OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPad Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Defender Series case for iPad Air

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Defender Series case for iPad Air

Protect your newest Apple Device with the Defender Series iPad Air and iPad 5 Case from OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.669 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
138 out of 145(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Review 1 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product

Date:February 1, 2014
Location: Irving, tx
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is wonderful for protection as well functionality, however the opening for the headphones is too small for some audio connectors utilized in pro audio please either make an adapter or make the opening bigger. It would also be nice for the camera to be able to see when the stand is in place.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Stylish Protection

Date:January 28, 2014
Location: USA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love this. Fits the new iPad Air perfectly. A great system for anyone who carries their iPad Air with them while out and about.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great case

Date:January 28, 2014
Location: Leoma, TN
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my otterbox. Its protection is the best! The only negative thing i have to say is that i wish there were more colors to choose from
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: lack of different colors to choose from
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Total solution with style! Fits our lifestyle.

Date:January 28, 2014
Location: Idaho
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
We never had an iPad before, so when we got the iPad Air, we didn't base our case needs on past experience. We went out and tried various cases, with and without keyboards. None of them fit our needs just right. So I mentally engineered what we wanted in a case then went about online to find the closest thing. This Otterbox Defender, especially in conjunction with the additional Utility Series Latch II 10 inch accessory case (I now affectionately call it my Latchy-back) is like I personally hired a team of engineers to come up with the most practical solutions to our daily use needs. Here are some features we love as follows: Ultimate protection for accidental drops or outdoor use, travel, shopping. No noticeable disruption to function of the iPad, including the retina display and sound. Best thing - versatility for using on leg/legs or lap or bed or couch with the dynamic tray and stand optional settings (four choices including vertical, more options with the Latchy-back), including how the flat tray rests so well on a lap or couch. User-friendly surface touching hands, not hard plastic but a slight silicone type feel enough to grip, including grippy tabs on the stand bottom, which doubles as a front cover. Latchy-back options to strap it on to a chair, headboard, car seat, heck anywhere even a leg; straps for around the neck or shoulder-bag type hanging, clips for hanging outright on a provided great S double carbiner, and a terrific little grippy-sided clip on repositionable zip baggie that doubles as an easel in either horizontal or vertical configurations, if we don't want to use the hard stand or in addition to it to make more angle options available. There is also the hand handle that is adjustable for holding it one handed like a paddle or glove, totally practical. This combo wins the total design package award in our house. As for adding any extra weight, I just count ourselves lucky that we are only adding to the lightest iPad. It is still light enough to set on my old legs without feeling pressure or annoyance. My DH is a person who drops a lot of things, so we feel protected with the serious case design. I am a visual person who appreciates the color option of Harbor (light teal blue and gunmetal grey). I will be glad to take this out shopping and in the car around town. I recommend this to all ages, but especially want to recommend it to our age group of seniors who just want something very practical and smart. It is one of the few cases that screams quality and not junk, and is as durable as we are.
Pros: High quality, Durable, configurable to many angles and uses, good feel in the hands, latch ii accessory kit enriches options for use, feels good to look at it rewarding design to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Color and protection!!

Date:January 26, 2014
Location: Oregon
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have several otter box covers for cell phones and iPads. This is like them all. This is PINK! Listing said "papaya" but it's a beautiful PINK. Love the new colors!!!!!! Wish not solo expensive though.
Pros: High quality
Cons: too expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

It is purposely tight

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Some reviews criticized the difficulty in the disassembly process. I submit to you these people are uninformed and/or unknowing. The materials are flexible, yet strong! The fit is tight for a reason. Have faith that it will disassemble without breaking. Once reassembled with the iPad inside it is as sturdy as you would expect from an OtterBox.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good protection but......

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Savannah GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Got an IPad Air for Christmas 2013. Got this case a week later. Great for protection...however not dust proof. I have a dog. Therefore there is dog hair in the house no matter how much I clean. After putting on the case and making sure it was clear and clean on the screen, within a week I found 2 separate dog hairs in two different locations between the screen protector and the IPad screen. I've had to take it apart 2x now to clean the inside of the screen protector due to dust and debris. I really wish Lifeproof or Otterbox would make a foolproof cover including waterproof. Other IPad cases are like this.....why not the IPad Air cases?
Pros: Durable
Cons: not rustproof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Air Case

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The over all protection and The Light Teal Blue color is one of my favorites
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I Pad Air Defender Series

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Case is very easy to install, it is built very sturdy. I would recommend to any parent who has kids using I Pads at school. Our daughters use them daily at school, they travel back and forth in backpack, etc. Not a scratch on them with the Otterbox protection. With so many private schools going to the use of I Pads, please make some kid friendly colored cases - need more color choices. Also, would like to see a waterproof case in the near future. Thank you Otterbox for the continued armour for our tech gear...the #1 armour used by our troops in Iraq/Afganistan!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love the fun color! Lightweight & very durable!
I have had no problems taking it off. I trust all my
high tech devices with otter box. Also they truly stand
behind their products...my 7 year old son has inherited
An apple ipad 4 & I have no worries about something happening
to it w the otterbox on it :)
Pros: High quality, Durable, worth the $$
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otter box for all my Apple device

Date:January 25, 2014
Location: Tucson az
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
So I've had an otter box on every apple device I've owned, I had the 4s two piece otter box was great not a scratch on my old phone now I have the 5s two piece otter box better than old one rubber is more firm than old 4s case but the charge and head phone jack could use slightly better protection... As for IPAD AIR three piece it is perfect just like the IPAD MINI three piece just need to invest in a better screen protecter than the one that comes with the otter box just like the mini maybe the zag they have a good replacement warenty if it starts to life or bubble
So all and all otter box is a great cover nothing comes close well maybe griffin but I trust otter box with my apple devices you can do what you want
Pros: High quality, Durable, good colors, protection without bulk, just the right thickness, alright price you paying for quality, like how stand plat covers screen when not in use
Cons: stand not balance, hard plastic screen protecter face plate nogood, gently pull off hard plastic screen on face plate, needs better touch screen protecter i like zagg
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A CONCRETE DROP FROM 3'

Date:January 24, 2014
Location: Melbourne, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Yes, you read that correctly! I dropped my iPad from 3' onto a concrete carport. Well I didn't actually drop it, so much as it went flying! I am a disabled woman who has to use an electric scooter. After attending a meeting I put my iPad, in it's Otterbox on the top of the basket attached to my electric scooter. Apparently I took the turn into my carport too sharply & my iPad went flying out of the basket & landed solidly on the concrete. My stomach lurched, I just knew it was the end for the iPad. Imagine my delight & surprise when I discovered the only damage done was one of the corner huggers of the top of the Otterbox broke off!!! iPad is fine. I take my iPad, my iPad Air, my phone & my Kindle Fire HDX everywhere with me, each is safe in an Otterbox!!! While I waited for the Otterbox for the new iPad Air to be released in colors, I only used it in my home and kept it in the box it came in! LOL! Now I throw my phone & one of my other tablets in my purse whenever I leave my home! I LOVE OTTERBOX!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Perfect cover for Ipad Air!

Date:January 23, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Everything that I expect this product to offer and more.
Pros: High quality
Cons: little heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otter box iPad air

Date:January 23, 2014
Location: Jacksonville FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Second otter box for an iPad. Love them both. Both of our iPhones are in defender cases. All items look brand new. Keep up the good work otter box. .... !
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otter box for ipad air and iPhone 5

Date:January 23, 2014
Location: Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I have had a otter box for my iPhone for a couple years now, that it bought from Walmart. I love it.
I just got the ipad air for Christmas and I got the survivor to protect it.however it was a pain. If I got something under the protector I had to take it all apart and put back together. After several time I decided I cut the plastic out of the cover and used a regular protector cover then put it back together. I had the thing for two weeks and the sides stretched out and the button stuck out and in the way. I ordered a otter box for my ipad air and it is great just like the one for my iphone5 . It fits tights. The button is flush to the box. It is very very well made and I would not use any other thing for my devices. The otter box is wonderful and worth every penny! Excellent product ! Can't say enough good things about it!
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent
Cons: no cons on this product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product! Great Protection!

Date:January 23, 2014
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
As always Otterbox has done it again. Another great product. Only somewhat downside is the weight of the case. But to have the great protection it comes with that.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love this case

Date:January 23, 2014
Location: Reading, PA
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is perfect for my iPad Air! The case is very steady and fits the iPad so well. The only complaint I have is with the port covers. They can be tricky to put on perfectly, when closeting them you must definitely check to make sure they are on right.
Over all this case is well worth the money you put out for it and looks as though it is made to last a very long time.
Pros: protective, made well
Cons: port cover are hard to close
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Definitely protects

Date:January 23, 2014
Location: Houston
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This I-Pad Air performs exactly as advertised from a protection standpoint. Downside is that it is so heavy you lose the benefit of having a light-weight device. Also the stand that comes with it only works horizontally unless there's something about it I don't understand.
Pros: Durable
Cons: heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great for phone ok for pad

Date:January 23, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This product works. The only problem is that it makes the iPad very heavy! There is no way to stand it up vertically only horizontal . Good product if you know you need protection.
Pros: Durable
Cons: heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Defender Series case for iPad Air
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

In LOVE

Date:January 22, 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Absolutely love my IPad Air Case. Lots of complements and very secure when I travel. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks amazing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>