OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case

iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case

Get rugged protection that inspires confidence with the Defender Series iPhone 5/5S case from OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
3.962 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
4
41 out of 53(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case ever!

Date:April 15, 2014
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great cases, I never have to freak out with the thought that my phone is broken if I happen to drop it, it's also great if there are young kids that like to grab your phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, cool colors
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Rough Morning!!!!

Date:April 14, 2014
Location: Tempe, AZ
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I just bought the Iphone 5 less than a week ago, along with it i bought the Otterbox Defender because i have bad luck with phones! I happen to be running late to work on a friday morning, so my boyfriend dropped me off, i was putting my son in his seat and set my phone on top of the car! well i left it there, as we took off onto the main road i heard a loud THUMP! i look in the mirror and see my Brand NEW iphone flying in the air and bounce off the ground! I was on a warning at work so i said leave it and just go, dont have time! so i left my phone in the middle of the road! I thought my phone was done, shattered, ran over, broken beyond repair, well when my boyfriend drove back home he seen my phone in the street, when he went to pick it up, there was not a scratch on it! Thank You Otterbox for making such an indestructible, quality case!!! :)
Pros: High quality, Durable, indestructible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Average case

Date:April 12, 2014
Location: Framingham, MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had this case for only a couple of days and I already need a new holster. I keep it at my 9 O'clock position so it doesn't stick in to my side when seated. I've heard good things about Otter Box and I'd figured I would give one a try but I'm not as pleased with it for the amount that I paid for it.
Cons: Not durable, a lot of plastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

So far so good

Date:April 5, 2014
Location: Denver Metro, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I can see how other reviews have stated that hair/dust can get in under the fingerprint sensor cut out but mine has stayed tight for a few days now with no dust entry. I don't place my phone in a pocket however - I usually use the holster. I wanted to say thanks for making a nice bright orange. It is almost the exact fluorescent construction orange and I think it goes good with the cement gray outer border. So far so good. Orange is a hard color to find. This is a bulky case but it needs to be bulky to provide the drop protection. The only thing that would make the case better is if they figure out a way to cover the touch ID sensor and still make it work. (I did the design your own case so I got custom, unique colors. Thanks Otterbox for letting us design our own case!)
Pros: High quality, Durable, unique color combos, touch id sensor works, fits snugly into holster, design your own color feature
Cons: holster is a separate add on charge, can be too bulky for some, touch id area cut out which can allow dust inside, slow order processing time
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Doesn't give shock protection

Date:April 2, 2014
Location: Colorado
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had an Otterbox Defender case for my iPhone 4S and really liked it, so I ordered one for my iPhone 5S. My initial impression was that it wasn't going to give as much protection, and that impression was confirmed when my iPhone fell three feet from a counter onto a hardwood floor. When I picked it up, I could hear components rattling around inside my phone. If it truly protected against shock, the fall wouldn't have knocked components loose. If this case can't protect my iPhone from shock falling on a hardwood floor, it can't protect against shock if it falls on cement or rocks. The damage caused by a case that was supposed to protect my iPhone cost me money to swap it out that I shouldn't have had to spend. For my replacement iPhone, I bought a Lifeproof nuud.
Pros: not bulky
Cons: doesn't protect against shock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Never buying anything else

Date:March 28, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love, love, LOVE Otterboxes! I have used Otterbox for about 5 years now for every single phone I've ever had and they have all worked wonderfully.
This one is no exception. It is slimmer, which I consider an improvement, but still feels hardy and well protected.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great color choices, great customer service
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great protection, great case

Date:March 28, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Really excellent case, so glad I chose it. My iPhone 5s has survived falling to the street, being half submerged in a puddle, and run over. All in the space of 15 minutes. The case is only superficially damaged, and the phone itself looks almost new (and is still working perfectly). I'd recommend this to anyone who wants a sturdy, good looking case for their phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

This Product Is Extremely Amazing!

Date:March 27, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had this case for about 4 months now and I am one of those people who drop their phones a lot. I accidentally dropped my phone and their was no scratches and damage to my phone except for the plastic screen that the Otterbox case has, but the silicone on the right top corner kind of got torn but I'm happy that my iPhone survived through this case. I highly recommend to buy this kind of case if you drop your phone a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:March 6, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've had this case for about a month and i really do like it. I am one of those people that constantly take their phone out of their case and mess with it or put it in other cases at least once a week.
With this case, however, i always seem to come back to it. I feel like my phone is naked without it and i truly feel like i can take it anywhere without it being damaged; it's an empowering feeling.
Overall quality is great and I would more than recommend this phone to a friend, i would endorse it for everyone. It has up to this point survived a very scary drop while riding with me on my longboard. The phone went flying many feet ahead of me (at least 20), and not a scratch was found on the phone or the case, apart from a very, very minor scuff on the silicone outer shell.
I have yet to encounter any usability issues with the phone apart from the fact that it is bulky. I understand that a lot of people are upset with the fact that it is rather thick, but do not forget that you can return it: All is not lost. In addition, the case does have a bit of an air gap between the screen and the built-in screen protector, but this is to be expected from something that is not glued to your screen.
Bottom Line: It is a great case, but for someone who does not enjoy having a bulky case, do not buy it, there are plenty of other options that Otterbox has to give. If you can look past that, and the screen protector issues, then you will be more than pleased with this case. It is colorful, very easy on the eyes, and very nearly indestructible.
Pros: High quality, Durable, wonderful aesthetics
Cons: slightly bulky, air gap in the screen protector
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Customizable and worth it!

Date:February 16, 2014
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have an iPhone 5s and I got my OtterBox Defender Case in pink and grey. The overall protection is excellent. What I'm disappointed in is how dust would seek under the screen protector.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dust/lint forming under screen protector
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Not if you use a Square Reader

Date:February 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am satisfied with the phone protection and I have noticed the dust getting under the screen protector. I may need to look a little closer before getting another case. The major complaint is with the opening at the headphone jack. Another review referred to a particular headphone. My problem is with a difficulty using my Square Card Reader on this phone. The card reader will not reach the jack and requires removing the case or getting an extension cable. This was not an issue on my iPhone 4 with a defender case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: functionality of headphone jack
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case ever

Date:February 8, 2014
Location: Witchita Kansas
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have owned otterbox before but this is extreme! I saw a video on YouTube and this guy threw his iphone 5s off of a three story parking garage and it lived to tell another day. No cracks scratches or anything. Just a bit of torn off silicone. To see video go on YouTube and look up "Otterbox drop test".
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Dye on my case

Date:January 29, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Ive had this case in pink for about 2 months. Loved it at first until i had to put my phone in my pockets ! worst idea ever! the dye from my work pants and jeans WILL NOT come off. Ive tried everything. and i refuse to have to buy another one. I already paid enough for the case it should not be changing colors already. i still have my iPhone 4 case and it looks brand new and its white! Otterbox please do better !!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable
-17points
4out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Love it but...

Date:January 28, 2014
Location: Warrenton, VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I have always had an OtterBox on my phones and love them. They have protected my phones from many a mishap. BUT the design for the 5s does need some work. I agree with the others who have mentioned the membrane over the fingerprint reader. It's definitely needed! I'm wondering if the material used for the screen protector on the Defender has changed. I've had mine on my 5s since early October and it has so many scratches (some of which are the deep annoying ones that change the screen). I take extremely good care of my devices so it's not something I did. I don't throw it in a bag or pocket. In fact, I don't treat it any different than I did my 5 and that case stayed looking brand new. This one looks terrible. So OB, why am I getting so many scratches now but not before?
That said, I do recommend an OB Defender. Your phone will thank you for it!
Pros: High quality, Durable, awesome protection!
Cons: screen protector scratches too easily now, more color options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

This is a case

Date:January 21, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case. I had heard people talking about how reliable their otter boxes were so I was like "you know what, ima get one"
I got Grey and white defender cause that's where it's at, and I'm glad I did. As soon as you put on that case, you can just feel how safe your phone is, between the memory foam, polycarbonate shell, and silicone outside, this is a Truly impressive case. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Pros: everything
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

PROTECTED!

Date:January 19, 2014
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought my first Otter Box a few weeks ago when I got my new iphone5s. I wanted something super tough. It's a wonderful protector of my investment. I just ordered a new color scheme of the snap-together case and silicone cover. Reviews I have read mention the case getting dirty even though they're 'clean' people. Regardless, the cover will get superficial dirt. Our washed hands have unseen oils. Also, desks at work and purses have unseen dirt particles. I use unscented baby wipes to clean the outer silicone case; without taking everything apart. The Otter is a great protector.
Pros: High quality, Durable, beautiful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Love it but....

Date:January 15, 2014
Location: FL
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I really love this case, but I have a couple issues with it. I have had it for a little over a week and already it is dirty and worn on the edges. My Defender case for my iphone 4 was over two years old and its outer shell still looks brand new & it was a white case. I really wish the outer shell was like the older cases.
I have also had a little bit of dust get under the screen from the opening for the fingerprint technology. I think maybe a little protective film like the Preserver has would benefit this case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: outer shell needs some work
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Disappointed

Date:January 6, 2014
Location: Midwest
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I had an Otterbox defender for my iphone 4S and LOVED it! I got the new iphone 5S and ordered this case. Loved it at first. The first thing I noticed was that when I needed to take it off, the plastic case was very hard to get off. Then I noticed condensation kept forming between the screen cover and the phone, I'm assuming from the opening for the fingerprint sensor. At first I thought it was just one incident, but it happened repeatedly and I was not even near any moisture. I returned it and am awaiting the delivery of my Lifeproof case. I think this case needs a little more tweeking.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: moisture gets under the screen protetor, hard to take apart
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not very impressed

Date:December 30, 2013
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This is not a very good case. I have had this case for a couple of months now and I am not happy with it. The case constantly collects dust underneath the screen protectors and needs to be cleaned frequently. It is not very easy to clean the dust away because you have to take off the entire case. One time when I was taking the case off to clean the dust the rubber part of it ripped! This case also makes you phone very bulky. Overall this case will protect your phone, but its poor design is a major setback. I will be getting a new case, but it wont be an otterbox.
Pros: protects phone
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, bulky
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case. One flaw?

Date:December 26, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love otterbox cases. I love music too. Otterbox needs to make the headphone more universal. I use Beats headphones and I can't put the headphones into my phone because it can't reach the jack. I dislike that and how hard it is to get the case off. Need more access.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>