OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 5 Armor Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 5 Armor Series Case

With waterproof, drop proof, dust proof and crush proof features, the Armor Series is The Toughest iPhone 5 Case Ever Built.
Average Customer Rating:
3.94 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(352 Reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (352 reviews)
5 stars
167
4 stars
89
3 stars
39
2 stars
22
1 star
35
260 out of 352(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Horrible Quality

Date:August 13, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I had this case for a few months, and I decided to check if it was still waterproof. The case filled up in my sink a few inches under water. Case build quality is horrible. The two half's never quite lined up correctly. I would re consider purchasing this case.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, not waterproof
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Central America

Date:July 21, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased this case for my trip to central america and I have to admit it is a bulky case. Even with that said it worked great. I used it at the beach, the pool, zip lining...every where. It kept sand and water at bay. The only thing i would incorporate into this case would be a hole for a heavy duty lanyard. The small one they give seems to light weight for me.
Pros: High quality, Durable, water proof
Cons: needs heavy duty lanyard for activities, bulky
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

WORTH EVERY CENT!!

Date:July 15, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
PLEASE if your looking at this case to purchase, I recommend you do. AVOID all the negative reviews on here. This provides EXCELLENT condition, protection and it has a SLEEK design. Otterbox has won my vote a thousand times and back. Finally I was looking for a case to be waterproof, but there are cases that say they are but truly aren't. Otterbox is one of those cases that PROTECTS YOUR IPHONE at all costs!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, protection, waterproof, strong, accident proof, rain proof, anything all above
Cons: the only... thing that i hate is the wrist strap, wrist strap being wayyy too thin
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Bad design

Date:July 28, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case is durable and does what it says, but if you try to use anything other than a factory charging cable it will not fit in the charger port. The port is so small to help prevent water from getting in that most aftermarket car chargers will not fit this case. if you want to be portable make sure you use the factory charger.
Pros: Durable
Cons: charging port too small
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Can't hear!

Date:October 6, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I normally never leave reviews but after my third otter box case the newest being this armor series I was shocked that otter box would make a case that would not allow you to hear people on. It's understood that this is a tough case buts what's the point of protection if you have to take the case off to use your phone as a phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not functional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

The Armor Series

Date:September 5, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have just requested my 5th replacement from OtterBox since it's release back in February. The first case had the rubber separate from the hardcase near the upper clip. The second case produced muffled/distorted sound on the talk port. The third and fourth cases had issues with design/alignment, rendering the proximity sensor inoperable on the iPhone 5. This could be a GREAT case if they get these issues resolved.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, design flaws, bulky/heavy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good but not great!

Date:June 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I bought this case when it first came out and I thought it would be great for all the outdoor activities that I do. Which so far it has been great with protecting it from the dust, rain, being dropped, and stepped on. I haven't really tested it in the water, not that I want to with the phone in it. I just wanted that incase it fell in water by accident. But now I am regretting returning it only because my biggest problem with it, is I can't hear people and they have a hard time hearing me. It's become very annoying always having to ask what did you say, can you repeat that. So if you want a case for pretection then, this is the case for you. But if you want to be able to hear people when you talk to them. Then I would reccommend going with the defender series. I had the defender series for 2&1/2 yrs on my iphone 4 and never had a problem. So I am getting the defender series again.
Pros: Durable
Cons: can't hear
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

love this case

Date:September 26, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Product is just what I need to keep my IPhone 5 safe. Very very pleased with this purchase! It arrived it a timely manner and was packaged well. I used it on a fishing trip and I was able to take This phone on the boat with no worry! and i ha decided to leave this case on all the time! Thank you!I love the peace of mind this case gives me, and looks cool.EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE TOO; That kind of service is why I will continue to do business with OTTERBOX I love my otter box armor
Pros: High quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

iPhone Saver

Date:September 26, 2013
Location: New Baden, IL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought this case for my iPhone 5 because my previous phone was an indestructible Nextel brick of a phone. I wanted to continue having a phone that could take anything I threw at it but knew that most smartphones wouldn't last a day. The only reason I went with the iPhone was because I knew that I could buy the Armor case for it and continue having an indestructible phone. After using it for 6 months I can say that it surpassed all preconceptions and has made my iPhone 10x stronger than any of my Nextels ever were. It repeatedly gets dropped on concrete, off roofs, in water, used in the rain, and cleaned via pressure washer. The case has never let me down and has given me a phone that I can depend on in ANY environment day in and day out. Thanks OtterBox!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, indestructible
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

WOW

Date:September 24, 2013
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
ok well I am beyond impressed. I live a very active lifestyle and I go through phones as much as the average guy goes through socks. I have literally gone through 12 phones in 2 weeks prior to this case. THANK GOD FOR INSURANCE. haha. on a serious note with this case I have dropped it, swamped it, and bumped it. not a single scratch. kudos otterbox
Pros: High quality, Durable, sleek, every design/color youd want, truly waterproof, oil resistant screen protector
Cons: pricey yet worth it
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Otter Box: The Dichotomy

Date:September 22, 2013
Location: Glen Allen Va.
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
My husband purchased the Armor Series case for me because I fell on my cell phone in the street and totaled my iPhone5 that was in a commuter series case. Yes, I had to buy a new phone. I felt that case would be all the protection I'd need given we had Otter Box Defender Series cases for our 3GS phones for over three years with outstanding protection.
That little episode showed me I needed the best out there. I heard of Lifeproof, but KNEW Otter Box so the decision was hands down.
To start, I was less than satisfied with how long it took to get my new case. It was shipped by Fed Ex, but was delivered by USPS which tends to be slower. It took about 8 days to get the case. I was afraid to use my new (replaced) phone without protection so the wait was brutal.
Upon receiving it, I tested it, (in water), for 30 mins as suggested by the instructions and it failed, but not by much. I retested for about 15 to 20 mins and it passed with flying colors!
Opening the case takes the muscles of Mr Olympus, but I did manage to get it open several times for the tests and final application. Accessing the Ports for the headphones and charger is always a challenge. OUCH! Talk about tight fitting pugs. I find that I need to press, instead of touch, my icons. This is true of the buttons also. The glass protection is wonderfully clear and so is the camera. The case is heavy, of course, and a bit bulky which is why I attempted the commuter series in the first place. There is no belt clip which I'm ok with. I like the wrist strap, but don't try to carry it that way. Very uncomfy. Holding it with the strap on is recommended for peace of mind.
The design is sturdy but I have noticed a small area near the clamps/latches where the rubber seems to have loose skin. I expect that area to peel as the commuter case did which took away from the look. I had hoped the blue color that showed so nicely in the pics online would be visible on the back, but it is on the inside of the case that no-one will see once the phone is in place. Bummer. I would like to see my Apple logo on the back also. That is not happening with this case. Finally, the thing is big and bulky enough to cause me to feel that I'd like to have a stand of some sort. My wrists are getting a workout here.
Overall...I like the case. I admit that if I found something that was sexy to look at, lighter to hold and had the protection I feel I have with this Otter Box iPhone 5 Armor Series Case, I'd might abandon ship and run for it. But for now, I'm an Otter Box fan.
Pros: Durable, a quality product, peace of mind
Cons: heavy, less "touch" sensitivity
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

**UPDATE**

Date:September 9, 2013
Location: Canandaiuga NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I spoke to a chat person the day I submitted my last review. So I just have to tell you the latest! I am a real customer and the new updated case fixed everything! I will be recommending all of my friends for this case. it works perfect! Thanks Otter!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Not so great

Date:July 31, 2013
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought the armor case for the iPhone 5 it is really nice but when I put it in the water for some reason water gets in, and I don't know why I checked all of the seals but water still gets in but doesn't damage the phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not fully water proof
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Lifeproof KILLER!

Date:June 28, 2013
Location: Nor Cal
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I must say, Otterbox never fails to impress me. I have used their products (Defender series) with every cell phone that I have owned (if the case was made for the model) and I have never been disappointed; after using this case for my iPhone 5, the feelings remain unchanged. Amazing. I have a coworker that purchased a Lifeproof case and it was the most over-priced, flimsy piece of plastic I have ever seen. Waterproof and dust proof? Maybe. Crush and fall resistant? Definitely not. He returned it immediately and went with the Otterbox Armor. The Armor is built very well. It is clear that a great amount of attention was paid to every detail of this product and I firmly believe that the bar for the level of protection has been set insurmountably high now. The interior provides ample padding for drop protection and the case is so rigid that a D9 dozer could run over the thing without worry. I dropped my phone in a stream while hiking Mount Whitney and the rubber gaskets did their job; no sign of water any where. My ONLY COMPLAINT is the sound quality for those that call me. When holding your phone to the ear to speak, people on the other end will have difficultly hearing me; it sounds as though I am speaking into a tin can. However, when talking on speaker phone with the phone away from my head, the sound quality is fine and I have had no complaints. I think that when the phone is held too close to the source of sound (typically the mouth) the waterproof membrane that protects the microphone must buzz or distort the sound in some fashion. When held a reasonable distance away from the mouth, everything is fine. Other than that, this thing is flawless. PLUS, you can open and close the case easily and quickly without worry of compromising the 'protective integrity' of the case.
Pros: High quality, Durable, superior protection
Cons: sound quality slightly impacted
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

A bit disappointed :(

Date:April 23, 2014
Location: Richmmond VA
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I just recently purchased an iPhone 5S and wanted the most protection I could get. Otterbox had that covered, after much research otterbox blew lifeproof out the water!
The case is a bit bulky, but understandable for the amount of protection it provides.
The only real issue I encountered was the charging hole. I bought a few extra iPhone 5 charging cords, 10 foot long from a different company. The charging hole on the otterbox will only fit the original charging cable. I had to cut the 3 extra 10ft cords I bought to have them fit with the case on.
Pros: Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Well Made

Date:April 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this otterbox for my daughter and it's great protection but if you want to talk on your phone, it's very hard to hear the person on the other end. Thinking about sending it back.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: can't hear when talking on phone
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

It's okay...

Date:March 12, 2014
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I water tested this case before using it. The water testing went fine. Then I took the case to the pool. My phone was okay, and did not get soaked, but moisture and water droplets got inside of the case. Before getting into the pool, I made sure all the pieces that open were securely closed and water still got in. I'm not sure why this is. It is a good case for protection from dropping, etc., but it is not fully waterproof like it claims. The first Armor case I bought was the one with bright green and it had the same problem so I know now (now that I bought and had the same issue with the orange one) that it is not just the one case.
Pros: good for protectice from drops etc.
Cons: not waterproof
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

not waterproof

Date:December 26, 2013
Location: Chesterton, IN
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
tested in water with Kleenex inside not my phone and after being in water for about 1-2 min. Kleenex was wet on bottom, near bottom of case.
Cons: Low quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Bulky, but BEST protection

Date:December 6, 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I don't normally write product reviews. But i'm very satisfied with both the product and the customer support from Otter, that I couldn't refuse to write a quick review. The first thing I tried on my case was the water leaking test. I placed my case in a tub of water (without my phone of course), along with a piece of paper inside of it. After a few attempts, the paper inside was wet. I looked thoroughly at all the cracks and O-rings. There was a single spot that looked worned out. After contacting Otter support, and specifying the issue along with pictures of the suggested issue. They shipped out a brand new case instantly. I got the new one and had zero leaks. The protection is amazing, i've dropped my phone plenty of times on various surfaces without a scratch on the case as well. The only downside of this amazing case, is the bulkiness. Although friends and family make fun of it, I still suggest this case for the ultimate protection.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 5 Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Case needs inprovement

Date:November 25, 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Major problem with this case I had was everyone would say they can hardly hear me or were constantly saying HUH.... Got extremely frustrating, so stopped using case and have no problems.
Pros: Durable
Cons: hard to hear
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>