OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case

The OtterBox Defender Series case for the BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700/9780 smartphone provides the ideal solution for those looking for just the right amount of protection. With three layers of protection you can rest assured that your smartphone will be safe. All features, keys and ports are accessible through the case, providing you with a unique, interactive safeguard. Included with this case is a holster style ratcheting belt clip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.083 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
11
24 out of 48(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Review 21 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

keeps breaking

Date:July 7, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I keep breaking the two ears that are designed to retain the phone into the holster. I mean they break like egg shells. I have had 4 of the holsters over the last year. If I hit it walking around a bar or roll over on it while working lying in the floor it will break. It’s not tuff enough for me!!! It may be ruggedized for general use, but not for a working man!
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

bad holster, bad case

Date:April 5, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bought the defender series case to protect my phone. The holster is a terrible design and the phone falls out of it easily. My phone fell out of the holster and onto to the ground and the screen broke. The holster needs to be redesigned to secure the phone properly, since the case doesn't protect the phone from shock what so ever. What is going to be done to fix the holster problem?
Pros: plastic keybord cover
Cons: Not durable, holster not secure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

It's simple and it just works

Date:July 16, 2011
Location: WA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Over the last couple of years, I've dropped my BB 9780 on to a surprising variety of surfaces: concrete, steel deck plate, pavement and grass. So far, the Defender case and the BB are still in perfect condition. I'm sure that the BB would have been long gone if it wasn't in a Defender.
Even though the Defender is sturdy, it doesn't get in the way of anything on the phone. Nice design.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Protection. Bad clip

Date:November 8, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I love the protection it gives my phone. I'm pretty hard on them. The case I would recomend, But they have got to do something with the clip. I have had it a week and the clip has loosened up and If something touches my phone it will fall out and you dont realize it until you go to reach for it and then have to look for it. Kind of aggrevating. I droped it today and ran over it with the work truck and the phone and case is fine so the case is awesome.
Pros: Durable
Cons: bad clip
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Blacberry bold defender case/belt clip

Date:December 22, 2010
Location: Calgary'Ab
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case is rugged and durable ! It keeps the majority of all woodworking dust away from the phone itself. HOWever this case design is terrible as it does not hold the phone in place very well! The slightest bump ,nudge or quick motion and you will find you're phone on the ground and hopefully not in the water! I previously had an otterbox for my then blackberry pearl it was a perfect case !! Sorry that they tried to modify this one and ruined a perfect case!
Pros: High quality, Durable, relatively dust proof
Cons: phone wont stay in belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

love case hate holster

Date:September 16, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought my blackberry 9700 and loved it so I wanted to keep it safe I bought the outter box defender series and it looks great I am on my 2nd holster and I've had to repair them both with a velcro strap that I rigged to them. They look good and work well but its just not the same they definatly need a new idea for the holster maybe the 9650 style holster design but they would have to change the case to make the phone stay in. Thanks for reading sorry so long, Later
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: holster not so durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Date:November 18, 2010
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have owned Otterbox cases on 2 previous phones. I am a tradesman who needed the best protection. I upgraded to the Bold 9700 and ordered another defender case. I was very disappointed in the design of the holster. It lasted only a couple of weeks before the phone would fall out of the holster. I was forced to buy another case from another manufacturer. I hope that they can redesign the holster someday. Until then I cannot recommend this case setup. Case=top notch. Holster=poor design.
Pros: case
Cons: holster
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Need a major design rework

Date:April 6, 2011
Location: Sherbrooke, Qc. Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought this case for protection. As a machinist, my bold 9700 used to get full of metal chips and grease. With this case, everything was now under control. Except for the holster and side tabs to snap into the holster. Otterbox was awesome for the great service. Sent me back no charge a new holster, new case then another new holster. Now, it's been about 4 months I've own a defender and the side tabs on the case itself just broke again. I am not asking for a replacement anymore. I've just ordered another brand rugged case with, hopefully, a better design.
Pros: unquestionable protection, super service
Cons: bad design, bad holster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent Case, Great customer service!

Date:January 20, 2012
Location: Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had the otterbox for my iphone4 and worked amazing. I'm a heavy duty mechanic and work on dump trucks and excavators and I took the phone out, looked like brand new! I got my blackberry and had to buy an otterbox. The case is awesome although it is a pretty big phone now. I broke the belt holster the first day I had the otterbox and phoned them as the sales guy said there discontinued (or not receiving anymore) and the customer service was amazing! No questions and said he would send a few extra holsters cause they are no good. Very happy with otterbox, Thanks!
Pros: High quality, Durable, customer service
Cons: belt holster sucks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

If You Can Afford to Loose a Phone...

Date:June 1, 2011
Location: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Otterbox can protect the phone from harm very well, but the liklihood of it falling off the holster is extremely high - a very poor design. Simply walking can dis-lodge the phone; stepping off of a stair can cause the phone to dislodge; naturally brushing your elblow lightly against it will dislodge the phone; driving, talking, breathing, sleeping, or any other very normal activity will probably result in the loss of your phone. This is the worst and most expensive cell phone case I have ever owned. Very displeased with the design, it should have never reached the market.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Bad Holster

Date:March 28, 2011
Location: NJ
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
I had a Blackberry Curve previously and got an Otterbox. I loved it. I used to use Body Glove but Otterbox is much more protective. I recently upgraded to a Blackberry Bold and of course purchased a Otterbox Defender. The holster loosened very shortly after my purchase. BUT....I didn't think twice so I purchased another. I thought it was me. Unfortunately, not my second holster has slightly cracked at one of the two tension points. I love the case though. I hope this review encourages others to write reviews and Otterbox will realize the flaw in the design and REdesign it.
Pros: great case
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, bad holster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case but holster is badly designed

Date:April 16, 2011
Location: Alberta
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
On my third replacement holster as the tabs that hold the phone in place crack and break off. The case itself is amazing and provides excellent protection. The only reason I gave it 3 stars for the design and quality is the problems I have had with the holster (otherwise it would be 5 stars across the board!). I am waiting for a reply back from the company for the 4th holster breaking. This is still all with-in the 1st. year. Hopefully they will have resolved the holster design in time with the next replacement? One can only hope. I will follow up with a review if the problem is resolved.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bad holster design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

case = outstanding / holster = horrible

Date:November 2, 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My fourth Otterbox case/holster combo - this go 'round, the case itself is outstanding - great use of plexi for screen & camera window, as well as keeping the soft vinyl for the keyboard.
The holster is a disaster compared to past ones for my 8900 & Curve - after only two months of light use, one of the plastic pins that are supposed to hold the BlackBerry in place (but really don't) broke after fairly light duty use; the holsters for the other two BlackBerry's are still fully functional.
Hopefully a redesign is in the works - up to this experience have been a huge fan of Otterbox products; this one is a big disappointment.
Pros: High quality, Durable, case is excellent!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holster is very poor design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

very poor design change

Date:December 20, 2011
Location: Natchez, MS
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I had the 9000 series Blackberry defender and loved it great design. I was forced to buy the 9700 series Blackberry when my track ball on my 9000 series quit working. Thinking that the 9700 series Blackberry defender was going to be the same as the 9000 series defender I bought it. I was very disappointed on the design change of the belt clip holster between the 9000 and 9700 series defender. Luckly when my phone fell out of the newly design holster twice. I saw my phone lying on the ground. I would highly recommend changing the design back to the old style or people not to buy the defender and just buy the otter box protective case
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Case excellent... holster not so

Date:August 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
First of all I believe that the Otterbox Defender Case that protects my BB Bold 9780 is great. I can say this every time that -for any reason- I have to get my BB out of the case and I am able to see how good it looks. Is that good that I have bought two Defenders for my BB,... why two? Because of the holster. The clips on both cracked in no time. It is a shame because the case is awesome, but the holster definitively is not. It urgently needs a redesign, better material and better quality control.
I am going to keep the case because it really works; that is what I did the first time the holster cracked until I felt that it was ok to buy another one... not anymore
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster bad design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not a good product

Date:April 12, 2011
Location: Windsor ON Canada
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is my second experience with an otterbox product. I purchased one for my Blackberry Curve and was quite happy with the product. I've now upgraded to a Bold 9780 and again purchased an otterbox. I purchased the defender series because I needed high level protection for my phone. The product is an utter disappointment. The first one I purchased was broken in the box. The phone is difficult to place in the holster. The phone often falls out of the holster. If you want to clean the phone the otter box is difficult to disassemble. Today the holster itself broke while I was putting the phone back in it. This particular otterbox (for 9780 BB) is poorly designed and not worth the investment.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Poor Holster Design

Date:October 27, 2010
Location: Orangeville, Ontario
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I am a huge fan of Otterboxes and they have saved my butt in the past. Unfortunately the holster design on this model doesn't hold the device very well. I've dropped mine numerous times BECAUSE of the case. On at least two occasions it was laying in tall grass and I had to go back looking for it. As a Systems Administrator, I've had several other staff members report similar problems with this design.
Otterbox sent me an upgraded replacement but it was the same design, just tighter fitting. After about a week it had loosened up and continued to drop. I shelved the case until I discovered through a friend that my older 8330 holster would work. I switched to using the 9700 case in the 8330 holster and I haven't dropped my device since!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor holster design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 38 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, Awful Holster

Date:December 30, 2010
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have experienced the same concerns as others with the Defender 9700 Case. At first the holster holds the phone in place strong, but over time, it loosens. Because of this I not only lost my case, but also my Blackberry! It was a very expensive replacement that should have never had to happen.
I give Otterbox credit, they did replace my Case and Holster but with the same one, which again started strong and now I can't use in fear of loosing my Blackberry again and LOTS of money to replace it. I think back to my Pearl and what a GREAT design that holster was, where it had more of a CUP the phone sat in and clicked into. I would highly recommend the defender 9700 case, but as for the holster, beware, eventually you will loose your phone.
Pros: great case
Cons: awful holster
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 39 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster has issues

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Dayton Ohio
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have been a Otter Box fan for a few years now. I recomend the cases to everyone I know. My choice of phones is dictated on if there is an Otter Box available for it. With that being said, the Defender case for the Blackberry Bold 9700 is great but the holster is junk. They were good to send me a new one when the first one I had wore out in 2 weeks, but it had the same issues and didn't last either. I do have my holster from my Blackberry 8900. It doesnt exactly fit but it's better than the clips on the 9700 holster. I hope the good people at Otter Box see that this is a design flaw and improve the design. The little rounded edge clips just don't last after a few days the phone starts falling out of the holster. If the bottom was a bit deaper it might work.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable, clips were out, phone falls out
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for BlackBerry Bold 9700/9780 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

almost the ultimate case - holster

Date:October 3, 2011
Location: winnipeg, manitoba, canada
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
this case is pretty darn good - except i have broken a tab that holds the phone in twice on 2 seperate holsters - cheap design should have stayed with the tour's design.
holster is just junk - does not keep your phone safe - good thing the phone is well protected. i was at a winnipeg blue bomber game, pulled out my black berry and when i snapped it back into the holster i didnt realize the tab broke. except for the nice guy behind me my blackberry would have been gonzo-
also the main case or protection of the phone - the rubber caseing doesnt fit snug and is kind of loose where it just looks sloppy and catched on stuff. after buying two of these i am not sure if ill by a otterbox for my playbook or just stick to the leather case for it.
go back to the design of the tour case - best blackberry case ever.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>