OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

The OtterBox Defender Series case for the BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700/9780 smartphone provides the ideal solution for those looking for just the right amount of protection. With three layers of protection you can rest assured that your smartphone will be safe. All features, keys and ports are accessible through the case, providing you with a unique, interactive safeguard. Included with this case is a holster style ratcheting belt clip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.083 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
11
24 out of 48(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Review 21 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Case issues

Date:November 14, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The holster for this unit is poor. I have had the tabs break off twice and ,now my service provider will not replace them. I had to buy an complete kit to get another holster. The phone has dropped out the holster several times. Great case , very poor holster.
Pros: great case
Cons: very poor holster
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Protection. Bad clip

Date:November 8, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love the protection it gives my phone. I'm pretty hard on them. The case I would recomend, But they have got to do something with the clip. I have had it a week and the clip has loosened up and If something touches my phone it will fall out and you dont realize it until you go to reach for it and then have to look for it. Kind of aggrevating. I droped it today and ran over it with the work truck and the phone and case is fine so the case is awesome.
Pros: Durable
Cons: bad clip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

wished the design was like the9000

Date:November 6, 2010
Location: South carolina
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
well i've had this device for several months. the case is perfect and i have no complaints. the holster however is a differenst story. i previously had otterbox with my 9000 and the design was perfect. the phone actually slid down into the holster so no chance of it popping out or the holster breaking because of pressure. in the few months i've owned this one, i have had to have the holster replaced 4 or 5 times and the case itself twice because the little tabs where the holster holds it broke. customer service was excellent in replacing them even telling me the holster was upgraded which apparently it wasn't except maybe they made the little arms thicker, but they still break after use. overall, if i had any recommendations to otterbox, i see that i'm not the only one with this problem, so i would say quickly design a holster like the 9000 so the phone slides in it. i tried my 9000 holster and it kept the phone from being lost as the previous reviewer spoke of, but running and jumping over something will definitely not hold it there. please please please, fix the holster! i had to replace it again this morning with an extra i had.
Pros: great case for the phone
Cons: the holster design is terribad!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Like the product, hate the belt clip

Date:February 3, 2013
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased the Defender series for my 9780. Within a month the belt clip broke. Otterbox replaced. Then again. Then again with a comment that no more. They need to re-design the holder and now the tabs as one is broken because it fell out of belt clip. Great idea but quality seems weak.
Pros: Durable, great idea
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Have had better purchases from OtterBox

Date:November 23, 2011
Location: Julesburg, CO
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case is durable and has a great design, but the holster is a whole different story. I had only had this case for a week when the holster broke, allowing the phone to fall out.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holder keeps breaking

Date:July 21, 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I'm on my third box, each time failure is the ear clip on the holder. Failure mode seems to be when phone is attached if it is at all off centre or tilted wrong it puts pressure on the ear clips. A crack forms and eventually and quite quickly the ear breaks off.
Cons: holder breaks easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Blackberry defender review

Date:May 17, 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case is awesome!!! But the belt clip/holster is terrible. I am pretty hard on my phone. Which is why I need a strong protective case for my phone... Here's a real life example... I work in an environment that requires me to work from lift equipment at heights anywhere from 20 to 50 feet above the ground. On this particular occasion I was working 20 feet up when I turned and heard my phone bump the rail of the scissor lift I was working from. As I watched my phone falling to the ground, I remember thinking that I was going to have to buy a new phone. I watched it bounce once off the pavement before it stopped. I lowered the lift so I could retrieve it and found it still holding up. This case is wonderful with its 3 layers of protection. I started to wonder why it fell from such a slight bump... So I examined the belt clip and found a small barely noticeable crack on one of the tabs. The belt clip is poorly designed. It would be perfect if it was designed more like a pocket to (snap) the phone into rather than a clip to snap the phone onto.
Pros: this case is very durable. great for rough use.
Cons: the clip design is poor. tabs break too easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Need a major design rework

Date:April 6, 2011
Location: Sherbrooke, Qc. Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought this case for protection. As a machinist, my bold 9700 used to get full of metal chips and grease. With this case, everything was now under control. Except for the holster and side tabs to snap into the holster. Otterbox was awesome for the great service. Sent me back no charge a new holster, new case then another new holster. Now, it's been about 4 months I've own a defender and the side tabs on the case itself just broke again. I am not asking for a replacement anymore. I've just ordered another brand rugged case with, hopefully, a better design.
Pros: unquestionable protection, super service
Cons: bad design, bad holster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Date:November 18, 2010
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have owned Otterbox cases on 2 previous phones. I am a tradesman who needed the best protection. I upgraded to the Bold 9700 and ordered another defender case. I was very disappointed in the design of the holster. It lasted only a couple of weeks before the phone would fall out of the holster. I was forced to buy another case from another manufacturer. I hope that they can redesign the holster someday. Until then I cannot recommend this case setup. Case=top notch. Holster=poor design.
Pros: case
Cons: holster
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

case = outstanding / holster = horrible

Date:November 2, 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My fourth Otterbox case/holster combo - this go 'round, the case itself is outstanding - great use of plexi for screen & camera window, as well as keeping the soft vinyl for the keyboard.
The holster is a disaster compared to past ones for my 8900 & Curve - after only two months of light use, one of the plastic pins that are supposed to hold the BlackBerry in place (but really don't) broke after fairly light duty use; the holsters for the other two BlackBerry's are still fully functional.
Hopefully a redesign is in the works - up to this experience have been a huge fan of Otterbox products; this one is a big disappointment.
Pros: High quality, Durable, case is excellent!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster is very poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster has issues

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Dayton Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have been a Otter Box fan for a few years now. I recomend the cases to everyone I know. My choice of phones is dictated on if there is an Otter Box available for it. With that being said, the Defender case for the Blackberry Bold 9700 is great but the holster is junk. They were good to send me a new one when the first one I had wore out in 2 weeks, but it had the same issues and didn't last either. I do have my holster from my Blackberry 8900. It doesnt exactly fit but it's better than the clips on the 9700 holster. I hope the good people at Otter Box see that this is a design flaw and improve the design. The little rounded edge clips just don't last after a few days the phone starts falling out of the holster. If the bottom was a bit deaper it might work.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable, clips were out, phone falls out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Poor Holster Design

Date:October 27, 2010
Location: Orangeville, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am a huge fan of Otterboxes and they have saved my butt in the past. Unfortunately the holster design on this model doesn't hold the device very well. I've dropped mine numerous times BECAUSE of the case. On at least two occasions it was laying in tall grass and I had to go back looking for it. As a Systems Administrator, I've had several other staff members report similar problems with this design.
Otterbox sent me an upgraded replacement but it was the same design, just tighter fitting. After about a week it had loosened up and continued to drop. I shelved the case until I discovered through a friend that my older 8330 holster would work. I switched to using the 9700 case in the 8330 holster and I haven't dropped my device since!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor holster design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 33 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Case excellent... holster not so

Date:August 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
First of all I believe that the Otterbox Defender Case that protects my BB Bold 9780 is great. I can say this every time that -for any reason- I have to get my BB out of the case and I am able to see how good it looks. Is that good that I have bought two Defenders for my BB,... why two? Because of the holster. The clips on both cracked in no time. It is a shame because the case is awesome, but the holster definitively is not. It urgently needs a redesign, better material and better quality control.
I am going to keep the case because it really works; that is what I did the first time the holster cracked until I felt that it was ok to buy another one... not anymore
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster bad design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 34 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bad Holster

Date:May 23, 2011
Location: Jakarta
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bougth Otterbox Defender for my BB9780 but after 3 weeks using, I found my otterbox holster was cracked and it was happened when I insert my BB into holster.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

BOLD 9780 DEFENDER CASE

Date:April 13, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The case is well made and durable. It keeps the phone safe!
The problem is this improperly made mediocre sub standard holster which is absolutely horrible. If it wasn’t for the excellent customer service and speedy delivery of a replacement I would have washed my hands of Otter Boxes products forever.
Unfortunately it has been a little over a week and low and be hold the clip on the holster became detached from the belt clip. I had to manually put it back together. And this was after the so called side clips (which were redesigned and were to have been reinforced to keep it from breaking) unfortunately after a week of usage has broken again.
I am disappointed that the problem has not been rectified regarding the flaw of the unit.
One solution may be to replace the defender series 9870 bold holster with the defender series curve 8900 Heavy Duty Belt holster. How I know this is a colleague of mine bought a defender series curve holster. The Blackberry Curve 8900 Heavy Duty Belt Clip; which fit the 9870 bold (with the 9870 defender case on) absolutely perfect. It was snug and accessible without having the fear that every time you get out of your vehicle or get into some time of strenuous work; you risk the chance that your phone is going to come crashing down from your waist, due to the poor workmanship of this horrible holster.
Like I said the case for this unit is phenomenal, but with a mediocre sub standard holster that constantly breaks is out right unacceptable!
Like a said the customer service is excellent and replacement delivery fast, but until they can rectify this series holster I cannot recommend this product to anyone…
Pros: High quality, Durable, the case that holds the phone is phenomenal
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster is absolutely unacceptable sub-standard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Good case, bad holster

Date:December 27, 2010
Location: Ottawa
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
The case itself is amazing. The quality has skyrocketed between this one for my 9700 and the one I had for my Curve 8330.
The holster, however, is terrible. I'm on my third holster from Otter Box. The first one wouldn't hold the phone anymore (too loose). The second one was perfect at first, but cracked two weeks after getting it. The third one was also great, but now is even looser than the first one!
I paid good money for this case and it's terrible. I don't want to email Otter Box asking for another case because I feel it's just going to either break or get too loose to hold my device. Otter Box needs to reverse engineer a different style holster for this phone. One like I had for my 8330.
The holster that comes with the 8330 Defender series will hold the 9700, but still not as solid as it should, maybe Otter Box would be willing to send me one of those?!
I work as a construction and maintenance electrician and lots of coworkers ask about the case. I'd love to recommend it to them but the holster being so loose is a MAJOR downfall and a demonstration of poor engineering. I'd be more than willing to work with Otter Box on finding another holster in their line that works.
Pros: case itself is of very high quality
Cons: Not durable, holster is terrible
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 37 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Great Case, Poor Holster

Date:December 8, 2010
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
On my third case, tabs stress crack after a couple of days of normal use. OtterBox service is very quick to replace but it's a design flaw that needs addressing. Cannot recommend until holster is redesigned.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

almost the ultimate case - holster

Date:October 3, 2011
Location: winnipeg, manitoba, canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
this case is pretty darn good - except i have broken a tab that holds the phone in twice on 2 seperate holsters - cheap design should have stayed with the tour's design.
holster is just junk - does not keep your phone safe - good thing the phone is well protected. i was at a winnipeg blue bomber game, pulled out my black berry and when i snapped it back into the holster i didnt realize the tab broke. except for the nice guy behind me my blackberry would have been gonzo-
also the main case or protection of the phone - the rubber caseing doesnt fit snug and is kind of loose where it just looks sloppy and catched on stuff. after buying two of these i am not sure if ill by a otterbox for my playbook or just stick to the leather case for it.
go back to the design of the tour case - best blackberry case ever.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

keeps breaking

Date:July 7, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I keep breaking the two ears that are designed to retain the phone into the holster. I mean they break like egg shells. I have had 4 of the holsters over the last year. If I hit it walking around a bar or roll over on it while working lying in the floor it will break. It’s not tuff enough for me!!! It may be ruggedized for general use, but not for a working man!
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

If You Can Afford to Loose a Phone...

Date:June 1, 2011
Location: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Otterbox can protect the phone from harm very well, but the liklihood of it falling off the holster is extremely high - a very poor design. Simply walking can dis-lodge the phone; stepping off of a stair can cause the phone to dislodge; naturally brushing your elblow lightly against it will dislodge the phone; driving, talking, breathing, sleeping, or any other very normal activity will probably result in the loss of your phone. This is the worst and most expensive cell phone case I have ever owned. Very displeased with the design, it should have never reached the market.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>