OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone 5 / 5s Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Otterbox Defender Series Slip Cover

Defender Series Slip Cover
Average Customer Rating:
4.018 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1071 Reviews) 1071
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,071 reviews)
5 stars
569
4 stars
213
3 stars
119
2 stars
79
1 star
91
855 out of 1,071(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Defender Series Slip Cover
Review 1 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:July 8, 2015
Bought 2 defenders. Color options were plentiful. Both look great and are doing what we expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Defender Series Slip Cover
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:June 19, 2015
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I love the otterbox cases. They are very durable and my phone and iPad don't break when I drop them on concrete or ceramic tile. I only wish they still had a lifetime warranty. The rubber half of the case tends to wear out in 3-5 years depending on wear & tear, so I have had to replace the rubber half a few times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster Issues

Date:July 25, 2015
Location: Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
In general I love the overall product. However, I have had some bad luck with the hard plastic Holster clip part breaking off. I've replaced it three times in two years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Belt holder

Date:July 25, 2015
Location: Coeur d Alene Idaho
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
The clip broke. As I bought this in January is there any way
I can get it replaced? reading the reviews it seems to be a weak spot??
I purchased it in a ATT store when I purchased two Iphones5.
Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:July 24, 2015
Location: PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
The case is great. The only downside is taking it off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:July 22, 2015
I like the otterbox defender cases but the belt clips are terrible...the part that holds the case is always breaking!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Broken Clip

Date:July 19, 2015
Location: Cedar Rapids IA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Bought this at Walmart without reading reviews here first. Friends told me Otter Box was the best. The case is great but the holster clip broke after just a few months. Website says to take it back where I bought it from but they won't take it because I didn't keep the receipt. Thought it was tough enough to make it through at least a year so I didn't keep the receipt. Bad move on my part. My recommendation to anyone reading this review is, If you need a case it's good. If you need a case and a holster look elsewhere.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 23, 2015
Hey CRWally,

We’re going to have to side with your friends on this one and agree that OtterBox is definitely the best mobile device protection going! That said, we are very sorry to see that you’re having some issues with your belt clip/holster for your Defender case. Those can be a bit finicky at times, taking on as much action as they do, but we are more than happy to send in reinforcements as needed! Just give our replacement belt clip-wielding Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll be more than happy to send out a new part under our warranty to get things locked down once again.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

raving reviews but poor results

Date:July 19, 2015
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Got this for my daughter and the screen still cracked. Very dissapointed
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 23, 2015
Hi Unknowning,

We are truly sorry to see that your daughter’s iPhone took a spill and emerged with a cracked screen. Protection is our number one priority, and we put forth every effort to ensure that the OtterBox brand is providing the best defense available. Unfortunately, every situation is unique, and we are unable to guarantee that each incident will result with a favorable outcome. Although our warranty does not extend to your daughter’s mobile device, we would very much like to offer her a new OtterBox product. Please feel free to give our friendly Otters a quick call at your convenience, and we’ll be more than happy to set this up. 1-855-688-7269.

Warmly,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Amazing, but could improve

Date:July 18, 2015
My Otterbox arrived within a week of ordering it. I opened the package to find exactly what I ordered, and there were no scratches or damage. Nothing bad to report, except for it prevents the use of my off button. Other than that, it's an amazing case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Otter Box belt clip

Date:July 17, 2015
Location: Birmingham, AL
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I have used this product and the clip keeps breaking. I am on my third one as it was not manufactured with non breakable products. The plastic clip is a weak point on this product.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 20, 2015
Hi MGBV8,

We apologize for the frustration you’ve been having with the OtterBox Defender belt clip/holsters. Those things can tend to see a lot of action, so to speak, but the main thing is that we really don’t want to make them so strong that our Otter friends and fans could get caught up in any precarious situations. The good news is that we are more than happy to replace any damaged units under our awesome warranty! Just give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll take care of it.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

love it!

Date:July 17, 2015
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
great clip attachment so I can have my phone on the go when Im exercising.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster

Date:July 15, 2015
Location: Indiana
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I really like the protection the Otter Defender provides my phone, but this is the second time the small tab on the holster has broken. I ended up buying two this time in anticipation of another one breaking, leaving me with a one available.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 20, 2015
Hey BJBinIn,

That’s awesome to hear that your OtterBox Defender is keeping your iPhone well protected, but let’s keep your finances safe too! If you find you ever need any other replacement belt clip/holsters, just give our friendly Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll get it taken care of under our Otterrific warranty!

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Otter box Belt Clip

Date:July 14, 2015
i can't say enough about the otter box case, it is fantastic! The belt clip, however, is pathetic. I ran through 4 or 5 clips on my old iPhone 3, and have now broken the clip for my iPhone 5. I have to believe the design is flawed. I am a 66 year old man. I put NO stress on the clip. If you plan to use the clip, DO NOT buy the Otterbox.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 14, 2015
Hi Msudog70,

We hear you loud and clear on the OtterBox Defender – love the case, hate the holster. Completely understand your frustration considering just how many belt clip/holsters you’ve gone through over the years and devices. Those things can definitely be a bit finicky, especially since they see a lot of action, and honestly, we do design them with the intention that the user will be able to break free of any precarious situations. That said, we want you to have the best experience possible with your OtterBox, so please feel free to reach out to our replacement belt clip-wielding Otters at 1-855-688-7269, and we can get you set up with a warranty claim to get you a replacement sent out on the double.

Best,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Reoccuring Problem

Date:July 13, 2015
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Belt Clip for the I-Phone keeps breaking at the clip where it attaches to the phone. Have gone through 4 clips in @ 2 years
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 14, 2015
Hey Blocky,

We’re sorry to see that you’re having a bit of challenging time with the OtterBox Defender belt clip/holsters. They do tend to see a lot of action, so to speak, and honestly, we are very intentional about just how strong we’ll make them because we don’t want any of our Otter friends and fans getting hung up in precarious situations. On the bright side, we know you need to put things on lockdown from time to time, so we are more than happy to set you up with replacements as needed under our warranty. Just give our friendly, replacement belt clip-wielding Otters a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we’ll get it taken care of.

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good iPhone case

Date:July 11, 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Excellent case for protecting iPhone. Only issue I have is the case makes it a little difficult to touch the screen in the correct place along the edges. The cases edges interferes slightly.
Other than this....great case.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

photo problem w/holster

Date:July 10, 2015
Location: Hillsborough,NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
The holster holds well, but the camera is obscured when the holster is used. Once, I found the camera light on when the phone was in the holster. Battery was run down, and I did not know it was on. When I want to take a fast picture, I have to remove the holster and juggle loose parts.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 14, 2015
Hey RevWillie,

This is an interesting dilemma that you’re having here. We completely agree that when you’re going for fast photo action, it’s got to come out of the holster first. That’s just the nature of the beast, so to speak. It’s definitely a good idea to make sure the camera light is off before reinstalling the iPhone into the holster, like you said. That would be a drag to find your battery drained. Thanks for the heads-up!

Cheers,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Defender Series can be a phone saver.

Date:July 9, 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have used the defender series for many years on a number of different phones, and have had a number of close calls with one case dropping my phone form top of a ladder on to a concrete floor with no damage to my phone. Otter Box has always stood behind their products, and when I have had cases of the holster clip breaking they made it easy to do a warranty claim and sent me a replacement. I would highly recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Holster.
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Maybe this one will last

Date:July 9, 2015
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The Defender is the only holster that I have found that holds my iPhone 5 securely; with that being said, there is a serious design flaw in the Defender Series Holster. I have broken at least SEVEN (7), yes SEVEN holsters at the middle clip. When you want to release the phone from the holster, you gently squeeze the middle holder (catch, whatever you want to call it) and the spring loaded movable belt clip. I noticed that one was made in Mexico and another was made in China. In my opinion, neither last very long. Otter Box provided warranty replacement for SIX of the seven. I used a different case for about 4 - 6 months but went back to the Defender Series Holster once again because as I said in the beginning, it is the only one that holds my iPhone 5 securely.
Otter Box needs to redesign the clip and send new cases out to all who have had this problem. Rant over.
Response from OtterBox:By OtterBoxCustomer Service TeamJuly 14, 2015
Hi Streetglider,

Got it. Rant, as you say, heard loud and clear. We certainly do apologize for the frustration at having so many of the OtterBox Defender belt clip/holsters break on you. We do extensive testing on these pieces, but the thing to keep in mind is that we actually design them so they aren’t indestructible. It’s not to aggravate you, and it’s certainly not so we have to send more replacements, we’re just trying to balance strength with safety, as we don’t want anyone getting stuck in dangerous situations by getting hung up with a part that won’t give way. You obviously have used our warranty in the past, and we encourage you to continue to do so. Just give us a call at 1-855-688-7269, and we'll be more than happy to help.

Best,
OtterBox Customer Service Team
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great!

Date:July 8, 2015
Location: Casper Wyoming
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
It's water tight and bounces without damage to the unit ( oops ! ) plus I chose the colors I wanted not what others offered or had in stock it's just great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Defender Series Slip Cover
This review is from Defender Series Shell.
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Defender case

Date:July 8, 2015
Location: Columbia, TN
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Great product. Worth the extra cost versus other cases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 54 next>>