OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S3 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Otterbox Commuter Series Case

Built with your hectic life in mind, the Commuter Series Samsung Galaxy S3 case provides protection against oopsies and accidents without being too bulky for your pocket or purse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(546 Reviews) 546
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (546 reviews)
5 stars
362
4 stars
119
3 stars
22
2 stars
23
1 star
20
485 out of 546(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Commuter Series Case
Review 1 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best phone case.

Date:August 23, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the first phone case I've ever bought that fits perfectly. The design is great. It looks like it was designed just for me. The case makes my phone fit my hand perfectly. If I had to find a fault it would have to be the stiffness of the control buttons with the case on, but even that is an improvement over the bare phone. Without the case the power and volume buttons were much to sensitive and a constant nuisance trying to not depress them accidentally. Do you get the impression that I like this case? You're correct.
Pros: High quality, Durable, near perfect execution
Cons: stiff control buttons
+6points
28out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The Best Galaxy Commuter Case Ever...

Date:April 10, 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This thing is a beast. Yes, it's hard to put the phone in the first few times but that toughness is what made this case so awesome. The seal the Silicon gasket makes with the phone is so good it's almost water resistant. I once accidentally dropped my S3 into a bowl of Ramen face down. I fished it out immediately and pulled the phone out of the case. I thought for sure I had wrecked it but amazingly all the vital areas where fluid damage could really wreck a phone were still dry. The screen cover eventually had to be replaced but that was it.
Sadly, Otterbox loosened up the Commuter for subsequent phones and the seal wasn't as good for the S4. And with the S6 it's really not good. But it was awesome on the S3.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I Love My Otterbox!

Date:March 22, 2015
Location: Dalzell, South Carolina
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
This is the best invention since the wheel. It protects my phone and as much as my grand daughter handles my cell phone, I am finally not afraid that she is going to drop it and crack my screen. It is totally awesome.
Pros: High quality, Durable, granddaughter proof
Cons: hard to turn the volume up and down
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:March 20, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Excellent product. No complaints. Is made to really fit your hand without slipping and stays put.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Phone Case Ever

Date:March 1, 2015
Location: AB, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this phone protector because I can literally throw my phone across the room with no damage to the phone at all. I know this because we tested it out.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Wise Purchase

Date:February 20, 2015
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Best protection for our phones ever found. Can't tell you how many times a phone would have been destroyed had it not been for the case. Both my wife and I have the OTTER for our phones and love them.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Just what I wanted

Date:January 25, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I wanted a case that was slim enough to slide easily and comfortably into my pocket and provide adequate protection.
The commuter does both splendidly. The only issue I have is that the side buttons require a lot of pressure for them to work. But I got used to it. I really like the way it feels in my hand- solid and comfortable. I am extremely happy with it so far.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: side buttons are difficult to press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

:)

Date:January 21, 2015
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
It's my second otter box purchase.. This case it good when you are going out and do not need a bulky case. although I find it a little slippery.. my other case which has the rubber glove on the outside offers a little more grip.. but it's to hard to place in your pocket. So i use differet cases for different applications. Thanks Otters .. you've done a good job :)
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: slippery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Average Satisfaction

Date:January 19, 2015
Location: Georgia
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased the Galaxy S3 Commuter case to replace the old one. Well it was only 5 months old. I like the slim line construction of the Commuter case, it is not bulky which allows me to place it in my front pocket. I am a high school student and I do not like having my phone out/ or in a clip holster. The product is average quality due to the outer gel case stretching which causes it to loses its integrity. This product should last longer than 4-5 months for the amount of money one pays.
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Slippery to Hold

Date:January 18, 2015
Location: Frisco, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like the protection the cover provides, but the edges and back side are very slippery to hold. Would recommend some tacky feel to the outside edges.
Cons: slippery to hold on to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Galaxy S3 Commuter Good

Date:January 17, 2015
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Slender case. Like the style. Buttons for volume and on/off are hard to push. Overall good product.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good case but hard to hold

Date:January 16, 2015
Location: Greensboro, NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am new to smart phones and one of my concerns is that the phone is so thin it can easily slip from my hands.
The Commuter for Galaxy S3 is better than holding the phone directly but has an outer shell that is mostly hard plastic. This is great for impacts but makes it slicker than it would be if it had a rubbery coating. Also the power and volume buttons were very hard to press.
On the positive side the build quality was very good and the case was small enough to easily fit in my pocket and in an older waterproof drybox.
This is a good case but I decided to look for one with more rubber on the sides.
Pros: High quality, Durable, pocket size, professional looks
Cons: non-rubber finish, buttons hard to press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:January 16, 2015
Location: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great product! I have dropped my phone multiple times and it is still in pristine condition.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Galaxy 3 protection

Date:January 8, 2015
Location: Pearl, MS
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have tried several other types of S3 cases but they did not perform to my needs. The Commuter Series is very sturdy and maintains a very professional look. The ability to "hook" the case on my belt is one of the best features along with the ballistic-type case and protective screen.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case, but slides around.

Date:January 6, 2015
Location: Reston, Va.
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
As other reviews have stated, the case is very good, however, it is slippery when placed on the backside. I have had it slide off the couch and chair armrests. The buttons are a little harder to push, but that also prevents buttons being pushed accidentally. Overall, I would purchase this case again and also advise others to do so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection.

Date:January 6, 2015
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Great protection, good value. The only con I have is the pushbuttons are much too hard to press. I resolved this by stacking 3 layers of duct tape with one sticky side out. I then cut into small enough pieces to fit inside the button holes inside the case. Place the sticky side towards the case buttons so they will remain in place while you assemble. Now it takes very little effort to press.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to press buttons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Commuter series is great

Date:January 5, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The product look and feel are great. The price was right too. However, I knew I had the right case whenever I dropped my Samsung GS3 from the 2nd story of my house on to the tile on the first floor (accidentally), and my phone survived without a scratch or crack. The case doesn't show any wear or tear either!
Excellent product!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

almost great

Date:January 5, 2015
Location: colorado
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The only issue is its very difficult to use the power/sleep button on the right side of the case.
Pros: High quality
Cons: hard to use power/sleep button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Protection but kind of slick

Date:January 1, 2015
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like the way the Otterbox protects the Samsung Galaxy SIII. There are a few things I'd like to see changed. The case needs some "edges" to help you hold it better. Also, the hard plastic tends to feel very slippery in my hand and I've almost dropped my phone a few times because of this. Another thing, the buttons, mainly the one used to power the phone on and off seems to require quite a lot of pressure to overcome the tenacity of the rubber. The screen protector was a welcome surprise with how easy it is to apply to the phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: slippery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Killer Deal

Date:January 1, 2015
Location: Charleston, SC
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought my OtterBox online & got an outstanding deal. This is my second Commuter series OtterBox. My first one protected my phone that I dropped more times than I can remember & was easy to get in & out of my front pocket, so when I got my new phone, a new OtterBox was a no-brainer.
Pros: High quality, Durable, value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>