OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Otterbox Commuter Series Case

The Commuter Series case for iPhone 5/5S is sleek enough to slide into your pocket yet tough enough to toss into your bag.
Average Customer Rating:
3.327 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
16
53 out of 104(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case
Review 61 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Inconsistencies In Production - Redesign Please

Date:October 23, 2012
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I ordered two Commuters for the iPhone 5. The black one fits perfect. The punked one does not fit well as the port cover does not fold flush to the phone, nor is it able to clasp shut. Looking at the two silicon pieces side by side, they are obviously from different molds. The black one has nice ridges for a sharp shape, the blue insert for the punked case did not and fit was terrible.
I would love to see a redesign of this case. The case does not need such a large lip over the front screen. Also, the port cutouts could be modified slightly to allow for the use of adapters (specifically, the dock style Apple 30-pin to Lightning Adapter).
Pros: Durable, protective, attractive
Cons: Low quality, too large, port cutouts too small for adapters
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not as I expected

Date:October 14, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I brought my case a soon I got my iPhone and it seems to be a good case, the quality is very good but the problem that I found is the power button cover makes it very difficult to push down on it, which is not good AT ALL. I returned the case to see if I got a defective one, but the one that o got, have the same problem. Really? I thin, they made this case in a rush, to have something for those people who brought their phones and don't have a case to protect their phones, I'm very disappointed about this problem, also as far as the headphone and power ports not sealing in place, something that is very important.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's OK...

Date:October 8, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The Otterbox Commuter series cover that I received is good enough, I guess. The covered buttons are harder to depress than it feels like they should be.
My pirmary issue with my purchase is that the included screen protector came pre-loaded with particles (either fiber or hair (yuck!))... so, even with the included "installer card" (used to smooth out air bubbles), there was no getting the screen protector on smoothly... this means I'm out to buy a new one. I've not had this problem before with my previous iPhones.
Anyway, other than the aforementioned issues with the buttons, the case fits well enough.
Pros: Durable
Cons: screen protector quality control
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

I would go with the Defender Series case

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased this case thinking it would give my phone proper protection. I ended up getting the Defender series case to replace this one. There is no screen protector and the case itself does not feel very durable should you drop your phone. Don't waist your money.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Just OK

Date:October 2, 2012
Location: Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I'm not really enamored with this case, particularly the screen cover. When you install the case, the screen cover, in spite of your best OCD efforts, will attract dust and fuzz that you didn't know was anywhere near your iPhone screen. It will stay under the screen cover until you either remove the cover or try to clean it up. The cover itself smudges and collects all manner of lint, fingerprint smudges, etc. that never get clean.
Then there's the case itself. It doesn't fit the best, and any lint in your pocket will collect inside the case for you to find later when you remove the case. I thought the whole point of the case was to protect your phone from that stuff. The power jack and headphone jack covers are flimsy, and don't seem like they'll hold up over time.
Other than that, it seems like a good case.
Pros: Durable, looks good, seems to protect phone
Cons: screen cover low quality, attracts lint, hard to clean
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not the best fit

Date:September 29, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have had a number of Otterbox cases. I think this one fits the worst of all of them. The silicon seems to be to small for the phone. It doesn't fully wrap around the phone. Once I put the outer shell on the silicon over the volume buttoms bows out, it doesn't sit flush on the phone. Same with the opposite side. Also, I have to push pretty hard on the power button to get it to work.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Otter box yet again a winner

Date:September 28, 2012
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Got two commuter boxes today for iPhone 5. BOOM and PUNK are the colors. My punk charging port is a bit off, but the boom for my wife's is perfect. The screen protector is a bit cheap. I normally buy from powersportsusa but they don't sell them yet. I'd love to see otter box team up with them to give us the best of both worlds. Otter box thanks for having my back yet again.
Pros: Durable, stylish, clutz proof
Cons: port cover
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not at all what I expected - had to return it.

Date:September 28, 2012
Location: Long Beach
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I am using the same case for the iPhone 4 - what a difference in quality for the worse! The silicone case feels more like plastic, it's too lightweight for my comfort and isn't very pliable like the previous model which felt more like rubber. I can tell without even putting it on the phone that there will be problems with the lightning cover and headset jack cover on the bottom. And in addition there is a small strip that is supposed to create the seal on the bottom face of the phone and it's so flimsy and thin I can see it breaking in a very short time. With only a 1 year warranty I wouldn't take my chances on that piece alone lasting. I'm so disappointed because I LOVE these cases - but not for the iPhone 5. Get back to me when you re-design this and get your manufacturers in line with the quality we expect from your brand. I'd gladly come back then! If it's not broken DON'T fix it.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Ehh

Date:September 27, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
It is a really nice smooth case and it has really nice colors. It does its job in protecting the phone. There's one problem though, the case doesn't really fit the phone. The rubber part of the case isn't long enough for the iPhone 5. I don't know what happened there but they really need to fix that. The plastic part fits though. I wouldn't recommend this case, at least until they fix this problem.
Pros: Durable, pretty
Cons: doesn't fit correctly, bulky
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Poor attention to detail

Date:September 27, 2012
Location: Wyoming
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
While I loved my Commuter TL case for my iPhone 3GS, this Commuter Case appears to have little attention to detail with sloppy injection molding and poor alignment of edges between the silicone and the hard plastic. While Otter Box makes durable products that provide good protection for electronics, they need to also make them look well made and focus a little more attention to detail.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, sloppy and unattractie
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not quite right....

Date:September 27, 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I previously had a Defender and loved it except for the bulk. Thought I'd try a Commuter with my new iphone 5. I will echo some previously mentioned issues. The connector cover just does not fit correctly. Wont close properly, doesn't look good. I also will probably end up cutting it off. But, the rest of the case fits fine and seems like it will be very durable. My biggest complaint is that the paper tab on the front of the screen protector did not peel off properly and left a lot of sticky goo on the face of the cover. I tried rubbing it off to no avail. Finally just decided not to use it at all. I'll buy a different screen protector. On a very positive note, Otter Box service is great. Very fast!
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Commuter has a sharp edge

Date:September 25, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The Commuter seems to be a prety solid case. The size is fine and it slides in and out of my pocket easily. I have one complaint:
There is a sharp edge on the front top side of the case, right where your ear contacts the phone when you talk. Very uncomfortable. This is significant enough that I thought about sending the case back. Instead, I think I'm going to try to file the edge down and hope I don't deface the case.
Overall this is a nice case. Fix this design/production flaw and I would rate the case 5 stars.
Pros: Durable
Cons: sharp edge
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

This did not live up to my expectations.

Date:July 7, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This product was not what I was expecting it to be. When I got my iPhone 5 I immediately began looking for a case for it. My family and I have always been a pro-otterbox family; all of our devices have otterbox cases on them. I didn’t want a defender series for my phone because I wanted to be able to take my phone out and clean it easily (I noticed with our other devices that it was a hassle to clean with so many layers of case protecting it.)
I still wanted an otterbox, though, because of the level of protection it offered. I did my homework and looked at all the different cases otterbox provided, and I liked the commuter. From the advertising it was everything I wanted: Slim case, good color, high protection, and easy to take off.
When I got the case, I messed up with the screen protector, but that was just user error. I thought I could put on a little piece of plastic without reading the instructions. I was very wrong. There is a process, and I highly recommend reading the instructions, however stupid you may find the concept of it.
I had to buy a different screen protector because I ruined the one it came with. I expected this case to be perfect, and it was for a little while. I was able to take it off about 3 times. That was it.
I am very careful with my electronics. I pride myself in saying I’ve never dropped my phone, iPad, etc. I am responsible. The case was kept in a good condition, and when I was trying to take it off my phone to marvel at the sleekness of the iPhone 5, the back of it cracked. My case was not even 2 months old.
The outside plastic of this case is very inflexible, so it won’t come off without cracking. The case is still on my phone because I haven’t gotten a replacement yet; it’s still usable, but I haven’t been able to get it off since cracking it.
So in the end, it was more of a hassle to take clean my phone with the commuter instead of the defender. Oh, the irony…
My next case will not be an otterbox commuter. I haven’t had any bad experiences with the otterbox defender series, so I will try that one. I haven’t given up on otterbox yet!
Pros: has a nice look
Cons: Not durable, very inflexible
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

disappointing

Date:June 1, 2013
Location: West Branch, MI
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The plastic piece along the bottom near the charging port broke after being dropped once, the rubber piece directly under that ripped not long after. The rubber pieces that cover the headphone jack and charging port have been bent to the point where they stick out almost constantly, it takes effort to make them stay in place and once they are it is difficult to open them again.
Over all not satisfied with this case at all and will not be purchasing another.
Pros: good color
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, collects dirt/dust, broke easy, rubber falling apart
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Protective but Dirty

Date:April 25, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bought this case in Pink and White, loving the look as well as the protection. However, only a few weeks in I noticed the white layer beginning to look dirty. No amount of cleaning could remove the stains, and they've just gotten worse to the point where it's embarrassing. The white layer is also frayed and torn where it is exposed, especially over the power button.
I have also noticed several marks on my screen, but I am hoping they are only on the screen protector and not the screen itself. Overall the case has done its job protecting my phone.
I have not even had this case for six months and I am looking for a new one that will be of higher quality. I am not hard on my phone; I would like to think I take good care of it, though it does get a lot of use. I would think that for this price, Otterbox would have made a more durable phone case - and one that is able to be cleaned!
I paid a lot for this case but it is so dirty and worn that I will gladly get rid of it.
Pros: protective
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

white and pink communter case

Date:January 24, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought this case because I really liked my defender case for my IPhone 4. After I bought my IPhone 5 there was no other case besides and Otter Box that I wanted to protect my new phone. I bought the pink and white case because I purchased the white phone and thought this case would look nice. The case does look nice however the white part of the case has gotten dirty within 2 weeks of purchase the case. Nothing is getting the case clean. I am really disappointed with the case because you are unable to keep it clean. For $35 you would like the material of the case would not turn colors or at lease you would be able to clean it. I would not recommend this color of case to anyone. My cousin has the same case and is having the same problem. I wish I could return this case but I don't think i dirty case is returnable.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: unable to clean the white case
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Otter Box Commuter

Date:January 17, 2013
Location: Vancouver British Columbia
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I've only had this case for a few days but already know it will be relegated to the junk drawer. The button covers are stiff, as would be expected with a new case, but they also don't appear to fit over the phone buttons properly. Possibly, a poor batch or quality control glitch. Also the screen protector, despite installing it properly the lip of the rubber inner case lifted an edge and in no time, half the protector was off. I believe my money, and yours, might be better spent on another product.
Pros: Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

terrible, just stahp

Date:January 11, 2013
Location: gotham city
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the protection is good, but when it's in my jeans the white part gets blue and stringy, little flakes of the white part come off. Port access is poor, i can't use the adapter with it on. lightning cable cover doesn't shut completely.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, dirties too easily
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Pink/White commuter case iphon5

Date:January 8, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The white silicone part of this case gets dirty and dingy very quickly. I have tried everything to make it white again to no avail. I'm very disappointed. I spent a lot of money on this case. So disappointed.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Ugh

Date:November 21, 2012
Location: CT
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love otterbox and have used one of their products on several of my phones. I have recommended them to many friends, and we even have a small army of otterbox protected phones in my office. So of course I could not wait to get an otterbox for my iPhone 5. I wanted the reflex case but could not wait so I purchased the commuter series.
The moment I opened the package I senses all was not right. The fit was off.... I have had a commuter case before so I know how they fit before and this wasn't even close. Lose rubber, tough on/off button on top. I figured ok its Otterbox and I had super high expectations, but I'll use it for a while.
After a month I can say that it is still a sloppy mess. Its not the tight package I have been used to. Alot of dirt and dust gets into the case and ports. I have taken the case off an reapplied just to make sure that I wasn't just botching the job.
Knowing this now and reading other reviews I feel like I am not harshly complaining. Hopefully Otterbox is reading these and correcting the issues and the new iPhone 5 cases going forward are much improved. I will buy from them again, but I may wait until the product is out for a bit.
Pros: good protection
Cons: Low quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>