OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Torch Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case

The BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800 is a super high-tech device that requires only the best protection available. Keep your new phone and all of its features in top-notch condition with the OtterBox Commuter Series for BlackBerry Torch 9800 . This case includes a durable silicone mid-layer with plugs for port protection and a high-quality polycarbonate outer shell. About our Commuter Series: Three slender, yet sturdy layers offer tough protection in a sleek package. With a slim form factor and smooth outer layer, this case slides easily in and out of a pocket, purse or bag.
Average Customer Rating:
2.17 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
20
1 star
16
9 out of 47(19%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Review 21 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Broke within two weeks of owning...

Date:November 6, 2010
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My case is less than 3 months old and it's completely falling appart. It started breaking within a week or two of having it and has slowly gotten worse. I don't even bother with the front cover anymore since I'd have to tape it on... The back cover is still useful although it's cracking down the middle. I haven't really dropped my phone since owning the case so it's pretty disappointing.
A friend highly recommended otterbox to me and I've only heard great things about their cases. So, I was rather shocked when my case started falling appart so rapidly. I don't have disposable income to buy case after case and for the amount money I spent on this case I would have expected more.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:November 2, 2010
Location: England
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have purchased several Otterbox products in the past but this is one is terrible, the others being excellent. unlike the other reviews on here, i have no problem with the front clip on section, my problem is with the rear section, not only does it not fit very well, when i did accidently drop my phone, the plastic section smashed on impact, other covers i have, have rubber corners protecting the device which this one does not leaving it very vulnerable. i wouldn’t recommend this cover.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor fit right out of the box

Date:October 24, 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Just upgraded to a Blackberry Torch. Picked up the otterbox case at the AT&T store. The rep had huge problems putting the case on and then it was "too tight" so it kept putting pressure on the lock button. It kept going to sleep and finally it just froze on me. We tried another case but it kept doing the same thing so I returned it. Well designed, but not well thought out. We have an otterbox case for my wife's iphone and it works great. A little disappointed in this one.
Pros: High quality, fits well
Cons: no screen protector, no belt clip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Broken in less than two weeks & horrible service

Date:June 10, 2011
Location: Antigonish, NS
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I broke the face plate part of the case in less than two weeks. It fell less than a foot from my hand onto the ground, face down and the faceplate broke. Only positive was it saved my screen. But I waited THREE WEEKS for my replacement to be sent to me, when it was supposed to be sent 72 hours after my confirmation. I received a new case in replacement, but I will not continue with this line if it were to break again, because I am not putting my phone through another three weeks of no case.
Everyone bragged of how great Otterbox is, however I am disappointed of the lack protection this case gives my Torch as well as the service I received.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, face plate breaks too easily, not a lot of color selection
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not worth the price

Date:October 29, 2010
Location: Houston. TX
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The back part of the case is great ang i have no complaints but the front part that goes around the screen well thats a different story. At the beggining it would always pop off for no reason while i was just putting it in my purse or getting it out. And i ignored it didnt think anything of it. But after a week of having it i pull it out of my purse and the front piece just broke. I decided to super glue it and it was fine until the next day it broke again at a different spot. Needless to say i will try to get a refund or something. And i will not purchase another otterbox product for this phone. maybe if the front piece was silicone it would be better but for right now it sucks.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 26 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not so good.

Date:December 15, 2010
Location: Western Mass
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This case could have been good, but it's just not. The back of the case isn't too bad, it seems to protect my phone fairly well, but the rubber plugs for the headphone jack and charging cord always end up popping out, which is fairly annoying. My biggest issue and the reason I don't like the case is because the face plate for the front feels extra cheap, isn't very durable, and is super easy to break. Not only did the itsy-bitsy little clips on the faceplate break within a month of having the case, but the faceplate pops off the front of my phone all the time. Even just gently dropping the phone on the carpet in my room pops the faceplate off. OtterBox needs to go back and rethink this case a bit, because most of the other OtterBox's I've seen are much better quality than this one.
Pros: back of the case is fairly strong, good looking case
Cons: faceplate pops off constantly., tabs on faceplate break really easy., faceplate is flimsy and not very protective., rubber plugs pop out all the time.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 27 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Locks up the Phone - The requires a battery pull/

Date:December 20, 2010
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
After a short time of phone locks up and requires a battery pull. I wish I read the reviews on the case before buying one. The phone is useless with the case.
Pros: High quality
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 28 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

horrible case

Date:December 30, 2010
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
i've got the case for the torch and its a great cases but is made of poor quality material. the top case slides of too easy and the main part cracked where the headphone jack is located at. Otter box needs to make a case that is effective to work with the phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, front case falls off too easily
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 29 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

BAD.

Date:May 13, 2011
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The front case keeps breaking off. If you drop it once it it breaks and leaves your phone with scratches. I really hope otterbox will come up with a good case for this phone. One with color to like the iphone cases
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, breakable, ugly
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Don't do it!

Date:April 10, 2011
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased the Otterbox thinking the quality would be on par with the one that I bought for my Ipod. Boy was I mistaken!!! This thing does not cut it!!! As most other reviews have stated the front portion has broken on me after about one month each time AT&T has replaced it. Thank goodness for their one year warranty. The back portion does it's job well. But the front needs to be redesigned. The plastic tab that holds the guard to the front of the phone is too thin. This is where at least three of them have broken on me. Once again AT&T thanks for the 24/7 365 warranty on the case
Pros: at&t's warranty
Cons: poor design
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 31 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Must Have!!!!!! For All Phones!!!!

Date:May 3, 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This blackberry case is amazing......I drop my phone weekly and my phone would be broken many times over again if it wasn't for the OtterBox. Also, my face plate fell off for good and I emailed OtterBox, they instantly sent me another case at no charge.
Thank You OtterBox!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case for the Torch hands down

Date:November 24, 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Hello,
So after I saw these two reviews above, I thought I had tyo comment.
I got my otterbox commuter case for my RED BlackBerry Torch about a week ago and has been nothing but happiness.
The back portion of the phone makes it EASIER to press the buttons as it raises it, and there is very little pressure needed to apply this. Unlike other cases, the phone doesnt blip out because of the sleep/wake button. The back portion is perfection. Simple, tasteful and full of protection.
Now for the front. EXCELLENT FIT! I understand that the first set/batches of the Blackberry Torches that came out came with a "slightly smaller" screen, but I have tried the front part of the case on multiple phones that came out recently and works PERFECTLY. I have dropped the phone twice already getting out of my ambulance, and it holds up. Doesnt pop off, crack, or anything.
Now as for the protection. Its pretty good. Its def not a defender series where I dropped my old BlackBerry 9700 down two flights or stairs, but it gets the job done. Would I recommend dropping you phone from a moving car and expect it to survive? No! But, it will protect you from everyday normal use.
The screen protector is well, a screen protector. Nothing more, nothing less. I throw my phone in my pocket with keys sometimes, and the protector does the job. Nothing really special there.
Anyways, I rate this case a 5/5.
Adam
Pros: High quality, Durable, front screen fits fine
Cons: not in red.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 33 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Tried to do it

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I like the back part of this cover. The front part continues to fall off and has broke on both of the phones we have. It does not have any type of clip case for your pants so you have to keep the phone in your pocket or purse or laying around. The front needs a better design which I am confident Otterbox will design. The back is high quality and durable but the front piece is not. I did contact customer service with the problem and they were very helpful.
Pros: High quality, Durable, color not just black
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 30, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I want to know the price blackberry commuter torch series
Pros: High quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case and Customer Service

Date:August 10, 2011
Location: Palmetto Ga
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I broke the face plate off this case, I emailed customer service and they shipped me a whole new case.. I did not expect a whole new case, and was more than willing to pay for the face plate. But it did save my Blackberry in the process.
I am more than pleased with this case, and Otter Box customer service and products
Like anything there is room to make it better, but in the grand scheme of things it is a great case, and does what it should protect my phone..
And I have brought one for my wife and son..
Pros: High quality
Cons: face plate could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

very poor quality

Date:April 8, 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have purchased 3 and all have broken within a year.
The face is too cheaply made. The clips on the back side will break off. Manufacture needs to keep in mind that the Blackberry Torch has a slider screen with alot of movement. Photo is of my last otterbox which cracked while i was just answering my phone (pressing the green answer button.)
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:April 2, 2011
Location: New Orleans, LA
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I got the case for the Torch and it is a god case but it is made of horrible quality material. The top clip on the top piece breaks of WAY to easily and the thin plastic part, above where the headphone jack is.
I have email Otterbox and got warranty replacements about 6 times and I got the case 4 mouths ago.
Otterbox needs to do a lot of improvement on this case and when my warranty ends I want a full refund!
Pros: Durable, silicon so it's flexable
Cons: Low quality, breakable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Front Cover issue

Date:March 5, 2011
Location: NW Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
This phone has not been easy to find a cover for that really works.I like the way the back fits. Buttons are easy to use. The cover is the issue.It continually pops off. It popped off the other day and when I went to snap it back on it broke. Only had the thing 2 months. If someone knows of something better please let me know.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:February 23, 2011
Location: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The back of this case is extremely durable, and I love the protective insert in the back. But, the faceplate cover breaks very easily. I've had this phone for 3 months, and i've already been through 2 cases. The second one, the front cover broke the first time i dropped it.
Pros: back with sleeve insert
Cons: front cover breaks very easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Only one problem

Date:November 25, 2010
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The case offers superb protection compared to the rest. The top part of my case did not have any problems or issues with it dropping out or being loose, my only complaint is the plug covering the Micro-USB port. After a few charges and plug-ins to the computer, the plug that is supposed to fit snugly into the Micro-USB keeps popping out of the hole. It has cased me quite a big irritation as it looks ugly, doesn't look as sleek as it should with part of the case sticking out, and doesn't fully protect it as it is not fully plugged in. No matter what I do it doesn't stay in the Micro-USB as it is supposed to anymore. It would be better if it was redesign so that something would hold the plug in place.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: micro-usb plug comes out easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>