OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

The OtterBox Defender Series case for the BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700/9780 smartphone provides the ideal solution for those looking for just the right amount of protection. With three layers of protection you can rest assured that your smartphone will be safe. All features, keys and ports are accessible through the case, providing you with a unique, interactive safeguard. Included with this case is a holster style ratcheting belt clip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.083 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
11
24 out of 48(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Review 1 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, Awful Holster

Date:December 30, 2010
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have experienced the same concerns as others with the Defender 9700 Case. At first the holster holds the phone in place strong, but over time, it loosens. Because of this I not only lost my case, but also my Blackberry! It was a very expensive replacement that should have never had to happen.
I give Otterbox credit, they did replace my Case and Holster but with the same one, which again started strong and now I can't use in fear of loosing my Blackberry again and LOTS of money to replace it. I think back to my Pearl and what a GREAT design that holster was, where it had more of a CUP the phone sat in and clicked into. I would highly recommend the defender 9700 case, but as for the holster, beware, eventually you will loose your phone.
Pros: great case
Cons: awful holster
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Good case, bad holster

Date:December 27, 2010
Location: Ottawa
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The case itself is amazing. The quality has skyrocketed between this one for my 9700 and the one I had for my Curve 8330.
The holster, however, is terrible. I'm on my third holster from Otter Box. The first one wouldn't hold the phone anymore (too loose). The second one was perfect at first, but cracked two weeks after getting it. The third one was also great, but now is even looser than the first one!
I paid good money for this case and it's terrible. I don't want to email Otter Box asking for another case because I feel it's just going to either break or get too loose to hold my device. Otter Box needs to reverse engineer a different style holster for this phone. One like I had for my 8330.
The holster that comes with the 8330 Defender series will hold the 9700, but still not as solid as it should, maybe Otter Box would be willing to send me one of those?!
I work as a construction and maintenance electrician and lots of coworkers ask about the case. I'd love to recommend it to them but the holster being so loose is a MAJOR downfall and a demonstration of poor engineering. I'd be more than willing to work with Otter Box on finding another holster in their line that works.
Pros: case itself is of very high quality
Cons: Not durable, holster is terrible
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Poor Holster Design

Date:October 27, 2010
Location: Orangeville, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am a huge fan of Otterboxes and they have saved my butt in the past. Unfortunately the holster design on this model doesn't hold the device very well. I've dropped mine numerous times BECAUSE of the case. On at least two occasions it was laying in tall grass and I had to go back looking for it. As a Systems Administrator, I've had several other staff members report similar problems with this design.
Otterbox sent me an upgraded replacement but it was the same design, just tighter fitting. After about a week it had loosened up and continued to drop. I shelved the case until I discovered through a friend that my older 8330 holster would work. I switched to using the 9700 case in the 8330 holster and I haven't dropped my device since!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor holster design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Case excellent... holster not so

Date:August 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
First of all I believe that the Otterbox Defender Case that protects my BB Bold 9780 is great. I can say this every time that -for any reason- I have to get my BB out of the case and I am able to see how good it looks. Is that good that I have bought two Defenders for my BB,... why two? Because of the holster. The clips on both cracked in no time. It is a shame because the case is awesome, but the holster definitively is not. It urgently needs a redesign, better material and better quality control.
I am going to keep the case because it really works; that is what I did the first time the holster cracked until I felt that it was ok to buy another one... not anymore
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster bad design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

almost the ultimate case - holster

Date:October 3, 2011
Location: winnipeg, manitoba, canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
this case is pretty darn good - except i have broken a tab that holds the phone in twice on 2 seperate holsters - cheap design should have stayed with the tour's design.
holster is just junk - does not keep your phone safe - good thing the phone is well protected. i was at a winnipeg blue bomber game, pulled out my black berry and when i snapped it back into the holster i didnt realize the tab broke. except for the nice guy behind me my blackberry would have been gonzo-
also the main case or protection of the phone - the rubber caseing doesnt fit snug and is kind of loose where it just looks sloppy and catched on stuff. after buying two of these i am not sure if ill by a otterbox for my playbook or just stick to the leather case for it.
go back to the design of the tour case - best blackberry case ever.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

love case hate holster

Date:September 16, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought my blackberry 9700 and loved it so I wanted to keep it safe I bought the outter box defender series and it looks great I am on my 2nd holster and I've had to repair them both with a velcro strap that I rigged to them. They look good and work well but its just not the same they definatly need a new idea for the holster maybe the 9650 style holster design but they would have to change the case to make the phone stay in. Thanks for reading sorry so long, Later
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: holster not so durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Idea For A Tradesman

Date:June 12, 2011
Location: calgary
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
durable for floor impact but when you need to remove the battery it can be a pain to get apart.. and the silicone sleeve stretched after 2 weeks. belt clip is ok but yo need to make sure your phone is in evenly or it will pop out.
Pros: Durable
Cons: silicone sleeve stretched out after 2 weeks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Bold 9780 Case

Date:December 26, 2010
Location: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case for the phone is great! I'm very hard on phone at work (ag equipment repair) and this case has saved my phone several times! The only down side I've found so far is that the belt clip broke within 2 weeks of purchase.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: belt clip broke
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Date:November 18, 2010
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have owned Otterbox cases on 2 previous phones. I am a tradesman who needed the best protection. I upgraded to the Bold 9700 and ordered another defender case. I was very disappointed in the design of the holster. It lasted only a couple of weeks before the phone would fall out of the holster. I was forced to buy another case from another manufacturer. I hope that they can redesign the holster someday. Until then I cannot recommend this case setup. Case=top notch. Holster=poor design.
Pros: case
Cons: holster
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Have had better purchases from OtterBox

Date:November 23, 2011
Location: Julesburg, CO
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case is durable and has a great design, but the holster is a whole different story. I had only had this case for a week when the holster broke, allowing the phone to fall out.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Terrible quality holster

Date:October 26, 2011
Location: Manitoba
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Previous model holster was a better design, it kept my phone in place with a higher front plastic piece. I'm on my second holster in just 1 month of getting the new bold, and a tab on both have cracked and DO NOT work anymore. Otterbox - please design a BETTER ONE SOON. I want warranty for both of these!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

keeps breaking

Date:July 7, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I keep breaking the two ears that are designed to retain the phone into the holster. I mean they break like egg shells. I have had 4 of the holsters over the last year. If I hit it walking around a bar or roll over on it while working lying in the floor it will break. It’s not tuff enough for me!!! It may be ruggedized for general use, but not for a working man!
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case but holster is badly designed

Date:April 16, 2011
Location: Alberta
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
On my third replacement holster as the tabs that hold the phone in place crack and break off. The case itself is amazing and provides excellent protection. The only reason I gave it 3 stars for the design and quality is the problems I have had with the holster (otherwise it would be 5 stars across the board!). I am waiting for a reply back from the company for the 4th holster breaking. This is still all with-in the 1st. year. Hopefully they will have resolved the holster design in time with the next replacement? One can only hope. I will follow up with a review if the problem is resolved.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad holster design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

BOLD 9780 DEFENDER CASE

Date:April 13, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The case is well made and durable. It keeps the phone safe!
The problem is this improperly made mediocre sub standard holster which is absolutely horrible. If it wasn’t for the excellent customer service and speedy delivery of a replacement I would have washed my hands of Otter Boxes products forever.
Unfortunately it has been a little over a week and low and be hold the clip on the holster became detached from the belt clip. I had to manually put it back together. And this was after the so called side clips (which were redesigned and were to have been reinforced to keep it from breaking) unfortunately after a week of usage has broken again.
I am disappointed that the problem has not been rectified regarding the flaw of the unit.
One solution may be to replace the defender series 9870 bold holster with the defender series curve 8900 Heavy Duty Belt holster. How I know this is a colleague of mine bought a defender series curve holster. The Blackberry Curve 8900 Heavy Duty Belt Clip; which fit the 9870 bold (with the 9870 defender case on) absolutely perfect. It was snug and accessible without having the fear that every time you get out of your vehicle or get into some time of strenuous work; you risk the chance that your phone is going to come crashing down from your waist, due to the poor workmanship of this horrible holster.
Like I said the case for this unit is phenomenal, but with a mediocre sub standard holster that constantly breaks is out right unacceptable!
Like a said the customer service is excellent and replacement delivery fast, but until they can rectify this series holster I cannot recommend this product to anyone…
Pros: High quality, Durable, the case that holds the phone is phenomenal
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster is absolutely unacceptable sub-standard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Great Case, Poor Holster

Date:December 8, 2010
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
On my third case, tabs stress crack after a couple of days of normal use. OtterBox service is very quick to replace but it's a design flaw that needs addressing. Cannot recommend until holster is redesigned.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Worst Otter Box Yet

Date:November 20, 2010
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I am an Otter Box fan but this case WILL NOT stay in it's holster...... bad design! The case itself protects as an Otter Box if you can keep from loosing your phone.
Pros: Durable
Cons: bad holster
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, BAD Holster!

Date:November 17, 2010
I love my Defender case, but the holster is an absolute piece of junk! I had the first and dropped the phone dozens of times. Called and talked to Otterbox, they sent another one and after few days same thing! Otterbox, fix it please!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Protection. Bad clip

Date:November 8, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love the protection it gives my phone. I'm pretty hard on them. The case I would recomend, But they have got to do something with the clip. I have had it a week and the clip has loosened up and If something touches my phone it will fall out and you dont realize it until you go to reach for it and then have to look for it. Kind of aggrevating. I droped it today and ran over it with the work truck and the phone and case is fine so the case is awesome.
Pros: Durable
Cons: bad clip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

wished the design was like the9000

Date:November 6, 2010
Location: South carolina
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
well i've had this device for several months. the case is perfect and i have no complaints. the holster however is a differenst story. i previously had otterbox with my 9000 and the design was perfect. the phone actually slid down into the holster so no chance of it popping out or the holster breaking because of pressure. in the few months i've owned this one, i have had to have the holster replaced 4 or 5 times and the case itself twice because the little tabs where the holster holds it broke. customer service was excellent in replacing them even telling me the holster was upgraded which apparently it wasn't except maybe they made the little arms thicker, but they still break after use. overall, if i had any recommendations to otterbox, i see that i'm not the only one with this problem, so i would say quickly design a holster like the 9000 so the phone slides in it. i tried my 9000 holster and it kept the phone from being lost as the previous reviewer spoke of, but running and jumping over something will definitely not hold it there. please please please, fix the holster! i had to replace it again this morning with an extra i had.
Pros: great case for the phone
Cons: the holster design is terribad!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

case = outstanding / holster = horrible

Date:November 2, 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My fourth Otterbox case/holster combo - this go 'round, the case itself is outstanding - great use of plexi for screen & camera window, as well as keeping the soft vinyl for the keyboard.
The holster is a disaster compared to past ones for my 8900 & Curve - after only two months of light use, one of the plastic pins that are supposed to hold the BlackBerry in place (but really don't) broke after fairly light duty use; the holsters for the other two BlackBerry's are still fully functional.
Hopefully a redesign is in the works - up to this experience have been a huge fan of Otterbox products; this one is a big disappointment.
Pros: High quality, Durable, case is excellent!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster is very poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>