OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone 5 / 5s Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Defender Series Slip Cover
Average Customer Rating:
4.031 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1052 Reviews) 1052
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,052 reviews)
5 stars
566
4 stars
207
3 stars
113
2 stars
78
1 star
88
842 out of 1,052(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Defender Series Slip Cover
Review 1 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:June 19, 2015
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I love the otterbox cases. They are very durable and my phone and iPad don't break when I drop them on concrete or ceramic tile. I only wish they still had a lifetime warranty. The rubber half of the case tends to wear out in 3-5 years depending on wear & tear, so I have had to replace the rubber half a few times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Slip cover

Date:June 7, 2015
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
I purchased the blue slip cover and it does an amazing job of providing shock protection for my device. Only problem is that the edges get stained from normal use and it cannot be removed. I also have a black one for another device and have no complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Holster: Quick access, replaceable, protection

Date:July 5, 2015
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
The quick access that a holster provides is why I like them. The Otter Box Defender series adds excellent protection for the phone. Just this year, I discovered another advantage: holster replaceability. I've had several holsters break. By going to the Otter Box website, I learned that I can order replacement holsters. No need to buy a complete holster/OtterBox set just to replace the holster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Would be great if it didn't break

Date:July 4, 2015
I love the product but have to buy a new one about once a year because the retaining clip on the holster breaks after a years worth of taking the phone out and putting it back in the holster. I keep buying them because they provide great protection for the harsh environments I use my phone. I am on my third one.
Otter should re-engineer the retaining clip to be spring loaded so that is doesn't brittle fracture after a years worth of cycling. Mine always seems to break just after the years warranty period is up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not crazy about this one!

Date:July 1, 2015
Location: Rye NY
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Very easy to put on, but nearly impossible to take off. The reason for removing: the oil slick rainbow keeps appearing on the screen. You'd think that by now Otterbox would have developed a better solution to this problem. The powder solution isn't a fix! It helps a bit, but the rainbows are still there. For the price that I paid, I shouldn't be seeing rainbows every time I make a call!
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 3, 2015
Hi Kmiguana,

We’re sorry to see that you’re having such a frustrating experience with your OtterBox Defender and the dreaded “rainbow effect”! Usually the powder trick will . . . well, do the trick. However, it seems like this just isn’t working out for you, so let’s get you into a new lid/base assembly and see if this takes care of the issue. Just give our rainbow-crushing Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll be more than happy to set up a warranty claim for a replacement.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Breaks easily

Date:June 30, 2015
Location: Nevada
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
The design of this holster offers an easy clip-in and remove feature, however, the plastic material stresses and fatigues easily. The middle clip that holds the phone in place on one side breaks. We have gone through 4 of these. Otter Box will replace it when broken, but the point I'm making is the design is flawed for long-term use.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 30, 2015
Hi Mammasan,

We’re sorry to hear that you’ve been having recurring issues with the belt clip/holsters for the OtterBox Defender. While we do completely understand your frustration with having to have them replaced from time to time, it is actually by design that they give way at a certain level of stress so that the user won’t be unable to break free of precarious situations. Definitely feel free to reach out to us at 1-855-688-7269 if you have any issues going forward, and we’ll always do our best to help.

Best,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great protection

Date:June 29, 2015
Location: Gunnison Colorado
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
I purchased my Otter Box from my carrier's website at a ridiculously Great price. All the port covers work great. phone has been protected from a few drops to the hard floor with no damages to the case or my iPhone 5. When I get the next iPhone an Otter Box will be the protector again. Very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Belt Clip

Date:June 29, 2015
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Lost original and replacement is exactly same as original at a fair price
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not Happy

Date:June 28, 2015
Location: Ft Collins, CO
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Just purchased a new iPhone 5s and a Defender case on Friday. Dropped my phone on Sunday and screen shattered. Will not purchase otterbox again and will be returning the one I have to place of purchase.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 29, 2015
Hi kwgglg,

We are very sorry to see that your iPhone took a spill and sustained some damage. We put forth every effort to ensure that we are providing the most protective cases available, however, each situation is unique, and we are unable to guarantee an incident-free outcome in all events. Although our warranty does not extend to your mobile device, we would very much like to offer you a new OtterBox product. Please feel free to reach out to us at 1-855-688-7269, and we can set this up for you.

Sincerely,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

excellent

Date:June 26, 2015
Location: Canton, Ga
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
great customer service when he broke his holster. I ordered the wrong one and was sent the correct one free of charge. This Otterbox keeps his phone safe no matter what he's done to it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Holster

Date:June 26, 2015
Location: Ohio
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I had my original holster for 4 years when if failed from general use. I ordered the replaced from Otter Box and it arrived in 2 days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Perfect for work

Date:June 25, 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
As car salesman, I am in and out of cars all day in all weather.
I need the phone on me at all times, this is the best belt clip I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great case, week holster.

Date:June 25, 2015
Location: Western kentucky
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have dropped my phone onto many hard surfaces without even a single scratch. Excellent case.
Holster..that is another issue.
First one, caught it on someone and snapped the clip in two. Kind of glad it gave way or it would have hurt me.
Second one. The clip that holds the holster to the phone failed. Cracked from normal use. Reviews on Amazon and here indicate that is a serious week spot.
I may order another holster if and only if they redesign that clip that holds the phone into the holster.
5 stars for the case. 1 star for the holster...thus the 3 star total.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 26, 2015
Hi Wncol,

Thanks for the great feedback on the OtterBox Defender! We’re thrilled that you’re happy with the case itself, but do understand and appreciate your frustration with the belt clip/holster. The reality is basically what you mentioned yourself about the safety concerns. We designed those holsters to break-away at a certain threshold so that users don’t get caught up in precarious situations. The good news is that we are more than happy to offer warranty replacements as needed. Just give our friendly, belt clip-wielding Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll be more than happy to set up a claim for you.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product

Date:June 25, 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 13-17
Gender: female
Definitely worth the money!!! Dropped my phone a few times already, not a scratch, and protects well from dust and debris. The best way to protect your phone.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product

Date:June 24, 2015
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Man's 2nd best friend. Clips on to your belt and keeps phone secure yet handy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

otter box

Date:June 23, 2015
Location: dixon
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
i bought an otter box for my I phone 5s around January and the clear plastic is comen off of the hard shell and the shell is cut into from snapping into the clip wont buy another one don't have my receipt to prove my purchase so still usen the old one but not happy with it because of no longer then ive used before messed up and the price of it
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 26, 2015
Hey Dave,

We’re sorry to see that you’re having some trouble with your OtterBox Defender. We can absolutely get you set up with a warranty claim for a replacement, even if you don’t still have your receipt. Just give our friendly Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we get things rolling for you.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Too bulky

Date:June 22, 2015
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Hard to keep in the case to charge. have to take it out of the case... Very hard to carry.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 26, 2015
Hi Suel2119,

We’re sorry to see that the OtterBox Defender is just a bit too substantial for your taste. It is our largest, most protective case in our product offerings, but we do have some alternatives that might be a better fit for you. Here’s a link to check out our Commuter Series, which is significantly more streamlined in design, but still offers great OtterBox protection. If you have any question, please feel free to reach out to our friendly Otters at 1-855-688-7269.

http://www.otterbox.com/en-us/iphone-5-5s/commuter-series-case/apl4-iphone-5s-byo.html#start=1

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great protection

Date:June 19, 2015
Location: Boca Raton, Fl
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I have purchased many Otterbox cases for my different devices. I love them. When I got an iPhone, I knew I would probably drop it at some point, so I immediately purchased your case. Otterbox is only case I trust! I love it and know my phone is safe now. So pretty too. Thank you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not worth it

Date:June 18, 2015
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
I bought this case after I fixed my shattered iPhone 5s. I thought it would protect my phone and prevent it from shattering again if dropped. I was completely wrong. This phone case doesn't protect against falls at all. I dropped my phone and it completely shattered AGAIN. I'm not happy at all since you have to pay so much for this case. Definitely not worth it if you're looking for something to help protect your phone from falls.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 22, 2015
Hi KatMar19,

We are truly sorry to see that your iPhone took a fall and sustained an injury. We realize just how frustrating a damaged screen can be and completely understand your disappointment. Protecting your device is our highest purpose, and although we put extensive resources toward this end, we are unable to guarantee an incident-free outcome in every situation. Your phone is beyond the limitations of our warranty, however, we would very much like to offer you a new OtterBox product. Please feel free to reach out to our friendly Otters at 1-855-688-7269, and we can set this up for you.

Sincerely,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Case.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Case worked but...

Date:June 17, 2015
I purchased this product for my iphone 5S. Today I took off the case, because I had a buildup of gunk behind the built in screen protector. I noticed that around the earpiece and front camera, right along the edge of the case, (the trapizoid at the top of the case). Dirt had built up underneath it and scratched my phone. I have a perfect shape forever ingrained in my phone. Also at the top of my phone just above the camera the silver has scratched off due to dirt getting in my case and rubbing. I take great care of my phone and this is unacceptable. The case itself did its job however my phone is scratched because of it. I like Otterbox but I may have to make the switch to Lifeproof for my phone protection needs.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJune 22, 2015
Hi DarthSpanky,

We are truly sorry to see that you’ve had some trouble with the elements infiltrating your OtterBox Defender. Although the case is designed to help protect against dust and debris from entering the headphone and charging jacks by way of specially designed port covers, we are unable to guarantee an incident-free experience, as it is not a completely sealed unit. Our warranty does not extend to your electronic device, but we would very much like to send you a new OtterBox product. Please feel free to reach out to our friendly Otters at 1-855-688-7269 and we will be more than happy to set this up for you.

Sincerely,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 53 next>>