OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

This waterproof iPhone 5 case is designed for the rough stuff, as it withstands drops up to 6.6 ft. and blocks entry of dust and dirt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 star
10
61 out of 88(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Review 1 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Disappointed

Date:July 15, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love Otterboxes. I have a million of them. I'm always looking for a waterproof case that actually works and that people can hear me on when talking to them if it does happen to ring. I took this phone and case floating on the river. It was never fully submerged and yet it still got water or condensation in it. Now my phone is acting a little wonky. I'm very disappointed, especially considering how expensive this case is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Leaked

Date:July 12, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The case worked the first time we used it. The second time it leaked within minutes, getting the iPhone very wet with ocean water. It never went below two feet in depth. Surprisingly the phone seems to have survived after drying for 24 hours in a container of rice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great but needs improvements

Date:July 1, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The case is great! I have had it for about 6 months now and it has kept my iPhone 5 safe and unharmed. The only thing I think needs improved is the green rubbery part on the phone should also be the same material as the rest of the phone. It collects hand grime and fads to a brown from use. The rubber also wears off by the iPhone's home button area.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, shows grime
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The best case to protect and preserve your phone

Date:June 30, 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
As a family we have purchased two Otterboxes. I purchased the new Preserver for my wife because I knew she was going to drop her new phone and get it wet, God love her she's pretty careless. The case is awesome. We had a little hiccup with the first one because of the silent button. All the Otters and the customer service is exceptional at the least. It's a welcome change in this day and age that there is people that care about the customers they serve. If you want a phone that will be as nice as the day you took it out of the box, these are the cases for you.
Pros: High quality, Durable, protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:June 27, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The audio has alot to be desired, the sound is very tinny, almost like a vibration when you hear people talk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Light and Sturdy

Date:June 21, 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First I want to say how awesome otterbox customer care is. They replaced my case with just a few question. OK this case is a lot thinner then the armor series and lighter and it stands out in the crowd people keeps asking what kind of case i am sporting. Wish there was belt case came along but other then that its great.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor Speaker Quality

Date:June 13, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Although this case provides a peace of mind that if water hits the phone it won't be ruined the speaker quality is greatly diminished.
Cons: poor sound quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Second break, first review

Date:May 25, 2014
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This is the second case that breaks on me because of water in my 5foot deep pool. Today I used the phone to take some pictures by the pool. It fell in around 2 ft, and water seeped in through the sealed part by the speakers. :'( I'm hoping the inside of the phone isnt damaged. I will take it to SPRINT to get checked for damage Tuesday when they open after tomorrow's holiday.
Cons: water seeped in
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:May 21, 2014
Location: tn
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
great hard case, a little big - hoping it was going to be more like the lifeproofs, but overall very nice
only downfall that the case is so stiff its hard to flip the silent switch on your phone
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

nice case but

Date:May 21, 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
ordered two cases, one for my wife and one for myself. My one problem was that all of my existing chargers etc would not fit with the case on. I had to take the case off to charge my phone. I cannot speak to anything else about the case as I returned it after two days. Went back to my Otterbox Defender Case. I better not drop it in water.
Cons: chargers do not fit with case on
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Quality, poor design.

Date:May 20, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
First let me state that I have two iPhones, on in a Lifeproof case and one in an Otterbox preserver case. The Otterbox is hard plastic and feels durable, however the design of the access to the charger and ear phone ports is very difficult and I feel as though I am going to break the flap off every time I use it. And when you try and close those flaps you have to ensure it is indeed sealed and not left somewhat open. doesn't have the easy access and closing of the lifeproof. both have been fine after being caught in a bit of a downpour.
Pros: Durable
Cons: poor design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Smart Buy

Date:May 18, 2014
Location: Arkansas
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my OtterBox and their customer service staff is also very knowledgable and very helpful and curtious.
Pros: looks great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Customer Service

Date:May 18, 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Your Rep, Nick Vigil was wonderful, he understood our needs and quickly got our new covers to us faster than we thought.. It was great speaking with you Nick, you take Customer Service to a higher level...
Pros: High quality
Cons: can't find any
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Great ad, great idea, needs some tweaks

Date:May 18, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was looking for a lighter w eight, waterproof case for traveling to the beach. (I currently own the Defender.) I watched the ad for the Preserver, read the specs, and ordered it. I liked that it came with a lanyard. The case itself was difficult to take apart to install the phone, difficult to close, and once the Preserver is on, you do not have the ability to use the silencer toggle on the side of the phone. Furthermore, the instructions say to test the case in water for leaks three times before installing your phone. Isn't that what the company is supposed to do? It was extremely difficult to remove the case without damaging it, and I ended up returning it for a refund. I really like Otter Box's protection, but I think the design could be tweaked to be easier to install and operate the phone and its waterproof abilities should be guaranteed when the items leave the warehouse. I'm back to my Defender, which is great, but it is a bit heavy, bulky, and I'm reluctant to take it near the beach.
Pros: streamlined, waterproof, lanyard compatible
Cons: made phone inoperable, difficult to open/close without damage, requires "testing" for leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

very good case

Date:May 12, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
its a good case it protects my phone from the dust at work and water .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Feeling let down

Date:May 12, 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
It's really a shame that this product isn't better!
Pros: Seems pretty durable. (I'm overly protective towards my phone, but feel confident that if it dropped out of my hand that it would keep my phone protected)
Customer Service was outstanding, almost too outstanding as this is my third warrantied case and each time I never had to argue or plead my case, didn't even have to speak to anyone, they just sent a new case. They never even asked for the old one in return. Makes me skeptical but hey it's their business.
However;
Cons: For the price, you would expect that the port covers fit better, even after repeated use. Most of the time, I can't get the charge port cover seated all the way so it's always uneven and I am always unsure whether or not it would be okay if dropped in the water. The initial waterproof test went well but I wouldn't trust this case for it's waterproof-ness based solely on the fact that the charging port and headphone port on all 3 cases never fit right. Sometimes you might rip your nail off trying to get it open and others you might need a hammer to get the port cover fully seated. Honestly, when you seek out and buy top of the line, you sort of expect the tolerances of the parts and pieces to be a better fitment.
The screen for all three of my cases show major flaws down each side, must be a manufacturing thing cause it's pretty consistent among the cases.
Sound from ear piece absolutely sucks, to the point that I have ripped the cover off mid conversation due to crackling sounds while other person is talking.
Same goes for the other person being able to hear you when speaking. Constantly get: " Huh, what did you say?" Technology has come so far with phones, why is quality sound such an obstacle when it comes to phone protection.
Claiming that the case keeps dust and dirt out is kind of a stretch, as this is really only possible if you NEVER open the phone case, use the headphone port or charge the phone. For the actual user, dust and dirt easily find their way in.
All in all , I believe that some phone manufacturer will come out with a waterproof phone, before phone case manufacturers conquers this feat.
If you are planning on paying a premium for the better phone cases out there, as a consumer, understand that all their claims are a sales gimmick and if you happen to drop the phone and one of those claims protect your phone, you got lucky and I wouldn't risk it again with the same case. From a Manufacturers standpoint; Premium price for your product, just be honest and up front! Something like...... "Our case is really nice and we were able to achieve waterproof-ness and anti-shock from time to time, but understand that NO ONE would be able to afford a phone case that actually does what company claims"
As easy as it was to get a warrantied case, I know it will be doubly hard to try and get my money back and at the end of the day, it's like anything else that is sold in this world, as long as there is enough people who are willing to say to heck with it and cut their losses, the companies will continue to replicate the same product because they are making profit already. Probably why they are so quick to replace a warrantied phone case.
Cons: decent quality but still sub-par
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best of both worlds

Date:May 9, 2014
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my new case! You can tell the high quality by the way it snaps together perfectly and does so even after numerous times of taking it apart and putting it back together. I was looking for a high level of protection and water proof. I tried 5 other water proof cases only to find that they all had issues with either significantly reduced sound quality or difficulty accessing the audio/headphone port. Several of them required special attachments to use the headphone port :( This new case is perfect. The only thing I am missing is a really great, custom made bicycle mount for the otter box Preserver. If Otterbox can provide some extras like that, I'll stick with them.
Pros: High quality, Durable, waterproof
Cons: no bicycle mount
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Almost there...

Date:May 8, 2014
Location: Sykesville, MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Having used several other cases in the past I really researched before I decided on the "Preserver". It takes up less of a footprint then my previous case and it slides into my pocket nicely. I like the sleek design and the case has held up nicely thus far. While most of the "buttons" on the case work well, there are a few issues. The "door" that opens to allow for charging the phone is a little tough to open and I find myself wanting to bang the bottom of my phone against the edge of the table to get it completely closed so that the seal plug is water tight. I also question how the "hinge" will hold up over the life of the phone. The button that allows for instant muting on the side of the phone is a hit or miss experience. It works sometimes and I am hoping with a break in period it will operate more efficiently. I have not tested the case to see if it will be water tight when submerged as the instructions suggested (without your phone). I don't plan on swimming with it but wanted it for when it falls in water. If it doesn't work when that happens, I'll write another review. Overall I am currently pleased with the case and chalk up the small issues with the buttons as "things I can live with" as I look at them as minor function problems to deal with for having a waterproof case.
Pros: Durable, sleek, nice design
Cons: function problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product!

Date:May 5, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got this case for my birthday and so far I love it. It has very good drop protection and it really is waterproof. It provides all of these features and still has a good look. Overall I love this case I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, completely waterproof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Improvement from Armor

Date:May 1, 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Prior to Preserver, I purchased the Armor case for my iPhone 5 and event though Armor was my preferred case, since I also have one on iPhone 4S, the Preserver is much better designed with respect to screen protection. The gap which exists between screen and the screen protector in the Armor case is eliminated and by doing so Otterbox improved the usability of this case 100%.
All other features are equal to the Armor case, and the fact that the Preserver is much slimmer, makes this case a #1 product.
Hope this review helps you make your selection.
Pros: High quality, Durable, lite, rugged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>