OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Preserver Series for iPhone 5

This waterproof iPhone 5 case is designed for the rough stuff, as it withstands drops up to 6.6 ft. and blocks entry of dust and dirt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.874 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
10
61 out of 87(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Review 1 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The best case to protect and preserve your phone

Date:June 30, 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
As a family we have purchased two Otterboxes. I purchased the new Preserver for my wife because I knew she was going to drop her new phone and get it wet, God love her she's pretty careless. The case is awesome. We had a little hiccup with the first one because of the silent button. All the Otters and the customer service is exceptional at the least. It's a welcome change in this day and age that there is people that care about the customers they serve. If you want a phone that will be as nice as the day you took it out of the box, these are the cases for you.
Pros: High quality, Durable, protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Light and Sturdy

Date:June 21, 2014
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First I want to say how awesome otterbox customer care is. They replaced my case with just a few question. OK this case is a lot thinner then the armor series and lighter and it stands out in the crowd people keeps asking what kind of case i am sporting. Wish there was belt case came along but other then that its great.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Smart Buy

Date:May 18, 2014
Location: Arkansas
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my OtterBox and their customer service staff is also very knowledgable and very helpful and curtious.
Pros: looks great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Customer Service

Date:May 18, 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Your Rep, Nick Vigil was wonderful, he understood our needs and quickly got our new covers to us faster than we thought.. It was great speaking with you Nick, you take Customer Service to a higher level...
Pros: High quality
Cons: can't find any
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

very good case

Date:May 12, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
its a good case it protects my phone from the dust at work and water .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best of both worlds

Date:May 9, 2014
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my new case! You can tell the high quality by the way it snaps together perfectly and does so even after numerous times of taking it apart and putting it back together. I was looking for a high level of protection and water proof. I tried 5 other water proof cases only to find that they all had issues with either significantly reduced sound quality or difficulty accessing the audio/headphone port. Several of them required special attachments to use the headphone port :( This new case is perfect. The only thing I am missing is a really great, custom made bicycle mount for the otter box Preserver. If Otterbox can provide some extras like that, I'll stick with them.
Pros: High quality, Durable, waterproof
Cons: no bicycle mount
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product!

Date:May 5, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got this case for my birthday and so far I love it. It has very good drop protection and it really is waterproof. It provides all of these features and still has a good look. Overall I love this case I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, completely waterproof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Improvement from Armor

Date:May 1, 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Prior to Preserver, I purchased the Armor case for my iPhone 5 and event though Armor was my preferred case, since I also have one on iPhone 4S, the Preserver is much better designed with respect to screen protection. The gap which exists between screen and the screen protector in the Armor case is eliminated and by doing so Otterbox improved the usability of this case 100%.
All other features are equal to the Armor case, and the fact that the Preserver is much slimmer, makes this case a #1 product.
Hope this review helps you make your selection.
Pros: High quality, Durable, lite, rugged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best ever

Date:April 30, 2014
Location: Savannah Georgia
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I own a few armor series and defender and the preserver series they are all great for the ones who write negative reviews get over it you don't know good stuff when you see it
Pros: High quality, Durable, the best
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

excellent

Date:April 28, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
i have purchased otterboxes for years....even before smartphones...imagine that. the have always produced a quality product that has kept my gear protected and dry. the otterbox preserver is no exception. it is one of the best phone cases i could find, and not so bulky that you can't carry it in your pocket. i treat most things with care, however, sometimes life happens to things...when i had an issue with my case, i contacted otterbox. i have to say, they have the best customer service and warranty of ANY company, not just this market. they rushed another case out to me, pronto...so i could get it changed out and move on. i have recommended this product to several of my friends and colleagues, who after that recommendation, have purchased a preserver for themselves.
Pros: High quality, Durable, slim, stylish, good screen protection
Cons: speaker buzz on high volume, not all charger cables work with the case on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent product

Date:April 20, 2014
Location: New York, N.Y
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
So far so good! It's protecting my phone perfectly.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The case that protect my iPhone anytime anywhere

Date:April 9, 2014
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
On January 2014, i was thinking to buy a real dependable case for my iPhone 5 rather than using the normal plastic case without any protection specially when my phone fall off from my hands accidentally. I know several brands on the market offering similar protection like Otterbox so i decided to see the review on Youtube about the detail comparison and test between each different cases with Otterbox case.
I find an interesting on Otterbox Preserver series after i watched the review and also the advertisement. I pretty convinced about preserver at that time would be my iPhone protection case. Nevertheless, i was doubt about it until it hands on me and try by myself.
Finally, I bought it at local authorized Apple store and followed all the manual instructions during the first test. Yes, it passed the water test a couple times. Another test was in Waterpark, i took it into the water on and off for more than 30 minutes for videos recording. When they (Otterbox) says "seriously dependable waterproof" they really mean it.
Even until today my iPhone 5 has through a lot of trails accidentally and intentionally such as falling from my hands (most commonly for people) and the extreme one, i thought my phone was stolen after i found out it was in my pants and it went all the way through the washing machine with all my laundry! (sorry, i can't provide the photos but trust me it was one of my crazy day thought that i will dig down so deep my pocket for a new phone!) Thanks to Otterbox for making such a TANK case like preserver series...!! it protect my iPhone with the sturdy case and dependable in the water.
Believe it or not, the case is still strong like brand new with a little flakes on the grip but it doesn't matter. So, my suggestion is buying the Otterbox products to protect your phones in any kind of condition of your active life!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Another winner from Otterbox

Date:March 20, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just purchased an Otterbox Preserver for my Iphone and I am very pleased with it. It has an attractive design, a quality feel to it, and certainly will protect the phone. The only down side is the access to the charging port and headphone jack. It can be very difficult to open this area and also difficult to get it to lay flat after closing. One complaint is that unless your Iphone Lightning connector is small, it will not fit in the opening in the case. I had to purchase another charger that was smaller. Another plus to me is that it is a little challenging to re-open the case after you have put the phone in it. That's a good thing since every time you open it you increase the chance of it getting something in it. The buttons are a little stiff, but they should free up with use.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: iphone lightning connector port too small.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

One Complaint

Date:March 13, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great product for the drop protection and water proofing. My one huge complaint is that I cannot pull out the plug to charge my phone or use the ear phones by hand. I have to use a coin or other object to pry it out. Very inconvenient and annoying.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: plugs difficult to pry out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:March 5, 2014
Location: West Chester, OH
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Slim and fairly light. They need to have a better variety of colors, but it does a great job.
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fantastic purchase

Date:March 5, 2014
Location: falls church, VA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Every much worth the purchase price
As stated waterproof
And shockproof
Tested both with and without phone
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

the preserver a great solution to replace my case

Date:February 23, 2014
Location: Spring ,Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I think this was a great choice for me its smaller than my otter box and fits in my pocket and still give me that water protecyion i need and beats the competition the lifeproof case I bought had a poor way of opennig the area at the charging port and had a hinge that seemed like i would break or allow water to seep in and the wayh the case came apart was not easy to do I lilke your design and think you did your home work on this case keep up the good work . Ron
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy to charge, size
Cons: very high price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

another great one

Date:February 19, 2014
Location: cheboygan mi
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
this case when i first got it silent switch button was little stiff it has loosened up good protection east to install,sound is great no issue overall.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:February 18, 2014
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is a great case and protects the phone very well, I had been using a Defender before but began working in a very dusty environment, so I've tried out the Preserver and after 3 months I've been very happy with it. My only complaint is the limited colour options, but my phone is safe at least!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: limited colour choices
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Preserver Series for iPhone 5
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Drop proof, water proof.

Date:February 16, 2014
Location: Colorado
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the best case ever if you need serious protection. Sometimes people have trouble hearing when I'm talking so I find myself flipping open the panel that covers the microphone and charging port, then it works great. In extreme cold conditions it is impossible to open the ports unless there is some type of oil (cooking oil, sunscreen, motor oil) on the O rings. This can collect dirt so use as little as possible.
This case has already saved my iPhone many times.
Pros: High quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>