OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop discon products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement

If your current holster wears out, this is your answer! Designed exclusively to house the OtterBox Defender Series for iPhone® 3G and 3GS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.594 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
17
3 stars
11
2 stars
21
1 star
16
26 out of 69(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Review 1 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Belt Clip

Date:May 21, 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Ive had my Otter Box since they first came out. I'm a construction superintendent and have really given the case an above average test! The case seems to be indestructible, I've dropped it from as much as 20 feet from a boom lift onto concrete below and it only scuffed up the case ( no damage to the phone ) , I've dropped it into mud holes during rain, and literally hundreds of times from the belt to the ground. I don't think you could possibly find a more protective case than the otter box! HOWEVER....the holster is TERRIBLE ! I've broken and repaired 2 different ones so far! I'm currently without a holster AGAIN ! The phone would not be subjected to the above mentioned abuse if they could figure out how to make a durable holster that would actually HOLD THE PHONE! I recommend getting a small digital camera case and wearing it on your belt, then your phone will be protected from falls! Maybe Otter Box will come out with a better idea, and send me one for testing and review...I'd be more than happy to oblige!!
Pros: great case
Cons: terrible holster
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best thing since sliced bread

Date:April 28, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I absolutely love the otterbox. This is the best protections you can buy and I and going to buy one for every single phone I own. You can launch this thing against the wall and your phone will still work like new. I recently broke my clip at work, and I gave otterbox a call and the service was excellent, the service representative was extremely helpful and polite, everything I could have asked for and more. The warranty is the best in the business, I called about a replacement clip and they shipped one out right away. Now, my phone never comes out of the otterbox. I told all my friends about it, now they all have one and they love it. Great product, 5 stars
Pros: High quality, Durable, great for outdoorsman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Beltclip is weak, this is an opportunity Otterbox!

Date:April 11, 2011
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I've broken two belt clips off my Defender's holster in less than 8 months. And I realize making a sturdier clip is going to be expensive. I've examined the clip and I think Otterbox's best solution would be to sell just the clips SIX for 10-15 bucks. And you should be selling the holsters TWO for 14.95. The handling cost for the TWO or SIX would be close to what it is for ONE. I know that my recommendations of the Defender have resulted in at least 6 sales plus I've bought 3, 1 as gift. And to be fair Otterbox sent me a new holster when I broke the first clip within 30 days of purchase. The Defender is a great product! Turn this weakness into a positive!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A well built product!

Date:November 1, 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I clip my iPhone to my side and take off on my motorcycle with no fear of my phone falling off. For anyone that may have a problem with the simplest of task "snapping there phone in the case" need to pay attention to what they are doing! And yes stuff wearou, just replace it.
GREAT IPHONE CASE!
Pros: High quality, Durable, reliable, simple, worth the money
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip needs redesigning.

Date:July 18, 2012
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Like everyone else we love the protective skin. Does a great job in protecting phone. I even had my phone drop from a 8-10 ft. high ladder at work and it landed on cement pad. nothing broke. But while sitting down belt clip lost grip on belt and fell 2 feet and the clip broke when it hit the cement floor. Really?? Can we get something more durable? I have had to wait for months to get a replacement due to out of stock. Last night the dog got a hold of the housing because I still use it without the clip for additional protection. Glad they are in stock again.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not a long enough or strong clip
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Otter holster for Iphone

Date:June 14, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I want to support what others have said that the case is excellent but the holster is very weak. It should have been obvious that the small pins that permit the clip to open and close would never last and they don't. Otter should make good on this in someway.
Pros: Durable
Cons: holster bad
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

3G Belt Clip

Date:April 13, 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Overall this is a good product but it should have some kind of piece that would snap out of place rather than breaking. I have had to replace three belt clips because the clip caught on a chair arm or piece of equipment and broke. Friends have the same unit due to the protection it provides and have experienced the same thing. Perhaps this could be re-engineered to have a safety feature like this.
Pros: High quality, secure
Cons: Not durable, easily broken in rough usage situations
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

It's good, but not durable

Date:April 3, 2012
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
It's a great accessory for anyone with an Otterbox, however, it's a delicate little flower.
Pros: High quality, convenient
Cons: Not durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good but still need work

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Case is good. Mine has taken a few tumbles and just quietly hit and bounced around on the ground. Belt clip is the Achilles heel. Less than 6 months and the plastic pins bent and snapped off.
Pros: hold phone case well, easy to put on and off
Cons: Not durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

belt clip

Date:January 16, 2012
Location: Torrington CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have had this for 5 months and broken the clip 7 or 8 times. Att store will not replace it any more. I was told this was to many times.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, belt clip[
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt clip

Date:October 29, 2011
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Exelant protection, however the belt clip breaks easily.
I just broke my third one.
Pros: the protective case is exelant
Cons: belt clip breaks easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Poorly designed clip

Date:September 11, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
The clip on my Otter Box broke last night after I came back from working a wreck scene. The ears that the clip pivots on to attach and un attach from my belt broke. It seems this has been a problem for many I hope Otter Box will fix the issue with better materials maybe a metal pivot I mean my watch band uses metal instead of plastic. I have had this thing less than 4 months.
Cons: Not durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case

Date:July 19, 2011
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Although the phone case is great, the belt clip needs to be reworked, I have had to replace mine twice now in under five months. My breaks in the same spot as others have said, right where the two pins are attached to the case.
If they would only use a metal rod insted of the plastic ears i think it would hold up better.
Both times it has broken is when im sittling down or getting up from a chair.
Pros: High quality
Cons: the belt clip breaks easy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

great case/terrible belt clip

Date:March 20, 2011
Location: Bethlehem,Pa
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
this is one of the best and most durable phone case i have ever bought... the belt clip is the worst i have ever had.... i have gone through 3 in under a year it always breaks in the same spot right next to the little tab that holds the phone in....
Pros: Durable, awsome case
Cons: terrible clip
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Belt Clip

Date:February 27, 2011
Location: Burleson, Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Case is great but belt clip is horrible. I have broken two in less than two months. With such a great case, I am astounded the belt clip is so poorly engineered. I just ordered three on the otterbox website just so I will have a spare. Otterbox, you need to do something about this.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case, Weak Clip

Date:January 10, 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case provides great protection, and is very user-friendly. The belt clip, however, is very cheaply made and breaks if looked at wrong.
Pros: excellent protection
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:January 6, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I like the older belt clip better, it craddled the bottom of the phone better and didnt get caught onseat or seat belt getting out of my truck. the two dimples on the side that hold the phone are not enough retention.
the tips for writing a review block the review box.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

I Phone case

Date:December 20, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The case offers excellent protection for the phone. The belt clip piece is an essential part of that protection as it covers the glass front of your phone. The weakness in the system is the belt clip itself. I bumped into a door jam carrying presents and the clip shattered and dropped the phone onto my concrete garge floor. Since the clip and phone cover remained in place the phone is fine.
But I feel the clip should be stronger.
Pros: High quality, excellent phone protection
Cons: Not durable, belt clip not very durable
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Plastic Clip

Date:November 7, 2010
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The clip on belt should be metal not plastic so it doesn't break so much.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Not durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 3G / 3GS Defender Series Case Belt Clip Replacement
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:October 29, 2010
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Good, clip, but is a little finicky. You have to make sure your phone is clipped in before you head off otherwise it can fall out of the clip. But once your phone is in the clip you are pretty solid. Overall a good compromise between getting your phone in the clip and having it stay there...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>