OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

This iPhone 5 waterproof case is designed for the rough stuff, as it withstands drops up to 6.6 ft. and blocks entry of dust and dirt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.924 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
7
47 out of 66(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Review 1 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent product

Date:April 20, 2014
Location: New York, N.Y
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
So far so good! It's protecting my phone perfectly.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Perfect protection for my iPhone

Date:April 16, 2014
Location: Best, Netherlands
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Hi got a new iPhone 5s from my boss.
As, sometimes I am a bit clumsy and I do a lot of outdoor activities I thought it would be a good idea to buy some protection for this phone.
The Otterbox Preserver is the perfect protection. It really water-tights your phone. You can go wherever you want without need to worry about your phone. I dropped it a few times, not a scratch. And it is very easy to clean the screen!
The case is a bit bulky, it does not fit that easily in your pocket any more, but if you want real protection you can expect a bit more size.
Initially I thought that the price for the Otterbox was quite high, but when you compare it to a screen repair or something like that it is worth the buy.
Highly recommended!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, waterproof
Cons: bulky, audio destortion
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Pretty good but not perfect

Date:April 11, 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I've had the case for about a 2 weeks and generally like it. I didn’t really get it for the waterproof aspect but was more interested in keeping dust and sand out of the case which was a problem with the OtterBox Defender I had previously.
If you use the headphone jack a lot, the little door puts pressure on the jack which may damage the jack on the phone over time.
The soft material on the front is also not wearing too well and I imagine it will be pretty beat up after a year of use.
The case covers up the little switch on the side of the phone which hasn't been a problem since I use it very rarely.
Another slight annoyance is the lack of non-slip material on the rear of the case to keep it from sliding on surfaces.
Other than these small issues it is a good case. At the end of the day, your phone will be well protected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The case that protect my iPhone anytime anywhere

Date:April 9, 2014
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
On January 2014, i was thinking to buy a real dependable case for my iPhone 5 rather than using the normal plastic case without any protection specially when my phone fall off from my hands accidentally. I know several brands on the market offering similar protection like Otterbox so i decided to see the review on Youtube about the detail comparison and test between each different cases with Otterbox case.
I find an interesting on Otterbox Preserver series after i watched the review and also the advertisement. I pretty convinced about preserver at that time would be my iPhone protection case. Nevertheless, i was doubt about it until it hands on me and try by myself.
Finally, I bought it at local authorized Apple store and followed all the manual instructions during the first test. Yes, it passed the water test a couple times. Another test was in Waterpark, i took it into the water on and off for more than 30 minutes for videos recording. When they (Otterbox) says "seriously dependable waterproof" they really mean it.
Even until today my iPhone 5 has through a lot of trails accidentally and intentionally such as falling from my hands (most commonly for people) and the extreme one, i thought my phone was stolen after i found out it was in my pants and it went all the way through the washing machine with all my laundry! (sorry, i can't provide the photos but trust me it was one of my crazy day thought that i will dig down so deep my pocket for a new phone!) Thanks to Otterbox for making such a TANK case like preserver series...!! it protect my iPhone with the sturdy case and dependable in the water.
Believe it or not, the case is still strong like brand new with a little flakes on the grip but it doesn't matter. So, my suggestion is buying the Otterbox products to protect your phones in any kind of condition of your active life!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

A little disapointed.

Date:March 29, 2014
Location: CEO of Software company in Madison, WI.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I've always used other Otter products and loved. If I could just get the case to fully close, which after a month have still not been able to do, I would probably love this product version too. Not sure if I got a slightly faulty case or what but I've had other otter boxes on every iphone I've had and can't get this case to fully click close. Its annoying me. So not having that fully closed I wouldn't consider it water 'proof', for my situation at least.
Aside from the switch to change between ring and vibrate being very difficult, the other buttons work fine. And I do like the overall protection otter provides from shock to screen coverage. Its come in very useful over the 6 years about I've used. But this is a different case design and can't close.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Audio quality remains an issue

Date:March 23, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I went through a really rough time with LifeProof both with my experience with the THREE cases they sent me AND their horrific customer service. I was contacted a little while afterwards by an OtterBox customer service employee, and she was extremely helpful. By far, this was the best customer service experience I've had in a long time - not only related to this but in general. She offered to replace my LifeProof cases with an otterbox case, and refunded the money my parents spent on the original case (it was a Christmas gift). I received the case, and love the design and protection. The screen protector does not give me any lag or anything when it comes to using my touchscreen display, but unfortunately the audio quality still remains an issue with the waterproof case(s). With my LifeProof case I had an issue where in the midst of accepting a job offer I had to ask my future employer to wait while I took the case off of my phone (which is not the simplest task (compared to other cases)) which is not a major issue but it is an embarrassing experience in those situations that I just do not want to deal with. I have now been having similar experiences as I am accepting phone calls from law schools that I am being accepted school, and oftentimes only use the case now if I go downtown, but have to take the case off (which also is not the easiest thing to do in the world) whenever I am anticipating a phone call, making a phone call, etc.
LifeProof was a disaster. OtterBox customer service saved the day, but unfortunately, this case is just not allowing my phone to function like it would without the case on (with regards to phone call audio quality) and for that reason, I will (unfortunately) likely purchase a new case that is a different brand and probably offers less protection until I know these issues are worked out.
This is unfortunate because I really wanted OtterBox to be the hero in more ways than one here. I've used my phone with my cheaper cases that I bought prior to upping my protection (because I had broken my screen) and the audio works fine for days/weeks at a time, never an issue.
I actually just had to pull the phone out of the case while talking to my Mom in the middle of our conversation - no bueno OtterBox. Unfortunately for all of the pros I could list below... the audio quality and being able to make phone calls with the case on are cons that are just unacceptable.
Serious kudos to your customer service staff though, they are friendly and caring, extremely helpful, and knowledgeable.
Pros: High quality, Durable, screen protector works properly, design, protection, customer service
Cons: audio quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Another winner from Otterbox

Date:March 20, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just purchased an Otterbox Preserver for my Iphone and I am very pleased with it. It has an attractive design, a quality feel to it, and certainly will protect the phone. The only down side is the access to the charging port and headphone jack. It can be very difficult to open this area and also difficult to get it to lay flat after closing. One complaint is that unless your Iphone Lightning connector is small, it will not fit in the opening in the case. I had to purchase another charger that was smaller. Another plus to me is that it is a little challenging to re-open the case after you have put the phone in it. That's a good thing since every time you open it you increase the chance of it getting something in it. The buttons are a little stiff, but they should free up with use.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: iphone lightning connector port too small.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

One Complaint

Date:March 13, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great product for the drop protection and water proofing. My one huge complaint is that I cannot pull out the plug to charge my phone or use the ear phones by hand. I have to use a coin or other object to pry it out. Very inconvenient and annoying.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: plugs difficult to pry out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Okay

Date:March 12, 2014
Location: Tempe, AZ
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
It is a good case but the one I purchased doesnt close all the way.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Would not recommend

Date:March 10, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I would not recommend this case. I am a huge otter box fan but this case is a huge disappointment. I have had more trouble with this case then any other otter box case I have ever had. I am on my third replacement case and it isn't getting any better. When I use my phone and talk at a normal volume people on the other end can not hear me. In order for me to have any kind of conversation that is understandable I have to open the flap that covers the microphone. With constantly opening the mic flap that part keeps wearing out. Volume wise on my end is good I haven't had any problems with that. Durability is spot on for an otter box product, I have absolutely no worries about my phone being protected when it is in this case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: poor microphone volume
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection/Poor Hearing

Date:March 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I'm a huge Otterbox fan. Have numerous Otterbox devices for previous and current phones and IPads. My wife and I tried this one because we have small children. The overall protection is GREAT. Dirt, water, drops, etc..... it does the job it says it will.
The only downside to the product is people on the other end hearing you in a conversation. I understand because it encloses the phone, the sound is distorted and stuff but it makes for a long conversation, At times I have had to open bottom part just so I could be heard/understood. More annoying than anything else. Going back to my defender case and I will use this one when I'm around water, dirt, etc...
Pros: High quality, Durable, comfortable in hand
Cons: Low quality, low quality in hearing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:March 5, 2014
Location: West Chester, OH
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Slim and fairly light. They need to have a better variety of colors, but it does a great job.
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fantastic purchase

Date:March 5, 2014
Location: falls church, VA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Every much worth the purchase price
As stated waterproof
And shockproof
Tested both with and without phone
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not worth the money.

Date:February 28, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The box cost more than the phone and when I received it I was surprised it did not even come with a clip holder. I followed directions and the box does not clip together as it should leaving a gap at the top end. The design looks good but the quality control is obviously lacking.
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:February 28, 2014
Great but I cannot turn the ringer switch on and off using the stub you provided in the case
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

the preserver a great solution to replace my case

Date:February 23, 2014
Location: Spring ,Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I think this was a great choice for me its smaller than my otter box and fits in my pocket and still give me that water protecyion i need and beats the competition the lifeproof case I bought had a poor way of opennig the area at the charging port and had a hinge that seemed like i would break or allow water to seep in and the wayh the case came apart was not easy to do I lilke your design and think you did your home work on this case keep up the good work . Ron
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy to charge, size
Cons: very high price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nice but needs a few improvements

Date:February 21, 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I must say, that I like the protection of the new case. One area where they MUST make an improvement is in the silencing button. That just doesn't allow a person to turn off the sounds without hurting ones self. I do like the flatness of the screen by the lower button. With other brands of waterproof cases, the screen isn't totally flat by the lower button. All in all, I do like the case. Also, more colors would be appreciated - especially "design your own."
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: silence button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

another great one

Date:February 19, 2014
Location: cheboygan mi
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
this case when i first got it silent switch button was little stiff it has loosened up good protection east to install,sound is great no issue overall.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:February 18, 2014
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is a great case and protects the phone very well, I had been using a Defender before but began working in a very dusty environment, so I've tried out the Preserver and after 3 months I've been very happy with it. My only complaint is the limited colour options, but my phone is safe at least!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: limited colour choices
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Saved my phone

Date:February 18, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am rough on a phone. I stick it in my sports bra to exercise, in my saddle bag when I ride my horse. I drop it all the time. I need a good case. My other OB is great but was not waterproof or sweat proof. I ordered this case. It does the job. It is kind of stiff which is hard on my middle aged fingers. Also, my phone charger doesn't fit it so I can charge in the car. That is a negative. I am switching back and forth between the two OB products.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: car charger won't fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>