OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case

This lightweight, yet tough clear iPhone 4/4S case protects your iPhone from drops and scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
3.419 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 star
25
66 out of 105(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Review 41 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice Case...

Date:October 26, 2011
Location: Atlanta
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Just got my case. I had the previous version of the Reflex and it was ok. But the revised version for the iPhone 4S has been improved. I am running the Gunmetal color on a white iPhone 4S and I am quite satisfied with the fit, quality, and protection. Otterbox added a felt liner to the inside of the case for added scratch protection for the back of your phone. I think this addition also makes the case fit more snug and stay in place alot better than the previous model. I think my search for the perfect case is over. If you feel that the Defender is to too bulky and the Commuter is too flimsy, this case may be the best of both.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 42 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case for iPhone 4s

Date:October 24, 2011
Location: Ohio
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After spending weeks shopping for the right case I finally pulled the trigger on the Otterbox Reflex. After spending $200+ on a brand new iPhone 4s, I want to keep my investment protected. First of all, shipping was faster than expected. The packaging was great and the product is even better. It is a two-piece case and you slide them together on the phone. The quality is top-notch and i feel as though my phone will survive any accidental drop. The fabric inside the case cushions the back of the phone and is a nice touch. The "reflex zones" give your phone additional protection from drops and also gives it a cool, slick look. If you're worried about this being too bulky, don't. It has high protection without all the bulk. I also love how easy it is to put in and take out of my jean/pant pocket. I'm done with the days of pulling my whole pocket out because of a case that sticks to the fabric.
The only con, and i'm being nit picky, is if you already have a screen protector on (mine was a best skins ever screen protector) when sliding the two pieces together, it takes the screen protector right off or bubbles on the edges. I had to be very careful in putting the case together to minimize the damage done to the screen protector. I'm sure the screen protector that comes with the case helps this problem. Also, headphone jacks that are very thick may not fit due to the protection around the jack.
Overall, this product is the perfect case for those looking to give your phone maximum protection while maintaining a very slick and not bulky look. I would recommend this case to anyone and everyone with an Iphone 4/4s. Once skeptical, now a believer. Thanks Otterbox!
Pros: High quality, Durable, slick exterior, great protection
Cons: thicker headphone jacks may not fit with case on
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 43 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best iPhone case ever

Date:October 18, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have a white iPhone 4s and I just got this case today, I have had the defender and couldn't wait for this case to come out! I love my defender case but this beats every thing, this case is amazing and if you are weary about it or are thinking about the comuter case, the reflex beats them all.
Pros: High quality, Durable, thin!, great colors, great new durable protective materials
Cons: none
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 44 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case

Date:April 9, 2014
Location: Firestone CO
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I am so happy with my Otterbox IPhone 4/4S Reflex Series Case. I'm a bit clumsy sometime so I have dropped my phone. My previous case has broken but has protected my IPhone. When I've dropped this Reflex Series Case, both my case and phone survived the fall.
The ONLY flaw I see in this case is it takes the film protector off on the sides of the phone when I take the bottom portion off to charge the phone on my docking station.
Cons: takes film protection off on sides of phone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Relfex Crack

Date:March 4, 2014
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've only had two Otter Box cases in total. The firs was the Defender series which was ok for me at the time of having it. Had it for a while, but for whatever reason I broke two or three belt clips that came with it. the belt clip could have been made better I feel. On top of that the silicon case would become loose over time. Went through two of those. Over all the phone is slim when not in a case. When placing it in the defender case it became a large brick "Not cool." After some tim I came across the reflex series which was/is a great fit for my use of the phone. The case is designed very well with its easy to slip off (when pressure is applied) covers as well as being slim it self. Unlike the defender series you DO NOT have to take off the whole to charge the phone. The bottom half of the case slides off so you can dock it for whatever reason. This is my second case of the reflex series. The first case I guess I dropped it and didn't notice that there was a nice thin crack on the corner of the case. Over time the crack became worse, but that was due to me not paying attention and it being snagged on things when I took it out of my pocket. Had the case for a year before the crack showed up. The replacement process went smooth. I received my case in the mail and here I am writing a review about three weeks or so later...
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

great case but can scratch metal band

Date:November 13, 2013
Location: Athens, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This was my favorite case for my 4S (I had a few), but the only downside was that if dust or dirt got caught in between the case and the metal band it could potentially scratch the band when sliding the case on and off. This didn't seem to take away much or any value from the phone when I traded it in for my 5S so that was nice. If you're a perfectionist the potential scratches may bother you, but if you're a realist you'll remember you pretty much keep your case on at all times anyway so it's not that big of a deal. This case would get 5 stars if it weren't for the scratching issue. Still a great case though. ***Note this seems to have been corrected for the 5 and 5S of the same case model.***
Also the slide-off-to-dock style of the case was great and really convenient if you hate dismantling your case every time you need to dock it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, great looking design
Cons: scratches metal band
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case

Date:October 2, 2013
Location: Ft. Collins
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Product Review: This case meets all my needs. It's sturdy yet small enough the slide into my purse or jeans pocket. It has stood up to the test of my 13 month old son dropping my phone repeatedly. It was important for me to find a case that protected my phone, but allowed me to dock it into many different charger types (Bose player requires me to remove the bottom piece which is super convenient!). My only recommendation is to make the power and volume buttons easier to push through the protective rubber.
Thanks Otterbox!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Reflex

Date:September 24, 2013
Location: Calgary
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I wanted this case for the decent protection it gives but I also like the ease of which I can remove the case. Sometimes the charger or jack I'm connecting with doesn't function well with the case on so it can be considered a negative for the case but a lot of cases have this problem. At least the case slides off quickly and easily to make it a virtual non issue.
I've also experienced fantastic customer service from the fine people at Otterbox.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good, slips in pocket nicely
Cons: the rubber will wear out over time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great if you know what you want

Date:July 5, 2013
Location: Florida
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought this because of the two piece design. I needed to be able to remove the bottom for the dock in my vehicle. I have had my case for about 2.5 years and through 2 phones. Yes you need to be careful with the screen protector. It will bubble if you aren't real careful the first time or two taking the bottom on and off. My case has lasted through some really tough times. I have no complaints, it has done its job. It has finally broken on the corner. That is what is supposed to happen. As for the scratches, I have marks on the side of the phone where I slid the bottom on and off. If you want to take the case off and admire the phone, you may be disappointed.
Pros: High quality, Durable, fits in pocket
Cons: only lasted 2.5 years?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

its good

Date:February 24, 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
ive had this case for almost a year, it protects the phone from falls, the only damage to the case so far is a tiny chip is missing from the front with the screen. and the back a tiny dent of rubber is missing.. so falls this case is great.. the only downfall is it scratches your phone when you put on and take off the case.. the silver parts of my phone have really bad deep scratches all down the sides.they are deep enough that you can feel them. it also doesnt protect the phone from dust.. its everywhere and really hard to get out from the case it self. over all its good when you drop your phone...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great Case!

Date:June 19, 2012
Location: FL
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I've had my iPhone 4 for almost a year. For nearly that entire time, I was using the big, heavy-duty Defender case. I'm a girl who doesn't carry a purse very often, and the bulky case and silicone shell made it really hard to fit it into my pocket, and I ended up dropping my phone a lot.
That case fell apart, and in shopping for my next case I found the Reflex series. I picked a cute color and went for it...and I love it! It's slim, so it fits in my pocket. I drop it way less often, but it's still pretty intensely protective if I do drop it.
I will say one thing- it's pretty freaking hard to get the case on if you have a screen protector. It bubble up on the sides and can even permanently damage the protector. I recommend cutting tiny slivers off of the sides of a screen protector before putting it on the phone and trying to get the case on.
Great purchase!
Pros: High quality, Durable, fits in my pocket!
Cons: really tough to use w/screen protector
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Cool but

Date:June 2, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
i ordered the glacier blue transparent for my iphone. Its a great case but the blue isnt the color i wanted it to be. its a much darker sorta teal blue, not like how its portrayed in their photos of it. It seems that glacier blue is more for white iphones. If you were deciding between the clear or translucent blue, i would recommend the clear for the black iphone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: dull color
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

great product

Date:February 25, 2012
Location: st louis
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
this is a great product, it fits great and added the protection i wasnt exspecting from it.
Pros: High quality
Cons: needs a slight lining of rubber to help from drops
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 54 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

I have the pink one.

Date:January 19, 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I love the case, it is my most favorite of the Otter Boxes. Easiest to have on my phone. The others tend to peel off and you are constantly adjusting them. The biggest downfall of this case is it does scratch the sides of you phone. A lot!
Pros: High quality, Durable, no fussing to keep it on the phone
Cons: scratches your beautiful iphone on the sides!!!, cost, needs more color choices
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Very pleased with this purchase.

Date:December 18, 2011
Location: Keller, TX
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had the Defender case for my 3G, but it was too bulky, so when I got my 4S, I decided that I would take another route. I must say that I took the right one. The case is almost like not even there... In a good way! It just doesn't add much bulkiness- almost none at all. I dropped it on the sidewalk as I was running the other day, and there was no scratch on the phone; however, the color is off!! When I saw the color on my screen, it looked like a really nice blue (got the Deep Teal). Thinking it would be the same color, I bought it, but when it arrived I was a bit disappointed. All in all, though, it was a very good investment to protect the phone.
Pros: High quality
-19points
2out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 56 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nice addition!!

Date:November 18, 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I ordered this case in Gunmetal and like the way it looks on my white iPhone 4S. Case is very lightweight, but feels pretty solid. The case fits snug around my phone and doesn't feel like it will separate unless I take it apart. The sides are a little slick, but it still feels comfortable in my hands. If you have used the Commuter case or held it in your hands, I would say that this case is similar in size/thickness, but feels lighter. If you are after a sturdy, slider type case, I would recommend the Reflex over other comparable cases (I have used others and the Reflex feels more protective). I have used many different cases and have both the Defender (4S version) and the Commuter (iPhone 4 version). This case is a close second to the Defender as my favorite case. If I were to pick one case to own it would be the Defender iPhone 4S version, only because it has been tried and tested through personal experience (survived a 6 foot drop unharmed) and sometimes I take advantage of the belt clip option. The Commuter is ok, but attracts a lot of lint (Reflex does not). I haven't dropped my phone with the Reflex installed on it, but seems sturdy enough to take the fall without my phone getting damaged. If I were to change one thing about the case, I would add port covers for the 30 pin dock connector and the headphone jack. Overall, I would recommend this case to anyone that wants a protective case at a reasonable price.
Pros: High quality, Durable, reasonably priced, screen protector included, better quality than comparable slider cases
Cons: no port covers, headphone cutout is a little small
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 57 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Nice Simple Case with slight design flaw

Date:November 3, 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a nice, fairly low profile case for the amount of protection it provides. It definitely gives you more security when carrying your iPhone around. My only 2 problems are, even when clicked shut there is a slight gap in between the two sides. Also where the two sides meet there is a little sharp edge that sticks out and catches on my finger and sometimes my pocket. Otherwise it seems to be a very durable case that is easy to take apart and snap back together if you want to dock your phone, yet the fit seems very snug on the phone. It did take 3 work days before my case even left for delivery, that seems excesive for an "in stock" item. Overall this product seems to have good protection without too much bulk.
Pros: High quality, Durable, snug fit
Cons: sharp plastic edges, gap where it snaps together, slow processing/delivery time
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 58 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Color is off

Date:October 26, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The design of this case is great. I love the way it easily clicks on and off and I feel it will be well protected when I inevitably drop it. That being said, I chose the color "deep plum" and it is awful. The pictures make it look pink, but it is more of a mauve color. Also, I have the white phone. While the mauve/black color scheme would look ok on the black one, it is horrible on the white. I know this is a bit superficial, but look is important to me as well as function and I am just not happy with the color.
Cons: color not well represented in photos
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 59 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Good Product, Deceptive photo

Date:October 26, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
While I like everything about this case, the great protection and the ease of dismantling, the picture of the color "Deep Plum" is misleading. To me it looks like a darker hot pink. So I thought I was going to be getting something similar to the hot pink reflex cases that are available for other phones. I know it sounds petty, but I'm a girl, and the appearance of my phone does matter to me. When I recieved it, it was a dull plum color that isn't nearly as vibrant as the picture online. I guess it was what the word description said, but I didn't think a picture would lie...guess it does. A word to the photographers for this site: Don't photoshop your photos to the point of misleading customers about the product! I am dissapointed, but the hassle of sending it back is too much, so I won't, but shame on you.
Pros: High quality, Durable, easy to take apart
Cons: misleading photo for color
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for iPhone 4 / 4S Reflex Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:October 26, 2011
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Case is great, substantial protection with a sleek profile. My only complaint with the design is the size of the opening for the headphone jack. Unfortunately neither my Shure headphones or the 6" radio shack adapter fit into the jack.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>