OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.418 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(495 Reviews) 495
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (495 reviews)
5 stars
327
4 stars
109
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
19
440 out of 495(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great warrentee policy!

Date:August 7, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After a year of having the case the head phone jack "tab" came off. I use the jack very often and was disappointed when it slowly was pulling off. But OtterBox's warrantee came to the rescue. It was a fast and painless submission and quick delivery (and I didn't even have to go looking for the receipt!!). I highly recommend OtterBox to everyone! They stand by their product and their warrentee policy is proof of that.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nothing else will do!

Date:August 7, 2014
Location: Rochester
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have used Otterbox for a long time - tablets, phones, and yes back in the day ciggies. They're the best protection and worth the cost.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylo
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case, except for power & volume buttons

Date:August 6, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall this is a good case, but the power and volume buttons are hard to press.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: power and volume buttons are hard to press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:August 5, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The Otterbox case is a good protection for my phone. However, it makes it harder to push the controls, so I have to push them several times before the phone responds. That is my only criticism. Overall, a good product and I would recommend it.
Pros: Durable
Cons: restricts controls
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

One flaw runis it!

Date:August 4, 2014
Location: Illinois
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The on/off button is ridiculously hard to press. In order to grip the phone adequately to press in on the right side, very often the volume button on the symetrical left side gets inadvertently pressed also, turning the volume so low it can't be heard.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great cover

Date:August 2, 2014
Location: Lapeer, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love otterbox phone covers. I work in an industrial area and the covers protect my phone. I had to learn the hard way about not using a cover for my phone. Needless to say I will never make that mistake again.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great protection for my phone
Cons: tend to be plain would like to see more designs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Cracked

Date:July 31, 2014
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
I dropped my phone, with the otter on it......the screen cracked. The otter didn't, but my screen did. Very disappointed.
Cons: didn't prevent phone from breaking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Quality and Price

Date:July 31, 2014
Location: Louisiana
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The hard plastic on the previous case broke and it only took 3 years. I usually have a different phone in that time. Found this one on the site and I liked the color combinations. The only thing that would have made it better would have been the choice of a Gold hard plastic case component. "LSU" Fan!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

less than ideal

Date:July 31, 2014
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I like the streamline aspects of case.
But...
the case is very slippery - and we know what happens then..
And more importantly the volume and on/off buttons are very, very difficult to depress. They are only slightly better on my replaced version than on the original. Customer support very helpful, but hard to make up for a less than functional design.
Cons: slippery case, poor button functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter - great product!

Date:July 30, 2014
Location: Poznan, Poland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it! Comes in a nice package with clear and simple instruction. Fits the phone perfectly, looks good and... protects very well!
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good
Cons: makes it hard to operate phone external buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

R.I.P: Another shattered screen

Date:July 28, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I just had to get a new phone because I shattered the screen on my old phone. So I ordered a case for my new one so that it wouldn't happen again. The first night I had my case on I accidentally dropped my phone walking on the sidewalk and the screen cracked.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Quick Response to Issues

Date:July 28, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought this case and within a couple of weeks it was cracked. I filed a claim and it was replaced immediately, no questions asked. Filing a claim was super simple.
As far as the quality of the case, it works for a phone that isn't exposed to a lot of "danger." I would not recommend this case to someone who frequently drops their phone, allows their kids to play with it or spend much time in a tough environment. I also have the preserver case for anytime I know my phone could be at a higher risk but it is just too bulky to deal with all the time. For what it is, this case does a good job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Commuter S3

Date:July 27, 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Hi Otter box…having the Otter box Commuter on my Samsung S2 for many years with its slim case and soft use of buttons cover I thought the purchase of a Commuter for my S3 would be the same however the case is somewhat bulkier and a cover that is made of a harder composite which makes the use of the power and volume buttons hard and impeding…making the use phone at these two locations labouring...not much better than the fake Commuter I received from e-bay…regards, content user.
Pros: Durable
Cons: both buttons awkward to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case

Date:July 27, 2014
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got this case for my Samsung Galaxy S3 and I really like it. I'm pretty clumsy and drop my phone a lot, and so far it's done an amazing job protecting it from damage. The case is thin enough that it doesn't add too much weight to the phone, nor does it make it too bulky to stick my phone into my pocket. Don't let it's slender appearance fool you, this is not a flimsy piece of plastic full of fake security, this case is TOUGH.
There are two minor downsides to this case for me. The first is that I have to press the power and volume control buttons pretty hard in order for them to register, which is not fun when you have tendonitis. The second downside being that it was difficult for me to get the case onto my phone, and had to enlist the help of my husband. However, these two issues are not something that would prevent me from buying this case again, should I want a change of color. :)
I'm still giving this full stars for everything, regardless of my super minor downsides, simply because this is the best case I have ever purchased for a phone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, fun colors, ultra slim, lightweight
Cons: control buttons too stiff, difficult to put onto phone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It does the job!

Date:July 26, 2014
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Great case for my Galaxy S3 though sometimes the case makes it hard to press on the power button other than that I've dropped my phone many times and the case has come through for me time and again.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fits like a glove

Date:July 25, 2014
Location: Lindstrom, MN
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my phone but the phone does not have a very good protection. The other flaw is that I was constantly turning off the phone by accident when holding the phone because the button was easy to push. With the new Otter Box case my phone is protected, it looks great and no more accidental turn offs.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Satisfied

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am really satisfied my Commuter case. I find it working better than my Defender case due to the soft part of my Defender having to be replaced after a few uses. The Commuter case feels like it is protecting my phone very well.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good purchase

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: mid west
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case makes the phone easy to hold and still slips into my purse easily. I really like the white color too.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Product

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I just received my warranty replacement OtterBox. The first one only lasted 9 months before the rubber that covers where you plug in your charger came apart. As far as protecting the phone, I've dropped mine a few times and it didn't jar the battery loose or hurt the screen at all. I've been very happy with it. Even with the rubber piece coming off, I was happy with how easy it was to get a replacement. I will always keep an OtterBox on my phones.
Pros: Durable
Cons: rubber cracks quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Best Purchase, Well i am not so sure

Date:July 22, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Yes this Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series phone case does and did protect my very good, BUT it is when I go to remove it or reinstall it that it will crack on me. Maybe they could put a zipper in it so it will go on easier (Joke) or maybe I need to try and I say TRY to be more careful (do not know how to be). Well anyway it will protect your phone very well from drops and whatever you can throw at it or throw it at!
Mine is over two years old.
This is sleepersteve
Pros: High quality, Durable, takes drops very well!, colors stand out, fits in hand nicely, looks great, fits phone tightly, will last & last
Cons: not easy to install w/out damage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>