OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S3 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(327 Reviews) 327
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (327 reviews)
5 stars
215
4 stars
73
3 stars
12
2 stars
16
1 star
11
291 out of 327(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Protection

Date:April 9, 2014
It is great for any protection. It is shatterproof (so far). My phone has never been damaged in any way. It has a had friendly grip.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case for GS3!

Date:April 9, 2014
Location: Miami
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Bought this case at best buy after purchasing numerous cheaper cases from ebay. And having replaced my phone from a horrible dropped and cracked screen, Wanted something that didn't add bulkiness to the phone. I also like the preselected color combination of magenta and purple. So far I have dropped it and no issues with the phone thus far. only issue is removing the cover that is tough.. specially since i usually change batteries when i run low. but not impossible. Overall its a great case for the GS3
Pros: High quality, Durable, color combination
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:April 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case. Design is a bit cheap looking. I would like to see it a bit more business like.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Samsung S3 Commuter

Date:April 8, 2014
Location: Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This was a great investment!!
My phone has survived many falls, it went for a swim in the toilet and it's still in perfect condition thanks to my Commuter Case!!!!
My only concern with the product is the inside part for the case tends to wear out after some time. Luckily, OtterBox provides warranty for certain issues!
All in all, definitely worth the investment!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best investment for my phone.

Date:April 8, 2014
Age: 45-54
This product is the best investment I could have got for my phone. Very good looking case.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case!

Date:April 8, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My commuter otterbox has been great! I drop my phone ALOT. After about the 50th drop my screen cracked. I should have purchased the defender series. It is a bit difficult to power the phone on and off, but other than that it is excellent!
Pros: High quality, Durable, protects the phone from frequent low impact drops., super easy warranty! they sent me a whole new case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:April 8, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my otter box, it really helps keep my phone protected and looking new.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great case for anyone

Date:April 8, 2014
Location: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've had this case for over a year and it has worked awesome. I was rock climbing, dropped my phone off the side of the mountain and when I retrieved it there were no scratches and the screen didn't have a single chip on it!
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Protects very well

Date:April 8, 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I had an OtterBox for my old Blackberry and it protected it from drops and hits so when I got my S3 I bought an OtterBox for it as well. so far I have dropped my phone from my operators station about 10' on to a concrete floor as well as a couple times out of my pocket on to the pavement out of my truck and haven't had any damage to my phone. I will stick with OtterBox for my next phone as well!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: it would be nice if it came in another colour.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Protection, could improve design

Date:April 8, 2014
Location: Madison Heights, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
If you use or have used an Otterbox you already know they do a great job of protecting your phone from the occasional mishap that otherwise can be devastating. My sole complaint is that they do not allow you to utilize larger (higher capacity) batteries. The back casing of your phone can be modified (cut the interior) to accomodate some of the longer lasting batteries, but it would be a lot easier if the company simply implemented "break-away" tabs inside the case. If you use a standard battrery then you do nothing to the case except put it on the phone, and if you use an extended life battery then you use a pair of pliers and "break-away" a few tabs so that your cover fits the thicker phone. Otherwise, you can't use an Otterbox with the exptended life battery. So my suggestion to Otterbox would be to include a standard back that has been modified to accomodate a larger battery, and still use their case...or to offer an Otterbox that fits once a larger back plate is used.
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great company

Date:April 8, 2014
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great functionality of product when in use. I had a problem with my case (cracked). Submitted the claim as instructed and received notice of a new case being shipped within 48 hours. Had it within a week. Great customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, great customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Rugged & a great Protection

Date:April 7, 2014
Location: PHX, AZ
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have used this case for almost a year now and it has saved me from many falls. This replacement case that I just got from Otterbox has more rugged rubber in it, that makes pushing the buttons somewhat more difficult. I love these products, because of the phenomenal warranty.
Pros: great shock protection
Cons: hard to push buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Simply the best

Date:April 6, 2014
Location: Minnesota
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The Otterbox is simply the best protection for phones ever!
I am klutzy and frequently drop my phone. This phone has taken some extremely hard falls on concrete, wood floors, etc. and the Otterbox makes my phone invincible to these falls. Even today, my phone slammed to the concrete while on a walk - the Otterbox took a few scratches but my phone is completely intact. Awesome product!
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent value for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it

Date:April 5, 2014
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I absolutely love the case. I love the purple but I hope there is a pink one in the future I can buy.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

commuter review

Date:April 5, 2014
Location: Ventura,CA.
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case fits perfectly, looks good, plenty of protection,
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case buttons hard to use

Date:April 3, 2014
Location: Lancaster PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is good. Looks good, protects well, and fits in pocket nice. Sometimes the buttons take 2 presses to activate (power button, volume button, etc). I had an otterbox for my old HTC phone and never had this issue. It seems that they designed the buttons a little too short and they don't always contact your phone buttons.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Warranty

Date:April 2, 2014
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Service and Warranty are outstanding, not to mention the great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

drop and drop

Date:April 2, 2014
Location: southern, indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
i drop this phone allllll the time. and this case has kept it from being broke since i bought it! when the rubber wore out on the corners on the sleeve... they just sent me another case!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Will always use OtterBox

Date:April 1, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I recently requested servicing from OtterBox for my Commuter Case. Truthfully, I was not expecting anything near the phenomenal customer service I was given. Not because my expectations weren't there, but I figured for the "price", I might just as well go and replace the item.
OtterBox's service was wonderful from the upload to the confirmation that a new product was being shipped to tracking and the product's timely arrival. Wow! I had to call to commend the service and of course the very happy and helpful person on the other side of the line was more than pleased!
My husband purchased the Commander style and is extremely satisfied. My son will be buying an OtterBox as well. I have a tendency to drop my phone and in my opinion the OtterBox cases are by far the sturdiest and the best value for the quality. Colours are great but more importantly the durability of construction. The only con to speak of was the black rubber tab at the base where the phone charger plugs in. This area might be better without any tab at all.
Pros: High quality
Cons: tab for power insert at base.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:April 1, 2014
The only problem is the rubber taps to that flips back to plug up the charger and added the head gets worn out after time. Then it' breaks off, leaving those areas exposed to dirt and other debris to enter. Even on the side of where toggle, it's kinda of hard to press the toggle button through the rubber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>