OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case

iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case

Get rugged protection for your device with the Defender Series iPhone 5/5S case from OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(987 Reviews) 987
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (987 reviews)
5 stars
538
4 stars
199
3 stars
104
2 stars
67
1 star
79
802 out of 987(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing!!!

Date:October 12, 2014
Location: Mckinney, Texas
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I’ve dropped my phone numerous times, and i once dropped it from over 10Ft and my phone landed face down and my phone was perfectly fine.
Pros: High quality
Cons: expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

2 Year Old Case

Date:October 1, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
I'm not one to do reviews but I thought this case deserved one. I bought the defender case approximately 2 years ago and its protected my phone thru many accidental drops and never has my phone been damaged. The only reason I'm writing this review is because of what happened today. I was getting in my car today and put my phone on top of the car while I was putting my debit card in my pocket, got in the car and forgot about the phone until I heard something hit the back of the car while traveling down the street at 50mph. My phone was tumbling down a very busy street with lots of traffic. I stopped at the nearest location and went running back for my phone and saw a car run over it. When I got to the phone and picked it up I thought it would be crushed, the only damage to the phone was a few scratches on the case, took the phone out of the case and it still looks new and still functions like new. This has to be the best case ever made, Thanks Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 11, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Excellent purchase, would recommend to everyone. Product works as advertised.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Yikes

Date:September 7, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
So my phone fell of like a 3 foot tall counter and is absolutely destroyed. I don't think I will ever get this case again because its bulkiness is clearly not worth the little protection it seems to give.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, not protective
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

VERY Happy, yet VERY Sad......

Date:August 22, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This is the first OtterBox case that I have ever purchased. I purchased it in mid-June of this year. I am VERY HAPPY because I feel that my phone is extremely well protected in the case and I particularly like the built in screen protector. Now, the disappointment. I have had this case for just over two months - and it looks absolutely awful. I carry it within it's own little purse in my purse, never in my pocket, and I don't have children. I am VERY easy on my phone. However, the edges of the case (near screen) are crumbling, it looks absolutely filthy, and the bottom seems stretched as it keeps popping out of place. These issues are with the rubber, not the plastic. My husband, who works on a construction site, purchased this case in black at the same time. His looks perfect! The outside rubber portion of my case is purple, so, I can't help but wonder if the low quality of mine is based upon the color alone?
Pros: protects phone very well!
Cons: Low quality, rubber picks up dirt from everything - light usage
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Please bring back the older version!!!

Date:August 21, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I was an owner of both the defender and commuter cases for the iPhone 4S for years and loved those cases. Unfortunately, the new defender case has been a big disappointment. I bought the hot pink color and it looks dirty almost immediately. This new material is not nearly as sturdy and does not stay clean at all. Notably, the 4S case I had a few years ago was a light violet color and it stayed clean and very durable. I am reluctant to by the commuter case as well because of this new material...please bring back the older version!!!
Pros: would stand up to a drop test
Cons: Not durable, gets dirty easily, stains will not come out
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Bad fit

Date:August 15, 2014
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Charging port cover is a bad fit. Cover stay's half open all the time. Very bad fit or mold.Will not seal charging port.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection

Date:September 24, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love the protection with the defender case. However, I do not like that the outer part stretches out all the time. Still too big and bulky.
Pros: Durable
Cons: outside stretches, big bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case, but....

Date:July 21, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had this case on my phone since i bought the phone new around Christmas. I previously had an Iphone 4s which i also had a defender case on. the difference between the two cases are incredible, for example, the quality of the 5s case just seemed to be made better. The rubber outer layer of the 4s case never fit right and tore fairly easily. I haven't had any issues with the 5s case with it ripping or anything besides the belt clip rubbing some of the rubber off. A main disappointment, though, is since this case is for use with the fingerprint lock button, the case allows plenty of dust and whatnot under the screen protector which i have to take apart and clean regularly. The only thing that i genuinely dislike is the belt clip. My first clip lasted till this summer before it broke and i have since broken two other clips. The first two clips broke while getting out of a truck and the third broke simply by trying to get the phone out of it. The defender series case isn't a bad case, it just has its issues. I would still recommend it but not without a warning to be careful with the belt clip.
Pros: good protection, nice appeal
Cons: screen allows dust behind it, belt clip isn't as durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor product

Date:September 2, 2014
Location: Evans wv
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
iPhone 4 case and holster was well made
iPhone 5 holster will not hold up day to day
Survivor case and holster seem to be tougher
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster will not hold up
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Greater than Expected

Date:July 17, 2014
Location: Don Pedro, California
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
My son had recently purchased a new Iphone 5s and was questioning the price of the Otterbox...would it really be worth the money? College kid, no money, etc. You get my point. He did in fact purchase the Otterbox. Shortly after, we bought a boat. On our first launch I asked him to take his Iphone along just in case we needed to call the previous owner or a stall situation, call for help. Well when landing the thing, he jumped out to tie it off and as he jumped out, the phone fell off the clip and the phone landed in approx. 9 feet of murky and very cold water. He thought all was lost and we were all disappointed. He went home and called his buddy to tell him what happened. The friend had goggles etc and he went diving. They found the phone. After over an hour of being in the water, the phone was still on and there was only one single drop of water on the glass of the phone. His phone works just like brand new. I am so thankful that he bought the Otterbox and it saved his very expensive phone.
Now, I am looking into purchasing a Kindle 8.9 HDX and I am very happy that I can buy an Otterbox to protect that investment as well. My only wish is that there was a color variant for the larger Kindle, Maybe pink or pink camo....but I will take black if that is all that is available.
Pros: High quality, Durable, water resistent, all greatness
Cons: price
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:August 18, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
2 Holster in less than 1 year. phone attach clip breaks off
Cons: Not durable, clip breaks off
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Good for about 1 year then Worthless

Date:July 1, 2014
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Works for about a year - then the outside rubber casing gets very loose. I have only opened the casing 3 times in
a year and the rubber casing is very loose. This is the second one I have had. The first one the outside rubber
casing became loose in about 6 months. So it was replaced. This second one became worthless in one year.
For the price I would expect it would last longer. I would not recommend.
Cons: Not durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

LOVE THIS CASE!

Date:June 16, 2014
Location: NY
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is amazing, I got mine in blaze pink and blaze pink. One thing I want to point out, many complain about the screen protector, I simply remove the built in protector and use my own, it does not change the factor of protectivness as i dropped my phone many times and it is still fine. To remove the screen protector simply press a bit of pressure on it, you can remove the glue by lightly rubbing it away with your fingers. Without the screen protector, this case is truly wonderful! I can't get over how awesome it really is. I suggest everyone to have one.
Pros: High quality, Durable, removable screen protector, great customer service
Cons: screen protector
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:June 12, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the best case I have had so far. The only thing missing is an antiglare and fingerprint proof shield. I put my own on top of the shield in the case and it works. Otherwise this is a really great case and belt clip. Love the fact you can make it into a stand and that it will swivel all the way around.
Pros: High quality, Durable, belt swivels all the way around and can be stand
Cons: wish it had antiglare fingerprint proof screen
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Be Careful

Date:July 21, 2014
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The holster does the job but doesn't last long. Have broken three holsters within 3 or 4 months simply from day to day activities.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good case while it kept phone protected

Date:June 3, 2014
Location: Visalia, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
It was a good phone case, kept the phone protected through many drops, until tonight. I missed the counter I tried setting phone on (still not sure how I missed it but oh well.) anyways the phone landed on the back and right side up when I went to picked it up and I noticed the screen was shattered. Really disappointed but it happens to the best quality of case. P.s. My case appears new minus the fading.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Be aware....

Date:June 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
A great feature of iPhone 5s is the fingerprint recognition to bypass password typing. So to allow this feature with the otter box protection, the area around the home button is open. The flaw in this is that small particles of anything can now slowly work their way up the screen. No big deal with a screen protector on the front of the phone in the case...but the back of the otter box front screen is now scratched....making it look dusty and dirty in the case. Take apart to clean works a little but once scratched, doesn't make much sense to have a bulky protection case.
Pros: Durable, major protection from drops
Cons: Low quality, poor design for fingerprint recognition.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Holster

Date:July 10, 2014
Location: Springfield, Va
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This case and Holster was given to me by my son. Parts on the Holster have broken on two occasions inside the past year. The Holster was replaced at our expense thru Amazon in the last case. It is now unusable again. This design is much too fragile for day to day service.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5/5S Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

What a great case!

Date:May 25, 2014
Location: Forsyth, GA.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is the bomb it is very durable and I have no worries about my phone being protected!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 50 next>>