OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

If your current holster wears out, this is your answer! Designed exclusively to house the OtterBox Defender Series for iPhone® 3G and 3GS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.594 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
21
1 star
16
26 out of 69(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Review 1 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Fix The Clip!

Date:September 16, 2012
Location: Key West, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love my Otter Box Defender, but the belt clips are a problem. I have bought at least 10 of them in the last three years. You should at least offer a discounted replacement program when the piece of junk clips breaks after 4 - 6 months!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bad Clip

Date:August 27, 2012
Location: Wheelig Wv
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I,like so many of the others love the case. But the clip on my holster broke, after about a month. The clip snapped while getting out of my truck. I was going to order another holster,but after reading the reviews,decided not to. I found a very suitable replacement at Wal-Mart. It is called the Tough Mobile case. It will hold the i-phone 3gs with the OtterBox case. Although it has a velcro flap,sine i use a blue tooth at work it is no big deal. When OtterBox redesigns a more durable clip i'll get another. Untill then i'll stay with my Tough Mobile.
Pros: love the design
Cons: Not durable, clip needs redesigned
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Looks tough and reliable, but isn't!!!!!!

Date:August 22, 2012
Location: Stony Plain, Alberta
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case has provided great protection for my IPhone, but the carrier is terrible. Only had it for about 2 month's and it was broken. Not durable at all. I see from other reviews that I will be ordering a lot of replacements if I want to carry my phone on my belt!!!!!! Not good..............:o( :o(
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip needs redesigning.

Date:July 18, 2012
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Like everyone else we love the protective skin. Does a great job in protecting phone. I even had my phone drop from a 8-10 ft. high ladder at work and it landed on cement pad. nothing broke. But while sitting down belt clip lost grip on belt and fell 2 feet and the clip broke when it hit the cement floor. Really?? Can we get something more durable? I have had to wait for months to get a replacement due to out of stock. Last night the dog got a hold of the housing because I still use it without the clip for additional protection. Glad they are in stock again.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not a long enough or strong clip
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Worthless Clip for a great case!

Date:June 25, 2012
Location: Wheatland, WI
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
We have purchased about 10 different clips in the past 6 months and now we are in need of more. We have to buy them in multiples because the clips keep breaking. I wish I could find something more durable. My husband is not "hard" on them, they just seem to break when he sits in a chair or car. This seems to be the case with all the other reviews I have read as well. You would think that Otterbox would revise this clip and/or sell replacement parts fairly cheap. We have spent a fortune in just clips alone. It is getting to the point where I want to go with another company just to see if their clips are better made. We both love our cases, but its difficult to keep spending this kind of money for something to just end up breaking again in a few weeks!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, difficult to find replacements
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Holster breaks too easy

Date:June 23, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
My holster lasted less than four months. The clip for the belt which can be locked into a 45 degree stand was the first thing to break. About a month after the stand snapped the spring mechanism broke and the holster fell of my belt.
The case is great, I love it but the holster just is not good enough. The ergonomics of the case are ok, just ok but the design is not durable.
Cons: Not durable, spring mechanism is not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Defender Belt Clip Problem

Date:June 22, 2012
Location: Atlanta
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Like so many others, my input is that the case is great, but the pins on the belt clip for the holster are awful. I break them two or three times a year just sitting down in chairs or cars!!! If Otter is not going to redesign the clip or use different materials, they should at least sell just the clips for a buck or so. I can replace the clip in two minutes if I could just get them!!
Pros: great case
Cons: awful weak belt clip
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Otter holster for Iphone

Date:June 14, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I want to support what others have said that the case is excellent but the holster is very weak. It should have been obvious that the small pins that permit the clip to open and close would never last and they don't. Otter should make good on this in someway.
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster bad
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Breaks too easy

Date:May 16, 2012
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I agree with the sentiments of other reviewers. I have gone thru several holsters over the last 2 years. There must be a solution to either the design or the material for the holster mechanism. The case its self is outstanding.
I can see why the color black is out of stock, too many replacements are being ordered.
Pros: case is excellent
Cons: Not durable, holster is the weak link
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great Case, Lousy holster

Date:April 15, 2012
Location: El Cajon, California
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I love my otter case. It is rugged and has saved my phone more than once.
But I do not like the case. So far I have managed to break 2 of them, and both in the same way... I broke the pivot pegs on the belt clip.
The case is too large to fit into any other holser, it is too big to comfortably stay in the pocket, and the rubber casing makes it snag in your pocket.
If they could fix the holster so it would not break so easily, it would be the perfect case
Pros: protects the phone like nothing else, water resistant
Cons: Not durable, holster has durability issues
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

3G Belt Clip

Date:April 13, 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall this is a good product but it should have some kind of piece that would snap out of place rather than breaking. I have had to replace three belt clips because the clip caught on a chair arm or piece of equipment and broke. Friends have the same unit due to the protection it provides and have experienced the same thing. Perhaps this could be re-engineered to have a safety feature like this.
Pros: High quality, secure
Cons: Not durable, easily broken in rough usage situations
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It's good, but not durable

Date:April 3, 2012
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
It's a great accessory for anyone with an Otterbox, however, it's a delicate little flower.
Pros: High quality, convenient
Cons: Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

careful

Date:March 28, 2012
Location: Whitney, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
the holster broke at the clip the second time I dropped it. I love the case but the carrier/holster is relatively inferior in construction. Back to the drawing board boys.
Cons: Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good but still need work

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Case is good. Mine has taken a few tumbles and just quietly hit and bounced around on the ground. Belt clip is the Achilles heel. Less than 6 months and the plastic pins bent and snapped off.
Pros: hold phone case well, easy to put on and off
Cons: Not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Clip breaks too easily

Date:February 2, 2012
Location: Willsboro, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Bought the complete case and clip to provide full protection for my i-phone.
In two months I have broken the clip twice while wearing it on my belt.
AT&T replaced it once no charge but would not replace it the second time.
Not rugged as billed.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, expensive to replace
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

belt clip

Date:January 16, 2012
Location: Torrington CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have had this for 5 months and broken the clip 7 or 8 times. Att store will not replace it any more. I was told this was to many times.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, belt clip[
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Good Design of Case, poor clip design.

Date:November 13, 2011
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Like all others, I am now on my third belt clip. The case is outstanding, it has to be because the belt clip doesn't hold up. I think there should be a new design, something more durable. As expensive as it is you would think they would be a little more bullet proof........
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Holster great idea, lousy design

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Washington State
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
So far, belt clip works OK. But two side detents that hold phone both cracked and one fell off... other ready to go. Holster useless now.
Earlier, iPhone kept getting hooked when putting on a coat or hooking up seat belt and falling out of the holster. I designed and fabricated a top cover that prevented that problem, but shortly thereafter, the side detents broke.
The concept is great. But design is terrible. In addition to the side detents, the holster needs a top cover with a slight recess and the bottom needs a small leaf spring to press the phone up into the recess in addition to the side detents -- a slight down pressure would release the phone. Also, the side detents need a spring backup across the back of the holster to strengthen the detents.
With a metal belt clip and and attention to the above suggestions, I'd pay twice the price or more. The "quickdraw" concept and position on the body is excellent.
Pros: good idea
Cons: Not durable, inexperienced designer
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip

Date:October 29, 2011
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Exelant protection, however the belt clip breaks easily.
I just broke my third one.
Pros: the protective case is exelant
Cons: belt clip breaks easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor design

Date:October 16, 2011
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had my iPhone for about a year ... and hear I am on the web site ordering my 6th belt clip. Something is terribly WRONG!
Cons: Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>