OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case

The Defender Series iPhone 5 case withstands drops, dust and other accidents. Get protection that inspires confidence with our rugged Defender Series iPhone 5 case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.232 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
37
3 stars
21
2 stars
9
1 star
9
156 out of 185(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent case

Date:December 6, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This iteration of the Defender goes some distance towards alleviating one of the biggest problems with the line, that being the additional bulk. Some additional weight and thickness is unavoidable due to the nature of the case and that the phone itself is so slim helps as well, this model of the Defender is about as trim as it can reasonably be. To me, the case feels very solid and not overly heavy or bulky, though your mileage may vary, particularly if you're used to carrying around a phone with a very thin case or no case at all.
The rubber outer layer on some past Defenders (for all devices) was possessed of a tacky texture and design that attracted all manner of particulate into its grooves and often made it more difficult to pull from a pocket. As has been the case on more recent models, this Defender's rubber outer layer is much more rigid and much less tacky, even more so/less so than the outer layer on the 4/4S Defender. The physical texture is just rough enough to allow you to maintain a solid grip while still feeling very smooth, and the lack of any unnecessary grooves or other physical features on the back greatly diminishes the amount of dirt that builds up; the raised grid pattern from the outer layer of the 4/4S Defender is gone. There is one very shallow groove running around the perimeter of the back that may attract some build-up over time, as well as one square groove on the home button that may attract small particles just same, but the less-tacky texture of the silicon and the shallow depth of the grooves make this considerably less of an issue than on past models. Otherwise, I've only found the slightest build-up of some oils and staining on the corners and sides, and the home button, where the phone is gripped and pressed most, but so far this is very minor and can often be gently scratched off with a fingernail without harming the silicon.
The port covers start out very rigid and sometimes difficult to open, but I've found they become much easier with just a little bit of use. The covers are designed with grooved corners so as it fit snugly into their areas of the plastic frame and greatly reduce them falling open on their own. So far none of the corners of these covers has shown any sign of fraying or tearing, as has been the case on the port covers for some past Defenders. Despite the depth at which the ring/silent switch is recessed, I and my somewhat large fingers have had no difficulty accessing it and moving it in either direction. The volume, sleep/wake and home buttons are completely and easily accessible, the latter two of which maintain an excellent tactile feel. The rubber outer layer sits in the various grooves of the inner shell as designed and so far I've encountered no instances of them popping out from their set places. Even the two holster clips on either side of the case act as excellent gripping points for a thumb and a forefinger when not otherwise covered.
The speakers are deep enough as to be protected without having a major effect on the sound quality. Most headphones with a straight plug will have no problems with this case, though it might be a tight fit for some of the larger plugs. Headphones with an L-shaped plug may encounter some difficulty, to the point of not fitting at all.
The plastic inner frame is textured very similarly to the rubber outer layer, with just enough grain as to be noticed while still being smooth to the touch. It fits around the phone without issue and is easy enough to get open without an external tool if one works at it just a bit. In the interest of full disclosure, in having had two different frames on the phone during the process of combining the frame from one case with the outer layer of another (don't judge, I like my color combinations), I've found one frame allowed the phone just enough space to rattle around ever so slightly if shaken, while the other holds it completely snug. I do not know if this varies from frame to frame randomly from one model to the next or if some colors have this minor issue while others do not.
The screen protector is excellent, the prismatic effect found on past models largely fixed and the high quality of the phone's screen allowed to show to the best of its ability. The protector sits flush against the screen and does what a good screen protector should, which is often make you forget it's there at all. It attracts fingerprints but not as much as the phone's screen itself does, and is easily wiped off with a soft cloth, or a softer shirt hem in a pinch.
The only parts of the phone left completely uncovered are the speaker grills on the bottom, as mentioned earlier, as well as the earpiece speaker and FaceTime camera on the front and the camera and flash on the back. Though a necessity of design, these areas on the bevel and back do attract dust more easily than the covered parts and also serve as points at which particulate can enter the case. So far I've found the latter to not be too big of an issue, despite the phone being in and out of my pocket several times daily and possibly due to the tighter screen protector, but it is possible just the same. The aforementioned exposed areas of the bevel are easily cleaned with a small burst of compressed air if one so desires.
The one element of this case that hasn't been improved upon from previous models is the hole in the frame and outer layer on the back for the Apple logo to show though. It still feels unnecessary and as if the phone's back isn't quite as protected as it could be, in the name of unnecessarily showing off the logo.
Overall, the case continues the standards set by previous Defender cases and raises them, maintaining the favorable aspects and improving on a number of elements that otherwise needed it. One buys the case expecting it to add a certain degree of thickness and weight to an otherwise featherweight device; if this is not an issue for you on the road to securely protecting your phone while paying a slight premium, look no further.
Pros: High quality, Durable, not as bulky as past models, aesthetically pleasing design
Cons: still adds some bulk and weight to the device, phone's back logo still not protected by the frame
+9points
17out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Love otterbox but this case needs some work

Date:January 24, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I'm a long time otterbox customer and have used commuter, commuter TL, reflex and defender cases for three models of iPhones. I love the design, price and most of all the great customer service I've always received. I most recently upgraded to an iPhone 5 and purchased both commuter and defender cases. I use the defender when at work and the commuter when I'm off, though if the commuter were offered with a holster I'd probably do that by itself.
On the whole I'm very happy with the case itself. The lightening port cover was significantly improved over the dock cover on the iPhone 4 case. On the older model the cover almost never stayed completely sealed due to needing to "hook" over the edges on three sides vs. fitting into a recessed opening as it does on the 5 and 3 model cases. Likewise the headphone connector seals easily. The plastic clamshell fits very snugly and has many more clips to hold it together tightly as compared to my 4 series case which was plagued by a loose upper left corner. The silicone also seems to be slightly better than the older model as it's more firm and less stretchy.
I really only have a few gripes about the case itself. Otterbox decided to do away with the plastic covers over the front and rear cameras on the 5 model. I'm sure this was done to minimize distortion/interference with the cameras, but ultimately exposes them to damage as well as big entry points for dust. On the new model I find the vibrate/silent switch to be difficult to access. On the 4 I could flip open the cover and flip the switch with either a thumb or finger. On the 5 the cover fits very snugly and the grab point sits completely flush with the front edge over the silicone cover. I frequently have to try several times to simply open it. Once it's open the hole is small enough that I can only fit a finger into it, and then I can only reach the switch with a fingernail. I had none of these issues with the 4. Lastly I'm disappointed to see the speaker and microphone ports completely uncovered. While annoying this is nothing new as the 4 case was designed the same way. The 3 series case had small gortex-like filters over the ports to stop incidental water entry.
Lastly my gripes about the holster. Otterbox went far more minimalist with this holster as compared to the 4's holster. They removed the bottom center of the holster and the raised edges around the sides. The phone is now held in place solely by the bottom corners and by the hook in the top center, and they hold it very securely..... when you get it aligned properly.
The number one issue is the hook catches the section of silicone cover between the bezel and the side catch when it is supposed to rest and lock in the phone. If you're not careful the hook will just push against the silicone and "almost" go into the catch. This generally results in the phone popping out of the holster shortly thereafter. Related to that is the design/shape of the cups which hold the bottom corners of the case. The tolerances are very tight, and unless you have it perfectly centered between them (no mean thing since there are no edges on the sides) the hook will not line up properly, and again your phone will probably end up on the ground.
I've found I have to carefully think about how the corners are lined up, and then push firmly down with my thumb on the side catch of the case, compressing the silicone into the bottom of the holster enough to let the hook clear the silicone on the other side of the case. This as compared the simply putting the case into the holster without thinking about it like I did with my 4.
Lastly the rotating clip on this holster seems a little iffy. Like the 4 and 3 holsters it accommodates a 2" belt and clips securely in place. It also retains the firm click from one position to another. The down side with this is it has about 1/8" of wiggle once in any position while all my previous holsters were rock solid once you had them where you wanted them.
All in all the case works well. I hope Otterbox can address the issues with the holsters and begin manufacturing an improved holster like they did when confronted with issues on the 3 series holster. That and start offering a holster for the commuter case.
Pros: better silicone than 4 series case, lightning cover seals easily, more tightly fitted plastic clamshell
Cons: exposed cameras, difficult to access silence switch, poor holster design issues
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

iPhone 5 Defender

Date:October 7, 2012
Location: Tucker, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I've been an OtterBox case user since day 1 of my iPhone 3G. That expanded to my iPhone 4, my iPad 2 and now my iPhone 5.
There is no question that my OtterBox Defender case for my iPhone 3G and iPhone 4, saved my phones from destruction on multiple occasions. So as soon as the Defender case for the iPhone 5 was announced for pre-orders; I bought one immediately. I had the case before my phone arrived.
That being said, I can't recommend the Defender case for the iPhone 5. This is the first OtterBox product that I've been disappointed in, for several reasons.
- It doesn't completely enclose the device. Previous versions of the Defender iPhone cases, had sealed plastic covers over the front and back camera openings; thus protecting the camera lens from scratches and moisture. The Defender case for the iPhone 5, has no protection over the front and rear camera openings. This opens the camera lenses up to dust, dirt, scratches, etc. Because there are two openings in the case, that are not covered by the rubber outer case (there are plugs that cover the buttons as well as the headphone and sync ports), there's a greater chance that moisture and dust can get inside the two-part case and scratch the phone without your knowing it until it's too late.
-The advertised kickstand/easel feature of holster doesn't work. I've tried it on my holster with the clip in multiple rotated positions, both with the phone in the holster and without. I've applied way more pressure trying to make it engage as is shown in the product video; than should be necessary. I've tried this with 2 other iPhone 5 Defender holsters; with the same results. I've also had the owners of the other two cases/holsters try to lock the belt clip into the 'kickstand' position; to try and rule out me doing it wrong. Neither of them could do it either.
-The built-in screen protector for the front face of the phone, does not lay flat against the screen. When I tap an app icon or type on the keyboard, there is noticeable give/flex between the case screen protector and the iPhone 5's screen. This give/flex makes the touch screen response much less sensitive; and drastically increases my typing error rate with the on-screen keyboard. I've removed and re-installed the iPhone 5 into the case several times, looking very closely for something that may not have been seated correctly or something out of alignment that may have been keeping the screen protector from laying flat against the screen. I could not find any way to make it better. This issue may very well be the thing that makes me switch to a different case. The decreased screen sensitivity and the typing mistakes caused by the movement are extremely distracting and frustrating.
-The flap on the bottom of the outer rubber case, that covers the Lightning sync port when not in use; is very difficult to hold out of the way to install the cable to charge the phone. Once the cable in plugged into the phone, there is more pressure exerted on the Lightning connector than I think there should be. The new Lightning connector is very small, and there is no data yet on how robust the socket in the iPhone 5 or the plug on the end of the sync cable is. I don't think the case should put as much torque pressure on the sync connector as it does.
Overall, the design of the iPhone 5 Defender case/holster feels like it was rushed. I'd rather OtterBox have taken a little more time to have a product ready; than have produced one that does not live up to the standards of previous iPhone Defender versions.
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

I really own this for the iPhone 5, unlike others

Date:September 22, 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Okay, I'm just going to note that as of today, 23 Sept, no one who has posted a "review" is actually an owner of the case for iPhone 5. This isn't a review of my Defender for my old phone, it's the review of a brand-new (confirmed not knock-off) Otterbox Defender in black for my iPhone 5 (white, 64G)
If you haven't seen the newer defenders, you may be in for a shock. Otterbox has recently gotten a less rubbery, less flexible and less flexible outer silicone and it makes a lot of difference. Overall it doesn't add as much bulk as it did for my 3GS.
Those who remember Defenders being kind of splash-proof or water resistant must understand that isn't the case as much. The ports still have flaps covering them (MUCH better ones than on the older defenders, they stay shut...), but the earpiece and camera areas are not covered by membranes. That's not actually a criticism, as the old defenders weren't water tight anyway, and leaving important things like the camera and prox sensor (and phone ear speaker) unobstructed just makes sense. But if you want waterproof, you'll need to wait for the Armor Series (if it isn't vapourware) or go to Lifeproof)
The belt clip is fine. Seems a bit less flimsy than my old 3gs one. The one potential downside is that while the case works upside down or right side up (assuming there's a difference intended), there is only one way you can click the phone into the belt clip that allows you to access the silent switch. I do that a lot, but I don't imagine others do as much.
I don't know how Otterbox confirmed dimensions so fast and got these cases out. The fit is perfect. The screen protector built into the front of the case adhered perfectly with no bubbles, etc and overall the case fits tight without being too tight. Perfect.
Re. that screen saver, if you pay for a Defender, you should leave it on. But for those who are conflicted about whether they NEED a defender, the screen protectors shows the skins oils, grease, etc much more than the screen itself does. Apple tells us these screens are tough, so perhaps if you're not as clumsy as me you might choose to get a more modest Otterbox that doesn't include a screensaver.
Charging port and headphone jack are near each other, but the case has separate ports for them. Both stay closed very well, to the point of being a tad awkward to open then.
i know it's a lot thicker than the naked phone, but as I alluded to earlier, it could be worse. The case is thicker, but not to such an extreme as the older defenders were. It fits in a man's pants pocket (sans clip of course) with no trouble. In fact, since the new silicone outer layer is less rubbery, it actually slips into and out of one's pocket much better than the more sticker older cases outer layers allowed.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: no longer has membranes over earpiece
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome case for my iPhone 5

Date:September 27, 2012
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was initially against buying the Defender series case after knowing others that had them for their iPhone 4S. I didn't like the flexible rubbery outer shell and how hard it was to seal the openings. Plus it made the phone feel huge.
Buying my iPhone 5 the first morning it became available, there were not many choices at the store. I left without buying a case.
Two days later, I returned to the store and was talked into buying a black Defender case.
Once I returned home to install the iPhone in the case, I was instantly surprised by the quality in the design. I loved how the inner shell fit so perfectly around the iPhone. The squishy rubber of my friend's is nothing like what the harder, more dense rubber is like that comes with the new case. The fit, finish and feel is beyond anything I could have imagined. I never owned such a quality case as this.
It has also been designed to be much thinner that with precious designs. It does not feel bulky at all and finally gives me the feeling that the super thin iPhone 5 won't snap like a twig if mishandled.
No longer am I plagued with the plastic screen protector sticking to the screen like I fought with on my 3Gs case. This clear plastic screen protector works perfectly.
I absolutely love this case and it made my whole iPhone 5 experience such a wonderful joy.
Have no hesitations if considering buying the Defender case. It was a wonderful choice for me. Congrats to a wonderful design and implementation to Otter Box. You have another customer for life.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish, great texture to grip
Cons: no cons i can think of
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Treamendous Durability, Solid Feel

Date:September 25, 2012
Location: Anaheim, CA / Various western US locales
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I switched to the iphone 5 from a Galaxy S3 because I was unhappy with the fragility of the Samsung, and wanted something state of the art which was made from more durable materials.
I work as a geologist, so my phone is constantly going in and out of my pocket to check emails, make calls, and take photos. I am also often outside in bright sunshine.
The Defender case is a beast. There is no sacrifice in screen viewability with the plastic protector in place. The case more or less doubles the thickness of the phone, while adding a minimal amount of bulk to the sides and top. When I first got the phone, I was shocked at how light it is. The naked iphone 5 feels like a toy to me. With the Defender case on it, it feels much more substantial. I feel fully confident to take this phone into the field with dust and dirt everywhere, while at the same time I can take it with me to social functions as it still fits comfortably in my pocket, and I can manipulate the phone one-handed.
Overall, the feel of the case is great, and the build quality is outstanding. I will likely end up cancelling the insurance on my phone, should this case continue to perform as it has. I have supreme confidence that the Defender case will protect my phone from more than just your average wear and tear. The thing is designed to take a beating, while keeping your phone safe from drops, dust, mud, and the occasional splash of water
Pros: High quality, Durable, ergonomic, aesthetically pleasing
Cons: camera cutout could use an optional cover piece
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor design, poor quality, poor functionality

Date:November 8, 2012
Location: Stuart, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have owned other Otterbox brand products in the past and was pleased, so I was excited to get my Otterbox Defender for my new iPhone 5. Much to my surprise however, I was very disappointed in Otterbox with this product. Firstly I will point out that your brand new shiny iPhone 5 will shake around inside the plastic case due to the lack of engineering in the design. It is simply too big and doesn't fit around the phone snugly, so you can expect dirt to enter the case and scratch your phone. It really seems obvious that they designed this product without an actual iPhone 5 in hand. Secondly, the rubber surround that fits around the plastic inner case doesn't seem to be of decent quality as it has worn down significantly within only one week of use. I paid good money for this case, and expect to get what I paid for. Unfortunately I am very disappointed in this product.
I will also add that I returned this Defender Series case and exchanged it for the Commuter Series case. I'm about to write a review for it as soon as I finish here, but I will note that its not any better designed and I can confidently say that Otterbox simply attempted to design this without an actual iPhone in hand in attempt to sell their product as soon as possible.
I dont respect a company that has to have their product out too soon even though they havent properly designed it. This was my final Otterbox purchase.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, poor design, scratches phone
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good, but not great.

Date:November 26, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
While the case is beautiful...the beauty is fleeting. I always thought that Otterbox cases were the cream of the crop, never scratching and always looking pristine (since they are quite pricey). I finally sprung for one to cover my iPhone 5. When I invest in a product, I want it to live up to its half of the bargain and sustain my feelings of "this purchase was worth it."
My problems with this case:
-Outer malleable plastic covering gets dirty, fast. Doesn't seem to wipe off either.
-The grease that gets in-between the screen protector and the iPhone screen...so annoying, looks like an oil-spill...where does it come from?!
-Dust that oddly materializes within the case. You have to manually take it all apart (which takes a while) and get the dust out...all that work and it comes back no matter what.
-Tears on the outer malleable plastic from connecting and disconnecting the belt holster. I had to exchange and get a new case because that bothered me so much...now I am afraid to use the holster in fear that it will tear the new case.
-Not satisfied with the cut-out for the "face-time" camera on the front of the case. Doesn't seem very symmetrical...but maybe that was their aim. To me it looks like a design error.
All that being said, dealing with the Otterbox team has been a great experience. They are so friendly and assist you quickly. I just wish their product matched in quality.
Pros: looks nice (for a couple weeks), good protection from drops
Cons: Not durable, oil build-up under screen protector, dust build-up under screen protector, hard to clean
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

WOW!

Date:September 24, 2012
Location: Lafayette, IN
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am really impressed with the new design of the iPhone 5 Otterbox Defender. I just bought mine today (9/24/12). I have had Defender cases for my iPhone 4, 4S and now 5. I really like the new outer flexible shell. It is not rubber like the iPhone 4 design and it is even better than the material they used on the 4S (which was a step up from the rubber used on the 4). It looks a lot cleaner and more professional than ever (black iPhone and all black Defender).
It is really easy to install the phone into the case as the flexible outer shell just slips right on the hard inner shell. You don't have to spend 2 minutes massaging it into the little plastic areas on the hard shell. It does seem pretty difficult to remove the outer shell and unclip the hard plastic case if you are wanting to open the case up, so you won't want to switch cases often.
Another big improvement IMO is the screen protector. The 4 and 4S protectors really almost made the Retina display look blurry and not as crisp. The screen protector on the new Defender is much more clear and the display still "pops" and looks great. The new belt clip is better too. It seems lighter and more streamlined. With the lighter phone, the case/phone combo isn't as heavy as a brick anymore! The port covers are a little difficult to open right now due to it being new, but they will probably loosen up over time. Nice job Otterbox!
Pros: High quality, Durable, clean look
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Almost perfect but falls short

Date:October 24, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I loved my defender that I used on my iPhone 3G and when my mom got her iPhone 4S I loved the white and black case defender Otterbox designed for that. So when I got my iPhone 5, I knew I would get the defender. But the realities of the case both exceeded and failed to reach my expectations. The case is beautiful, strong, and has all I could want. But it does fall short in several aspects. For one the power/sleep button kept getting jammed even after I returned the case for a new one. But after a few days that stopped and a new problem arose. Now the phone feels loose inside the case, where you can hear and feel it fall back and forth. Also the screen gets an oil slick air bubble that is a distracting blob of rainbow on the screen. Also the cutout in the back doesn't even match the iPhone's lines so it looks messy. I understand why they left both camera's uncovered, but I wonder if they could have still protected them someway. And the grey/white case looks very ugly because the back cutout has black in it (the only time the case has black) and the belt clip is all black, not fitting the color scheme at all. It seemed like they designed this thing without first getting a hold of the phone which is very disappointing. I hope Otterbox's next iphone defender is better designed and gets rid of these minor problems since if they do, they will be making perfect cases.
Pros: Durable, good looking
Cons: oil slick air bubbles, hasty design
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Very Disappointed!

Date:October 29, 2012
Location: Mississippi
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have used Otterbox Defender on three iphone 4's and also on a 4s and loved the cases. The Defender for the iphone 5 has a lot to be desired. The case looks nice but it does not fit the phone well. It allows dust and other particles to get inside the case and on the phone, thus, scratching the phone. The camera is not protected at all. The close tabs feel like they might break at any time I open or close them. It also isn't tight on the screen or flat on the screen so it makes typing, etc. more difficult and there is always an oil slick bubble on the screen. This really is irritating and defeats the purpose of the great looking screen on the phone. Also, the Lightening adapter made for the phone will not work with the case and this causes a major problem. I have tried two different Defender cases and have the same problem with both of them. I am very disappointed because I have always loved the Defender series and like the protection they have always given my phones. However, this case seems it might do more damage to my phone than it does protect it. I was hoping Otterbox would come out with the waterproof case soon. If not, I might have to try LifeProof case or find another brand of case that will not scratch my phone, while trying to protect it. I'm really bummed!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, adaptor for phone won't fit with case on, dust and dirt gets into the case, camera is not protected, does not fit case well
+1point
9out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Exactly what it is supposed to be

Date:November 28, 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had my defender case since the minute it came out of the box at the Verizon store. I read a bunch of reviews on here before I went to the store and was somewhat underwhelmed about getting an Otterbox. After having it for almost a month now, I can honestly say I wouldn't have any other case. The openings left unenclosed (e.g.: the camera and flash opening or the earpiece opening) are that way because they have to be. If it were covered, people would be complaining because it messed up picture quality or audio quality when they were on the phone. If you get something in a light shade, it's going to show dirt a lot faster....that's life. If your main concern is a spotless case then get black. I have dropped my phone 3 times and each time the case has stayed intact, had no visible damage and did what it was supposed to do. If you want the level of protection that the Defender series offers, you have to sacrifice having something a little bulkier. Almost every retail store that has these will let you examine them out of the package before you purchase. DO IT. It pays off and you end up walking away with the case you want. Otterbox is the only case I found that offered the protection that I wanted with the reputation to back up the product.
Pros: High quality, Durable, still slim for a lot of proctection
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

iPhone 5 Version Screen Protection Problem

Date:September 22, 2012
Location: Allentown, PA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
My main reason for buying an OtterBox was that I wanted immediate protection for my new iPhone 5 and the case maker that I used on my old phone doesn't have them available yet.
The case looks great, and seems to be very well built. It looks as though it will protect the phone very well, and should have a pretty good lifespan.
My major problem with the product (and my reason for giving it such a low rating) is that the built-in screen protection does not contact the actual screen on my phone. This is creating a situation where in order to use the phone, you have to push harder on the face to get your finger all the way down to where the screen is. Dragging and swiping becomes a nightmare.
To be honest, it takes a very high quality phone and make using the touch-screen feel like a free "dumb phone" touch screen of a few years ago.
I actually picked this one up in the store. I had ordered another one prior, but is hasn't arrived yet. This one will be returned. The one that's being shipped will be, too, if the screen issue remains the same. (Hoping it was just an issue with this case, cause the look and and protection factors are great). Just can't take the limited use of touch functions.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks sharp
Cons: touch screen use poor because of design
-1point
10out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

So in love!

Date:July 10, 2013
Location: Georgia
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My first purchase with OtterBox was for the iPhone 4 defender case, which worked amazingly. I am not an outdoorsy person, or work outside. However, I am quite clumsy, forgetful and have the worst butterfingers you could imagine. With the iPhone 4 case, it saved my iPhone's life, on several occasions. I even accidentally shut my iPhone in my car's hatchback trunk, and with just a small dent on the hard plastic of the case, my iPhone was completely safe! I just got the iPhone 5 and I knew I needed another OtterBox defender. I was a bit hesitant, because remembering the iPhone 4 case, the silicone outside was a bit sticky, and was tricky to get in and out of your pocket. However, with this new upgrade OtterBox has, the new iPhone 5 case is completely smooth and not that bulky. I can slide my phone in my pocket and purse with ease! The only downside I can think of, is one of the reviews below says the case is not compatible with the Square, and with my work, I definitely need the square and with others handing my phone, I want to be sure my phone is safe! My most favorite thing about my new OtterBox defender, is definitely the color. I am obsessed with purple!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Defender for IPhone 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Location: Camarillo, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am a first-time buyer of an Otterbox and have just received my new case. I am very pleased with the quality of this product. My initial concerns were the size, the built-in protective screen and other negative reviews. My fears have been replaced with great satisfaction! It's pretty, not bulky, just right fit and feel. There is no distortion or interference from the screen protector. I would recommend it to anyone who is considering the purchase.
The only possible design flaw I find is the closure tab putting pressure on the charger. I am considering removing the tab as I have observed my husbands IPhone charger to become loose after time and not keeping the charger in place, falling out and ending up not being charged. It was an older version charging port so perhaps that was where the fault should be placed. The tab even resting against the cord slightly could eventually cause this problem. If it was built with a plastic hinge instead maybe it would not cause that problem.
The other tabs and protective buttons and ports work perfectly.
Thanks Otterbox, you didn't disappoint me !!!
Pros: nice size and feel
Cons: charging port tab
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, Loose Fit

Date:October 5, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
My defender arrived today it feels great in the hand. It looks good (I purchased the Bolt color scheme) and it makes the iPhone 5 feel much more durable. I no longer fear one of my children carrying it across the room. The screen protector is noticeable but really doesn't impede the performance of the screen. All of the button and port holes line up perfectly and the buttons seem to press relatively easy.
My only complaint is that the case was slightly too large for the iPhone 5. I noticed when I placed the phone in the back piece that it could move slightly in all four directions. This movement inside the case didn't stop once the case was fully assembled. I was able to stop the movement by using small pieces of card stock in each corner. However, the fit on the phone needs some improvement because the phone shouldn't be moving around inside a case of this caliber.
All in all, it seems like a great case and time will tell how well it holds up. Hopefully, now that the iPhone has been released, Otterbox will tighten up their tolerances and improve the fit.
Pros: Durable, comfortable, attractive
Cons: loose fit
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

So-So

Date:September 29, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Just put the case on the phone today. First impression is that it fits to the phone snugly. Although thin and light are good, it leaves you feeling it lacks the security of past models. I haven't dropped the phone yet, but I hope the case does it's job. The cover is noticeably slicker than the previous ones and I'm afraid it won't have the friction to keep it from sliding off non-level surfaces.
My main complaint is the access covers for the dock connecter, headphone jack, and the ring/silent switch. These covers are extremely hard to get open. Since I don't keep long fingernails, I have to use a foreign object to pry them open. I'm certain this will cause damage in a short amount of time, considering how the 4S case ripped at the corner of the ring/silent switch cover after only two uses.
My only other complaint is a general one and not model specific: I hate that there is no one stop shopping, meaning that there are different models in stores as opposed to online. There should also be mix and match for the case components.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love the Defender

Date:November 6, 2012
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first iPhone, but after so many drop/case quality problems with an old Windows Phone, I decided to get a real case this time which could stand up to the occasional drop and potential abuse by my kindergarten kids! Honestly? I never even personally held the iPhone 5 by itself. I let the Sprint technician put the Defender Case on for me...so I never had any comparison in terms of bulk or weight. I will say that with the case, it feels about the same as my wife's 4S with a cheap plastic case.
I think this is a solid case. I like the fact that there is no "stick on" screen protector. I have not had any problems at all with loose fit or difficulty pushing buttons or opening flaps. It's like it is part of the phone! I used the belt clip for a minute, but it is smooth enough to just drop in your pocket, with just enough texture to maintain a nice grip. With the black on black case, it turns your phone into a professional grade yet durable and attractive tool. I highly recommend you check it out!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Date:November 19, 2012
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I, just like most other people have had otterbox products in the past that I have been very pleased with. However, I can't say the same for the iPhone 5 Defender Series. The rubber is very low quality, compared to the ones in the past for the 4/4S. You can notice wear on the case very quickly, about 1 to 2 weeks. The screen protector scratches way easier then previous screen protectors as well, and the screen protector doesn't stay on the screen, therefore dirt and such can find a way underneath and scratch your phone inbetween the screen itself adn the protector. Also, one flaw that I am very unhappy with, is the fact that otterbox made the case before the phone was released, without the phone being in their hand to make the correct specifications to the case, size, shape, dimension, etc... So when I shake my phone, it slides around in side the case, which is very annoying, and has potential to break very easy if you drop it just right. I am very unhappy with the new otterbox.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5 Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Decreases battery life of phone

Date:October 21, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had iPhones since 2007. Had a screen protector on the iPhone 2G, but have not had a screen protector starting with the iPhone 3G in 2008. Isn't the glass screen more durable than a plastic screen protector? Have had usually stretchy rubber cases on my phones. Now have an iPhone 5 with Otterbox Defender. Always wanted one. Good case, originally I was going to cut the screen protector out but kept it on for now. But the screen protector 1) decreases sensitivity of touch screen, not that big a deal since a touch-screen phone is not a precision computing device, but 2) screen protector decreases screen brightness, and you have to turn the backlight up to get the screen as bright as you normally have it. As a result your battery life decreases. The screen protector doesn't seem tinted. What other solutions are there to counter the decrease in screen brightness, other than turning the backlight brighter, or cutting the screen protector out of this expensive case?
Pros: Durable
Cons: decreases screen brightness
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>