OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case

This case ONLY fits the International Samsung I9100 Galaxy S II Your new Galaxy S2 is beautiful, vivid, fast and thin. You want to keep it that way, right? That's why OtterBox designed the Commuter Series for Samsung Galaxy S2 (International ONLY) . This sleek case was made for those of you who want OtterBox protection without the excess bulk. The Commuter Series has it all: A slim form factor, touch screen protection, a silicone mid-layer with plugs for your ports and a tough, smooth outer shell. The perfect case design to compliment your new, ultra-thin phone.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
25 out of 30(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:January 11, 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
great quality i love my otterbox just wish i could get other colors
Pros: Durable
Cons: only in black
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A well made case

Date:August 15, 2011
Location: Israel
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Commuter for the S II feels very durable and it protects the phone properly, it takes some time to put it on properly but once it's on it feels great.
The back plastic has matte edges for good grip and a smooth part so it's easy to take it out of your pocket.
The only con is that the front silicon is slightly loose and that it attracts dust to that area.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: silicon is slightly loose and attracts dust
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent Case

Date:August 8, 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The otterbox is by far an amazing case and worth every penny. My only complaint is the screen protector, Otterbox should have something similar to a wet application type plastic. Otherwise you will always be stuck with miniature specs of dirt causing bubbles, whereas a wet applicating screen protector you don't and I'm willing to pay the extra money to get such a feature. This is my only reason for 4 stars. Otherwise its the best investment you can buy for your phone. Highly recommended.
Pros: High quality, Durable, resiliant
Cons: screen protector is low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Definitely a worthy addition

Date:October 20, 2011
Location: KL, Malaysia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I'm a huge fan of Otterbox cases, I have it on most of my devices and this is the latest addition. I usually go for the Defender cases for the additional protection, but of course there isn't a Defender case for the S2, so this is my first time I am using a Commuter case. I have to say I am very impressed with the quality, fit and finish. It really is superb. Installation was a breeze. I am accustomed to the added bulk for most cases but this one makes the S2 surprisingly easier and more comfortable to hold. Personally, I feel it looks and feels better because the S2 does feel quite light, and the back cover does feel a little 'cheap' because of the plastics. This is the definite solution for that. Highly recommended!
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks really good
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Samsung S2 Commuter Case

Date:September 21, 2011
Location: Perth Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
First things first. The lack of shipping options on this site is frustrating. Most people aren't going to order there case a week before there phone..
As for the actual product itself it appears to be very well made, definitely offers a very high level of protection. I feel i could drop this thing into anything but water and have it bounce back just fine.
Appearance wise it's good looking but is definitely not as 'slim' as i thought the commuter case would be. If your getting really used to the slimness of your S2 prepare to say goodbye to that.
The only genuine downside to this product is the screen cover. It's impossible to install. You will end up with 10 thousand little bubbles that simply can't be pressed out with the tiny card they give you. After trying to re install it ten times you will find dirt and dust have covered the underside of the cover. Ruining it completely. You should offer something much better than this with your product!
All in all a very nice case, would recommend but make sure you buy a better quality screen cover from somewhere else..
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive, great customer service, fast shipment times
Cons: screen cover is impossible to install, not as 'slim' as you might think., lack of shipping options is annoying
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

sgs2 case

Date:August 22, 2011
Location: Bogota
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
It fits perfect. Good shape. Feels smooth. Incredibly good!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just like new forever.

Date:August 8, 2011
Location: Philippines
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've handled my Galaxy S II like glass since the first day I got it. Now, I am assured that whatever I do or how I ever handle my phone, it will look like it's just been opened from the box.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fantastic case

Date:August 22, 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I’ve had this case on my SGSII since new, I’m a very clumsy person and I drop my phone multiple times in one day, it gets thrown across the room to friends, given to children to play games on who drop it, bang it on the bench/ground.
In short the phone takes a pounding! It’s been out of the case twice since new (near 12 months ago) and if I was to take it out again now it would still look brand new inside (aside some dust in the speaker's)
I recommend this case to anyone who is hard to their phone and likes to punish there technology, I depend on my phone for work and for play and without this case my phone would be a write off.
This is my 3rd Otterbox across 3 separate phones and certainly won't be my last.
Pros: High quality, Durable, comfortable, stylish, rugged
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great protective case

Date:July 22, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am a very clumsy person. My previous phone was dropped from my third floor appartment window on the pavement.
When I bought my samsung galaxy S2, I wanted the best case possible to protect it. I thought this case looked like what I need and I am not disapointed. I droped my phone many times and there is not even a scratch on it.
The fact that the silicon case comes out of the hard case and warp around the screen a little bit protect the screen.
My only critic is about the screen protector that came with it. I watched the video and followed the instruction carefully but something went wrong and the protector didn't stick to the screen.
The design of the case is not the best but it doesn't make the phone much bigger.
Pros: High quality, Durable, very protective
Cons: the screen protector that cam with it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice Case

Date:November 13, 2011
Location: Sherwood Park,
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got my new galaxy s II. It is my third phone. It also has led me to purchase my third commuter case. Like the commuter for my old phomes, this one fits properly and does not add any real size to this phone. I would not take off my phones protective wrapping until I received my new otterbox! I highly recommend this case to anyone looking to protect their phone. My only complaint is the lack of colors to customize the look of my phone
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case - better than any competitor currently!

Date:August 24, 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
A very sleek case that lifts the phone off of the table at a considerable height. It does so to allow the camera from not getting scraped when placed face up.
The thinness of the case is amazing - it allows the phone to retain the original sleek and slim design, while still allow the user full access to functionality of the phone.
The screen protector was a two person job to apply - unlike traditional screen protectors, Otterbox's screen protector is a little different. The screen part only goes as far as the top speaker - the silicone casing allows a hole for it to stick out.
Overall, an amazing case. Expensive shipping, difficult to install (and put back together when changing batteries, etc), but I believe it was definitely worth getting. I would have likely had to wait until October to get this case in Canada.
I paid the premium for shipping and received it the next morning. Impressive shipping times and response times from Otter.
Thanks again! :)
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: screen protector takes two people to apply, not easy to install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

galaxy s 2

Date:August 14, 2011
Exelent cases for samsung galaxy s 2 otterbox is perfect
Pros: High quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent!

Date:August 12, 2011
Location: Belgium
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is fantastic. I ordered it as soon as I got the chance. Installation is very easy. I got the screenprotector on at the first try, without any bubbles. The back also fits like a glove. Buttons still respond well though you have to use a little more force to activate them. Screen also responds perfectly to touch input. The protector has no influence on it. The phone also feels more 'rugged' now. It's actually easier to hold it now.
For international customers: shipping to Belgium took 4 days from pickup at Otterbox to delivery, including a weekend.
Pros: High quality, Durable, perfect fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wish this case came out earlier

Date:August 11, 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case, sleek design and great protection. As title says I wish I could buy it earlier since my phone felt out from pocket couple times and now the chrome edge around is chipped. After replacement of the edge this case WILL protect the new part. Already test on cement and nothing happened. Thanks a buck guys for such a great cover.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case - Bad screen protector

Date:October 4, 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Case is awesome. Rugged and has more grip now. Fits like a glove but I have one complaint.
The screen protector that came with the phone is garbage. I much prefer wet application screens. I was very very careful. Washed hands, cleaned phone and set up on a clean table. Pealed off the back of the protector to stick it on and carefully did not touch anything. Put the protector on and I had 3 tiny peices of dust/lint that somehow got sucked onto the sticky part of he screen protector. I could not get them out. I pulled off the protector and carefully tried to remove the tiny lint pieces. Not happening... just got more.
End result, screen protector is in garbage and a wet application screen in ordered.
Still a great case though!
Pros: High quality, Durable, nice fit
Cons: screen protector
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

'Mostly' Fits AT&T Variant

Date:October 4, 2011
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First off the product is excellent. Great protection without being as bulky as the Defender series. Some might be wondering if this will fit the AT&T variant that just launched in the US. The case itself fits perfectly. The only thing that isn't a perfect match is the screen protector. It actually will fit and won't hurt the function of the device, but the cutouts at the bottom do not match as the AT&T version doesnt need the center button hole. It is still worth getting. Great case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: screen protector not a perfect match for at&t s2
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing Case

Date:November 21, 2011
Location: Argentina
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design, fit and build quality are incredible. Otter should provide a better film for the screen.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: screen film is really bad
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

not for us phones

Date:September 29, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
does not fit with u.s. versions of galaxy s2, epic touch ect.
they need to modify for these versions as it is useless on anything that sells here in the states
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: does not fit on us phones
0points
14out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

DOESN'T FIT Samsung Galaxy S II (T-Mobile)

Date:January 24, 2013
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this phone case, 2 day shipping, got it quick. I was excited because I had just gotten a new Samsung Galaxy S II - White (US) replacement phone from T-Mobile and I didn't want to use it until I got a durable case. This case was nice, but when I tried to put it into the rubber case, it did not fit and the buttons would not line up. I don't understand how a case FOR a Samsung Galaxy S2 would not fit. Thanks for trying guys, but I'm going to return it.
Pros: Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case I've ever owned

Date:September 16, 2011
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Wow, I bought this case on the reviews of others. At first I thought I was going to have trouble installing it.
It took me less than 30 seconds to get the screen protector and case together. Wow!!! I've never had a screen protector on so fast!!
The screen protector looks good, it actually masks the smaller scratches I had in my screen from my keys.
The case is also excellent, I've thrown it around the room a bit to check it out and the phone hasn't broken.
I'll definitely be buying one for my next phone and possibly my other i9000 Galaxy in future
Ordered it on Monday night(NZ Time) and it arrived Friday afternoon. Not too bad for Fedex :)
Pros: High quality, Durable, screen protector easy to install, case very easy to install and remove
Cons: none
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>