OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(464 Reviews) 464
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (464 reviews)
5 stars
310
4 stars
102
3 stars
17
2 stars
20
1 star
15
416 out of 464(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best phone case.

Date:August 23, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the first phone case I've ever bought that fits perfectly. The design is great. It looks like it was designed just for me. The case makes my phone fit my hand perfectly. If I had to find a fault it would have to be the stiffness of the control buttons with the case on, but even that is an improvement over the bare phone. Without the case the power and volume buttons were much to sensitive and a constant nuisance trying to not depress them accidentally. Do you get the impression that I like this case? You're correct.
Pros: High quality, Durable, near perfect execution
Cons: stiff control buttons
+5points
26out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter - great product!

Date:July 30, 2014
Location: Poznan, Poland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it! Comes in a nice package with clear and simple instruction. Fits the phone perfectly, looks good and... protects very well!
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good
Cons: makes it hard to operate phone external buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

R.I.P: Another shattered screen

Date:July 28, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I just had to get a new phone because I shattered the screen on my old phone. So I ordered a case for my new one so that it wouldn't happen again. The first night I had my case on I accidentally dropped my phone walking on the sidewalk and the screen cracked.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Quick Response to Issues

Date:July 28, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought this case and within a couple of weeks it was cracked. I filed a claim and it was replaced immediately, no questions asked. Filing a claim was super simple.
As far as the quality of the case, it works for a phone that isn't exposed to a lot of "danger." I would not recommend this case to someone who frequently drops their phone, allows their kids to play with it or spend much time in a tough environment. I also have the preserver case for anytime I know my phone could be at a higher risk but it is just too bulky to deal with all the time. For what it is, this case does a good job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Commuter S3

Date:July 27, 2014
Location: Australia
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Hi Otter box…having the Otter box Commuter on my Samsung S2 for many years with its slim case and soft use of buttons cover I thought the purchase of a Commuter for my S3 would be the same however the case is somewhat bulkier and a cover that is made of a harder composite which makes the use of the power and volume buttons hard and impeding…making the use phone at these two locations labouring...not much better than the fake Commuter I received from e-bay…regards, content user.
Pros: Durable
Cons: both buttons awkward to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case

Date:July 27, 2014
Location: Loveland, Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got this case for my Samsung Galaxy S3 and I really like it. I'm pretty clumsy and drop my phone a lot, and so far it's done an amazing job protecting it from damage. The case is thin enough that it doesn't add too much weight to the phone, nor does it make it too bulky to stick my phone into my pocket. Don't let it's slender appearance fool you, this is not a flimsy piece of plastic full of fake security, this case is TOUGH.
There are two minor downsides to this case for me. The first is that I have to press the power and volume control buttons pretty hard in order for them to register, which is not fun when you have tendonitis. The second downside being that it was difficult for me to get the case onto my phone, and had to enlist the help of my husband. However, these two issues are not something that would prevent me from buying this case again, should I want a change of color. :)
I'm still giving this full stars for everything, regardless of my super minor downsides, simply because this is the best case I have ever purchased for a phone!
Pros: High quality, Durable, fun colors, ultra slim, lightweight
Cons: control buttons too stiff, difficult to put onto phone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It does the job!

Date:July 26, 2014
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Great case for my Galaxy S3 though sometimes the case makes it hard to press on the power button other than that I've dropped my phone many times and the case has come through for me time and again.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fits like a glove

Date:July 25, 2014
Location: Lindstrom, MN
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love my phone but the phone does not have a very good protection. The other flaw is that I was constantly turning off the phone by accident when holding the phone because the button was easy to push. With the new Otter Box case my phone is protected, it looks great and no more accidental turn offs.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Satisfied

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am really satisfied my Commuter case. I find it working better than my Defender case due to the soft part of my Defender having to be replaced after a few uses. The Commuter case feels like it is protecting my phone very well.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good purchase

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: mid west
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The case makes the phone easy to hold and still slips into my purse easily. I really like the white color too.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Product

Date:July 24, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I just received my warranty replacement OtterBox. The first one only lasted 9 months before the rubber that covers where you plug in your charger came apart. As far as protecting the phone, I've dropped mine a few times and it didn't jar the battery loose or hurt the screen at all. I've been very happy with it. Even with the rubber piece coming off, I was happy with how easy it was to get a replacement. I will always keep an OtterBox on my phones.
Pros: Durable
Cons: rubber cracks quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Best Purchase, Well i am not so sure

Date:July 22, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Yes this Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series phone case does and did protect my very good, BUT it is when I go to remove it or reinstall it that it will crack on me. Maybe they could put a zipper in it so it will go on easier (Joke) or maybe I need to try and I say TRY to be more careful (do not know how to be). Well anyway it will protect your phone very well from drops and whatever you can throw at it or throw it at!
Mine is over two years old.
This is sleepersteve
Pros: High quality, Durable, takes drops very well!, colors stand out, fits in hand nicely, looks great, fits phone tightly, will last & last
Cons: not easy to install w/out damage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection for the first 18 months: Commuter

Date:July 21, 2014
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case offers phenomenal protection and has saved my Samsung S3 from many drops and impacts.
It was near perfect for the first 18 months. However the only issues I had were the rubber flaps on the headphone jack and usb port eventually wore off. Eventually the case just cracked in several places and was in need of being replaced. Luckily, Otterbox warrantied the case and by the time it wears out a 2nd time, my cel phone contract (36 months) should be over.
I still recommend the product. I like the style and ill give it a good review. Think about it this way. Tally up all the damage and be grateful the case absorbed it, not the phone! The fit is great, it's solid, shock absorbent, and stylish. The colour options are cool, and I would definitely buy an Otterbox again.
Pros: High quality, Durable, several colour options, shock absorbent
Cons: rubber flaps don't last, plastic gets brittle over time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my phone

Date:July 21, 2014
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I accidentally left my phone on the roof of the car, and we were driving when it fell off. It fell off the car and slid into the opposite lane and another car just missed it as it drove over it. I didn't even have this phone 3 weeks and it was perfectly fine! A couple scuffs on the plastic part of the Otterbox and the case was fine too. I highly recommend this case. My only complaint is that the side buttons are hard to press, but that's a minor detail to me.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Cracked Screen First Drop

Date:July 18, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
My wife had her unprotected Galaxy S3 for 1 yr without any issues. I recently got the case for her , put the phone in it including the screen protection sheet. Two days later, she dropped it on our driveway and the screen cracked in several places (did not shatter probably due to the protective sheet). The phone still works properly. She said the difficulty in pressing the on/off button through the case caused the phone to slip from her hand.
Right or wrong, I just expected more protection with the new case.
Pros: compact
Cons: protection less than expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:July 18, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Otterbox warranty service was quick & easy. This review not so much.
Pros: awesome warranty replacement service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A+ for Otter Box

Date:July 18, 2014
Location: Greeley, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have an S3 currently using the Commuter and previously had the Deffender, love them both. Great products, good job Otter Box I recommend you for sure!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, product functions as stated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

commuter case

Date:July 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the best case i have bought yet, and have bought multiple cases from different companies. The soft inner lining and the outer hard case provide more than adequate protection for my phone from the shock and jarring effects of a drop. The fact that the case juts out slightly further than the screen protects it from shattering when it hits the ground face down. It it very sleek and fits comfortably in my pocket. Not much bigger than the phone and not bulky like other otter box cases i have seen. I have dropped my phone multiple times from my head height and i am 6'2". My phone has no damage! Would definitely recommend this case to others and already have, and it comes with a screen cover!
Pros: High quality, Durable, not bulky, protects screen very nicely
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Catsmiles notes

Date:July 16, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Awesome case. The area to turn on the phone is a little difficult. The clear piece for the front, not very good, thru it out and ordered another. Will let you know how that is when I get it. Has not arrived yet.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case, but not without minor inconveniences...

Date:July 15, 2014
Location: SW Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The outer shell is a bit slick, I've dropped it several times already since putting in on my phone as I'm not used to that just yet, a bit more textured hard shell would have been an improvement.
The power/volume buttons are difficult to depress, but I've already started getting used to it and I've only had my case for a couple days.
Very tight fit, feels completely secure. As I stated above, it's already slipped out of my hands a few times. Once it fell from waist height onto the tile floor, but the case did it's job and protected my phone.
Hopefully over time the plastic shell will become more textured "through normal everyday use" and the power/volume control buttons will start to "un-stiffen" a bit.
Overall, it's a good looking case that I am proud to have wrapped around my new Galaxy S3.
In Otterbox I trust !
Pros: High quality, Durable, feels very secure
Cons: slick hard plastic outer shell, difficult to operate power/volume control buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>