
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Great look but...

Date:September 26, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I loved my Commuter Case for my Iphone 4 so it came as no surprise to anyone that I immediately ordered a Commuter Case for my Iphone 5. It looks great, but to my dismay it does not fit the phone correctly. The bottom lightening pin and headphone jack are not covered at all because they do not properly lock in place. It is annoying and they hang open all the time. I loved the case for the Iphone 4, but I will be searching for another case with my Iphone 5.
Pros: sleek look
Cons: Low quality, does not fit properly
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Worst OtterBox Case Ever Purchased (Doesn't Fit)

Date:September 21, 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I am a long time Otter Box consumer. The Commuter Series cases are great when compared to the heavy Defender Series cases because they allow for better sliding in and out of your pocket and are a bit smaller around the phone. This case though, is absolutely awful. I'm not sure if research was not done well enough or what, but the case does not fit the phone. It sits awkwardly on it at best. Secondly, it takes any of the new "sleekness" of the iPhone 5 away making it feel like an absolute brick in your hand (unlike the Commuter Series cases I have for my Blackberry Bold 9650 and iPhone 4s). It is uncomfortable to hold and does not let you enjoy the new, larger screen either. What a joke of a product. In my opinion it was completely rushed and it absolutely shows.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, does not fit
+37points
47out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

This did not live up to my expectations.

Date:July 7, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This product was not what I was expecting it to be. When I got my iPhone 5 I immediately began looking for a case for it. My family and I have always been a pro-otterbox family; all of our devices have otterbox cases on them. I didn’t want a defender series for my phone because I wanted to be able to take my phone out and clean it easily (I noticed with our other devices that it was a hassle to clean with so many layers of case protecting it.)
I still wanted an otterbox, though, because of the level of protection it offered. I did my homework and looked at all the different cases otterbox provided, and I liked the commuter. From the advertising it was everything I wanted: Slim case, good color, high protection, and easy to take off.
When I got the case, I messed up with the screen protector, but that was just user error. I thought I could put on a little piece of plastic without reading the instructions. I was very wrong. There is a process, and I highly recommend reading the instructions, however stupid you may find the concept of it.
I had to buy a different screen protector because I ruined the one it came with. I expected this case to be perfect, and it was for a little while. I was able to take it off about 3 times. That was it.
I am very careful with my electronics. I pride myself in saying I’ve never dropped my phone, iPad, etc. I am responsible. The case was kept in a good condition, and when I was trying to take it off my phone to marvel at the sleekness of the iPhone 5, the back of it cracked. My case was not even 2 months old.
The outside plastic of this case is very inflexible, so it won’t come off without cracking. The case is still on my phone because I haven’t gotten a replacement yet; it’s still usable, but I haven’t been able to get it off since cracking it.
So in the end, it was more of a hassle to take clean my phone with the commuter instead of the defender. Oh, the irony…
My next case will not be an otterbox commuter. I haven’t had any bad experiences with the otterbox defender series, so I will try that one. I haven’t given up on otterbox yet!
Pros: has a nice look
Cons: Not durable, very inflexible
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

disappointing

Date:June 1, 2013
Location: West Branch, MI
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The plastic piece along the bottom near the charging port broke after being dropped once, the rubber piece directly under that ripped not long after. The rubber pieces that cover the headphone jack and charging port have been bent to the point where they stick out almost constantly, it takes effort to make them stay in place and once they are it is difficult to open them again.
Over all not satisfied with this case at all and will not be purchasing another.
Pros: good color
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, collects dirt/dust, broke easy, rubber falling apart
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Protective but Dirty

Date:April 25, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bought this case in Pink and White, loving the look as well as the protection. However, only a few weeks in I noticed the white layer beginning to look dirty. No amount of cleaning could remove the stains, and they've just gotten worse to the point where it's embarrassing. The white layer is also frayed and torn where it is exposed, especially over the power button.
I have also noticed several marks on my screen, but I am hoping they are only on the screen protector and not the screen itself. Overall the case has done its job protecting my phone.
I have not even had this case for six months and I am looking for a new one that will be of higher quality. I am not hard on my phone; I would like to think I take good care of it, though it does get a lot of use. I would think that for this price, Otterbox would have made a more durable phone case - and one that is able to be cleaned!
I paid a lot for this case but it is so dirty and worn that I will gladly get rid of it.
Pros: protective
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

white and pink communter case

Date:January 24, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought this case because I really liked my defender case for my IPhone 4. After I bought my IPhone 5 there was no other case besides and Otter Box that I wanted to protect my new phone. I bought the pink and white case because I purchased the white phone and thought this case would look nice. The case does look nice however the white part of the case has gotten dirty within 2 weeks of purchase the case. Nothing is getting the case clean. I am really disappointed with the case because you are unable to keep it clean. For $35 you would like the material of the case would not turn colors or at lease you would be able to clean it. I would not recommend this color of case to anyone. My cousin has the same case and is having the same problem. I wish I could return this case but I don't think i dirty case is returnable.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: unable to clean the white case
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>