OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(484 Reviews) 484
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (484 reviews)
5 stars
319
4 stars
107
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
18
430 out of 484(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best phone case.

Date:August 23, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the first phone case I've ever bought that fits perfectly. The design is great. It looks like it was designed just for me. The case makes my phone fit my hand perfectly. If I had to find a fault it would have to be the stiffness of the control buttons with the case on, but even that is an improvement over the bare phone. Without the case the power and volume buttons were much to sensitive and a constant nuisance trying to not depress them accidentally. Do you get the impression that I like this case? You're correct.
Pros: High quality, Durable, near perfect execution
Cons: stiff control buttons
+6points
27out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Commuter Series

Date:August 20, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My commuter series Otterbox is very well made. Very good quality material. The protection it provides my S3 is perfect. I would recommend this to me friends with one caveat, the push buttons for the power on and for the volume control have to be pushed extremely HARD to activate those functions. I have the Otterbox installed correctly. This is why I gave 4 stars and not 5.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: operating buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just Right

Date:August 20, 2014
Location: DC Metro area
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Light weight. Easy to hold. Slides into back pants pocket.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Phone case

Date:August 20, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This phone case is very durable and is withstanding the teenage usage very well. Quick delivery. Protects the phone well.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not overall satisfied

Date:August 19, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
There is no protection for face of my phone. The rubber buttons on side are very hard/stiff, which make it very hard to push buttons on phone. I do like size and way phone fits, but overall not satisfied with cover. The person that assisted me with receiving a new cover was very nice and helpful. I would recommend the company, just not this cover.
Pros: Durable
Cons: no cover for face of phone, buttons on side do not function properly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

a let down

Date:August 18, 2014
i got this case to replace an old non otter box case and i wish i hadn't got this case. the case is very slippy on the back and have almost dropped the phone a few times now due to it. the case makes the buttons on the side very hard to push almost need both hands to push the power button in
Cons: case is slippy, makes buttons very hard to push
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Exactly as Advertised and it Fits Perfectly!

Date:August 16, 2014
Location: Indiana
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The case installed with ease. I was expecting a struggle but it went smoothly and quickly.
It does exactly what you say it does! I thought it might grab the fabric of my pocket, but it slides right into my pocket and purse with ease.
It gives me a more secure grip on my phone. Before, I was afraid it would slip right out of my hand.
I also had problems with pushing the buttons by accident, now it takes a conscious effort to push them. Yeah!
I had a concern about having to open the dust cover to charge the phone. It is easy and presents no problem.
I also like the color I have choose. It is just perfect.
I have not dropped my phone yet and hope I never do, so I can't comment about that protection.
The screen protector was easy to install and I don't even know it is there. Job well done!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive enough for a lady
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:August 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have only had this case for about three weeks. It is a little slick to handle but once you get used to it. It is a very nice case. I really like how slim it is. I have dropped my phone three times and no damage to the case or the phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Missleading

Date:August 13, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
This was a replacement Otter box as my original became stretched out and wouldn't fit the belt clip. This unit is now too small for my belt clip holder and I had to go out and buy a universal holder from a discount store. I didn't save any money.
Pros: Durable, good protection
Cons: misleading size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case but ugly color.

Date:August 12, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I thought that the color of the Blue and Navy case would look more like it did in the picture but when I got it the blue was more of a cheap/cheesy looking blue. I wish the blue would have been a little more dark but I am okay with it I guess.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color not like picture
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Former Speck lover!!

Date:August 10, 2014
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've used speck cases for the past few years. Because of this I would always question my husband on why he would rather use Otterbox. Now I know. Since I bought this case Ive questions my own choices as to why I didn't buy an otterbox case years ago. In my opinion It offers more protection than any other case out there. I love love love my case!! I've dropped my phone on concrete and the case didn't even get scratched. I'm a believer now, you can't go wrong with an otterbox!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Broken screen

Date:August 7, 2014
Location: Sturtevant, WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought the commuter series and the second day the phone fell and the screen shattered. Disappointed with cae. The buttons are hard to push also. I would buy the next higher case for better protection if any at all.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great warrentee policy!

Date:August 7, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
After a year of having the case the head phone jack "tab" came off. I use the jack very often and was disappointed when it slowly was pulling off. But OtterBox's warrantee came to the rescue. It was a fast and painless submission and quick delivery (and I didn't even have to go looking for the receipt!!). I highly recommend OtterBox to everyone! They stand by their product and their warrentee policy is proof of that.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nothing else will do!

Date:August 7, 2014
Location: Rochester
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have used Otterbox for a long time - tablets, phones, and yes back in the day ciggies. They're the best protection and worth the cost.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylo
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good case, except for power & volume buttons

Date:August 6, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall this is a good case, but the power and volume buttons are hard to press.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: power and volume buttons are hard to press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:August 5, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The Otterbox case is a good protection for my phone. However, it makes it harder to push the controls, so I have to push them several times before the phone responds. That is my only criticism. Overall, a good product and I would recommend it.
Pros: Durable
Cons: restricts controls
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

One flaw runis it!

Date:August 4, 2014
Location: Illinois
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The on/off button is ridiculously hard to press. In order to grip the phone adequately to press in on the right side, very often the volume button on the symetrical left side gets inadvertently pressed also, turning the volume so low it can't be heard.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great cover

Date:August 2, 2014
Location: Lapeer, MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love otterbox phone covers. I work in an industrial area and the covers protect my phone. I had to learn the hard way about not using a cover for my phone. Needless to say I will never make that mistake again.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great protection for my phone
Cons: tend to be plain would like to see more designs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Cracked

Date:July 31, 2014
Location: St. Catharines, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
I dropped my phone, with the otter on it......the screen cracked. The otter didn't, but my screen did. Very disappointed.
Cons: didn't prevent phone from breaking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Commuter Series
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Quality and Price

Date:July 31, 2014
Location: Louisiana
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The hard plastic on the previous case broke and it only took 3 years. I usually have a different phone in that time. Found this one on the site and I liked the color combinations. The only thing that would have made it better would have been the choice of a Gold hard plastic case component. "LSU" Fan!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>