OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

.productdescription ul { margin-left: 15px; margin-top: 10px; } .productdescription ul li { font-size: 1.15em; list-style: disc; padding: 5px 0; } .readable { font-size: 1.15em; line-height: 1.4em; } Sleek and sturdy 2-layer case replaces the worry of damaging your technology with confidence knowing protection’s on your side Self-adhering screen protector guards against scratches, giving you peace-of-mind knowing your touch screen can defend itself from sharp objects Port covers keep out dust and dirt so you can carry your device worry-free in most environments
Average Customer Rating:
3.327 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
16
53 out of 104(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Review 61 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox does not disappoint....

Date:October 9, 2012
Location: Ft Collins, Home of Otterbox
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After reading other reviews I decided to go ahead and get the commuter as I have loved the 3 and 4 versions. The phone simply slid right in to the rubber sleeve then the shell snapped right on. Not sure where people say the power button is hard to push. As far as the headphone and power ports not sealing. If you just rub the covers the tabs just go right back into place.
The only complaint I have is that on the top front corners on the plastic are just a touch rough. Other then that the case is outstanding.
I got the punk green and blue.
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It saved me already!

Date:October 9, 2012
Location: Round Rock, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
It never fails that I drop a new phone within the first few days. Not sure why, but maybe it's just the change in size/weight that gets me. So I dropped my new iphone 5 with this commuter case onto the ground while I was gassing up at the gas station and it survived! It's difficult to even find a scratch on the case. Thanks Otterbox!
My only complaint would be the loose charger and jack covers (I already cut the charger cover off), and maybe an awareness that the power button is more difficult to press.
I also have the Defender case which I use when I'm doing my outdoor activities and I expect even more protection.
Pros: Durable, saved me from a drop
Cons: loose power and jack covers, power button more difficult to press than necessar
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 63 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's OK...

Date:October 8, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The Otterbox Commuter series cover that I received is good enough, I guess. The covered buttons are harder to depress than it feels like they should be.
My pirmary issue with my purchase is that the included screen protector came pre-loaded with particles (either fiber or hair (yuck!))... so, even with the included "installer card" (used to smooth out air bubbles), there was no getting the screen protector on smoothly... this means I'm out to buy a new one. I've not had this problem before with my previous iPhones.
Anyway, other than the aforementioned issues with the buttons, the case fits well enough.
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen protector quality control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Colored Rubber

Date:October 8, 2012
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This is my first Otterbox, and I love it. It fits well but is not as bulky as the Defender series.
I'm a little disappointed with the white rubber part. (I have the pink/white case). When I put it in my pocket, the rubber gets dirty so easily.
My case no longer looks new and I've only had it a week.
Cons: rubber gets dirty
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 65 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

good case.

Date:October 8, 2012
Location: NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had the commuter on all my iphones, and now I have it on my 5. I'm pretty prone to drops, and I trust my otterbox to keep my phone fairly safe. Main reason I like these is because they have a nice lip around the screen area, so, a slightly less chance of the screen smashing off the pavement. Feels nice, well built, and I think the people complaining about gaps aren't putting hard shell on fully over the rubber. Which can be a pain to get right sometimes.
My only complaint is the power button is pretty hard to push, volume buttons are soso, but way harder than the iphone4/4s cases. Also the little hinged rubber pieces that cover the charge, and headphone port, are pretty stiff. When open, and the charger plugged in, it worries me how hard they spring back and put pressure on the connector.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: stiff buttons, stiff rubber port covers
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

I would go with the Defender Series case

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased this case thinking it would give my phone proper protection. I ended up getting the Defender series case to replace this one. There is no screen protector and the case itself does not feel very durable should you drop your phone. Don't waist your money.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Forgot How to design a case

Date:October 6, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Have used several Otter Box Cases in the past on iPhone 3 and 4's They were great. The iPhone 5 Commuter was not designed consistent with previous commuter cases. Too Bulky (thicker and wider than iPhone 4 case), Poor Quality, Rubber to stiff (feel and difficulty pressing lock button), Edges too sharp, Dock and Headphone covers don't stay closed. I purchased 2 commuters and 1 Defender. Defender is great, I will be returning both commuters.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 68 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Does the job

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Texas
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Not sure why people are giving bad reviews. Originally I ordered the defender series... Too much for me. Commuter series is perfect for what I was looking for. The fit and quality are both good! Buy this case,
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 69 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:October 5, 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall very stylish and easy to use. I chose the Commuter case over the defender for the ease of getting it in and out of my pocket. It had a smooth and durable outer shell that makes it really easy to do that. Overall I am satisfied with my purchase.
The only cons, which aren't very significant are the top lock button is more difficult to push. It's not bad it's just harder than previous otterbox cases. Also the screen protector that came with the case I'm not particularly thrilled with. I will most likely be upgrading that.
Otherwise this is a beautiful and fantastic case. I ordered the Aqua blue color and it is great. The charger and headphone cover fits perfectly with no issues. I'm very pleased with this product.
Pros: High quality, Durable, aqua blue beautiful, fits great, great price
Cons: lock button hard to press, screen protector
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 70 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Not to bulky!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Houston, TX.
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I always like otterbox cases but I think the last one was a little to bulky and this model is not so big... So far is good!!
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I bought this case...

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
DESPITE bad reviews...AND I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED. This is a great case as Otterboxes usually are. It fits snugly on the phone, looks great, isn't bulky(fits great in the pocket). I was hesitant but I'm glad I went with this case. It's perfect protection for my new phone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, lightweight, visually appealing
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

More Color Options

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
So far I like the case. It's my first experience with Otterbox. The iPhone5 is so thin and light, this case adds some weight and bulk but enough to make it feel better in my hand. I like that it's not a rubber grip case b/c it slips into my bag and pocket easily.
I got the punked colors bright green & blue. I wish the inner sleeve was white, as I have a white phone and the blue just looks wrong. I wish Otterbox had the option to let choose our own color choices.
I haven't dropped my phone yet so I can't attest to the protection value.
I did find the power button to be hard to press but I guess that's a good thing so it won't power on inside my bag or my pocket. I mostly use the home button to turn it on anyway.
I did have a little bit of rough edging near the bottom of the outer case but I scraped it off with my fingernail. It's fine.
The green is more neon vibrant green than how it looks on the website. I would like it if Otterbox made a wee bit darker truer green than neon.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I don't know what everyone else on here is complaining about because I just got my case and I love it. None of the buttons lose their sensitivity and the case fits great. I mean yeah, it's a little bit more bulky than your average case, however, it is an OtterBox... This should be expected. It offers great protection and if I have to deal with a little bulkiness in order to protect my phone I will. Another thing I like about this case it that it does cover any open holes (besides the speakers, of course). The colors are great too. Overall, I am highly satisfied with this product and would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Pretty good cover

Date:October 4, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The cover fits just fine. No issues with sharp edges or poor fitment. Buttons seem to work well, too. The flap on the bottom for the new Lightning connector is a bit annoying as is the cover for the headphone connection. Nothing major though. The only real issue is the screen protector. It is ill fitting, difficult to install precisely and, in my case, still has some of the adhesive from the removal tags stuck on it. The tag did not come off cleanly.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not a good choice

Date:October 3, 2012
Location: Central IL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I loved my Otterbox Defender for my iPhone 4. This time around, I went with the Commuter series for my iPhone 5. I didn't need as much protection, as I was always careful with my phone.
Pros: This thing does look like it could keep a phone protected from a drop.
Price was not too bad.
Cons: The case is too SLIPPERY! The plastic might slide out of your pocket easily, but, I'm worried about drops due to handling this thing. It's way too slick, and, there's no grip to it.
The power/lock button is very hard to press. It takes extra force to press it down; frustrating.
The port cover on my case does not lock in place. The headphone jack port cover locks beautifully...but the one covering the charge port does not. I can't get it to stay put!
The screen protector they ship with this thing is also pretty poor. A Zagg protector would be a good investment.
Very disappointed with Otterbox this time. My Defender case for my old phone was awesome. I will be returning this one and waiting for the Lifeproof case.
Cons: slippery, power button too hard
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 76 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:October 2, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is a great product, i have had the comutter sereis since the iPhone 3GS and its a great product. I know people have had issues with the way that the case has been fitting but this fits great!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 77 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case!

Date:October 2, 2012
Location: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
iPhone 5 commuter case (Black)
- Initially the rubber mold did not fit correctly inside the hard shell. However, if you trim back the rubber in the places where it does not fit you can have a great fit!
- The case does add a lot of bulk to the phone which I found weird because it's no more thicker than the iPhone 4s commuter case. I think it's just because the iPhone 5 is longer.
- Everyone complaining that the port coverings on the bottom of the phone hangs outside the case, make sure that the two little notches that stick out on the side of the flaps are tucked into the case. Also make sure that the rubber insert is correctly placed into the case as well i.e. no gaps etc. Mine do not hang at all.
Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase after a little modification of the rubber insert, I couldn't be happier. The fitment after the modification is great, very easy to do. My phone is VERY well protected and there are no hanging flaps.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: fitment
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 78 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Just OK

Date:October 2, 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I'm not really enamored with this case, particularly the screen cover. When you install the case, the screen cover, in spite of your best OCD efforts, will attract dust and fuzz that you didn't know was anywhere near your iPhone screen. It will stay under the screen cover until you either remove the cover or try to clean it up. The cover itself smudges and collects all manner of lint, fingerprint smudges, etc. that never get clean.
Then there's the case itself. It doesn't fit the best, and any lint in your pocket will collect inside the case for you to find later when you remove the case. I thought the whole point of the case was to protect your phone from that stuff. The power jack and headphone jack covers are flimsy, and don't seem like they'll hold up over time.
Other than that, it seems like a good case.
Pros: Durable, looks good, seems to protect phone
Cons: screen cover low quality, attracts lint, hard to clean
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 79 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great but could be better

Date:October 2, 2012
Location: California
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am very pleased with my iPhone 5 commuter case (I got glacier). I only really have 2 complaints about this case. The first complaint is something others have already stated and that is that it makes the lock button on the top a little difficult to press. I find myself having to use my other hand to really push down on the thing to lock it. This problem, however, is not my main concern. The only thing that I do not really like about this case is that it is pretty slippery. The plastic is not "grippy" nor is it "sticky" like a speck case sort of is when you hold it. This is made with some kind of plastic that really feels like you are going to drop it half the time which still freaks me out to this day.
That is why I gave it a 4/5 stars. I know the case gives very good protection but I don't get any piece of mind at the same time because I always feel like I'm about to drop it because it's slippery (especially when the more you use it the more your hands get a little sweaty, then it gets worse)
Otherwise, I still found this to be a great case and would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: good protection, stylish, not very heavy
Cons: slippery, very difficult to remove
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 80 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Uncharacteristic of Otterbox

Date:October 1, 2012
I'll start by saying that I'm a huge Otterbox fan, but the commuter for iPhone 5 is simply a poor product.
The Silicone piece that goes around the phone is not a good fit, it bunches up at the bottom of the phone and the case itself is way too thick.
I've had otterboxes for all of my iPhones and this is, easily, the worst one ever made.
I can't recommend this at all...steer clear of this case or you will be disappointed.
Cons: Low quality, doesn't fit well, rushed product, unnecessary bulk
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>