OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone 5 / 5s Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Defender Series Slip Cover
Average Customer Rating:
4.117 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1160 Reviews) 1160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,160 reviews)
5 stars
659
4 stars
223
3 stars
118
2 stars
75
1 star
85
952 out of 1,160(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Defender Series Slip Cover
Review 1 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Phone Case

Date:May 26, 2015
I've had quite a few phone cases over the course of the years, but when I got my iPhone 5, I needed something more durable and that's exactly what I got.
I must of had this case for 2 years and it still works as good as ever, given that I've dropped my phone numerous times.
Yes, it gets dusty, but it's easy enough to clean. I would rather my phone get a dirty than have to pay a lot of money to get it fixed.
I also had the Samsung Note 2 Defender Case and that worked great also.
Very pleased.
Thanks Otters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Design Defect on Clip

Date:May 20, 2015
I purchased this case and clip (rugged defender) less than a month ago and the clip that holds the phone in the bracket just snapped off, making the bracket useless. And the case did not protect as expected, moisture got between the phone screen and screen cover making the icons inoperable until I opened it and dried the inside of the cover. I spent the extra money on this product thinking it would hold up...I am very disappointed and will try to return it...though I no longer have the receipt:(
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamMay 22, 2015
Hey Chillen,

We’re sorry that you’re having a few issues with your new OtterBox Defender. Unfortunately, those belt clip/holsters can be particularly susceptible to hard times, as they tend to get a lot of action. Not to worry, though, because we are more than happy to set you up with a warranty claim for a replacement. We can get that Lid/Base assembly cleared up as well. Feel free to give us a ring at 1-855-688-7269, and our friendly Otters will be more than happy to assist!

Best,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Defender iphone 5c case

Date:May 19, 2015
I am on my third 5c case and each time, the belt holder clip has snapped, all in the same place. I do not consider myself to be especially hard on things that I own, but I do suggest that you consider a new clip design, which I consider poorly designed and not as rugged as the case. Without a belt clip, using the defender is overly bulky to keep in one's pocket, which I find frustrating. I had similar problem in the past with a iPhone 4c clip. For the cost of these cases, I would expect better quality.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamMay 22, 2015
Hey Shim,

Sorry to see that you’re having some recurring problems with your OtterBox Defender belt clip/holsters! Those guys can be a bit finicky at time, as they are an exposed part that tend to take a lot of action, but we’re more than happy to send in reinforcements as needed! Just give our belt clip-wielding Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll be happy to set up a warranty claim with you.

Cheers!
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Completely broken

Date:May 16, 2015
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 13-17
Gender: female
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have problems with it because my otter box screen is completely scratched up and the sides of it where the clip goes is falling off and the part at the bottom is ripped. I like otter box but I just don't have the money to pay for a whole other defender series otter box.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamMay 18, 2015
Hi loveandpeace,

Yikes! “Completely Broken” is just no way for an OtterBox to be! Fear not, as our Super Fix-it Otters are here and ready to put this back together again! Just give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll be more than happy to set you up with a warranty claim for a replacement case.

Cheers!
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

upset

Date:May 15, 2015
Age: 13-17
Gender: male
im upset because of your color choices you do not have colors such as ; red, dark green, and tan and you don't even have the same colors between shell and slipcover. i will shurely purchase more cases if these colors become available. and as some one who enjoys the out doors with olive drab being my favorite color it would not hurt to make it available as a option for the shell in the camo selection either.
in review more colors = happier (and returning) customers.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Works Great

Date:May 12, 2015
Location: Southern California
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I have always had a "dumb" phone until now, and have always carried it in my pocket. I thought I would not like it on my belt, but I do. Great access and easy removal, although I did have to practice a couple times to figure it out. It also has a lock feature to stand it up that I discovered accidentally. The delivery (in the box with the defender case) was very prompt.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product

Date:May 12, 2015
Location: Southern California
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
It is too bad this product is discontinued as I absolutely love mine. The product has lived up to expectations and even came with a belt clip that I was not expecting. I love being able to show my support for my team with my Dodger case. Functionally I had to get used to touching the screen just slightly harder due to the screen, but that came with time. The person who took my order at Otterbox was wonderful too. One of the best ordering experiences ever as she was very patient with all the questions I had. Otterbox----bring this option back! :-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Defender for IPhone5s

Date:May 10, 2015
Location: Little Rock, AR
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Not recommend. The soft rubber provides great protection, BUT the 'flap' on the bottom, that must be opened to insert the charges, is also soft rubber. In a very short time (but after warranty expires) will stretch our and hang loose.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamMay 11, 2015
Hey c1h9i96f,

Sorry to hear that you’re having a spot of trouble with that charge port door, but we can absolutely get a warranty claim set up for this. Even if you are outside our one-year limited warranty period, our Otters would be happy to make an exception and extend this for you. Just give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’d be happy to get thing rolling!

Cheers!
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Fragile

Date:May 1, 2015
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
As designed, the holster does very well to hold my iPhone 5s in place. It stays on my belt, and the belt clip on the back of the holster is sturdy. However, the single side clip that holds the iPhone in the holster is fragile. My original holster lasted about a year (which is very good), and then failed when the single clip that holds the phone in the holster cracked and broke due to fatigue. I ordered a replacement from Otterbox, and the replacement lasted only about a month or so before it broke in the same spot due to cracking and fatigue. I will not buy another holster of this style.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Have always had an Otterbox, But...

Date:April 29, 2015
Location: Dalton, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I have had an otterbox since I started using iPhone products, about 5 yrs ago. Well, I'm not sure if they changed their design or materials, and if so they need to go back to their old version. With that said, I drop my iphone ALL the time, I have 2 small kids, and they drop my phone. I've always had no worries with otterbox protecting my iphone, until I was cleaning up two sick kids laundry, sat my phone on the top of the dryer reached to get the detergent and bumped the phone off the dryer, picked it up not worried about it only to see my screen shattered. :'( I could of cried. So, since then I've just not felt as protected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Defernder Belt Clip

Date:April 22, 2015
Location: Jupiter FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Great holder until the single retaining clip breaks - which they do on a regular basis.
In 2 years I have been through at least 5 holders - and they all have broken in the same place.
Cons: Not durable
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamApril 29, 2015
Hi joe33478,

A broken holster is a frustrating situation, for sure, and we’re sorry to hear that you seem to be stuck in a vicious cycle of repeat offenders with your OtterBox Defender! Those holsters are definitely exposed and take a lot of action, so they can be susceptible to some damage, but please give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and let’s give it another try to get you into a unit that will hold up to the standards we all expect!

Best,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very good protection

Date:March 1, 2015
Location: Decatur, IL
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Otterbox Defender Series is the best protection for you iPhone and they have a very good warranty.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from NFL Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Tough

Date:April 13, 2015
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this case and received it in the mail the other day. As soon as I got it I put it on my phone. I got the New Orleans Saints Defender Series. It is very tough because I am a mechanic and drop my phone alot, this case has saved my phone many times. Thanks so much Otterbox!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from NFL Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox in 104Degrees Underwater!!!

Date:April 11, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Today I dropped my Defender Otterbox in my HOT TUB @ 104 degrees. I was horrified and jumped back in the hot tub (I was out of it and closing the cover) I ran in the house took off the Defender cover and there were a few tiny drops!! My phone is perfectly fine. I am amazed, it was at the bottom of the hot tub for about 7 or 8 seconds. I used to think the Otterbox was expensive but now I know its worth every penney!!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, waterproof
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Defender Series is the best

Date:February 24, 2015
Location: Cleveland on North Coast
Age: 13-17
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The defender series has perfectly protected my son's phone from drops and daily use. Phone is pristine, the defender though a bit worn after 15 months is still working perfectly.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not for people with OCD!

Date:April 10, 2015
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I had the otterbox cover for my iphone 4 for 3 years and it was amazing. I knew when I got my iphone 5S that I would buy the same product because I loved it so much! Well that is not the case with this model and design- I am very disappointed. The main reason I was a repeat buyer is because of the built in screen protector, well this newer version is different. The old one was completely covered with the outer rubber case that covered the home button (much like that on the cases for the ipads- which I have 3 of by the way). This new version does not cover the home button with the case,instead it has a circular cut out that allows your fingers directly to touch the home button. I find that I CONSTANTLY have crumbs/dust/debris- you name it- stuck under the clear screen and have to take it apart quite frequently to clean it! I would not buy this if you have OCD!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: gets dirty easily
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamMay 1, 2015
Hi Kibby,

Thank you for being such a loyal OtterBox customer! We hate that you’re not feeling too hot about your iPhone 5/5S Defender case, but hopefully we can help you out with that. It’s true that we did some redesign here, but the home button actually should have a thin film of plastic over it. It does allow for complete function of your Touch ID, but does not let the elements inside. Somehow, your unit seems to be missing this overlay, so please give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and our Otters will be happy to set up a warranty claim for you!

Cheers!
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection

Date:April 6, 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am so hard on phones. I drop them all of the time. As expensive as they are, I decided to invest in a great case. I also have another case for my other phone and it doesn't even compare. My phone in the Otter case looks just like new after 2 years of dropping it on tile floors, taking it camping, and just general abuse. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that there is an air gap under the screen protector that I have experienced a problem with moisture collection. When this happens, you need to take it all apart and clean it, then put it back together. Not the worst thing but kind of a pain. Overall a great case!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: air gap under screen protector
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from NFL Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome case

Date:March 30, 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very easy and too assemble. The case is like a safe for your phone.
Pros: High quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Defender Series Holster

Date:March 29, 2015
The holster clip has broken on me 3 times now and each time my phone has hit the floor or ground hard. Luckily there has been no damage to it yet because the rest of the defender series cover is quite good. I have found OtterBox very good at sending replacements quickly but am not very happy now as they have added a handling fee on to the warranty order!! Surely they could have gone back to the manufacturer and had a redesign or made the clip more durable
Cons: Not durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from NFL Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Hubby LOVED this Valentine's Day Gift

Date:March 24, 2015
Location: Arkansas
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased this Otter Box for my husband, for Valentine's Day and he loves it! He's a huge KC Chiefs fan and when he first purchased his iPhone 5s, the only Otter Box Defender we could find was that Gray/White one and he really didn't like it.. so when I found this one online, I knew I had to get it for him.
Pros: High quality, Durable, nfl logo, great protection
Cons: hard to remove once place on phone, fear of tearing the rubber when removing
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 58 next>>