OtterBox Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case

Rugged protection meets the best, brightest and most vivid phone. Amplify your experience with OtterBox protection. The Defender Series for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket provides practically indestructible protection for this blazing smartphone. Take it everywhere with you and don't give a thought to scratches, bumps or drops. This highly protective case enables your phone to withstand harsh conditions, heavy use and daily mishaps.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

It will break if it's run over by a few cars.

Date:May 13, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I was walking across a major road where I live when my phone fell out of my pocket in the middle of the cross walk. I didn't realize until 5 minutes later when I went to check the time and I retraced my steps to the road but when I got there I saw the rubber part of my case flying in the wind with the on coming traffic and my phone face down in the cross walk. The LCD and screen were shattered but by some miracle the back of my phone was perfectly fine the back of the Otterbox saved the back of my phone from the 12 cars that ran it over. The case was destroyed, my screen was cracked, but the back of my phone was saved by the case and it still turned on and worked except the touch screen wouldn't register. I got the screen fixed, but I will not take my phone anywhere until I get a new Otterbox!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Belt clip weakness on Defender for S2

Date:May 11, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I am now on my 3rd Defender case within one year due to a failure both times with the belt clip. The first one just broke off and on the second one side of the clip has broken. I know if I sent it back to Otterbox it would be fixed or replaced without issue but since I travel every week when it breaks I need to replace right away.
Normally I would have moved on to a different product but I like the case and holder so much I continue to replace. I hope that in the near future that this issue is resolved.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable, weak belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Supposed to protect

Date:April 1, 2013
Location: WI
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Perhaps I put my otter box to the test, with a fall beyond its capabilities. But recently I dropped my phone, and screen and the digitizer broke. I have always relied on outer boxes to protect my devices, however, I feel like I should move to a new company for my case protection needs. After I pay to buy the parts to repair my phone.
Cons: didn't protect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox

Date:February 1, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I really like the otterbox my only complaint is there is only one color. I would like something pretty for a lady!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case

Date:January 16, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is probably one of the best cases you can buy for your S2 if not the best. The only problem I had was that the locking notches on the left side of the case started to break. I asked otterbox for a replacement and they got back to me within a day telling me a new case was on the way. Great customer service!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: locking notches may break under heavy use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

does what it should

Date:January 2, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
It certainly protects my phone from being dinged up, however the screen protector somehow pealed away from the case itself and allowed dirt inside and since i work in a dusty place it was quite annoying always having to take it off and clean it. In fact the sylicone is starting to stretch out too but other than that its very rugged and protects the phone from falls. I would give this 5 stars across the board if the screen hadn't pealed
Pros: Durable
Cons: use better glue
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Needs a better belt clip

Date:December 24, 2012
Location: Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
For the price, there should be a better design for the belt clip. Six months of use shouldn't result in the clip hinge breaking off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 27, 2012
Location: Athens, Ohio
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My boyfriend is rough on everything. Socks, shoes, phones, etc. We got this case for this phone due to that reason to see how good it was. It lasted over an year. I just order a new one to replace it. Only reason we are replacing because the rubber cover is out stretched and falling apart. I will always buy a otterbox for all my phones.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

braking???

Date:October 21, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love having the otterbox on my phone but I am now on my 3rd otterbox in the past month because the little snaps where the hard case snaps together keep braking. its really upsetting because i know that the otterbox will really keep my phone protected but i cant keep going every time i get paid to get a new one. i love to see this fixed and also with some different colors.
Cons: Not durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

best case ever!

Date:July 24, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I absolutely love this case. It has kept my phone in perfect condition through everyday abuse. The fact that it has the built in screen protector is a huge bonus because you don't get all of the little bubbles that you do with a stick on protector. The silicone doesn't just protect the phone from impact, it keeps you from dropping it in the first place! The texture just helps you get that extra bit of grip you need. overall awesome case!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: slightly bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Everyone should get an Otterbox Defender

Date:June 21, 2012
Location: Phoneix, AZ
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have Otterbox Defender for my Samsung Galaxy SII Skyrocket and my iPhone 3Gs. I plan to get one for my Kindle Fire. I tell everyone I know to get one for their devices. I don't know why but every manufacture makes slippery phones. I guess they want you to drop them, break them, and be forced to buy another. The non slip outer bumper system makes the phone almost drop proof. The Defender Series is so protective that I frequently use a prank app called Crack Your Screen. I show my phone to people. I hand the phone to them and intentionally cause them to drop my phone. They pick it up to see a cracked screen and freak out. I shake the phone and the fake damage goes away. I am so confident in the Otterbox Defender that I have pulled this prank over a hundred times and there is not a single skuff mark anywhere on the case. I wipe the screen cover with a micro fiber cloth and the case looks a good as the day I purchased it. I had a small problem with my phone that required a soft reset. When I took it in to AT&T they asked me if I had just purchased my phone. I have had it for over 7 months and there is not a single mark of any kind on my phone. The raised areas over the control buttons make my phone very convenient to use. The bare phone itself has the buttons flush with the phone housing which makes them difficult to find by touch alone. You can't tell in the dark if you have the phone up side down or right side up. The Defender case eliminates that problem.
If I had to find a con for this product is would be that the belt clip can't hold up to my abuse. I am very rough on belt clips and would rather have a metal one. The plastic one is strong but not strong enough for me. I love it's ability to be both a clip and a stand. As a belt clip it won't slip off of a belt due to the hooked lower end. This makes the holster difficult to remove from a belt but this is a very good thing. So many times I have brushed against a door facing or chair armrest with other belt clips just to have the whole phone go flying though the air to the floor and the belt clip piece would be snapped off. Because I am so rough I would like to be able to purchase some replacement holsters from Otterbox for my Skyrocket. Right now I have a tool belt holster with a metal clip but I miss the convenience and versatility of the Defender belt clip. Even though one side of the clip is broken it still functions well as a stand when I want to watch a movie on my phone or view landscape picture slide shows.
The Defender Series is like having a spray on truck bed liner for your phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, makes the phone easier to use, non slip enclosure, safely locks well to a belt, a little difficult to remove but that's good!, impacts do not leave skuff marks, exact perfect fit for my device
Cons: belt clip not strong enough for me and my abuse
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product!

Date:June 5, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchased this case when i bought the phone, i never use the belt clip but i love the protection i get from the defender series.
I had an otterbox on my blackberry and when i picked it out the guy at the store said it was the cadilac of cases and man was he right!
i dropped that phone so many times and when i finally replaced it it looked barely used (i wont say brand new) the case itself had scratches but not the phone
my ONLY complaint is once u take the phone out of the case it is nearly impossible to get all the dust out between the screen protector and the phone...
i do love that there is a built in screen protector though and i dont have to deal with those sticky things
other than that i love love love this case!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome Case bad belt clips

Date:May 31, 2012
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the second Otterbox case for me. My first was for my Blackberry curve 8900. awesome case, But belt clip broke.
Now I have the Samsung Galaxy SII LTE, Awesome case, clip just broke today. I have no luck with clips. overall great case. dropped my phone a few times now and kept phone safe. work great.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Would be the best purchase Ever If ....

Date:May 17, 2012
Location: Toronto, Ont., Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is Awesome!!!, but where's the Defender for Galaxy S II International?
Just in case anybody from Canada is here looking for a case for their Bell Samsung Galaxy S II , this is not the same phone and the case that you will need to fit it.
Other then that, Would be the best purchase EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(for my wife's phone).
I am using the DEFENDER for my BlackBerry Bold 9700. It has been better than any of my expectations, and it is the bench mark for any other competitors to just give up trying to compare themselves to OTTERBOX's Defender Series.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Good, if you want a case that damages your phone

Date:May 2, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
1. Damage to the screen, when inside the "protective" case
2. Echo to other callers
3. Damage to trim on phone
I thought this would be a great case to protect my phone from the tough world, well I was right. It holds up against the exterior elements. However, I didn't consider the possibility of the case being the cause of damage. As most cases with built in screen protectors do, dust and other fibers collect inside the screen protector, well that's fine, it happens, but after about 3 weeks of use, I took the screen protector off one night to clean the dust out and noticed some nicks on my screen, I didn't think anything of it, assuming that the nicks had been there and I just noticed them. Well another week passed and I cleaned the dust and dirt out again and noticed the nicks had become deeper and there were more of them now. Ever since then I have taken the case off and swore never to use an OtterBox case again. Their warranty specifically states that they are not responsible for damage to your device that may be caused by their products. Really?!?! This is in the warranty, that means that they obviously know that their product can and most likely will cause damage to your device.
2. Also, you have to press your ear hard against the earpiece of the device, otherwise the person you are calling will hear themselves echo, because their voice will travel between the built in screen protector and the phone, to the microphone.
3. Lastly, the plastic case damaged the shiny chrome trim on the phone. One of my favorite parts of the phone. *Just an FYI, any damage to the phone, such as nicks in the plastic or trim, will prevent you from taking the phone back to AT&T within the first 30 days because of the physical damage
So unless you want your phone to be damaged by the case that is supposed to protect it, go ahead and purchase this, otherwise, I recommend looking for a case that has silicone on the inside next to your phone and the hard plastic on the outside.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, damaging
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great products

Date:April 15, 2012
Location: Wyoming mi
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this prouduct I work construction and it has last longer then I would ever thought it would it has been droped and kicked and my wife tells me protect my investment she say what ever I touch it breaks butt not this one. All I have to say is I wish thay made it in camo and I would be 100 % satisfied. Thanks otter box
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: need camo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great product

Date:February 27, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had a defender case for my iphone and now for my galaxy s2 skyrocket. The iphone still looked like new after 2 yrs. The belt clip for my skyrocket broke, called customer service and they replaced the holster. The customer service dept is amazing!!! I will only buy otterbox products for my work phones since they are used in rough enviroments. Great products and awesome customer service!!!
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Ditch the Defender - It falls off your belt

Date:January 6, 2012
Location: Houston. TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
A friend recommended the Otterbox and I found it to be just as rugged as my friend suggested. Because of my work, it is not unusual for my phone case to get snagged on various objects. The Defender is designed to allow the belt clip to be locked into place to allow for media viewing and they have had to compromise on the strength of the spring. The weak spring and poor design of the clip means that I have had it fall off my belt about once a day since Christmas. Its a good thing the padding and case are solid.
I wonder why they made this tradeoff since the other cases have no "media viewing " capability. I wanted a super rugged case that I knew would stay attached to my belt. I got the first but not the last. For me the Commuter + a separate belt case would have been a better choice. Before you buy, consider how well you need the belt clip to work.
They would get 5-stars if the belt clip worked.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poorly designed belt clip, falls off belt
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

LOVE THE DEFENDER!!!

Date:January 6, 2012
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got my otterbox I love it!!!! I just wish that there was a little color variety options for the case!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S2 Skyrocket Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox ofcourse!

Date:December 21, 2011
Location: Hayward, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This otter box made my Samsung Skyrocketly awesome!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>