OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

If your current holster wears out, this is your answer! Designed exclusively to house the OtterBox Defender Series for iPhone® 3G and 3GS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.594 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
21
1 star
16
26 out of 69(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Review 21 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Better design please!

Date:October 25, 2010
Location: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
#5. This is the 5th clip that has broken on the belt clip. The two plastic prongs are flimsy and break every time. In looking at the replacement photo here on the site, it seems to me that there is a bar on top? If so Bravo, and why didn't I know? Can I get a replacement?
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 22 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Breaks too easy

Date:May 16, 2012
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I agree with the sentiments of other reviewers. I have gone thru several holsters over the last 2 years. There must be a solution to either the design or the material for the holster mechanism. The case its self is outstanding.
I can see why the color black is out of stock, too many replacements are being ordered.
Pros: case is excellent
Cons: Not durable, holster is the weak link
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 23 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great Case, Lousy holster

Date:April 15, 2012
Location: El Cajon, California
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love my otter case. It is rugged and has saved my phone more than once.
But I do not like the case. So far I have managed to break 2 of them, and both in the same way... I broke the pivot pegs on the belt clip.
The case is too large to fit into any other holser, it is too big to comfortably stay in the pocket, and the rubber casing makes it snag in your pocket.
If they could fix the holster so it would not break so easily, it would be the perfect case
Pros: protects the phone like nothing else, water resistant
Cons: Not durable, holster has durability issues
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 24 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

careful

Date:March 28, 2012
Location: Whitney, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the holster broke at the clip the second time I dropped it. I love the case but the carrier/holster is relatively inferior in construction. Back to the drawing board boys.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Poor quality

Date:June 20, 2011
Location: Weatherford, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Bought my Iphone 3gs and the otter box new with phone. Belt clip broke getting out of a lazyboy recliner. My last phone had a belt pouch type carrier. This peice of junk went into the trash in less than a week.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 26 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great protection of phone...Horrible belt clip!

Date:April 21, 2011
Location: Cape Coral Florida
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have had my iphone 3GS for 9 months now. My phone was put into an Otterbox immediatley during purchase and looks like new because of it. The case protects the phone like no other, and allows easy operation of all the phones features. With that being said, I have had to get my belt clip replaced 5 times in that nine month period due to a poorly designed clip.
I hope you guys take your customer reviews into consideration when it comes to re-engineering a product.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 27 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Belt Clip is the flaw

Date:April 8, 2011
Location: Fairfield, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I've now broken 2 belt clips in less than 2 months. The swivel belt clip protrudes from the case too far and the fragile snap in place hinge should be either a break away design that allows you to snap it back in place or a metal pivot and spring system that will not break away.
The case is by far the best I've ever owned. The clip, well, if I were your designer/engineer, I'd go back to the drawing board and improve upon it to bring the product to a total 5 star quality. For the price, it belongs in 5 star territory.
Pros: High quality, Durable, case is great
Cons: clip is a liability
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Box is fantastic, belt clip is pathetic

Date:March 5, 2011
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I just had the fourth belt clip break on me in less than two years that I have owned my I-phone. I adore my I-phone and my Otter Box. They both are fantastic. Although it is a shame that the high value of the well-designed Otter Box is devalued by the poor, poor. design of the belt clip! I hate to see this happen to this great product. I am thinking that, surely, someone at your company is working on a better belt clip design!
Pros: High quality, great box
Cons: Low quality, poor belt clip
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 29 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Clip is poor

Date:January 16, 2011
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Clip broke in less than 6 months. Trying to order replacement because AT&T only sell the case and clip as a unit. Apparently the clip breaks alot from the reviews and the fact it is out of stock.
Mine broke on the side while I was snapping the phone into to the clip. Phone has only fell out to the clip one time and that was while I was running.
Pros: durable case
Cons: low quality clip
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 30 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster/Clip is weak; Case is great!

Date:January 11, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case offers excelent overall protection. However,
I am on my second holster in less than 6 months due to the very weak clip assembly. The pins on the clip are very fragile!
The holster/clip assembly needs to be redesigned!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: holster/clip not durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 31 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Needs re-design

Date:November 29, 2010
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The belt clip is fragile.I have had my I-phone less than a year and I'm on my 3rd belt clip. The phone has come out of the case a few times so i added a valcro strap that I use to secure the phone in the holder.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Made of Glass

Date:November 4, 2010
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Love the actual case. I don't ever have to worry about dropping my phone. The clip on the other hand is like Glass Joe's jaw. I have already broken two. It seems if they can get the phone case right, they should be able to design a better clip assembly.
Cons: Not durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 33 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bad Clip

Date:August 27, 2012
Location: Wheelig Wv
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I,like so many of the others love the case. But the clip on my holster broke, after about a month. The clip snapped while getting out of my truck. I was going to order another holster,but after reading the reviews,decided not to. I found a very suitable replacement at Wal-Mart. It is called the Tough Mobile case. It will hold the i-phone 3gs with the OtterBox case. Although it has a velcro flap,sine i use a blue tooth at work it is no big deal. When OtterBox redesigns a more durable clip i'll get another. Untill then i'll stay with my Tough Mobile.
Pros: love the design
Cons: Not durable, clip needs redesigned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Looks tough and reliable, but isn't!!!!!!

Date:August 22, 2012
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case has provided great protection for my IPhone, but the carrier is terrible. Only had it for about 2 month's and it was broken. Not durable at all. I see from other reviews that I will be ordering a lot of replacements if I want to carry my phone on my belt!!!!!! Not good..............:o( :o(
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Worthless Clip for a great case!

Date:June 25, 2012
Location: Wheatland, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
We have purchased about 10 different clips in the past 6 months and now we are in need of more. We have to buy them in multiples because the clips keep breaking. I wish I could find something more durable. My husband is not "hard" on them, they just seem to break when he sits in a chair or car. This seems to be the case with all the other reviews I have read as well. You would think that Otterbox would revise this clip and/or sell replacement parts fairly cheap. We have spent a fortune in just clips alone. It is getting to the point where I want to go with another company just to see if their clips are better made. We both love our cases, but its difficult to keep spending this kind of money for something to just end up breaking again in a few weeks!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, difficult to find replacements
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 36 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Defender Belt Clip Problem

Date:June 22, 2012
Location: Atlanta
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Like so many others, my input is that the case is great, but the pins on the belt clip for the holster are awful. I break them two or three times a year just sitting down in chairs or cars!!! If Otter is not going to redesign the clip or use different materials, they should at least sell just the clips for a buck or so. I can replace the clip in two minutes if I could just get them!!
Pros: great case
Cons: awful weak belt clip
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Clip breaks too easily

Date:February 2, 2012
Location: Willsboro, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Bought the complete case and clip to provide full protection for my i-phone.
In two months I have broken the clip twice while wearing it on my belt.
AT&T replaced it once no charge but would not replace it the second time.
Not rugged as billed.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, expensive to replace
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor design

Date:October 16, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had my iPhone for about a year ... and hear I am on the web site ordering my 6th belt clip. Something is terribly WRONG!
Cons: Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

otterbox defender for 3 GS iphone

Date:October 1, 2011
Just got the iphone for business. Had to purchase my own case. Chose the Otterbox defender through recommendations at Best Buy. Had the case for 5 days and the clip broke. Very disappointed since the whole case is fairly expensive.
Pros: case itself offers great protection
Cons: Low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Outstanding Case-Weak, Poorly Designed Belt Clip

Date:September 22, 2011
Location: Frisco, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
A durable and protective case is paired to a weak and poorly designed belt clip, that is easily broken.
Replacement cases are not available in the color black, and retail stores only want to sell whole otter box assemblies, thus leaving business professionals with no options.
Pros: great case
Cons: poor clip
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>