OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S3 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(546 Reviews) 546
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (546 reviews)
5 stars
362
4 stars
119
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 star
20
485 out of 546(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The Best Galaxy Commuter Case Ever...

Date:April 10, 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This thing is a beast. Yes, it's hard to put the phone in the first few times but that toughness is what made this case so awesome. The seal the Silicon gasket makes with the phone is so good it's almost water resistant. I once accidentally dropped my S3 into a bowl of Ramen face down. I fished it out immediately and pulled the phone out of the case. I thought for sure I had wrecked it but amazingly all the vital areas where fluid damage could really wreck a phone were still dry. The screen cover eventually had to be replaced but that was it.
Sadly, Otterbox loosened up the Commuter for subsequent phones and the seal wasn't as good for the S4. And with the S6 it's really not good. But it was awesome on the S3.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I Love My Otterbox!

Date:March 22, 2015
Location: Dalzell, South Carolina
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
This is the best invention since the wheel. It protects my phone and as much as my grand daughter handles my cell phone, I am finally not afraid that she is going to drop it and crack my screen. It is totally awesome.
Pros: High quality, Durable, granddaughter proof
Cons: hard to turn the volume up and down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:March 20, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Excellent product. No complaints. Is made to really fit your hand without slipping and stays put.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Phone Case Ever

Date:March 1, 2015
Location: AB, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this phone protector because I can literally throw my phone across the room with no damage to the phone at all. I know this because we tested it out.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wise Purchase

Date:February 20, 2015
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Best protection for our phones ever found. Can't tell you how many times a phone would have been destroyed had it not been for the case. Both my wife and I have the OTTER for our phones and love them.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just what I wanted

Date:January 25, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I wanted a case that was slim enough to slide easily and comfortably into my pocket and provide adequate protection.
The commuter does both splendidly. The only issue I have is that the side buttons require a lot of pressure for them to work. But I got used to it. I really like the way it feels in my hand- solid and comfortable. I am extremely happy with it so far.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: side buttons are difficult to press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

:)

Date:January 21, 2015
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
It's my second otter box purchase.. This case it good when you are going out and do not need a bulky case. although I find it a little slippery.. my other case which has the rubber glove on the outside offers a little more grip.. but it's to hard to place in your pocket. So i use differet cases for different applications. Thanks Otters .. you've done a good job :)
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: slippery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:January 16, 2015
Location: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great product! I have dropped my phone multiple times and it is still in pristine condition.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Galaxy 3 protection

Date:January 8, 2015
Location: Pearl, MS
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have tried several other types of S3 cases but they did not perform to my needs. The Commuter Series is very sturdy and maintains a very professional look. The ability to "hook" the case on my belt is one of the best features along with the ballistic-type case and protective screen.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter series is great

Date:January 5, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The product look and feel are great. The price was right too. However, I knew I had the right case whenever I dropped my Samsung GS3 from the 2nd story of my house on to the tile on the first floor (accidentally), and my phone survived without a scratch or crack. The case doesn't show any wear or tear either!
Excellent product!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Killer Deal

Date:January 1, 2015
Location: Charleston, SC
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought my OtterBox online & got an outstanding deal. This is my second Commuter series OtterBox. My first one protected my phone that I dropped more times than I can remember & was easy to get in & out of my front pocket, so when I got my new phone, a new OtterBox was a no-brainer.
Pros: High quality, Durable, value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:December 30, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Overall great case that should last a long time. I purchased this for my wife's new Samsung Galaxy S3 after I had purchased one for my phone about a year ago, still going strong. They are great cases, very durable against drops.
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome

Date:December 26, 2014
Location: Twin Falls Id
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was very happy with this case it was a Christmas gift and my husband loved it. I bought this when you had amazing sales thank you.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:December 24, 2014
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am really pleased with the phone case I received from Otter Box. Smart styling and maximum protection! Worth every penny!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Durable Product

Date:December 24, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Only case you'll ever need. Rugged, solid and protects well. Firm press on the on/off and volume rocker but that's OK. Prevents phone from launching apps inadvertently. In my opinion better than the defender (even though I don't own one, I've seen some defender reviews on Youtube). Can't go wrong with the commuter. If you don't get one for your galaxy s3, you'll be sorry.
Pros: High quality, Durable, rugged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product

Date:December 23, 2014
Location: Tennessee
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is an awesome product to protect your phone. absolutely love it and would highly recommend it
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Don't activate without it!

Date:December 13, 2014
Location: Pacific Northwest
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I ordered my Otterbox the same day I ordered my new phone. I believe the Otterbox is a better value than the monthly insurance the phone offers. While I haven't had to "test" this one yet, my previous phone survived a couple years of use and abuse (including dropping a power drill directly on it).
Pros: High quality, Durable, attractive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Samsung Galaxy S3 Otterbox

Date:December 13, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Love my Otterbox! I purchased it for my new Samsung phone and I love how it has 2 protective layers and a screen protector. My phone is protected and that makes me feel much better. I am still careful with my phone but I have the piece of mind that the phone should be protected from an accidental drop.
Only issue is that the buttons don't seem to line up correctly. They are hard to press for volume and phone lock. I am going to take the case off and reposition to rectify that issue.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:December 13, 2014
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great job at protecting my phone in sudden cases of me dropping my phone
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky side power button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter SIII

Date:December 9, 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Highly impressed with the product. Fits snug, feels solid. I'm a little disappointed with how the "through the case" volume and power buttons work however. Requires some real pressure and well placed fingers to activate the phone's buttons. I'm adjusting and it certainly would not detour me from another purchase down the road.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: volume button hard to operate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>