OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(546 Reviews) 546
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (546 reviews)
5 stars
362
4 stars
119
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 star
20
485 out of 546(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case
Review 21 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case!!

Date:November 22, 2014
Location: Southern Oregon
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Ordered this case to replace another otterbox I have that was also great but had too much grip (outer silicone would catch while in my pocket). My order came in fast and install was a cinch! Exactly what I wanted a great protection without the bulk and the hard outer shell makes it smooth transition in and out of the pocket. Only complaint is the side buttons are now a bit more stiff then I prefer but it has wore in and gotten easier over the past month or so. Overall great product! Also recommend the "clearly protected" line too... two words = Bullet Proof - dropped from 5 to 10 feet onto concrete, asphalt and anything else it can possibly bounce off in a truck shop, no issues.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great fit
Cons: stiff buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product worth every penny spent.

Date:November 16, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had phones in the past with no protection and dropped them. It seemed like the drop wasnt that severe but either the case broke or the screen cracked. With this product Ive dropped my phone a number of times and no damage at all.The only draw back on this product you have to press firm on the on off buttons etc.
Pros: Durable
Cons: small design tweek
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

best case out there

Date:November 14, 2014
Location: Hayward, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
We tried other cases like Urban Armor, ended up coming back to otterbox. Other cases had too low of a lip, which causes screens to get cracked when dropped and lacked the extra ruberized protections. Well worth the extra money to protect these expensive phones.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent

Date:November 5, 2014
Location: GA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it. Dropped phone with no damage.
Love it. Dropped phone with no damage.
Love it. Dropped phone with no damage.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: difficult to push buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 1, 2014
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
GREAT PRODUCT strong shell will recommend to others
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome case

Date:October 29, 2014
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Purchased the otterbox commuter case for my galaxy phone and it works awesome! Simple design and protects my phone. Thanks OtterBox!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing

Date:October 21, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Simply the only case you will ever need... If cars where made this strong we wouldn't need car insurance...
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Gotta Love It!

Date:October 19, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love the Otterbox...it's sturdy AND attractive. It arrived quickly and as promised.
The rubber push buttons...especially the ON/OFF switch...are a little stiff, which makes the phone not as responsive (have to push on it a few times before the Power Off screen comes on - same with turning the phone back on).
Luckily, I haven't had to test its protective properties yet, but given that my nickname could be 'Butterfingers', I'm sure I'll find out if it really does protect my phone.
GREAT online price!
MAS1
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Quality Product - Quality Service

Date:October 16, 2014
Location: Chico, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
For the degree of protection the Commuter case offers, it is remarkably sleek. All of the controls and ports are easily accessed, yet fully protected from debris ...
Pros: High quality, Durable, sleek
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 14, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Love it, it makes it easier to handle and worry free!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Indispensible case

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: VA, USA, Earth
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my second Otter Box Commuter for my Galaxy S3 and I would not have another case on my phone. The case has proven itself in countless drops on hard surfaces, including concrete, at a variety of angles. My phone has not sustained any damage at all. Upon removing the old screen protector, I found the screen in perfect shape - like new! In fact, the entire phone is in pristine condition after almost 2 years of hard use. The case looks great and fits well in a business environment. My first commuter case handled the abuse well, but frequent removals to remove my battery and MicroSD card while playing with experimental Android versions tore up the power button cover. You should never see this problem if you don't frequently remove your battery or MicroSD card. Very highly recommended!
Pros: High quality, Durable, form fitting, business-environment friendly
Cons: power button a bit stiff when new
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wow!

Date:October 13, 2014
Location: Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I like the Otter Box because it is attractive, durable, and workable. I had heard a lot about Otter Box. This purchuse has lived up to its reputation!
I like the smart design! I love my phone... the Otter Box makes it look even more attractive!
I am in concrete parking lots a lot -- in and out of the car. I have dropped my phone several times (even though I am very careful). I feel that it is safe in its Otter Box cover.
Yet the Otter Box is easy to use. The Box does not hinder me or slow me down.
Great job! Well done!
I also liked the affordable price! What a deal! Love it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otto Box

Date:October 11, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The best case I've ever had. I wish they had one in Jeff Gordon theme . They do at his store but only for s4. It does what it was made to do very well. It is Awesome!
Pros: High quality, Durable, durable!, looks good.
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Durable Case

Date:October 9, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this case when I first got my Galaxy S3 a little over 2 years ago. I could not be happier with how it has held up over the years. I have dropped my phone many times over the years on all different kinds of surfaces - hardwood floor, cement, asphalt, you name it - and never once has my phone sustained damage. When I take my phone out of the case, it still looks just like it did when I originally bought it. I don't really think you can ask for more in terms of quality of protection from a phone case!
As for the case itself, it has held up well over the years as well. There are no scratches on the hard plastic cover, and all of the rubber is still intact. The bottom flap that covers the charging port is starting to show signs of wear, and I suppose after another few years it might eventually tear off, but it is nowhere near that point now. The rubber layer does stain a bit, but I take the case off my phone once a week and clean both the phone and the case, so it is not too dingy looking.
My only complaint about the case is that it is rather tricky to remove. I usually need to use something to pry it off, which has resulted in some scratches on the inside of the plastic part. Other than that, however, I really have no complaints about the case. I have been very happy with it over the years, and when I get my new phone I will certainly be purchasing another Otterbox for it as well.
Pros: High quality, Durable, slim profile, stylish
Cons: difficult to remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 7, 2014
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love Otter Box. I dont have to worry about my kids dropping and damaging my phone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Very pleased with fit and feel of the Defender series of cases, I have them in different color combinations.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Would buy again.

Date:October 3, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This has been a great case, it survived be thrown from my car when it overturned on the interstate which was astounding. I will be a otterbox customer for life. Also the customer service from otterbox has been outstanding.
Pros: High quality
Cons: rubber corners wear out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Review

Date:September 24, 2014
Location: New York Area
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Fantastic Product! I couldn't find another product like this one...
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to keep clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

"Upgraded" from the Defender Series

Date:September 15, 2014
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When I first got my Samsung Galaxy S3, I purchased a Defender Series case for it. I liked that case at first, but then I found it to be too bulky. I didn't like using the belt holster, so I would keep it in my pocket. The friction with my pocket caused the corners to wear out very quickly. I filed a warranty claim, and asked if I could switch to the Commuter. Otter Box agreed, and now I am very happy. It's exactly like the product description says, "provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse". The cover over the power on/off and volume buttons was a little stiff at first, but it does get better after use.
Pros: High quality, Durable, easily slides in/out of pocket
Cons: easily pushed off tables/desks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fabulous

Date:September 2, 2014
fits perfectly - I love it!! delivered in a few days - easy to use
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>