OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Galaxy S3 Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series

Otterbox Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series

The Defender Series Samsung Galaxy S III case offers 3 layers of protection so you don’t have to fear the inevitable oopsie or accident.
Average Customer Rating:
3.386 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
29
3 stars
24
2 stars
24
1 star
14
71 out of 127(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Galaxy S3 Defender Case

Date:December 23, 2012
Location: Altoona, PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The case itself is nicely made and fits the phone well. The problem that develops is that the silicone layer eventually stretches and provides for a sloppy fit. I had the case for approximately 2 months and the fit at the corners of the case is very loose. It is aggravating and looks cheap. Otterbox is known for good products but this one falls short of being something that I would buy again or recommend.
Cons: Not durable
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Silicone Elasticity Issues

Date:March 5, 2013
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I had high hopes that this case would be very durable and offer great protection. I had seen the commuter series and thought it was nice. Thinking that the Defender would be even better and offer more protection for my new delicate Galaxy S3, I decided to sped a little more on the more expensive model, trusting that Otter Box would live up to it's reputation. I was very disappointed to find out that their reputation, in my opinion, is greatly over rated. The case was good at first, although a bit bulky and plain looking, but within a couple of months I started to notice that the outer silicone cover was starting to pull away at the corners where it should have been locked into a groove in the hard plastic shell. This condition continued to worsen until the silicon was completely coming off on one end and badly pulling away on the other corners.
I wrote to Otter Box and explained my problem, provided a few photos in an email and to their credit they quickly sent me a replacement. With the second cover I was very careful not to put it in my pocket or let it get dirty but sadly the same condition was occurring after only a few weeks. I am very disappointed with the defender and think that, considering the price, it should be of much better quality. I also think there should be changes made to the design and/or materials.
I've given up on otter box and gone with a different product that seems to be better in design as well as aesthetics. So far I am happy with the new case, and wish I hadn't spent my money on the defender.
Pros: good customer service
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, high price
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

could definitely be better

Date:November 17, 2012
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have purchased otter cases for all my phones and ipod touch and never been disappointed. Then I got one for my Samsung GS3 and I have had problems with the outer shell becoming too stretched out and it won't fit snug on the hard case anymore which is bothersome since I put it in my purse and it catches on things and it doesn't look pretty to see the wide gaps between the case and the shell. Disappointed in this one but it does what it says it will do it still protects which is why I gave it a 3 star but the case is too expensive to have such designer flaws in my opinion. And the picture shows it to be purple and lighter purple for the boom but when you get it, the colors are more pink/maroon than purple. I am including a picture that I submitted for the warranty to show you what I mean about it being pulled away from the sides.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, outer shell stretches and won't fit on hard case, the color of the hard case is pink than purple
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case except....

Date:February 19, 2013
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The design is good, and has protected against many drops. The one complaint, and it's a serious one is that the outer rubber case stretches quickly. It mostly happens on the bottom part of it and I am guessing that is because of the rubber cover that goes over the usb plug on it. The first one I had lasted about 3 1/2 months before I couldn't take it any more and Sprint replaced it for me. Now 3 months later, it's almost as stretched out. So yes it's good for damage control, but the stretching is making me think I should choose a different case.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Good Protection, Bad Screen

Date:September 15, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I purchased this case because I was impressed with the Otterbox Commuter my wife had on her iPhone 4. I work construction and wanted the added protection the Defender offered. While the fit and finish of the case is great, I had dirt/dust getting under the screen protector within hours and the "clear" screen protector was already blurry before I installed it on the phone. After two days I ended up popping the screen protector off just so the screen image was tolerable. Seems ridiculous to have such an expensive, well-designed, protective case with such a TERRIBLE screen cover.
Pros: Durable
Cons: blurry screen protector
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not what I had expected.

Date:May 1, 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Although the inner shell of this case works great at protecting the phone, the outer silicone shell leaves a lot to be desired. After just a few months of use on my wifes S3 the edge that locks into the inner case has stretched to the point of falling off.
These cases aren't cheap and I expected it to last much longer than this. I would not buy this particular case again.
Cons: Not durable, bad design of outer shell
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Great beginnings to horrible let down

Date:October 8, 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
All was well the first month. The protection is incredible. Screen cover and hard inner case fit like glove. The outer rubber case fit well too. But after a month of use, the edges of the rubber case started to stretch and loosen. Now (two months later), the entire bottom of the case has stretched and doesn't attach to phone. The top is starting to show the same signs. Filled out a report online today. Will see how long it takes to get help.
Cons: rubber/plastic cover stretches out and loosens, bulky edges around screen
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Silicon stretches.

Date:February 14, 2013
Location: New Zealand.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
After about 6 months the silicon has stretched to the point where it's easier to use without it. It started stretching at the corners after a couple of months and now will not attached to the phone on the top or bottom and only just to the sides.
Only the port plugs hold the silicon on the case if I got to remove it from my pocket so now I just use the inner hard case. The case no longer fits into the holster as the silicon is covering the holes.
Pros: fully enclosed
Cons: Low quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

GS3 Defender Case

Date:December 30, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The case was fine for a few weeks. Then the silicone cover began to stretch and now it doesn't fit on any of the corners and it looks very cheap. Iv'e had cases from otterbox before and they have held up, but this particular one just doesn't live up to their quality. Pretty disappointed.
Cons: Low quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Will definitely use again

Date:October 26, 2012
Location: Southeast, USA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I had the same issue where the rubber backing became loose around the edges of the case. However, I contacted Customer Service and they, not only sent me a new rubber backing but, an entirely new case. I will use OtterBox again and already have recommended them to others.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great customer service
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

The Silicone Is Horrible Quality

Date:January 19, 2013
Location: Pan
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been using otterbox products for years. Since I purchased my first Iphone I also purchased an otterbox and have had an otterbox on every phone I have owned since then. I currently own a white galaxy s3 and i have the purple on purple otterbox. I purchased my first defender series case in september. By october, the silicone was loose fitting and making the use of my phone uncomfortable. i called and it was replaced around the end of November. Here we are in mid January and I am having the same problem yet again. There is also a scratch, no very deep, across the screen cover. I have spent well over $150 in different otterbox cases because i feel the quality is worth the price, but im starting to slowly rethink it. I dont want to have to continuously buy new otterbox cases just because of loose fitting silicone covers.
Pros: Durable, great protection from impact
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, loose fitting silicone skin
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Very dissapointed

Date:January 9, 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The silicone case lost it's shape and now it looks like an old worn out shoe around my beautiful cell phone... really - this is not what i expected from this case........ it's been 3 weeks since i have it.
Pros: it seems that it protects the phone.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, bad materials...
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

That silicon...

Date:November 13, 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I absolutely loved this case! It protects my phone like nobody's business. I'd drop my S3 on the ground just to show how confident i was with the protection. I've had this case for 3 months. However there was 1 main problem that arose that caused me to order a different case from OtterBox.
----------------------------------------------------------
1) Silicon Shell
- it really grabs onto your pockets. I have to use one hand to open my pocket and the other to put the phone in my pocket.
-If you plan on putting your phone in your pocket then eventually (for me it was 3 months) the Silicon is going to start losing its tightness. For me the bottom half near the home button and all four corners of the the silicon detached from the plastic casing and starting to get annoying.
-----Minor Issues-----
Screen Protector:
-At first i loved that idea of the screen protector being part of the case. but since there are holes for the home button and camera, lint sneaks its way through the cracks making me take the case apart to clean it out. (which adds to the problem of the silicon stretching.)
-some people have said that they apply there own screen protector and take off the one that is glued on the case. I can see how this could work since there is only a thin line of glue holding that screen in place and doesnt look like to much of a mess to remove.
Another issue ive found, as with most cases, is that the outer ring of the phone will get little microscratches from moving around inside the case. I like how there was a thin foam padding for the back side of the phone, but i feel like there shouldve been foam all around or at least at the foour corners.
I read alot of complaints about the case being bulky or heavy and i dont really think thats being very fair. If you are buying the Defender Series you are obviously trying to protect your phone at all cost, and having to add all those layers of protection will obviously add some weight and bulkiness. its a trade off of slim and light with less protection, or heavy and bulky with ALOT more protection.
-----Some Hope-----
-My Mother has the S3 with the Defender Series and the silicon hasnt lost its grip yet. Shes had it for about 2 months but the fact is that she puts her phone in her purse, which avoids the pulling of the silicon that your pockets would create.
-Similar situation with my Father, He has the S2 with the Defender Series but using the belt clip. Which again avoids the pulling of the silicon. He has also had it for 2 months.
-I called OtterBox yesterday and they offered to replaced the silicon backing for absolutely free including free S&H.
-----Conclusion-----
I would recommend this case to a friend but with the question of where are you planning on carrying your phone. -Pocket? Go for something else or be prepared to call for a new silicon backing in a few months.
-Belt clip or purse? GET IT!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: minor design issues, material choice
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Giant Pain

Date:February 15, 2013
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The rubber case on my phone began to sag and impede my use of the belt clip within 2 months. I was relieved when I heard that Otterbox would replace the rubber. That has been tempered by the Hoops they put in place for you to jump through. Given that the original case lasted less then 2 months very much not sure that getting a replacement that works 2 months will be worth the hassle.
Also this site is an incredible hassle.. they try to frustrate you out of any response... guess you have to be getting paid or be highly irritated to make it worthwhile
Pros: protected phone in falls
Cons: Not durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Miled out

Date:February 11, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Exterior rubber case is stretched out and barely stays on the rigid plastic case. Allows dirt/dust to collect between the rubber and plastic. Mine is only a few months old. Way to expensive for this to already be a problem. Won't be buying another one.
Cons: Low quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Not happy!!

Date:October 13, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Bought a defender series case for my GsIII, coupla months ago. Already the silicon outter part is startintg to stretch out. It doesn't fit at the bottom anymore and its starting to do the same at the top. Screen cover scratches very easily. Not very dust proof. The concept seems like a good idea but poor execution.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Horrible

Date:February 9, 2013
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Allows a lot of dirt between the screen protector and the screen and the silicone bumper is CHEAP stretches rather quickly without being removed much. This needs to be redesigned from the ground up for better fit and better screen protection from dust/dirt
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, not a good fit
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Extremely poor quality and design

Date:February 8, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I can count the number of times I took the cover off and thats maybe 3-4 times . In a month the cover started falling apart. Got loose on the ends, became loose from the back and now the rubber cover and the plastic casing are disjointed. The rubber of the cover is of a very poor quality and started shrinking from the edges and expanding from the back within few weeks. Please check pictures
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, gets loose on the ends, doesnt fit well, keeps falling apart
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

The case itself is nicely made and fits the phone

Date:January 10, 2013
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was very happy with this case at first, after about 2 months that changed. The case is built very well and fits my phone perfectly. It's the silicone layer causes the problem, it stretches out and away from the case. It makes for a very messy looking fit. This is my second Defender case. The first one did the same thing within the same timeframe. I thought it was just a defective case, so I figured I would try it again. I called customer service and was sent a replacement fairly quickly. Now, this one has done the same. I called to get another replacement, although I'm pretty fed up with this case, I feel that the amount that I paid for this case is worth at least one or two more replacements. I had several recommendations to purchase an Otterbox case. I had such high expectations, however, I would never recommend this case.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Defender Graphics Series
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

The Silicone Stretches

Date:October 17, 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
In less than a month of normal use, the outer silicone layer has become stretched and doesn't stay attached to the bevels on the hard case.
Pros: High quality
Cons: poor outer silicone layer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>