OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

If your current holster wears out, this is your answer! Designed exclusively to house the OtterBox Defender Series for iPhone® 3G and 3GS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.594 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
21
1 star
16
26 out of 69(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Review 1 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Belt Clip Needs Engineering Help

Date:March 29, 2011
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I just purchased the Otter box since my previous case with belt clip broke. The Otter box is great, but I agree with the other reviewers, the belt clip needs some engineering work. First, I would like to have my screen facing outward so I can tip it and see the song playing, the person calling, etc. without having to take it out of the clip holder each time; however, the requirement is facing inward. Secondly, my other clip rotated and allowed me to stand the phone up on the desk again allowing me to view text messages, etc coming in; however, this one does not sit on the desk steadily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

My clip is fine - It just won't hold the phone!

Date:December 1, 2010
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
My clip is unbreakable - but it willl no longer hold my iphone! I've used the clip-on pretty seldom, but have had it approx 1 yr. and at first the clip on holster was great, then my iphone began to slip out off and on. Now it won't stay in the holder at all. It seems that where the nodules on each side don't stay in the indentions of the protective case. In other words, the bottom is seated ok but nothing to hold the phone about that part holds the phone. Very disappointed. The overall case is just awesome for the iphone protection. Of course I've only dropped my phone once since the beginning of the iphone (I had the 1st) and that's when it fell from this holster!
Pros: the case: the best protection for the iphone.
Cons: you will need the potection if you use the holster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:October 29, 2010
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Good, clip, but is a little finicky. You have to make sure your phone is clipped in before you head off otherwise it can fall out of the clip. But once your phone is in the clip you are pretty solid. Overall a good compromise between getting your phone in the clip and having it stay there...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It's good, but not durable

Date:April 3, 2012
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
It's a great accessory for anyone with an Otterbox, however, it's a delicate little flower.
Pros: High quality, convenient
Cons: Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best thing since sliced bread

Date:April 28, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I absolutely love the otterbox. This is the best protections you can buy and I and going to buy one for every single phone I own. You can launch this thing against the wall and your phone will still work like new. I recently broke my clip at work, and I gave otterbox a call and the service was excellent, the service representative was extremely helpful and polite, everything I could have asked for and more. The warranty is the best in the business, I called about a replacement clip and they shipped one out right away. Now, my phone never comes out of the otterbox. I told all my friends about it, now they all have one and they love it. Great product, 5 stars
Pros: High quality, Durable, great for outdoorsman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip needs redesigning.

Date:July 18, 2012
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Like everyone else we love the protective skin. Does a great job in protecting phone. I even had my phone drop from a 8-10 ft. high ladder at work and it landed on cement pad. nothing broke. But while sitting down belt clip lost grip on belt and fell 2 feet and the clip broke when it hit the cement floor. Really?? Can we get something more durable? I have had to wait for months to get a replacement due to out of stock. Last night the dog got a hold of the housing because I still use it without the clip for additional protection. Glad they are in stock again.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not a long enough or strong clip
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A well built product!

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I clip my iPhone to my side and take off on my motorcycle with no fear of my phone falling off. For anyone that may have a problem with the simplest of task "snapping there phone in the case" need to pay attention to what they are doing! And yes stuff wearou, just replace it.
GREAT IPHONE CASE!
Pros: High quality, Durable, reliable, simple, worth the money
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Holster great idea, lousy design

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Washington State
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
So far, belt clip works OK. But two side detents that hold phone both cracked and one fell off... other ready to go. Holster useless now.
Earlier, iPhone kept getting hooked when putting on a coat or hooking up seat belt and falling out of the holster. I designed and fabricated a top cover that prevented that problem, but shortly thereafter, the side detents broke.
The concept is great. But design is terrible. In addition to the side detents, the holster needs a top cover with a slight recess and the bottom needs a small leaf spring to press the phone up into the recess in addition to the side detents -- a slight down pressure would release the phone. Also, the side detents need a spring backup across the back of the holster to strengthen the detents.
With a metal belt clip and and attention to the above suggestions, I'd pay twice the price or more. The "quickdraw" concept and position on the body is excellent.
Pros: good idea
Cons: Not durable, inexperienced designer
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

iphone 3g belt clip

Date:October 20, 2010
Location: Arkansas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
This belt clip is awful. I have broken 5 of them and now carry my iphone in my hand because I cannot trust this clip to not drop my phone. My wife and I spent several hours searching for my iphone after this belt clip let my phone drop out in the yard.
Cons: Low quality
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Holster breaks too easy

Date:June 23, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
My holster lasted less than four months. The clip for the belt which can be locked into a 45 degree stand was the first thing to break. About a month after the stand snapped the spring mechanism broke and the holster fell of my belt.
The case is great, I love it but the holster just is not good enough. The ergonomics of the case are ok, just ok but the design is not durable.
Cons: Not durable, spring mechanism is not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good but still need work

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Case is good. Mine has taken a few tumbles and just quietly hit and bounced around on the ground. Belt clip is the Achilles heel. Less than 6 months and the plastic pins bent and snapped off.
Pros: hold phone case well, easy to put on and off
Cons: Not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Clip breaks too easily

Date:February 2, 2012
Location: Willsboro, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Bought the complete case and clip to provide full protection for my i-phone.
In two months I have broken the clip twice while wearing it on my belt.
AT&T replaced it once no charge but would not replace it the second time.
Not rugged as billed.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, expensive to replace
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

case UP / holder DOWN !!!!

Date:April 29, 2011
I have the 3gs phone only 2 wks. The ATT store recc. the case because of excellent protection: very true. I hated the bulky and cheap appearing clip/holder compared to my prev. gunholster quality s.s. spring clip h.d. woven pouch. one side of the holder already split so no tension and the phone falls right out. The worst pairing of quality/garbage with a super rubber protective case and a 3rd grade science project failure for a holder. Serves me right for researching the phone but not cases.
Pros: case super
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, holder
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:January 6, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I like the older belt clip better, it craddled the bottom of the phone better and didnt get caught onseat or seat belt getting out of my truck. the two dimples on the side that hold the phone are not enough retention.
the tips for writing a review block the review box.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor design

Date:September 7, 2011
Location: Cincinnati Area
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
The belt clip is of poor design. The pins break off very easily. Life of 2 months or less. Design review needed.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, Weak Clip

Date:January 10, 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case provides great protection, and is very user-friendly. The belt clip, however, is very cheaply made and breaks if looked at wrong.
Pros: excellent protection
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Worthless Clip for a great case!

Date:June 25, 2012
Location: Wheatland, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
We have purchased about 10 different clips in the past 6 months and now we are in need of more. We have to buy them in multiples because the clips keep breaking. I wish I could find something more durable. My husband is not "hard" on them, they just seem to break when he sits in a chair or car. This seems to be the case with all the other reviews I have read as well. You would think that Otterbox would revise this clip and/or sell replacement parts fairly cheap. We have spent a fortune in just clips alone. It is getting to the point where I want to go with another company just to see if their clips are better made. We both love our cases, but its difficult to keep spending this kind of money for something to just end up breaking again in a few weeks!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, difficult to find replacements
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

3G Belt Clip

Date:April 13, 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall this is a good product but it should have some kind of piece that would snap out of place rather than breaking. I have had to replace three belt clips because the clip caught on a chair arm or piece of equipment and broke. Friends have the same unit due to the protection it provides and have experienced the same thing. Perhaps this could be re-engineered to have a safety feature like this.
Pros: High quality, secure
Cons: Not durable, easily broken in rough usage situations
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor design

Date:October 16, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had my iPhone for about a year ... and hear I am on the web site ordering my 6th belt clip. Something is terribly WRONG!
Cons: Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Why is this thing of such poor quality

Date:September 16, 2011
Location: TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
We have 4 Otterbox cases in our house. We can't keep these cheap belt clips from breaking. Why, Otterbox, did you cheap out on the belt clip? Sad. You have a wonderful product in the cases, then go cheap on the belt clip. This makes me want, no, have to get something different than an Otterbox. Sad.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>