OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

.productdescription ul { margin-left: 15px; margin-top: 10px; } .productdescription ul li { font-size: 1.15em; list-style: disc; padding: 5px 0; } .readable { font-size: 1.15em; line-height: 1.4em; } Sleek and sturdy 2-layer case replaces the worry of damaging your technology with confidence knowing protection’s on your side Self-adhering screen protector guards against scratches, giving you peace-of-mind knowing your touch screen can defend itself from sharp objects Port covers keep out dust and dirt so you can carry your device worry-free in most environments
Average Customer Rating:
3.363 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
23
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
16
61 out of 113(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Review 61 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just bought Commuter case

Date:October 20, 2012
Location: USA
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Well i just bought my iphone 5 3 days ago and i'm already on my 3 rd case lol.. I guess 3rd times the charm because this case is perfect for my sense of protection on the phone.. I went through the Belkin case from Verizon and some clear case from Amazon and i just didnt feel the phone was protected. We've all dropped our phone one time or another and this will definitely work..
only negative and not a big deal is the power button on top is hard to push down.. Other than that its not bulky or over powering the phone..
Thanks
Pros: High quality, Durable, lightning protector cover, 3mm rubber jack cover
Cons: power button hard to push
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor Service and Cheap design

Date:October 19, 2012
Location: Portland OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
I have always been a fan of otterbox and their cases, but for the iPhone 5 the commuter case I was very disappointed. When I opened the case it seemed to have a cheap feel to it, not like my previous otterbox cases. The case has no texture to it except the openings making it feel and look like a thin piece of regular plastic. Also the inner shell has flaps that cover the charging port and headphone jack. The problem is that they dont stay closed and keep allowing junk to get in them. When I returned it due to being unhappy with its quality and design, otterbox took it back only after charging me for the shipping. I guess I will have to keep looking for a good quality case.
Cons: Low quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 63 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Frickin' Sweeet

Date:October 16, 2012
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Alrighty, I have to say this case came today and I just abosoluelty love it! I got the punked one (green and blue) and I really love the color because it is bright but not too bright. Also, This case will protect it from my drops... I have an I-phone 5 ..... anyways it has great protection, is sleek but adds some weight.... overall though I am muy bien hahhaa very happy with this :) Thanks otterbox for helping me protect my very first smartphone :) aww got a little teary there :') THANK YOU! My philosophy is that if you have an expensive phone you may as well protect it and OTTERBOX does just that :) That's all
Pros: High quality, Durable, beautiful color, screen protection, cheap! :d
Cons: none so far :))))<- double chin
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case

Date:October 16, 2012
Location: The south
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got the Defender case in store the day I got my iPhone 5 and pre-ordered a Commuter series. I had the Defender for about 3 weeks before i got my Commuter. I definitely felt protected when I had my Defender and was skeptical about the Commuter, but I've already dropped my phone probably 9 times and the case doesn't even have a scratch. I like how much less bulky the Commuter is than the Defender. You can actually see my beautiful, white iPhone now! Also, the hard exterior allows the phone to more easily slide into pockets. The power button isn't really hard to push, it just takes getting used to. Great overall!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 65 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case!

Date:October 15, 2012
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I've used the Commuter case with previous iPhones and always really liked it. This one does not disappoint. It offers good all around protection and fun colors.
Two negatives; first the lock button is very hard to push. Never had this issue on previous Commuter cases. I'm hoping it breaks in a bit. The port covers are a little stiff as well, but that doesn't bother me. The screen protector that comes with the case is pretty junky. I only use Zagg screen protectors. I cut the one that came with the case and used it to protect the exposed Apple logo on the back of the phone since there is no protective screen on the case.
Pros: High quality, Durable, nice design
Cons: stiff buttons, poor screen protector
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not as I expected

Date:October 14, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I brought my case a soon I got my iPhone and it seems to be a good case, the quality is very good but the problem that I found is the power button cover makes it very difficult to push down on it, which is not good AT ALL. I returned the case to see if I got a defective one, but the one that o got, have the same problem. Really? I thin, they made this case in a rush, to have something for those people who brought their phones and don't have a case to protect their phones, I'm very disappointed about this problem, also as far as the headphone and power ports not sealing in place, something that is very important.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

The Clunker Case

Date:October 14, 2012
Location: tampa
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
In comparison to my last otterbox commuter case, the new iphone 5 commuter case is a big letdown. I had my 3GS for 3 long years and that generation of commuter case kept my iphone in one piece through several mishaps. Not only did it do an outstanding job of protecting my phone but the low profile of the case looked great without adding bulk. I loved the old commuter so much that when it came time to order the case for my iPhone 5 I didn't even look at other cases! I regret that now. Apparently Otterbox has gotten lazy in the last 3 years. The i5 commuter case drowns the sleek i5 in overly excessive amounts of material turning a beautiful phone into an ugly brick. The case creates a steep ridge around the perimeter of the screen that is uncomfortable on the ear. The phone felt uncomfortable in my pocket and left a rectangular stretch mark in my jeans. Furthermore, as many have mentioned, the charger plug built into the case does not fit properly and sticks out of the bottom of the phone. This makes the case look cheap and poorly made. There is no doubt that the case protects the phone. If you do not care about style, comfort, and functionality then this case is a good case. I feel like otterbox just figured that they could simply change a few dimensions so the case fits the new i5 design and everyone would buy it just because of their solid reputation. Unfortunately in my case they were right but I suggest YOU don't make the same mistake!
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, poor design, bulky
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 68 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case, but doesn't offer as much as LifeProof

Date:October 12, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I received my OtterBox case today and it seems to be a good case, the quality is very good and fit as well. The power button cover makes it very difficult to push down on it, which is not good at all. The bulkness of the case somewhat bothers me, but that comes with any good case you would buy. I'm not sure if this case is going to stand a chance against the new IPhone 5 LifeProof case coming out.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: button use, charger cover
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 69 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox does not disappoint....

Date:October 9, 2012
Location: Ft Collins, Home of Otterbox
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After reading other reviews I decided to go ahead and get the commuter as I have loved the 3 and 4 versions. The phone simply slid right in to the rubber sleeve then the shell snapped right on. Not sure where people say the power button is hard to push. As far as the headphone and power ports not sealing. If you just rub the covers the tabs just go right back into place.
The only complaint I have is that on the top front corners on the plastic are just a touch rough. Other then that the case is outstanding.
I got the punk green and blue.
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It saved me already!

Date:October 9, 2012
Location: Round Rock, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
It never fails that I drop a new phone within the first few days. Not sure why, but maybe it's just the change in size/weight that gets me. So I dropped my new iphone 5 with this commuter case onto the ground while I was gassing up at the gas station and it survived! It's difficult to even find a scratch on the case. Thanks Otterbox!
My only complaint would be the loose charger and jack covers (I already cut the charger cover off), and maybe an awareness that the power button is more difficult to press.
I also have the Defender case which I use when I'm doing my outdoor activities and I expect even more protection.
Pros: Durable, saved me from a drop
Cons: loose power and jack covers, power button more difficult to press than necessar
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's OK...

Date:October 8, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The Otterbox Commuter series cover that I received is good enough, I guess. The covered buttons are harder to depress than it feels like they should be.
My pirmary issue with my purchase is that the included screen protector came pre-loaded with particles (either fiber or hair (yuck!))... so, even with the included "installer card" (used to smooth out air bubbles), there was no getting the screen protector on smoothly... this means I'm out to buy a new one. I've not had this problem before with my previous iPhones.
Anyway, other than the aforementioned issues with the buttons, the case fits well enough.
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen protector quality control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Colored Rubber

Date:October 8, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This is my first Otterbox, and I love it. It fits well but is not as bulky as the Defender series.
I'm a little disappointed with the white rubber part. (I have the pink/white case). When I put it in my pocket, the rubber gets dirty so easily.
My case no longer looks new and I've only had it a week.
Cons: rubber gets dirty
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 73 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

good case.

Date:October 8, 2012
Location: NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had the commuter on all my iphones, and now I have it on my 5. I'm pretty prone to drops, and I trust my otterbox to keep my phone fairly safe. Main reason I like these is because they have a nice lip around the screen area, so, a slightly less chance of the screen smashing off the pavement. Feels nice, well built, and I think the people complaining about gaps aren't putting hard shell on fully over the rubber. Which can be a pain to get right sometimes.
My only complaint is the power button is pretty hard to push, volume buttons are soso, but way harder than the iphone4/4s cases. Also the little hinged rubber pieces that cover the charge, and headphone port, are pretty stiff. When open, and the charger plugged in, it worries me how hard they spring back and put pressure on the connector.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: stiff buttons, stiff rubber port covers
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

I would go with the Defender Series case

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased this case thinking it would give my phone proper protection. I ended up getting the Defender series case to replace this one. There is no screen protector and the case itself does not feel very durable should you drop your phone. Don't waist your money.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Forgot How to design a case

Date:October 6, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Have used several Otter Box Cases in the past on iPhone 3 and 4's They were great. The iPhone 5 Commuter was not designed consistent with previous commuter cases. Too Bulky (thicker and wider than iPhone 4 case), Poor Quality, Rubber to stiff (feel and difficulty pressing lock button), Edges too sharp, Dock and Headphone covers don't stay closed. I purchased 2 commuters and 1 Defender. Defender is great, I will be returning both commuters.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 76 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Does the job

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Not sure why people are giving bad reviews. Originally I ordered the defender series... Too much for me. Commuter series is perfect for what I was looking for. The fit and quality are both good! Buy this case,
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 77 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:October 5, 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall very stylish and easy to use. I chose the Commuter case over the defender for the ease of getting it in and out of my pocket. It had a smooth and durable outer shell that makes it really easy to do that. Overall I am satisfied with my purchase.
The only cons, which aren't very significant are the top lock button is more difficult to push. It's not bad it's just harder than previous otterbox cases. Also the screen protector that came with the case I'm not particularly thrilled with. I will most likely be upgrading that.
Otherwise this is a beautiful and fantastic case. I ordered the Aqua blue color and it is great. The charger and headphone cover fits perfectly with no issues. I'm very pleased with this product.
Pros: High quality, Durable, aqua blue beautiful, fits great, great price
Cons: lock button hard to press, screen protector
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 78 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Not to bulky!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Houston, TX.
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I always like otterbox cases but I think the last one was a little to bulky and this model is not so big... So far is good!!
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 79 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I bought this case...

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
DESPITE bad reviews...AND I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. This is a great case as Otterboxes usually are. It fits snugly on the phone, looks great, isn't bulky(fits great in the pocket). I was hesitant but I'm glad I went with this case. It's perfect protection for my new phone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, lightweight, visually appealing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 80 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

More Color Options

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
So far I like the case. It's my first experience with Otterbox. The iPhone5 is so thin and light, this case adds some weight and bulk but enough to make it feel better in my hand. I like that it's not a rubber grip case b/c it slips into my bag and pocket easily.
I got the punked colors bright green & blue. I wish the inner sleeve was white, as I have a white phone and the blue just looks wrong. I wish Otterbox had the option to let choose our own color choices.
I haven't dropped my phone yet so I can't attest to the protection value.
I did find the power button to be hard to press but I guess that's a good thing so it won't power on inside my bag or my pocket. I mostly use the home button to turn it on anyway.
I did have a little bit of rough edging near the bottom of the outer case but I scraped it off with my fingernail. It's fine.
The green is more neon vibrant green than how it looks on the website. I would like it if Otterbox made a wee bit darker truer green than neon.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>