OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone 5 / 5s Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Symmetry Series Case

Otterbox Symmetry Series Case

Protect your iPhone case in style with the protective and slim Symmetry Series iPhone 5/5s case from OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(301 Reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (301 reviews)
5 stars
222
4 stars
46
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
12
273 out of 301(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Symmetry Series Case
Review 1 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Take THIS

Date:August 8, 2015
Location: Fresno, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
When I told the nice young man at the store that I need something very sturdy, as I am unbelievably hard on phones, he took his out of his pocket and threw it across the room!
No damage! Yep, Otter box! Now make it waterproof!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

BEST iPhone case ever

Date:August 24, 2015
BEST iPHONE case ever...review title says it all. I hope OtterBox continues to make this version!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great!!!!

Date:June 5, 2015
Location: Washington DC
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I have two iPhones; one for work and one for personal. Both of them have this case. I have dropped my work phone so many times I can't keep track, and this is fantastic shock-absorbing protection, without the bulk. Plus it's extremely easy to slip on and off. To say I'm a fan is an understatement. Well done Otterbox.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great

Date:May 31, 2015
Location: Parnell Iowa
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I'm not a "review" writer normally but I do read reviews and just wanted to share my thoughts. This was more than I expected, it's like getting a new phone with this purchase. My phone is now my wallet and it feels like I could run over it with my truck and it would be fine. I always have my phone with me but often leave my wallet either in the truck or at home. Now I have my driver license, debit / credit card and a $20.00 bill wherever I go. I love this case, I didn't need a new phone just a new case. Otterbox was worth every penny for me. Thank you, Blane
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good, thin case

Date:April 8, 2015
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I wanted an Otterbox for my first ever smartphone (iPhone 5S). I know the Defender and Commuter series offer more protection, but I needed a case that would fit in my pocket.
This series case was easy to slip onto my phone. I like that it comes without a built in screen protector, because I already have one on my phone (tempered glass). I chose the "cardinal" color, which I thought was dark gray/black plastic and red rubber trim. The case I received is a medium gray and the red is more of a red-orange. I was a little disappointed by this because red and black are my favorite colors.
Also, I have noticed the red rubber gets stained by the dye in my jeans when I put my phone in my pocket. I recall friends being annoyed by this. Problem will be solved if you choose a case with a dark color rubber.
I have dropped my phone on the floor once or twice, it was fine. Most recently I accidentally threw my phone to the floor when I meant to place it on a counter top. It bounced off the stone floor tile and then onto the wooden counter furniture, and then back to the floor. I picked it up and it is fine!
If you want good protection, but a slim case for handling, I suggest the Symmetry case! I also like that the majority of the case is hard plastic, which makes it easier to slide into pockets etc. Its not too slippery for the hand though, it has a slight texture to it when holding it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, fits like a glove, small drop protection
Cons: light color rubber gets stained
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just perfect!

Date:March 25, 2015
Location: Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've had this case for around 6 months and have been so happy with it. I've dropped it numerous times (I'm a clumsy person) and the screen hasn't cracked or anything. Before the Symmetry, I had a 'Defender' which was way too bulky for my liking, so I was so happy when Otterbox brought out this design. It fits really easily into small purses, too - unlike the Defender.
My only (minor) complaint is that the rubber around the outside of the case stained easily from the dye of my jeans when it was in my pocket (I have the pale pink triangle design with a lilac rubber trim). Hard to know whether this is more a fault of the rubber or fault of the jeans, though.
Overall, it's a great lightweight case, that looks pretty good (but is really good looking for a 'protection' style case) and absorbs shock-damage to your iPhone brilliantly. Highly recommended!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: rubber stains kind of easily
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:March 24, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case. Thin enough to look good yet protects very well.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great protection - weird color

Date:March 16, 2015
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love the protection of this case - after several drops onto asphalt, my phone and screen are still intact. I like the fact that I still have great protection, but don't have to carry such a bulky case. The only complaint I have is the color. I ordered the cardinal online expecting a similar color to that pictured: RED. What I got I see as bright orange and co-workers see as salmon or coral. It was resting on my desk, near a neon pink Post-It note and it actually matched that color very closely. It's not the end of the world, but if you're looking for red, don't order this.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color is off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Symmetry Series

Date:March 14, 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This was a great little find. I have three boys and we all have Apple products. I bought the Defender case for my 10 year olds Apple mini, and the Symmetry case for my 14 year olds iPhone. He dropped the phone while using a "Selfie" stick and ruined it. Luckily the phone was replaced, but I made sure he got an Otterbox to protect it this time. The only wish that I had is that Otter box came in more of a variety of colors and designs to personalize them a bit more. Pretty boring choice selection.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no style
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love This Product!

Date:March 4, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love the design, love the quality! Best phone cover I've ever purchased! They got it right with this symmetry design!
Pros: High quality, Durable, color is beautiful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product!

Date:February 17, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case was exactly what I was looking for. I was looking for a case that was thin, yet sturdy and easy to take off when needed and this case delivered! My phone is very well protected without being a big bulky case and I don't need iron figures to take my case out, which for me is a big plus! Great product!! Keep up the good work Outter box!
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice case

Date:February 9, 2015
Location: Iowa
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Otterbox pretty well nailed it on this case for me! I really like the slimness of the case, and the molded hard outer shell and softer liner, just the right level of protection for me. Works quite well with the tempered glass screen cover that I have on my phone. If I have one complaint, it is that the screen/lock button is more difficult to press than I would like, but not as bad as some I have seen. It's a winner for me.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to press screen lock button
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love this version

Date:January 24, 2015
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had an otter box before which was amazing but a little bulky and boring looking. Love this version!!! really slimline but has protected my phone really well as I constantly drop it getting out of the car! I have also gotten lots of compliments about the design. Can't recommend this enough!! Really easy to put on and take off too.
Pros: High quality, Durable, really pretty
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Brand Loyal

Date:January 23, 2015
Location: Harbor Springs MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was ice fishing this past weekend with my college buddies and we were all on our phones snapping pic's of our fish. Most of us had Otter Boxes which was cool but as soon as my buddies saw mine that all wanted to switch. It’s a great case, durable, and can still slip in my pocket with ease. I love it!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice case

Date:January 21, 2015
Location: Lebanon, CT
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This cover/case was just what I wanted. I did not need a fancy one with all the bells and whistles. I also needed it to fit inside a cloth carryall case that I keep attached to my purse. It actually fits better than my old case. I feel there is enough cushioning somI do not have to worrynabout dropping it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, not too big around edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Phone survived a fall off of my car!

Date:January 10, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was getting gas in my car and checking the air pressure when a friend of mine called me. I talked for a second and had my hands full of the air hose. I sat my phone on the trunk and finished with my car. I got 1/2 a mile down the road and realized...NO PHONE! I turned around and found it in the middle of the road. The phone was off and appeared to have a cracked screen. I cleaned the phone up and the screen was not cracked! The phone landed on the top right corner right at the camera cut through, and there was road rash on the bottom corners also, but the top took it hard! The phone recovered around an hour and a half later and has been working great since. The phone case still looks new when I took it out of the case!
Pros: High quality, Durable, slides into pocket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Quality product

Date:January 1, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very happy with this case, fits well, yet was easy to get on the phone. Protection is very good, and I like that I can place the iPhone on its face on a table. All buttons work well and feel well covered. Ports are equally well protected. Caveat: My hands are smooth in winter, very little grip, so I need to be careful when I pick up the case. I would like it more if the case were a bit "stickier", and I would accept that it would not slide into a pocket so easily. The case has slipped out of my hand a couple of times and survived the falls unscathed, yet if the case were not so smooth this would not have occurred. Oh well....
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Exactly what I wanted

Date:December 30, 2014
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like a durable case but don't want to look like a construction worker. This case is extremely durable but fashionable. I had to get rid of another case because the speaker was covered and it was hard to use the phone. This case easily allows me to use the phone & facetime.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Outter box

Date:December 29, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it it is so light and so much better than anything I have had so far.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Symmetry Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

New case

Date:December 28, 2014
Location: Cleveland ohio
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I like this case it feels so nice not too heavy fits in small purses
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>