OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.427 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(513 Reviews) 513
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (513 reviews)
5 stars
339
4 stars
115
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
19
458 out of 513(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best phone case.

Date:August 23, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the first phone case I've ever bought that fits perfectly. The design is great. It looks like it was designed just for me. The case makes my phone fit my hand perfectly. If I had to find a fault it would have to be the stiffness of the control buttons with the case on, but even that is an improvement over the bare phone. Without the case the power and volume buttons were much to sensitive and a constant nuisance trying to not depress them accidentally. Do you get the impression that I like this case? You're correct.
Pros: High quality, Durable, near perfect execution
Cons: stiff control buttons
+7points
28out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Gotta Love It!

Date:October 19, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love the Otterbox...it's sturdy AND attractive. It arrived quickly and as promised.
The rubber push buttons...especially the ON/OFF switch...are a little stiff, which makes the phone not as responsive (have to push on it a few times before the Power Off screen comes on - same with turning the phone back on).
Luckily, I haven't had to test its protective properties yet, but given that my nickname could be 'Butterfingers', I'm sure I'll find out if it really does protect my phone.
GREAT online price!
MAS1
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series Review

Date:October 17, 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
A fabulously affordable case that fits well and is solid. If you are hanging on to your S3 and you don't have a case with the functionality you require, consider this one.... I'm a "put the phone in my shirt or back pocket..." kind of person and this case is perfect for that as it is smooth on the outside and provides protection for the phone.
Pros: Durable, smooth outer shell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Quality Product - Quality Service

Date:October 16, 2014
Location: Chico, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
For the degree of protection the Commuter case offers, it is remarkably sleek. All of the controls and ports are easily accessed, yet fully protected from debris ...
Pros: High quality, Durable, sleek
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 14, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it, it makes it easier to handle and worry free!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Indispensible case

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: VA, USA, Earth
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my second Otter Box Commuter for my Galaxy S3 and I would not have another case on my phone. The case has proven itself in countless drops on hard surfaces, including concrete, at a variety of angles. My phone has not sustained any damage at all. Upon removing the old screen protector, I found the screen in perfect shape - like new! In fact, the entire phone is in pristine condition after almost 2 years of hard use. The case looks great and fits well in a business environment. My first commuter case handled the abuse well, but frequent removals to remove my battery and MicroSD card while playing with experimental Android versions tore up the power button cover. You should never see this problem if you don't frequently remove your battery or MicroSD card. Very highly recommended!
Pros: High quality, Durable, form fitting, business-environment friendly
Cons: power button a bit stiff when new
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wow!

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I like the Otter Box because it is attractive, durable, and workable. I had heard a lot about Otter Box. This purchuse has lived up to its reputation!
I like the smart design! I love my phone... the Otter Box makes it look even more attractive!
I am in concrete parking lots a lot -- in and out of the car. I have dropped my phone several times (even though I am very careful). I feel that it is safe in its Otter Box cover.
Yet the Otter Box is easy to use. The Box does not hinder me or slow me down.
Great job! Well done!
I also liked the affordable price! What a deal! Love it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otto Box

Date:October 11, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The best case I've ever had. I wish they had one in Jeff Gordon theme . They do at his store but only for s4. It does what it was made to do very well. It is Awesome!
Pros: High quality, Durable, durable!, looks good.
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Durable Case

Date:October 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this case when I first got my Galaxy S3 a little over 2 years ago. I could not be happier with how it has held up over the years. I have dropped my phone many times over the years on all different kinds of surfaces - hardwood floor, cement, asphalt, you name it - and never once has my phone sustained damage. When I take my phone out of the case, it still looks just like it did when I originally bought it. I don't really think you can ask for more in terms of quality of protection from a phone case!
As for the case itself, it has held up well over the years as well. There are no scratches on the hard plastic cover, and all of the rubber is still intact. The bottom flap that covers the charging port is starting to show signs of wear, and I suppose after another few years it might eventually tear off, but it is nowhere near that point now. The rubber layer does stain a bit, but I take the case off my phone once a week and clean both the phone and the case, so it is not too dingy looking.
My only complaint about the case is that it is rather tricky to remove. I usually need to use something to pry it off, which has resulted in some scratches on the inside of the plastic part. Other than that, however, I really have no complaints about the case. I have been very happy with it over the years, and when I get my new phone I will certainly be purchasing another Otterbox for it as well.
Pros: High quality, Durable, slim profile, stylish
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 7, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love Otter Box. I dont have to worry about my kids dropping and damaging my phone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very pleased with fit and feel of the Defender series of cases, I have them in different color combinations.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Would buy again.

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This has been a great case, it survived be thrown from my car when it overturned on the interstate which was astounding. I will be a otterbox customer for life. Also the customer service from otterbox has been outstanding.
Pros: High quality
Cons: rubber corners wear out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Review

Date:September 24, 2014
Location: New York Area
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Fantastic Product! I couldn't find another product like this one...
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to keep clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Protection Seems ok but...

Date:September 24, 2014
Location: Amelia Island, Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
It is difficult to tell how well the protection aspect of this will work. It seems ok with the two levels - hard / soft, but one will really never know until something BAD happens.
My only complaint is that the on/off button on the right side gives no tactile feed-back. I can't tell if I've pressed it or not. The good news is that it's unlikely to get pressed by accident. The bad news is that I press and press and press until something happens. Part of this is the "fault" of the Galaxy itself. There appears to be a delay after pressing before it turns off / on.
But overall it is a reasonable product for the intended use and the price was very reasonable.
Pros: High quality
Cons: too much isolation on right side button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Switched to commuter, great in all ways but one

Date:September 23, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had the defender series and switched to the commuter series. I really like this case, fits better in my pocket due to its slimmer size. I even bumped it into a sink with running water and it protected the phone that all I had to do was take it apart dry off a few spots and it didn't allow any damage (this case is still NOT waterproof). It definitely does its protection job well.
The only downside I have found is that I can't get the buttons to line up just right, and it sometimes takes pretty much effort to light the screen up. I did not have this problem with my defender and I have spoken to other people with otter boxes (different models) and they did not have this problem, but when they tried to fix mine they could not. Not sure if it's a problem with this model or if I received a flawed one.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: difficult to properly line up buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent quality, dirty con

Date:September 21, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I absolutely love otter box for my protection needs. I have never had a phone break in my otter boxes even though I have dropped my phones multiple times. The reason I did not give this product all 5 stars is because the cases get dirty very easily. Not only because I ordered the white(which I should have thought about before purchasing this color), but I had a pink case as well that got dirty very quickly. If any type of staining substance makes contact with the otter boxes, they stain and are very difficult to remove. This is my only con.
Pros: Durable
Cons: gets dirty easily, hard to remove stains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case

Date:September 19, 2014
Location: Denmark
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is really heavy-duty, which is great for people like me, who drop their phone and keep it in their pocket. It is comfortable to hold (some cases are too bulky), and looks nice too! The only issue I had was that it is pretty difficult to take off, but I got the hang of it after a few times.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Pretty good

Date:September 17, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
So far I am perfectly happy with this case. I like the slim design and classy look. Easy to get in and out of my pocket. Dropped it once and the phone was not damaged at all and the case barely had a scuff on it. Only reason I am not rating 5 stars is putting the case on and taking it off can be a bit of a hassle. Buttons were very stiff at first but after using it a while they loosened up. Overall though I am very pleased with this case. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish
Cons: slightly difficult to get on and off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

"Upgraded" from the Defender Series

Date:September 15, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I first got my Samsung Galaxy S3, I purchased a Defender Series case for it. I liked that case at first, but then I found it to be too bulky. I didn't like using the belt holster, so I would keep it in my pocket. The friction with my pocket caused the corners to wear out very quickly. I filed a warranty claim, and asked if I could switch to the Commuter. Otter Box agreed, and now I am very happy. It's exactly like the product description says, "provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse". The cover over the power on/off and volume buttons was a little stiff at first, but it does get better after use.
Pros: High quality, Durable, easily slides in/out of pocket
Cons: easily pushed off tables/desks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case

Date:September 11, 2014
Location: NEW JERSEY
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
TOO SLIPPERY, but SOLID, DURABLE case! Only thing i would change is the back of case so slippery
Pros: High quality, Durable, nice colors, solid
Cons: slippery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>