OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

If your current holster wears out, this is your answer! Designed exclusively to house the OtterBox Defender Series for iPhone® 3G and 3GS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.594 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
21
1 star
16
26 out of 69(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Review 21 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Poorly designed clip

Date:September 11, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The clip on my Otter Box broke last night after I came back from working a wreck scene. The ears that the clip pivots on to attach and un attach from my belt broke. It seems this has been a problem for many I hope Otter Box will fix the issue with better materials maybe a metal pivot I mean my watch band uses metal instead of plastic. I have had this thing less than 4 months.
Cons: Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poorly Designed Clip

Date:May 4, 2011
Location: WI
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The Defender Case is great. The belt clip doesn't hold up. The clip breaks at the connection points. This is a great opportunity for Otterbox to improve the quality of the clip and replace the poorly designed clips. I'm sorry I recomended the product to friends.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Clip is poor

Date:January 16, 2011
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Clip broke in less than 6 months. Trying to order replacement because AT&T only sell the case and clip as a unit. Apparently the clip breaks alot from the reviews and the fact it is out of stock.
Mine broke on the side while I was snapping the phone into to the clip. Phone has only fell out to the clip one time and that was while I was running.
Pros: durable case
Cons: low quality clip
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 24 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Breaks too easy

Date:May 16, 2012
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I agree with the sentiments of other reviewers. I have gone thru several holsters over the last 2 years. There must be a solution to either the design or the material for the holster mechanism. The case its self is outstanding.
I can see why the color black is out of stock, too many replacements are being ordered.
Pros: case is excellent
Cons: Not durable, holster is the weak link
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

THE BELT CLIP

Date:January 7, 2011
Location: Spencerville, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
As I can see im not the only one with belt clip problems. The phone case is awesome, I love it. I got one on my iPhone and had one for my blackberry. As for the belt clip, its is not so great. On both belt clips the hinge part broke.
Otter Box really should figure out a new clip design, without the belt clip it is pretty much useless, its to big to put in your pants pocket. For the price of the entire unit it should last more then a week.
Cons: bad belt clip, no warranty on belt clip.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 26 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Very weak belt clip

Date:April 5, 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have gone through 2 of these belt clips in a year. Plastic is just not sturdy enough. First, hinge clip pins broke off; next side grip cracked and eventually broke off. Repaired hinge clip pins by drilling hole and replacing hinge pins with metal hinge pin. Side grip non-repairable. Soon I will have more in belt clips than in the Otter box itself. Will recommend other brands to other iPhone users.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, no replacement guarantee
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 27 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great protection of phone...Horrible belt clip!

Date:April 21, 2011
Location: Cape Coral Florida
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have had my iphone 3GS for 9 months now. My phone was put into an Otterbox immediatley during purchase and looks like new because of it. The case protects the phone like no other, and allows easy operation of all the phones features. With that being said, I have had to get my belt clip replaced 5 times in that nine month period due to a poorly designed clip.
I hope you guys take your customer reviews into consideration when it comes to re-engineering a product.
Pros: High quality
Cons: Not durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 28 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Holster/Clip is weak; Case is great!

Date:January 11, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case offers excelent overall protection. However,
I am on my second holster in less than 6 months due to the very weak clip assembly. The pins on the clip are very fragile!
The holster/clip assembly needs to be redesigned!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: holster/clip not durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 29 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Otterbox Defender Belt Clip

Date:June 21, 2011
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have used the Otterbox belt clip for a total of 4 days and the clip broke. I don't know what piece broke but the clip came off the holder. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 30 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Fix The Clip!

Date:September 16, 2012
Location: Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love my Otter Box Defender, but the belt clips are a problem. I have bought at least 10 of them in the last three years. You should at least offer a discounted replacement program when the piece of junk clips breaks after 4 - 6 months!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Looks tough and reliable, but isn't!!!!!!

Date:August 22, 2012
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case has provided great protection for my IPhone, but the carrier is terrible. Only had it for about 2 month's and it was broken. Not durable at all. I see from other reviews that I will be ordering a lot of replacements if I want to carry my phone on my belt!!!!!! Not good..............:o( :o(
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip

Date:October 29, 2011
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Exelant protection, however the belt clip breaks easily.
I just broke my third one.
Pros: the protective case is exelant
Cons: belt clip breaks easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Big Guy

Date:February 20, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I is a good thing that the case for this product is so good. I have NEVER dropped a phone so much in my entire life. The holster would get hung up on armrests to seats and the phone falls out all the time. I now have gotten into the habbit of everytime I stand up I look behind me and pick me phone up off the ground where it had popped out. The holster broke within ONE MONTH of it being purchased.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bad Clip

Date:August 27, 2012
Location: Wheelig Wv
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I,like so many of the others love the case. But the clip on my holster broke, after about a month. The clip snapped while getting out of my truck. I was going to order another holster,but after reading the reviews,decided not to. I found a very suitable replacement at Wal-Mart. It is called the Tough Mobile case. It will hold the i-phone 3gs with the OtterBox case. Although it has a velcro flap,sine i use a blue tooth at work it is no big deal. When OtterBox redesigns a more durable clip i'll get another. Untill then i'll stay with my Tough Mobile.
Pros: love the design
Cons: Not durable, clip needs redesigned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

holds great breaks easy

Date:March 4, 2011
Location: northern new york
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the clp is awsome*EXCEPT* for the facct that it breaks way to easy. the nubs that hold the clip part to gether broke 16 times on me before my warrenty expired. the only draw back to the otter box is the clip.
Pros: High quality, the box
Cons: Not durable, the clip
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

careful

Date:March 28, 2012
Location: Whitney, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the holster broke at the clip the second time I dropped it. I love the case but the carrier/holster is relatively inferior in construction. Back to the drawing board boys.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

belt clip

Date:January 16, 2012
Location: Torrington CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have had this for 5 months and broken the clip 7 or 8 times. Att store will not replace it any more. I was told this was to many times.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, belt clip[
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

otterbox defender for 3 GS iphone

Date:October 1, 2011
Just got the iphone for business. Had to purchase my own case. Chose the Otterbox defender through recommendations at Best Buy. Had the case for 5 days and the clip broke. Very disappointed since the whole case is fairly expensive.
Pros: case itself offers great protection
Cons: Low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Outstanding Case-Weak, Poorly Designed Belt Clip

Date:September 22, 2011
Location: Frisco, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
A durable and protective case is paired to a weak and poorly designed belt clip, that is easily broken.
Replacement cases are not available in the color black, and retail stores only want to sell whole otter box assemblies, thus leaving business professionals with no options.
Pros: great case
Cons: poor clip
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

disappointment

Date:March 29, 2011
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
The OTTER CASE is good, but the belt holder is a big disappointment. If the top of the phone touches anything on the top edge the phone pops out of the holder. I can not count the times this has happened, mostly getting out of a car. Also the phone sits so low on the hip that sitting in a car, the phone, bottoms out to the point my clip broke. Currently looking for a holder with a better design.
Cons: Not durable, poor design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>