OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case

The Armor Series iPhone 4/4S waterproof case can handle 30 minutes in 6.6 ft of water, 10 ft drop, allow zero entry of dust and sustain 2 tons of crushing force. It’s the toughest case ever built.
Average Customer Rating:
3.567 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(277 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (277 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
70
3 stars
37
2 stars
35
1 star
37
170 out of 277(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

TRY AGAIN OTTERBOX!!

Date:July 11, 2013
Location: Faith, SD
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Ok, so i can drop my phone and its ok! I can even drop it in water... awesome !! or if i wanted to i could even drive over it with my car .. that's just incredible right?!
well beings it is a phone case after all, it sure would be nice if being able to HEAR OR BE HEARD were part of the design of this case.
The sound quality of this case is beyond terrible. Without the doc flap open you have no sound. after one test call and being told from the person on the other end what what i cant hear you, the jury was in on this case for me!
I think its time to go back to the drawing board with this one . im sending mine back. after all whats the point if you cant use your phone !! Im really disappointed as it really is a nice looking/ feeling case. I had high expectations from otterbox as i have had many of there products..
Pros: High quality, Durable, has a nice feel, very sturdy, looks nice
Cons: poor sound, no sound, cant be heard
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:March 7, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Good tough case, passed water test. Speakers are dramatically reduced in sound. When on the phone can barely hear the other person. When in my pocket cant hear it ringing with the volume turned all the way up.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: speaker quality decreased
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Some recommendations

Date:April 25, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Pros: Love the fact that it is watertight and cushioned for drops. The case fits nicely and does not stick to your pockets like the defender rubber cover.
Cons: The sound quality is terrible. I have to open the bottom flap to hear anything and for anyone to hear me on the phone. This is making the water sealing flap on the bottom weak and will reduce the watertight seal over time. I also have big issues with the proximity sensor. I absolutely cannot use the phone without my face hitting mute, hold, speaker, or facetime buttons. It completely interrupts all of my phone calls and I have to switch to speaker to be able to complete any conversation. I am contemplating changing back to a defender just for that one reason. Also, a holster would be nice.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

THE NEW ARMOR CASES

Date:February 23, 2013
Location: babylon
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
i think they should get better colors, like pink ,greay, puple,blue, baby blue but,the case is wonderful . it protects your phone but the color of the case isnt pretty to carry around . the case will help you have your phone for a longer period of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

good but needs improvement

Date:July 15, 2013
Location: BC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Really like that I can remove my phone from the case easily much better than the life proof case. However the hinge pin just fell out now I can seal the case. Rubber finish around hinge is coming off. Case is good but improvements are needed.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

the armor

Date:September 27, 2013
Location: pa
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
the case is extremely durable,but the soft coating on the outside wears off.its really hard to hear the phone ringing or the person you are talking to.i feel for the price of this it should be better designed instead of makeing it difficult to hear. other then that i think it is a good protector for the phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Small issues

Date:July 28, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Well, I just bought the Armor for my 4S, and I do like the overall design. There's only 2 recommendations I would make:
1. Instead of a clear gloss screen protector, use a no-glare screen protector. I notice a big difference between the two after I've used a no-glare screen protector. Also, maybe try to make it a bit more flush against the phone.
2. Maybe it's just me, but I am unable to turn the volume off with the use of the vibrate switch. I just took a moment to open the case and see what the problem is, and the outside switch doesn't even touch the vibrate switch.
Volume isn't quite as loud, but I work out in the field with a lot of varying conditions, and I bought this case for its ability to protect the phone, so I'm not complaining too much. Just hope they can make the adjustments for the phone that'll come after the 5.
Pros: Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection poor transmission of conversation

Date:March 17, 2014
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great protection but a bit heavy but my biggest problem is that with the power plug in the unit has problem with people on the phone hearing me during a call. Outside of thebox no problem.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor voice transmission
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazed! Highly recommend!

Date:March 15, 2014
Location: South Caroline
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case after my boyfriends recommendation. I am beyond pleased with the case, ordering a replacement after this review!
I forgot my phone on top of my car one day; I left my house, got on a very busy roadway, my phone fell off the top of my car doing 60mph, hit the road and laid there for an hour and a half getting ran over by lunch hour traffic before I realized I had lost it.
I tracked my phone down to a couple that had picked it up from the middle of the road. Surprisingly, my phone did not have one scratch, dent, crack or anything; it was in perfect condition and is still working. The case however, was split into 3 different pieces.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case But...

Date:December 24, 2013
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love this case it does what it is supposed to do but it gets really beat up cosmetically by just carrying it around in your pocket and the rubber starts to peel and tear so I think that is something that could be improved on other wise great job.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: weak rubber
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Protects so well you can't use it

Date:October 11, 2013
Location: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case is quite bulky and provides good protection. Protects so well that you have to block the slightest breeze and speak loudly so your voice reaches the microphone through the case. I should have stayed with the Defender series case
Pros: Durable
Cons: difficult to be heard
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bulky

Date:October 10, 2013
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I love the product for safety but Otter Box is too bulky and heavy to carry around in my front pocket.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky and heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

"What did you say???"

Date:August 20, 2013
Location: Anchorage, AK
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love Otter Boxes! But the big problem that I find with this one is that people cant hear me well when I call, my voice is muffled and most of the time people tell me they CAN'T HEAR ME and ask me to repeat things all the time! I mean the point of a phone is to call someone but its useless when they cant hear you! I do like that I can charge my phone an use my headphones easily.
Pros: Durable, easy to acces to charge and headphone jack
Cons: cant be heard by people on oter end of phone call
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Armor for iPhone

Date:July 24, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I work in a very dusty environment were protection is a must for your phone. I was using the defender but decided to go for the armor series. Glad I did it does what it's meant to do. I see reviews with complaints about not being able to hear music and hard to hear the phone ring. You must sacrifice some thing to get this type of protection. It's dust,water proof so it must be sealed. If you don't work or do things where you need this type of protection then you may want to go with the defender.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Alright case

Date:July 20, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case is very strong and waterproof. But after a month the rubber started to peel off and the back scratches easily.
Pros: Durable, smells nice
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

excellent

Date:April 6, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This product is everything that was advertised . I have already accidentally dropped my phone a few times and with no damage. very impressed.
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:April 5, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The box is great. Believe me it works I have had other cases and the phones would crack screen. It is worth the investment!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.

Date:April 3, 2014
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
OtterBox has done just that, improvise-adapt-overcome, with the Armor series protective case. I've carried the Defender series model for years and like them, but this is THE BEST case ever. When I received the product, I performed a water test with a paper inside the case (1 foot water for 90 minutes - 60 minutes longer than specified) and had a couple of drops of water on the paper. Had this been my phone, it would have survived the hour and half submersion and lived to ring another day. I've received many comments and inquiries about the Armor series case.
Pros: High quality, Durable, cool, ease of access
Cons: limited color options
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome

Date:April 2, 2014
Location: Detroit, Mi
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
My phone case is reliable, a piece of mind and the customer service at otterbox is second to none. Love it
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 4/4S Armor Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox hit the Bullseye!!

Date:April 1, 2014
Location: Ruther Glen, Virginia
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased the latest Otterbox Armor for my iPhone 4S and it is without a doubt the absolute best protection I have ever had for any of my phones, past or present! I have dropped my phone so many times it isn't funny and I have dropped it in the toilet and in several puddles with zero issues with phone! It is simply stated, an incredible design and Otterbox is to be lauded for this phenomenal design for protecting my phone, some have said it looks huge and bulky but I put it up against their slim and pretty phone holder the they cannot hold a candle to the Otterbox Armor! I am beyond pleased, perhaps even ecstatic over this phone holder, everyone should have it as a mandatory choice if they want their phone to be almost indestructible!
Pros: High quality, Durable, watertight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>