OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(529 Reviews) 529
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (529 reviews)
5 stars
351
4 stars
118
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
20
473 out of 529(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 21 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Indispensible case

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: VA, USA, Earth
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my second Otter Box Commuter for my Galaxy S3 and I would not have another case on my phone. The case has proven itself in countless drops on hard surfaces, including concrete, at a variety of angles. My phone has not sustained any damage at all. Upon removing the old screen protector, I found the screen in perfect shape - like new! In fact, the entire phone is in pristine condition after almost 2 years of hard use. The case looks great and fits well in a business environment. My first commuter case handled the abuse well, but frequent removals to remove my battery and MicroSD card while playing with experimental Android versions tore up the power button cover. You should never see this problem if you don't frequently remove your battery or MicroSD card. Very highly recommended!
Pros: High quality, Durable, form fitting, business-environment friendly
Cons: power button a bit stiff when new
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wow!

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I like the Otter Box because it is attractive, durable, and workable. I had heard a lot about Otter Box. This purchuse has lived up to its reputation!
I like the smart design! I love my phone... the Otter Box makes it look even more attractive!
I am in concrete parking lots a lot -- in and out of the car. I have dropped my phone several times (even though I am very careful). I feel that it is safe in its Otter Box cover.
Yet the Otter Box is easy to use. The Box does not hinder me or slow me down.
Great job! Well done!
I also liked the affordable price! What a deal! Love it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otto Box

Date:October 11, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The best case I've ever had. I wish they had one in Jeff Gordon theme . They do at his store but only for s4. It does what it was made to do very well. It is Awesome!
Pros: High quality, Durable, durable!, looks good.
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Durable Case

Date:October 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this case when I first got my Galaxy S3 a little over 2 years ago. I could not be happier with how it has held up over the years. I have dropped my phone many times over the years on all different kinds of surfaces - hardwood floor, cement, asphalt, you name it - and never once has my phone sustained damage. When I take my phone out of the case, it still looks just like it did when I originally bought it. I don't really think you can ask for more in terms of quality of protection from a phone case!
As for the case itself, it has held up well over the years as well. There are no scratches on the hard plastic cover, and all of the rubber is still intact. The bottom flap that covers the charging port is starting to show signs of wear, and I suppose after another few years it might eventually tear off, but it is nowhere near that point now. The rubber layer does stain a bit, but I take the case off my phone once a week and clean both the phone and the case, so it is not too dingy looking.
My only complaint about the case is that it is rather tricky to remove. I usually need to use something to pry it off, which has resulted in some scratches on the inside of the plastic part. Other than that, however, I really have no complaints about the case. I have been very happy with it over the years, and when I get my new phone I will certainly be purchasing another Otterbox for it as well.
Pros: High quality, Durable, slim profile, stylish
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 7, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love Otter Box. I dont have to worry about my kids dropping and damaging my phone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very pleased with fit and feel of the Defender series of cases, I have them in different color combinations.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Would buy again.

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This has been a great case, it survived be thrown from my car when it overturned on the interstate which was astounding. I will be a otterbox customer for life. Also the customer service from otterbox has been outstanding.
Pros: High quality
Cons: rubber corners wear out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Review

Date:September 24, 2014
Location: New York Area
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Fantastic Product! I couldn't find another product like this one...
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to keep clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Protection Seems ok but...

Date:September 24, 2014
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
It is difficult to tell how well the protection aspect of this will work. It seems ok with the two levels - hard / soft, but one will really never know until something BAD happens.
My only complaint is that the on/off button on the right side gives no tactile feed-back. I can't tell if I've pressed it or not. The good news is that it's unlikely to get pressed by accident. The bad news is that I press and press and press until something happens. Part of this is the "fault" of the Galaxy itself. There appears to be a delay after pressing before it turns off / on.
But overall it is a reasonable product for the intended use and the price was very reasonable.
Pros: High quality
Cons: too much isolation on right side button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Switched to commuter, great in all ways but one

Date:September 23, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had the defender series and switched to the commuter series. I really like this case, fits better in my pocket due to its slimmer size. I even bumped it into a sink with running water and it protected the phone that all I had to do was take it apart dry off a few spots and it didn't allow any damage (this case is still NOT waterproof). It definitely does its protection job well.
The only downside I have found is that I can't get the buttons to line up just right, and it sometimes takes pretty much effort to light the screen up. I did not have this problem with my defender and I have spoken to other people with otter boxes (different models) and they did not have this problem, but when they tried to fix mine they could not. Not sure if it's a problem with this model or if I received a flawed one.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: difficult to properly line up buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent quality, dirty con

Date:September 21, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I absolutely love otter box for my protection needs. I have never had a phone break in my otter boxes even though I have dropped my phones multiple times. The reason I did not give this product all 5 stars is because the cases get dirty very easily. Not only because I ordered the white(which I should have thought about before purchasing this color), but I had a pink case as well that got dirty very quickly. If any type of staining substance makes contact with the otter boxes, they stain and are very difficult to remove. This is my only con.
Pros: Durable
Cons: gets dirty easily, hard to remove stains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:September 19, 2014
Location: Denmark
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is really heavy-duty, which is great for people like me, who drop their phone and keep it in their pocket. It is comfortable to hold (some cases are too bulky), and looks nice too! The only issue I had was that it is pretty difficult to take off, but I got the hang of it after a few times.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Pretty good

Date:September 17, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
So far I am perfectly happy with this case. I like the slim design and classy look. Easy to get in and out of my pocket. Dropped it once and the phone was not damaged at all and the case barely had a scuff on it. Only reason I am not rating 5 stars is putting the case on and taking it off can be a bit of a hassle. Buttons were very stiff at first but after using it a while they loosened up. Overall though I am very pleased with this case. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish
Cons: slightly difficult to get on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

"Upgraded" from the Defender Series

Date:September 15, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I first got my Samsung Galaxy S3, I purchased a Defender Series case for it. I liked that case at first, but then I found it to be too bulky. I didn't like using the belt holster, so I would keep it in my pocket. The friction with my pocket caused the corners to wear out very quickly. I filed a warranty claim, and asked if I could switch to the Commuter. Otter Box agreed, and now I am very happy. It's exactly like the product description says, "provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse". The cover over the power on/off and volume buttons was a little stiff at first, but it does get better after use.
Pros: High quality, Durable, easily slides in/out of pocket
Cons: easily pushed off tables/desks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fabulous

Date:September 2, 2014
fits perfectly - I love it!! delivered in a few days - easy to use
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Superb!

Date:August 31, 2014
Location: Southwest desert
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
Outstanding product in every way. Easy to install. Durable, attractive, yet easy access to phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

GOOD PRODUCT

Date:August 30, 2014
The commuter series is a good product. Very durable. I ordered it for my wifes phone to replace the defender series case that I ordered over a year ago. That case was not a good buy. I ordered it in the teal green/blue and the outer cover stretched out and would no longer fit my wifes phone so I decided to go with the commuter series this time and am pleased with the product. I have a defender series case for my phone (black) and its in as good of shape as the day I bought it. Not sure why my wife's strechted out like it did.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Not complete product

Date:August 27, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got the replacement case and was pleased with it until it didn't snap in to my belt carrier. It is too small for my original Galaxy 3 smart phone. :(
Pros: Durable
Cons: smaller product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good protection

Date:August 25, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I like the case. It fits well, was easy to install, and seems like it will protect my phone well. I do wish the hard outer case was more purple rather than reddish.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome

Date:August 23, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love the look matches everything, has saved my phone many many times!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>