OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case

.productdescription ul { margin-left: 15px; margin-top: 10px; } .productdescription ul li { font-size: 1.15em; list-style: disc; padding: 5px 0; } .readable { font-size: 1.15em; line-height: 1.4em; } Sleek and sturdy 2-layer case replaces the worry of damaging your technology with confidence knowing protection’s on your side Self-adhering screen protector guards against scratches, giving you peace-of-mind knowing your touch screen can defend itself from sharp objects Port covers keep out dust and dirt so you can carry your device worry-free in most environments
Average Customer Rating:
3.363 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
23
3 stars
22
2 stars
18
1 star
16
61 out of 113(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great quality, great colors but the design is off

Date:August 29, 2013
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love the case! I wasn't so happy with the original Commuter for the iPhone 4S. I ended up buying one for my iPhone 5 and I'm still not completely satisfied with it. The buttons are hard to push and I ended up making the sleep/wake button on my phone useless. After that, I had to cash in my warranty and get a refurbed iPhone 5. I hope the design improves...or I can no longer be your customer.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Very Protective!

Date:August 14, 2013
Location: Colorado
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
First of all, I'm a klutz when it comes to phones, so this case has been much appreciated. The case I ordered is the aqua/mineral blue and is very strong. I can trust myself to throw my phone into my bag without any worries.
My only problem with the case is that the rubber started to peel after two weeks of use. The cover for the charging port also doesn't close all the way, and is starting to break off, yet I didn't have this problem with the purple and black case I ordered almost a year ago.
Otherwise, this is a great case and I haven't had any major issues with it. I'd highly recommend it if you need something that provides great protection.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

pretty good

Date:July 16, 2013
Location: FL
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I just got it and its slim, light and offers protection. The only bad thing about it is it gets scratched up fairly easily.
Pros: High quality, stylish
Cons: Not durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

This did not live up to my expectations.

Date:July 7, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This product was not what I was expecting it to be. When I got my iPhone 5 I immediately began looking for a case for it. My family and I have always been a pro-otterbox family; all of our devices have otterbox cases on them. I didn’t want a defender series for my phone because I wanted to be able to take my phone out and clean it easily (I noticed with our other devices that it was a hassle to clean with so many layers of case protecting it.)
I still wanted an otterbox, though, because of the level of protection it offered. I did my homework and looked at all the different cases otterbox provided, and I liked the commuter. From the advertising it was everything I wanted: Slim case, good color, high protection, and easy to take off.
When I got the case, I messed up with the screen protector, but that was just user error. I thought I could put on a little piece of plastic without reading the instructions. I was very wrong. There is a process, and I highly recommend reading the instructions, however stupid you may find the concept of it.
I had to buy a different screen protector because I ruined the one it came with. I expected this case to be perfect, and it was for a little while. I was able to take it off about 3 times. That was it.
I am very careful with my electronics. I pride myself in saying I’ve never dropped my phone, iPad, etc. I am responsible. The case was kept in a good condition, and when I was trying to take it off my phone to marvel at the sleekness of the iPhone 5, the back of it cracked. My case was not even 2 months old.
The outside plastic of this case is very inflexible, so it won’t come off without cracking. The case is still on my phone because I haven’t gotten a replacement yet; it’s still usable, but I haven’t been able to get it off since cracking it.
So in the end, it was more of a hassle to take clean my phone with the commuter instead of the defender. Oh, the irony…
My next case will not be an otterbox commuter. I haven’t had any bad experiences with the otterbox defender series, so I will try that one. I haven’t given up on otterbox yet!
Pros: has a nice look
Cons: Not durable, very inflexible
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case

Date:June 14, 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this case in February in the dark blue and teal color and it is amazing. I have a little brother and this case has been tossed on the floor and no scratches whatsoever. It can be cleaned very easily and the colors don't fade at all. I would definitely buy from Otterbox in the future.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not very stylish
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:June 12, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had this case on my iPhone 5 since I got the phone and have had zero issues with it. In fact, I sort of forgot it was even on the phone until today, when my phone fell out of my pocket, bounced off the floor of a tank I was working in and fell out of the drain... onto a concrete floor 60' below me, ending up in a pool of water and unrefined oil. After all this the phone is completely fine, the only damage was a crack to the plastic on the back of the case. Definitely worth the money, it paid for itself a few times over.
Pros: High quality, Durable, smart design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Second OtterBox Case - love them!

Date:June 11, 2013
Location: Tennesee
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I upgraded to an iPhone 5 - I immediately got a case - wouldn't have a phone without an OtterBox.
The iPhone 5 case felt a little different then my iPhone 4s case. But not really in a bad way.
These are the first cases that I've ever bought for ANY phone and actually use. I normally don't like cases because they change the feel and size of the phone. But this case feels great in your hand.
Some of the reviews talk about the silicon stretching out- I found that to be true on my first case - partly because I kept taking it off to show it off. Once I got my second case, I left it on and had no issues!
OtterBox in general has excellent customer service - if you are worried about spending money on a case - don't fear. They replace any broken cases - easy peasy - no fuss. Just fill out an online form, submit pictures and then your replacement case is on its way. You don't have to send in the broken case which is great!
Pros: Durable, High quality, easy to put on
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

disappointing

Date:June 1, 2013
Location: West Branch, MI
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The plastic piece along the bottom near the charging port broke after being dropped once, the rubber piece directly under that ripped not long after. The rubber pieces that cover the headphone jack and charging port have been bent to the point where they stick out almost constantly, it takes effort to make them stay in place and once they are it is difficult to open them again.
Over all not satisfied with this case at all and will not be purchasing another.
Pros: good color
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, collects dirt/dust, broke easy, rubber falling apart
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection but....

Date:May 28, 2013
Location: Upstate, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I was so happy when my custom otterbox arrived. The purple is a little lighter than in the picture but I still loved the look of it. I know my phone is protected and its not as bulky as the other otterbox cases. However within 3 days, I noticed the bottom edges of the silicone part beginning to show dirt. This is very disheartening since I work in an office and my phone is not in any dirty areas, just normal everyday life. If I knew the case was going to get so dirty so easily, I either would have picked a darker color or even a different case altogether.
Pros: Durable
Cons: picks up dirt easy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Exceeded my expectations!

Date:May 2, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the Commuter case for my iphone 5 the same day i bought my phone. I had never had an Otterbox, but my brother swore by them. I had the white with the gunmetal grey inner case. The case is not only very cute but its so practical. I drop my phone all the time and not only does the phone not get damaged, the case doesn't either. Also, I'd like to object to the comment below saying the white case got dirty , mine did not, at all. As a matter of fact, Otterbox just replaced my last case because it broke and I just compared the two side by side and there was no difference in color.
One more thing. Otterbox has the BEST costomer service around. If there's something wrong with the prodect let them know and they fix it, no hassle! Never buying anything but Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: grey inner case is wearing down
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Protection just dont choose white

Date:May 1, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
i am a teenager and i drop my phone a lot but this case really withstood some damage. i was on my bike once and it was in my poncho on my hoodie and it flew out and fell on the ground i had to turn around and go get it. maybe a few knicks on the case but besides that perfectly fine. the knicks aren't even that big. can't notice them but dont get the pink and white one it gets so dirty so i had to get another one in a different color.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad design, white got dirty, frayed a little
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Protective but Dirty

Date:April 25, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bought this case in Pink and White, loving the look as well as the protection. However, only a few weeks in I noticed the white layer beginning to look dirty. No amount of cleaning could remove the stains, and they've just gotten worse to the point where it's embarrassing. The white layer is also frayed and torn where it is exposed, especially over the power button.
I have also noticed several marks on my screen, but I am hoping they are only on the screen protector and not the screen itself. Overall the case has done its job protecting my phone.
I have not even had this case for six months and I am looking for a new one that will be of higher quality. I am not hard on my phone; I would like to think I take good care of it, though it does get a lot of use. I would think that for this price, Otterbox would have made a more durable phone case - and one that is able to be cleaned!
I paid a lot for this case but it is so dirty and worn that I will gladly get rid of it.
Pros: protective
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Useless

Date:April 4, 2013
Location: Boston
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Don't trust the Commuter to protect your phone. I dropped my three month old iPhone 5 for the first time - it fell between 18 and 24 inches onto the driveway and the screen shattered instantly. The Commuter Otter Box was completely useless in protecting it.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-7points
5out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor quality for an Otterbox

Date:March 20, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The top of the case cracked a month in. By the 4 month the case snapped by the apple logo cutout.
I had heard from others what great quality Otterbox was. It isn't as great a quality as I thought it would be.
It isn't easy to get the iPhone out once you put it in.
Just bought an Acase. It is far better quality and better made than the Otterbox Commuter case! Won't ever by another one!
Pros: protective
Cons: Not durable
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection just don't choose white!

Date:March 17, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the Commuter Series case when I purchased my iPhone 5 in October. This is my first Otterbox purchase. I have dropped my phone multiple times (on concrete, the street, bleachers, etc and it has protected my phone beautifully. I keep my phone in either my pocket or purse. It's well protected in my pocket, but in my purse it is bumping up against everything in there: spare change, keys, pens, paper clips, the zipper, you name it. I just took it out of the case yesterday and my phone still looks brand new with the exception of a couple of minor scratched on the Apple logo where the hole is in the case. I haven't experienced any problems accessing any of the ports or buttons. The rubber flap that covers the lightning port sticks out a little but it doesn't look awkward or bother me in any way. The only complaint I have is that I ordered it in the Pink (which is pink plastic with white silicone). The silicone is filthy and there isn't any way to clean it (believe me I've tried just about everything). They shouldn't even sell it with white silicone because no matter where you carry your phone it picks up dirt from your pocket, purse, hands, car etc. no matter how hard you try to keep it clean. Other than that I love this case. I am going to purchase another one and trade out the white silicone for another color (and still use the pink plastic shell) because I love the color.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: white silicone
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

I love the case

Date:March 8, 2013
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case its self is great. I would recommend it to anyone who wants serious protection without serious bulk. I will say tho i am not impressed with the screen cover they send. I have bought two Commuter cases and both times I have tried to apply the screen covers, they get air bubbles and dirt trapped under it. Otterbox does supply a screen cleaner rag but it just added fuzz which created more air bubbles... So great case, poor quality screen cover.
Pros: Durable, cute
Cons: screen cover
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not as good as they used to be

Date:March 8, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
In the past, I loved all Otterbox things but their quality has gone way down. I bought this case for Christmas and the hard shell cracked in half the first time I tried taking it out of the case. I don't know what they have changed but the iPhone 3, 4, & 4S cases that I had I loved. Then again, those were purchased a few years ago. Not happy with this case at all.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, plastic shell breaks in half
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Only case I use, for everything!!!

Date:February 21, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have used otter box for my 1G iPad, 3G iPad, Iphone 4, 4S, and now my 5. I shock people by showing the protection the case provides by tossing my phone behind me.
I've heard stories of defender cases being left on cars and driving away, but I prefer the comuter so it'll slide in my pocket.
As with anything they have their issues, the lighter silicones get dirty or may stretch. Otterbox has always stood behind the products with me!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy to install or remove
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

DO NOT BUY THIS CASE!

Date:February 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased this case for my iPhone 5 a couple of months ago. It did a great job of protecting the phone, and I didn't have any complaints about it...until I took it off. This case completely destroyed my phone. The phone has deep scratches on the back and sides where the case gouged into the metal. I'm very upset! I will definitely NOT be purchasing another OtterBox case in the future.
Pros: Durable
Cons: damages your phone!
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5/5S Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's Okay

Date:February 8, 2013
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
What I'm gonna say has already been said, but I feel the need to address this, as well.
When I got the case, the included screen protector was misshapen and would not adhere properly. I contacted Otterbox and the quickly sent me a new, undamaged screen protector. So great customer service!! Yay Otterbox! =)
My frustration comes from the fact that the silicone cover doesn't really fit the iPhone 5. The ads claim that it keeps out dust, but it doesn't because it doesn't quite fit snugly enough. The headphone jack is covered fairly well, but the Lighting port doesn't stay covered. The flap won't stay shut. I bought this case because I've had Otterbox for previous phones and loved it. Dirt gets under the case and causes undesired scratches. While the case is very durable and protects against shocks and drops, it fails to keep the nitty gritty dust from your pocket out. I got this because I wanted the ports covered, and to protect the phone from dust and grit, but it doesn't.
Pros: Durable
Cons: doesn't perform as advertised, doesn't keep out dust.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>