OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Torch Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case

The BlackBerry® Torch™ 9800 is a super high-tech device that requires only the best protection available. Keep your new phone and all of its features in top-notch condition with the OtterBox Commuter Series for BlackBerry Torch 9800 . This case includes a durable silicone mid-layer with plugs for port protection and a high-quality polycarbonate outer shell. About our Commuter Series: Three slender, yet sturdy layers offer tough protection in a sleek package. With a slim form factor and smooth outer layer, this case slides easily in and out of a pocket, purse or bag.
Average Customer Rating:
2.159 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
19
1 star
15
9 out of 44(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Review 21 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not Worth The Price

Date:November 19, 2010
Location: South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The back of the case is great. I don't need the back of my phone protected. The front cover is flimsy. I've had it less than 2 months and it's broken. Don't waste your money. It won't protect the important part of the phone.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, flimsy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Torch, black is bad and pink is good

Date:November 15, 2010
Location: Ottawa
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Everything that i have seen in your line is great. But there is always the odd problem. the button part of your case for the 9800 does not work and i've been told that the pink version does.
So if your a guy and want the case to work on your torch, man up and get pink!
Pros: High quality
Cons: functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not what I expected

Date:November 6, 2010
Location: Runnemede, NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a 3 piece case. The silicone sleeve and back piece together form a shell around the phone, which works well and is aesthetically pleasing. The third piece is a bezel which snaps over the screen/button/trackpad portion of the phone. This third piece was poorly designed and in normal implementation seems to fall off/pop off for no reason, even seemingly with no pressure applied. After just putting it back on and dealing with it for the past 3 weeks, the lower protruding piece of plastic that clips the bezel to the phone has sheared in a corner creating a sharp edge that juts out and thus will not stay attached to the phone.
Avoid if possible. There aren't a plethora of cases available and again the back shell/silicone are very functional but are only protecting the battery door, which costs much less to replace than buying this case.
Pros: doesn't add much weight/thickness, diamond cut pattern helps with traction, precision cut holes/flaps
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, doesn't adequately protect screen, bezel can interfere with physical keys
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Broke within two weeks of owning...

Date:November 6, 2010
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My case is less than 3 months old and it's completely falling appart. It started breaking within a week or two of having it and has slowly gotten worse. I don't even bother with the front cover anymore since I'd have to tape it on... The back cover is still useful although it's cracking down the middle. I haven't really dropped my phone since owning the case so it's pretty disappointing.
A friend highly recommended otterbox to me and I've only heard great things about their cases. So, I was rather shocked when my case started falling appart so rapidly. I don't have disposable income to buy case after case and for the amount money I spent on this case I would have expected more.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:November 2, 2010
Location: England
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have purchased several Otterbox products in the past but this is one is terrible, the others being excellent. unlike the other reviews on here, i have no problem with the front clip on section, my problem is with the rear section, not only does it not fit very well, when i did accidently drop my phone, the plastic section smashed on impact, other covers i have, have rubber corners protecting the device which this one does not leaving it very vulnerable. i wouldn’t recommend this cover.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Tried to do it

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I like the back part of this cover. The front part continues to fall off and has broke on both of the phones we have. It does not have any type of clip case for your pants so you have to keep the phone in your pocket or purse or laying around. The front needs a better design which I am confident Otterbox will design. The back is high quality and durable but the front piece is not. I did contact customer service with the problem and they were very helpful.
Pros: High quality, Durable, color not just black
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not worth the price

Date:October 29, 2010
Location: Houston. TX
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The back part of the case is great ang i have no complaints but the front part that goes around the screen well thats a different story. At the beggining it would always pop off for no reason while i was just putting it in my purse or getting it out. And i ignored it didnt think anything of it. But after a week of having it i pull it out of my purse and the front piece just broke. I decided to super glue it and it was fine until the next day it broke again at a different spot. Needless to say i will try to get a refund or something. And i will not purchase another otterbox product for this phone. maybe if the front piece was silicone it would be better but for right now it sucks.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 28 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Unfortunately the worst Otterbox I have had so far

Date:October 25, 2010
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I've purchased various Otterbox cases for several devices and have always been more than happy with them, recommending them to anyone who would listen. Unfortunately this time it isn't the same. This case doesn't fit very well, don't get me wrong, its ok, but far inferior to the other cases i've had. For instance, The others have either had rubber corners or a rubber outer which means if you accidently drop your phone, not only is the phone safe, the case remains undamaged too, carrying on protecting for future accidents. But the Blackberry storm case has a hard plastic outer shell with a rubber liner, if an accident occurs the plastic shatters,which unfortunately I discovered within a couple of weeks of owning it after dropping it about 2 feet onto a hard surface. To be fair the phone was undamaged, so you could argue the case did its job, but I'm not convinced.
only 2 stars from me.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor fit right out of the box

Date:October 24, 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Just upgraded to a Blackberry Torch. Picked up the otterbox case at the AT&T store. The rep had huge problems putting the case on and then it was "too tight" so it kept putting pressure on the lock button. It kept going to sleep and finally it just froze on me. We tried another case but it kept doing the same thing so I returned it. Well designed, but not well thought out. We have an otterbox case for my wife's iphone and it works great. A little disappointed in this one.
Pros: High quality, fits well
Cons: no screen protector, no belt clip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Broken in less than two weeks & horrible service

Date:June 10, 2011
Location: Antigonish, NS
Gender: female
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I broke the face plate part of the case in less than two weeks. It fell less than a foot from my hand onto the ground, face down and the faceplate broke. Only positive was it saved my screen. But I waited THREE WEEKS for my replacement to be sent to me, when it was supposed to be sent 72 hours after my confirmation. I received a new case in replacement, but I will not continue with this line if it were to break again, because I am not putting my phone through another three weeks of no case.
Everyone bragged of how great Otterbox is, however I am disappointed of the lack protection this case gives my Torch as well as the service I received.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, face plate breaks too easily, not a lot of color selection
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 31 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

One-time use only

Date:May 20, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased an OtterBox specifically because I can be hard on phones and it offered the kind of protection that I require. The extra cost compared to similar cases was a seemingly a worthy investment.
Wrong. Wrong. Wrong.
The OtterBox case offers no more protection that a similar, less priced case. As a matter of fact, you may get better protection from another case.
These cases are are about as fragile as an eggshell. Don't get me wrong, the case will do what it's designed for - protecting your phone - however, it's a "one-time use only".
I'm presently on my FOURTH case in about 6 months.
Why? Well, there's a variety of reasons.
First of all, the front piece is extremely flimsy. It tends to crack at the top corners - either from a tumble or even from having it in your pocket. If that doesn't crack, then it's the piece behind that attaches it to the phone as it's nothing more than a thin piece plastic.
The other issue that I've had is that the areas around the ports on the back piece have cracked as well. The plastic around the ports seems to be thinner than the actual back piece itself. Any amount of stress - even from the phone being in your pocket - seems to have resulted in cracking.
I'm extremely disappointed in my OtterBox case and I would definitely not recommend the hassles to anyone else.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, flimsy, poorly designed, high priced
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor Design

Date:May 2, 2011
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
In order to get this product to work at all I had to trim a lot of the rubber seal away from my external buttons. Otherwise, it just kept mashing the buttons on my phone and I couldn't access anything on the screen without taking the cover completely off of the phone. Sorry, but this one is a dud in my opinion.
Cons: phone not functional with cover in place
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not Good

Date:April 25, 2011
Location: Earle, AR
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I purshased this product less then a moth, it has broken, both cases> I have purshased otterboxes before for my 9700> The one for the 9800 is not a good product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

bad design

Date:April 16, 2011
Location: Northern Ky
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
My thoght was that if I was buying an Otter Box, quality would be a given. I was very dissappointed in the quality and probably more disappointed with the design. The front cover broke from attaching, the back cracked from the side where you plug in charger. Because of the front cover breaking after a month (how it attaches) Ithen was forced to use without it, I of course dropped my Torch and it is now scratched and scraped!! The good news, is that they are standing behind it and sending a new one, which doesnt fix my damaged phone!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Don't do it!

Date:April 10, 2011
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased the Otterbox thinking the quality would be on par with the one that I bought for my Ipod. Boy was I mistaken!!! This thing does not cut it!!! As most other reviews have stated the front portion has broken on me after about one month each time AT&T has replaced it. Thank goodness for their one year warranty. The back portion does it's job well. But the front needs to be redesigned. The plastic tab that holds the guard to the front of the phone is too thin. This is where at least three of them have broken on me. Once again AT&T thanks for the 24/7 365 warranty on the case
Pros: at&t's warranty
Cons: poor design
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

very poor quality

Date:April 8, 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have purchased 3 and all have broken within a year.
The face is too cheaply made. The clips on the back side will break off. Manufacture needs to keep in mind that the Blackberry Torch has a slider screen with alot of movement. Photo is of my last otterbox which cracked while i was just answering my phone (pressing the green answer button.)
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Torch Otterbox

Date:March 15, 2011
Location: Shamokin, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this about amonth ago and I have hated it the whole time. The rubber case doe's not fit, the plugs were the power and earphones plug will not stay in they always pop out, on the face slide screen the case around the edge will not stay on, and the case were the upper volume button and earplugs go in is so thin that it broke the very first time I took it off to clean my mini sd card off. Not a good case and would not recommend for my 4 and 5 your old boy's play toy phones.
Pros: n/a
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, doe's not fit properly, not easy to remove, rubber case plugs will not stay in, and many more
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Locks up the Phone - The requires a battery pull/

Date:December 20, 2010
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
After a short time of phone locks up and requires a battery pull. I wish I read the reviews on the case before buying one. The phone is useless with the case.
Pros: High quality
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 39 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Torch 9800 Case

Date:November 22, 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
This case has caused me nothing but grief. The silicone part that holds the main cover on constantly locks my screen on and off unless I pry it up and stretch it. Then it goes back to its original shape and locks and unlocks my screen 200 times a minute. And YES it is installed properly. It cannot be used.
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for BlackBerry Torch Commuter Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not What I Expected

Date:November 17, 2010
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Most of my friends have iphones and use the otter box and say it's great. Unfortunately the otter box for the Torch just doesn't compare. The part that goes on the back of the phone is great, no complaints. The plastic piece that goes on the slider part on the front of the phone has been nothing but problems. Since the day I purchase it the front piece would come off very easily without much force at all. I returned it once and got a new one, same problem. This time the front piece popped off and I lost it, shortly after that I dropped my phone and now my entire screen is smashed. Because of that I do not recommend this product until the flaw has been corrected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>