OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop DROID RAZR MAXX Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case

Thin and powerful and with a long lasting battery, this smartphone deserves proper protection. The Motorola RAZR MAXX case by OtterBox is part of our rugged, tough Defender Series case line. Learn more here!
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
56 out of 69(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Review 1 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Amazing case, poor clip design.

Date:July 8, 2013
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Defender series case might be bulky but definitely protects the phone. No issues when I drop it, no damage to the phone or screen (no cracks). Belt clip design is poorly made. I knew it would be bulky but needed a great case for protection with my field job. But already have gone through 2 clips (not cases). The clip to the belt is durable, but the little lip to hold the clip open to stand the phone up and handsfree breaks easily. And the support corners, 4 pressure points to lock phone into clip are delicate and the reason why I had to order this clip TWICE. First was me lean against the clip on my belt when my phone was out and one of the corner clips broke. Second time, I dropped the whole phone/clip combined a couple inches and it landed right on the corner of the clip and broke the corner yet again.
OtterBox should look into designing MORE clips to the iPhone standards where there is an actual tray that the phone slides into and one pressure clip to keep phone locked in. I have an iPhone 4S as my company work phone for 2+ years now and NEVER a single issue if taken care of.
Will ALWAYS have an OtterBox on my phones regardless of the phone, great product but OtterBox should look into selling JUST CLIPS to the Defender Series. The cases NEVER break, might get scratched up but to protector a phone for a 2 year plan on any provider, the belt clip MIGHT break. Another full price transaction towards a whole Defender Series package just to get the clip and have another case laying around. I'll be completely fine paying a small price, rather than another full price just for the actual clip rather than the full clip/case.
Pros: Durable, actual case is amazing
Cons: pressure clips break too easily if pushed against
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Phone case excellent, but belt clip is fragile

Date:December 5, 2013
Location: North Carolina
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I think my otter box case is the best purchase I could have made to provide protection to my phone. Almost bullet proof. But the belt clip carrying case leaves a lot to be desired. Since the case is designed to protect your phone investment, it is big. And because of the size it will catch on things from time to time. The clip is much to fragile to accept any accidental blow. The back clip breaks apart. If it had been designed to come apart, you could put it back together, but the tabs that attach the clip to the clip body break easily. Otter Box has a great customer service and they have taken care of my problem, so no issues with replacement, but with something like your cell phone that you carry everyday, you will occasionally have mishaps and it is dishearting when the clip come apart with first impact. Over all, I'm very happy with my Otter Box case. And, by the way, some people never use the clip anyway; they carry it in pants, coats, and bags.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: fragile belt clip on carrying case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Atomic Protection - Too Bulky

Date:April 10, 2013
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The case does protect as advertised, and your phone would survive a nuclear explosion, but it is way too big and bulky. It adds considerable weight to the phone.
It won't fit comfortably in any pocket comfortably.
After about 3 months, the plastic screen becomes dull and harder to see screen, especially in bright light.
It is also hard to remove.
The other plus is the rubberized case prevents phone from slipping around. You can place phone on dash, drive around and it won't slip off. Son left phone on top of car, and I drove off. It was still on top after driving at 50 MPH.
I would only recommend if you wanted maximum protection, wanted something non slip and didn't care about reading your phone in sunlight.
Pros: Durable, non slip
Cons: bulky, screen dull hard to see, hard to remove
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

HD screen is watered down.

Date:August 31, 2012
Location: Greenville, Sc
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The Razr Maxx has a beautiful vivid screen. Unfortunately in order to enjoy it, you have to remove the case. The cheap plastic screen protection keeps the screen safe but scratches up within days and ruins the experience of having a nice screen. The common fix seems to be to remove the otterbox plastic screen protector and installing a different protector. Also my rubber cover is now slippery and baggy. No grip makes it easy to drop and is kind of counter productive. I guess our cases should be replaced every couple months. Phones in great shape but the case looks horrible. It does it's job but i feel they could work on the style of it. I have a beautiful phone that is covered in a nasty looking case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, makes phone ugly.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent product

Date:September 17, 2013
Location: Northwest Wyomng
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have been using an Otter box for my Motorola Max for almost two years. I bought it because it looked like a well engineered product that would hold up to my heavy usage. I am very outdoor oriented, cut and split 9 cords of wood a year to heat out home in NW Wyoming. The phone is a safety tool that is always with me. I have dropped the phone numerous time and never had a problem. When I finally broke the belt holder for the phone 22 months after i bought the phone, I called customer service to buy a replacement. Instead they sent me a new one. That is super customer service for a great product. I will not consider buying anything else than an Otter Box for my next phone purchase.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great customer service
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

CONS OVER PROS

Date:June 3, 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I got caught in the otterbox hype. Overall not well designed. It can defend from drops thats it. The screen protection doesnt really protect cause it allows dirt to get behind the film that is not only robbing me of screen quality but is probably scratching the screen. It also dumbs down the brightness. Why not jus clean the screen? Its very hard to remove the case without potentially breaking it. Kinda like once its on dont mess with it. The silicon skin is not reinforced at the top around the USB/HDMI Ports so it hangs loosely. I say nay to the defender considering retail price and what I have experienced
Pros: Durable
Cons: silicone loose, screen protection not sealed, hard to remove
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome

Date:September 13, 2012
Location: S.W. Florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love Otterbox! It has to be the best case on the market. I'm a superintendent for a building contractor and honestly put my RAZR Maxx through all kinds of weather and conditions. From leaving it on the tailgate, dropping it in wet concrete, getting mad and throwing it at someone, and even ran over it with the forklift. I have the defender and it definitely does what it's supposed to do. Only two complaints. You can either get it in black or black. And the protective screen scratches pretty easy. Not a big deal if I could just buy a new screen protector. Come on Otterbox guys, little help here.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color option & replacement parts
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Broken Cell

Date:August 27, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall the case is good but it’s not as “shockproof” as my previous one. My last cell was a DroidX2 with a defender series Otter Box, so when I upgraded to the RAZR MAXX of course I would get another defender series. On that note I had my previous phone for a longer amount of time and it was put through tougher conditions and held up to the challenge unlike my current cell. I recently dropped my RAZR MAXX and the screen cracked to where it lights up black and now I have to purchase a new phone. I still love the product but I wish it was as strong as my previous one.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, "shockproof"
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Disappointed

Date:September 14, 2013
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought the case several months ago for added protection against drops since I work in the field a lot. My phone recently fell from my hand onto a tiled surface (only dropped from about 3 feet) and the screen literally shattered inside. I thought I had bought the most rugged case offered for a phone and it turns out it doesn't protect much. I didn't like how bulky it was but I figured it beats having a phone that is vulnerable. Now that this happened, I am only going to buy a screen protector as I don't see any value anymore for a bulky box.
Cons: Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my bacon again!

Date:October 18, 2012
Location: Temperance MI
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The defender Otter box is a phone saver, I have dropped my phone several times while I am working and have never damaged my phone. Last night it fell off my belt clip as I was unloading my truck and I did not notice it fell. I thought I had left it at work. It rained all night with it sitting in my driveway. I left for work this morning and ran my phone over with my 2010 1 ton pick-up which weighs almost 8500 pounds on a gravel driveway. The Otter box was distroyed, the phone does not have a mark on it! Thanks for a GREAT product!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

I love Otterbox Cases But Not This One!!!!!!

Date:April 2, 2012
Location: Levittown, Pa
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The overall protection is great but the built in screen protector is not so good on this case, dirt and dust can and has got in on my case around the ear piece and by the microphone. My wife has the otterbox defender for her Droid Incredible 2 and it has a well made built in screen protector that no dust or dirt has ever made it in her case. And i have one for my Ipod Touch and that case is great also. I hope they fix this issue for future Droid Razr Maxx cases. If they fix this issue i will definitely buy the upgraded case.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Non functional media stand, no access to sim cards

Date:July 9, 2012
Location: NorCal
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Just what I wrote, the media stand is hype, it doesent work at all in any position EVER, and you have to remove this vault like case to remove your external storage sim card. Not to mention it wont slide in and out of your pocket anymore, and the screep protector likes to collect things between it and your screen. FAIL Overall I give a D+ and just because I feel like I could drop it and it would be protected, but the other garbage just isn’t worth dealing with. I have had the case for 2 hours, and its going back ASAP.
Pros: Durable
Cons: no sim card access, poorly designed media stand, sticky rubber finds lint everywhere
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case on the Market

Date:February 23, 2012
Location: Miami beach, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
It’s a great case; you can really feel the quality of the case. I love the clip dubs as a table stand. The only cons are once the case goes on it really bulks up the phone and the screen protector gets smudged really easily and doesn’t clean well. Also if you have the OEM razr car dock you will have to switch out for a universal one with adjustable phone grip since the case bulks up the phone won’t fit into the OEM Razr car dock. All in all the case worth every penny for the peace of mind my phone will be protected.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: bulky, screen protector
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

The strong just got stronger!

Date:January 31, 2012
Location: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The Razr Maxx was designed to be a very tough and rugged phone that in theory could go without a case. While this might be true I still feel the need to add that extra bit of protection against everyday life. I knew I could turn to otter box to fulfill this need and I was not disappointed. I have put defender cases on everything I have owned from blackberry to iPhone and it was no different in this situation. Phone after phone otterbox makes good quality protective cases that keep me returning as a customer.
Pros: High quality, Durable, built in screen protection, swiveling holster can be used as kick stand
Cons: none
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I LOVE IT!

Date:October 11, 2013
Location: STANWOOD WA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I LOVE IT!
BEST THING I COULD HAVE EVER DONE FOR MY PHONE AND FOR MY PEACE OF MIND!!!
SERIOUSLY, ALL PHONES SHOULD COME IN AN OTTER BOX COVER!!!
I STILL PAY FOR INSURANCE ON MY PHONE, BUT I REALLY DON'T NEED IT ANYMORE NOW THAT I HAVE MY OTTER BOX COVER.
OTTER BOX HAS A GREAT GRIP SO I NEVER DROP THE PHONE ANYMORE. I WORK OUTSIDE A LOT SO IT IS GREAT PROTECTION AGAINST THE RAIN AS WELL.
I DON'T USE THE CLIP THAT CAME WITH IT AS I THINK IT IS BULKY.
THANK YOU OTTER BOX!! GREAT JOB!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: clip is bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 21, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have the Defender case for my Driod Razr Maxx and it is a great case. It has allowed me, being as unintentionally hard on cell phones as I am, to own a quality phone for multiple years. I have dropped this phone - protected by the otterbox - on sidewalks, concrete and tile floors; once, while I was on a ladder, I dropped it from about 10 feet onto a concrete patio... no problems at all. They stand behind their product and when a crack in the otterbox did occur they replaced it.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

droid razr

Date:October 12, 2013
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
overall this is a good product. I would like to see a better screen protector that has zero glare in sunlight and that keeps the dust out. It is still hard to see the screen when in direct sunlight which is a disadvantage when using navigation. Also, I have to disassemble every other month to clean dust from between screen protector and phone screen. Protection is great. I have dropped the unit multiple times from the hip and the phone is in great shape.
Pros: Durable
Cons: glare in sun light, dust between phone and screen protector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:February 18, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got this case. I have had other case from otter bpx in the psat and I have been using them for the past 4 years. So when I went to get my new phone it was even a second thought to get this case. how ever I do not like the fact that when the phone sits in the case the glass part the touch screen is facing out and has no protection. in my other cases in the past the glass part or key pad has faced in giving it full protection.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: touch screen faces outglass part is not protected
-15points
2out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

hiqh quality but pool construction on clip

Date:April 11, 2013
Location: MASSACHUSETTS
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
very protective case HOWEVER belt clip is useless. Isnt it amazing such a hiqh impact case would attach a belt clip with the lowest quality component. The pins on each side of the clip pivot are small and too light weight.
I have had this failure on TWO OTTER BOX DEFENDERS THAT I PURCHASED. I CONTACT OTTERBOX... LETS SEE IF THEY STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT AND SEND ME TWO REPLACEMENT BACK WITH FUNCTIONAL BELT CLIPS.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, belt clip fails each time poor construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RAZR MAXX by Motorola Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

fit and finish is excellent

Date:October 16, 2013
Location: sonoma, ca
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The fit and finish is great and it does protect the phone, after several oops's the phone still works great. The only complaint is the outter rubber shell starts to become oily and loose its ability to hug the inner case over time but this concern has been seen on other types and models of phones that have the otter box protection as well, again great product will difinitely continue to purchase this product.
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>