OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Commuter Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Commuter Series Case

The Commuter Series case for iPhone 5/5S is sleek enough to slide into your pocket yet tough enough to toss into your bag.
Average Customer Rating:
3.327 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
20
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
16
53 out of 104(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:June 12, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had this case on my iPhone 5 since I got the phone and have had zero issues with it. In fact, I sort of forgot it was even on the phone until today, when my phone fell out of my pocket, bounced off the floor of a tank I was working in and fell out of the drain... onto a concrete floor 60' below me, ending up in a pool of water and unrefined oil. After all this the phone is completely fine, the only damage was a crack to the plastic on the back of the case. Definitely worth the money, it paid for itself a few times over.
Pros: High quality, Durable, smart design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Second OtterBox Case - love them!

Date:June 11, 2013
Location: Tennesee
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I upgraded to an iPhone 5 - I immediately got a case - wouldn't have a phone without an OtterBox.
The iPhone 5 case felt a little different then my iPhone 4s case. But not really in a bad way.
These are the first cases that I've ever bought for ANY phone and actually use. I normally don't like cases because they change the feel and size of the phone. But this case feels great in your hand.
Some of the reviews talk about the silicon stretching out- I found that to be true on my first case - partly because I kept taking it off to show it off. Once I got my second case, I left it on and had no issues!
OtterBox in general has excellent customer service - if you are worried about spending money on a case - don't fear. They replace any broken cases - easy peasy - no fuss. Just fill out an online form, submit pictures and then your replacement case is on its way. You don't have to send in the broken case which is great!
Pros: Durable, High quality, easy to put on
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Exceeded my expectations!

Date:May 2, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the Commuter case for my iphone 5 the same day i bought my phone. I had never had an Otterbox, but my brother swore by them. I had the white with the gunmetal grey inner case. The case is not only very cute but its so practical. I drop my phone all the time and not only does the phone not get damaged, the case doesn't either. Also, I'd like to object to the comment below saying the white case got dirty , mine did not, at all. As a matter of fact, Otterbox just replaced my last case because it broke and I just compared the two side by side and there was no difference in color.
One more thing. Otterbox has the BEST costomer service around. If there's something wrong with the prodect let them know and they fix it, no hassle! Never buying anything but Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: grey inner case is wearing down
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Protection just dont choose white

Date:May 1, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
i am a teenager and i drop my phone a lot but this case really withstood some damage. i was on my bike once and it was in my poncho on my hoodie and it flew out and fell on the ground i had to turn around and go get it. maybe a few knicks on the case but besides that perfectly fine. the knicks aren't even that big. can't notice them but dont get the pink and white one it gets so dirty so i had to get another one in a different color.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad design, white got dirty, frayed a little
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Only case I use, for everything!!!

Date:February 21, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have used otter box for my 1G iPad, 3G iPad, Iphone 4, 4S, and now my 5. I shock people by showing the protection the case provides by tossing my phone behind me.
I've heard stories of defender cases being left on cars and driving away, but I prefer the comuter so it'll slide in my pocket.
As with anything they have their issues, the lighter silicones get dirty or may stretch. Otterbox has always stood behind the products with me!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy to install or remove
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent Quality

Date:January 20, 2013
Location: North of Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I shopped for a cover for my new iPhone5, I was super bummed the "pretty" cases were also the least protective of my very expensive investment. Having seen two phones of people I knew who dropped theirs and had to live with the shattered screen, I didn't want to be suffering from that common mishap--I begrudgingly bought the pink commuter Otterbox. I have not had issues with the power/on button on the top of the case, nor the port covers, nor the screen protector. I did feel the bit of the "sharp edges" others have mentioned, but they quickly wore down without any issue.
I do still envy the beautiful cases other females have their iphone in, however. Otter is functional--but OH-SO-HOMELY ! ! ! I am thankful Otter at LEAST had the option of a pink phone. My husband also likes his case and has had the same positive experiences I have had with the buttons and edges, ect. He loves the blue color, too.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: ugly/plain
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Nice

Date:January 13, 2013
Location: rocky mountains
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
So glad I bought this case after dropping it in the street and around home multiple times. The edges, rubber, screen protector, and plastic are awesome and fit nice and snug. The top button is hard to press (i assume i'll get use to it) the annoying part is the charger cover doesn't stay shut... i mess with it constantly and debated cutting it off. would like a thinner case but for its protection its worth it. The pros outweigh the cons.
Pros: Durable, nice turquoise color
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A great case so far!

Date:December 31, 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have the commuter series iPhone 5 case in reelection. This case has been great to me so far! The new colors for the iPhone is what made me what to purchase this case in the first place :) reflection reminds me of a Tiffany's box! I recommend this case to anyone who is interested in it.
I hope otter box keeps up with the cool colors!
Pros: Durable, High quality, adorable colors, includes a screen protector
Cons: screen protector isn't high quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing Investment

Date:December 28, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I personally love my Otterbox Commuter Series case for my iPhone 5. It has far exceeded my expectations and the only type of case I would get for any phone I own. I have had one phone and bought two cases so I can interchange my colors at my pleasing. The case overall is amazing and highly rated by me.
Pros: High quality, Durable, sleek, stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

IPhone 5 Commuter Case

Date:December 10, 2012
Location: Bloomington, IN
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Purchased black Otter Commuter Case for IPhone 5 recently. It seems to be terrific. No negative experiences whatsoever. Admittedly, I did use box cutter and cut off the rubber flap covering the charge port on the IPhone 5, but this is not negative to do it. Would strongly recommend the particular case I bought!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox Commuter Iphone 5

Date:December 4, 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is a rugged case, with a minimalistic design. It will protect your phone from sever drops that would normally damage your device. The case fits perfectly and the ports are protected by rubber flaps. This case is perfect for anyone looking for superior protection, with a sleek design.
Pros: Durable, High quality
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case on the replacement

Date:November 24, 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The original Commuter that i bought from Walmart was horribly bad. The silicone mold did not fit at all! I tried several others at Walmart...all no good. Otterbox sent me another one. The 2nd one fits perfectly.
The screen protector is actually quite nice. Crystal clear. Very smooth to slide your finger across. There is rainbow effect at certain angles, but this does NOT impact on the crystal clarity of the screen.
The hard plastic shell does have some semi-sharp edges, but overall, does not bother me at all.
Signal reception seems perfect with the case on.
Pros: Durable, screen protector
Cons: Low quality
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best in the Business

Date:November 9, 2012
Location: MN
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case blows my mind. OtterBox continues to produce the best quality case out there. The new color selection is awesome. I feel completely safe handing my phone to any and not worry about it breaking.
Pros: High quality, Durable
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it in Bike-Safety HiVis (Punked)

Date:October 25, 2012
Location: Golden, Colorado
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
One of my kids rocks a Commuter 4s and the other a Defender 4s so i already had some experience with OtterBox.
The iPhone 5 is comparatively sturdy, so i am betting the Commuter is all i need in the event of a bike crash. Plus the slight extra size butches it a bit over wimpy competitors. Love the Punked color which might help keep me from leaving it on a cafe table.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case with adjustment

Date:October 25, 2012
Location: Orlando
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The Commuter is a solid case. It has its own screen saver which saves a few dollars, and it fits perfectly and is thick enough to be protective but it does not interfere with the operation of the phone. I chose this color because everyone else has black; it’s a very attractive color combination, masculine but colorful. I did add a lanyard to the phone because I have always used one and I like having it around my wrist incase I drop the phone. It fits in the opening on the upper side where the sound on/off switch is located. This excellent case and my separate bought lanyard (any Best Buy or camera store) really protects my phone. Finally, I did find the on/off button at the top to need adjustment. That is, I put a rubber band length wise on the top of the phone where the phone button is located and the rubber band is hidden by the cover, and now the case on/off button is much more responsive; otherwise it is too stiff or takes too much pressure to activate it. They made the inside of the bottom just a hair to short so the piece of rubber band adds the width to make it more responsive; but don't let that issue be a reason not to buy this excellent case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: on/off switch to short, should off a lanyard option
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just bought Commuter case

Date:October 20, 2012
Location: USA
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Well i just bought my iphone 5 3 days ago and i'm already on my 3 rd case lol.. I guess 3rd times the charm because this case is perfect for my sense of protection on the phone.. I went through the Belkin case from Verizon and some clear case from Amazon and i just didnt feel the phone was protected. We've all dropped our phone one time or another and this will definitely work..
only negative and not a big deal is the power button on top is hard to push down.. Other than that its not bulky or over powering the phone..
Thanks
Pros: High quality, Durable, lightning protector cover, 3mm rubber jack cover
Cons: power button hard to push
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case

Date:October 16, 2012
Location: The south
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got the Defender case in store the day I got my iPhone 5 and pre-ordered a Commuter series. I had the Defender for about 3 weeks before i got my Commuter. I definitely felt protected when I had my Defender and was skeptical about the Commuter, but I've already dropped my phone probably 9 times and the case doesn't even have a scratch. I like how much less bulky the Commuter is than the Defender. You can actually see my beautiful, white iPhone now! Also, the hard exterior allows the phone to more easily slide into pockets. The power button isn't really hard to push, it just takes getting used to. Great overall!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox does not disappoint....

Date:October 9, 2012
Location: Ft Collins, Home of Otterbox
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After reading other reviews I decided to go ahead and get the commuter as I have loved the 3 and 4 versions. The phone simply slid right in to the rubber sleeve then the shell snapped right on. Not sure where people say the power button is hard to push. As far as the headphone and power ports not sealing. If you just rub the covers the tabs just go right back into place.
The only complaint I have is that on the top front corners on the plastic are just a touch rough. Other then that the case is outstanding.
I got the punk green and blue.
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Does the job

Date:October 6, 2012
Location: Texas
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Not sure why people are giving bad reviews. Originally I ordered the defender series... Too much for me. Commuter series is perfect for what I was looking for. The fit and quality are both good! Buy this case,
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Not to bulky!!

Date:October 4, 2012
Location: Houston, TX.
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I always like otterbox cases but I think the last one was a little to bulky and this model is not so big... So far is good!!
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>