OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S3 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.454 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(454 Reviews) 454
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (454 reviews)
5 stars
305
4 stars
98
3 stars
17
2 stars
20
1 star
14
408 out of 454(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best phone case.

Date:August 23, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the first phone case I've ever bought that fits perfectly. The design is great. It looks like it was designed just for me. The case makes my phone fit my hand perfectly. If I had to find a fault it would have to be the stiffness of the control buttons with the case on, but even that is an improvement over the bare phone. Without the case the power and volume buttons were much to sensitive and a constant nuisance trying to not depress them accidentally. Do you get the impression that I like this case? You're correct.
Pros: High quality, Durable, near perfect execution
Cons: stiff control buttons
+4points
25out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Best Purchase, Well i am not so sure

Date:July 22, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Yes this Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series phone case does and did protect my very good, BUT it is when I go to remove it or reinstall it that it will crack on me. Maybe they could put a zipper in it so it will go on easier (Joke) or maybe I need to try and I say TRY to be more careful (do not know how to be). Well anyway it will protect your phone very well from drops and whatever you can throw at it or throw it at!
Mine is over two years old.
This is sleepersteve
Pros: High quality, Durable, takes drops very well!, colors stand out, fits in hand nicely, looks great, fits phone tightly, will last & last
Cons: not easy to install w/out damage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection for the first 18 months: Commuter

Date:July 21, 2014
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case offers phenomenal protection and has saved my Samsung S3 from many drops and impacts.
It was near perfect for the first 18 months. However the only issues I had were the rubber flaps on the headphone jack and usb port eventually wore off. Eventually the case just cracked in several places and was in need of being replaced. Luckily, Otterbox warrantied the case and by the time it wears out a 2nd time, my cel phone contract (36 months) should be over.
I still recommend the product. I like the style and ill give it a good review. Think about it this way. Tally up all the damage and be grateful the case absorbed it, not the phone! The fit is great, it's solid, shock absorbent, and stylish. The colour options are cool, and I would definitely buy an Otterbox again.
Pros: High quality, Durable, several colour options, shock absorbent
Cons: rubber flaps don't last, plastic gets brittle over time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my phone

Date:July 21, 2014
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I accidentally left my phone on the roof of the car, and we were driving when it fell off. It fell off the car and slid into the opposite lane and another car just missed it as it drove over it. I didn't even have this phone 3 weeks and it was perfectly fine! A couple scuffs on the plastic part of the Otterbox and the case was fine too. I highly recommend this case. My only complaint is that the side buttons are hard to press, but that's a minor detail to me.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Cracked Screen First Drop

Date:July 18, 2014
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
My wife had her unprotected Galaxy S3 for 1 yr without any issues. I recently got the case for her , put the phone in it including the screen protection sheet. Two days later, she dropped it on our driveway and the screen cracked in several places (did not shatter probably due to the protective sheet). The phone still works properly. She said the difficulty in pressing the on/off button through the case caused the phone to slip from her hand.
Right or wrong, I just expected more protection with the new case.
Pros: compact
Cons: protection less than expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:July 18, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Otterbox warranty service was quick & easy. This review not so much.
Pros: awesome warranty replacement service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A+ for Otter Box

Date:July 18, 2014
Location: Greeley, CO
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have an S3 currently using the Commuter and previously had the Deffender, love them both. Great products, good job Otter Box I recommend you for sure!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, product functions as stated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

commuter case

Date:July 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the best case i have bought yet, and have bought multiple cases from different companies. The soft inner lining and the outer hard case provide more than adequate protection for my phone from the shock and jarring effects of a drop. The fact that the case juts out slightly further than the screen protects it from shattering when it hits the ground face down. It it very sleek and fits comfortably in my pocket. Not much bigger than the phone and not bulky like other otter box cases i have seen. I have dropped my phone multiple times from my head height and i am 6'2". My phone has no damage! Would definitely recommend this case to others and already have, and it comes with a screen cover!
Pros: High quality, Durable, not bulky, protects screen very nicely
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Catsmiles notes

Date:July 16, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Awesome case. The area to turn on the phone is a little difficult. The clear piece for the front, not very good, thru it out and ordered another. Will let you know how that is when I get it. Has not arrived yet.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good case, but not without minor inconveniences...

Date:July 15, 2014
Location: SW Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The outer shell is a bit slick, I've dropped it several times already since putting in on my phone as I'm not used to that just yet, a bit more textured hard shell would have been an improvement.
The power/volume buttons are difficult to depress, but I've already started getting used to it and I've only had my case for a couple days.
Very tight fit, feels completely secure. As I stated above, it's already slipped out of my hands a few times. Once it fell from waist height onto the tile floor, but the case did it's job and protected my phone.
Hopefully over time the plastic shell will become more textured "through normal everyday use" and the power/volume control buttons will start to "un-stiffen" a bit.
Overall, it's a good looking case that I am proud to have wrapped around my new Galaxy S3.
In Otterbox I trust !
Pros: High quality, Durable, feels very secure
Cons: slick hard plastic outer shell, difficult to operate power/volume control buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Clunky and difficult

Date:July 15, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case is difficult to use and access the different buttons on the phone. For instance to turn the phone off I have use shift it and turn it sideway and use my thumb. It also added unneeded weight. The slide button for zoom and volume needs extreme pressure. I will be replacing it when I get a chance. It does appear to be very sturdy.
Cons: difficult to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:July 14, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great case! I love that it offers good protection without being super thick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wonderful case, just one flaw

Date:July 12, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case. Just have trouble with the button covers. They are a litte stiff.
Pros: Durable
Cons: stiff button covers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

The Price was Right

Date:July 12, 2014
Good price on my case...wide selection of colors to choose from...My only concern was the screen cover... I have air bubbles under mine which I cannot remover even with the tool...Better instructions might have helped me...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Pleased

Date:July 10, 2014
Location: Missouri City, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The soft inner layer and the hard outter layer create protection from both shock and breakage. The case feels good to handle. I am impressed. My 39 year old son suggested it to me and he's generally right when it comes to "tech stuff."
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: needs a bracelet hook
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

high quality and worth the price

Date:July 10, 2014
Location: Richmond, Va
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
great phone case. I had my Galaxy phone for three days and dropped it. completely shattered the glass. I looked at knock-offs but wanted the Otter Box for its trusted name. The only negative I have is the volume and power buttons are hard to push through the case. Part of the protection I know but that could be a little easier.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: buttons are hard to push
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

the best costumer service

Date:July 10, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
i have galaxy s3 and my otter got demage...i got very fast a new 1 from otterbox.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Fit

Date:July 9, 2014
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Purchased Commuter Series case for Samsung S3. The case fits securely on the phone. I can now put the phone in my pocket without worry of damaging it.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Almost Perfect!

Date:July 9, 2014
Location: San Francisco and Ireland
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I was surprised when I received the case- the colour of the purple Boom are not at all as vibrant as they look in the photo. It's more of a dusty maroon purple than a bright vibrant one.
When I was trying to take the case off the otter shell cracked and split slightly. It still works though- it stays on the phone securely. I'm just very very careful taking the case off now. (I got a full replacement since it happened under warranty.)
Protection is good. Although my phone once fell on uneven tiled surface face down and the screen shattered so I can't say it gives protection against everything.
Overall it's a good product.
-It fits tightly on the phone.
-The lip at the front protects the screen from face-down scratches.
-The double layer commuter series takes bumps and knocks pretty well.
-It's not too chunky, yet enough to offer protection.
-The flaps protect the charger and earphone socket and stop any dust or dirt from getting in.
-The shell doesn't collect dirt and is easy to wipe clean.
I'm on my second Otterbox case and I would recommend Otterbox cases to a friend.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it

Date:July 9, 2014
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had to replace my s3 case because my old s3 lock button failed so the old case needed to be replaced anyways . the only thing i would put on these case would be a piece of rubber on the sides so if you lean it against something it will stay propped up
Pros: High quality
Cons: cant prop up on slick surfaces
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>