OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

HOT SELLER: Get 'em while you can! When you purchase the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 / 4S, 10% of the purchase price will be donated to the Avon Breast Cancer Crusade . Funding will support finding a cure for breast cancer and advancing access to care for all, regardless of ability to pay. Looking for a stylish, yet tough iPhone 4 / 4S case that can keep up with you? Then the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 /4S is what you need. With three layers of protection (including a self-adhering screen protector), worrying about scratches, bumps and shocks will be a thing of the past.
Average Customer Rating:
3.414 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
13
37 out of 70(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Review 41 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

OK Product... but the hot pink is awesome! :)

Date:June 19, 2012
Location: Rochester, New York
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I've been using Otter Box products for the past 2 years. I've had the defender series & commuter series for iPhone 3GS, and this is the 3rd product I've purchased from them. I bought the hot pink & white case a new product being discontinued & discounted at a tech shop. The white piece covering the headphone jack and power button on the top left of the case started fraying off by using it after just having the case for 1 month. I have NO idea how this happened.... I do use my iPhone a lot, and I treat the product well. It's the 3rd case I've had by Otter Box, and it's the 1st time this has ever happened to me or had to return a product due to breaking. The white part of the case also tends to ware out quickly, and it can get dirty pretty quick, as well. The most difficult thing about the case is taking it off to put in my docking alarm clock/charger and in my workout arm band. I wish that Otter Box made a work out arm band to place this case in... The color of the pink attracted me most to the product, as I has a hot pink commuter & defender cases for my old iPhone 3GS (which I liked a lot better!!). I wish that the white part of the case were different, and it were easier to "break in," which would make using it a lot easier. I did contact Otter Box, though, and they are sending me a new case to replace this one, which is the best thing about the company. :)
Pros: Durable, color, looks good with white iphone 4s
Cons: Low quality, the white gel frayed, difficult to "break it in", docking issues
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 42 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great case, but gets really dirty

Date:June 15, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought this case a week ago and the white on it is already really dirty and won't come clean. I tried the white eraser trick, water, everything, and nothing gets it clean. It makes the case and phone look cheap. I wish I could just buy a replacement rubber part for it in black because I love the pink. :( other than the rubber part issue I love the case!
Pros: Durable, looks nice, slim design
Cons: doesn't stay clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 43 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Problem solved.

Date:May 25, 2012
Location: Ohio
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had this case for only 2 months and it cracked and broke at the bottom. They are sending me a replacement. I really enjoy the slim design. Not to bulky:)
Pros: cute, protects phone great
Cons: broke easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Doesn't come clean.

Date:May 14, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I was very excited to receive this case. I am not an outdoors person at all. I have two small children and I work in an office. As far as protection, the case is great. But the white rubber part of the case was FILTHY within a week. I have no idea from what. Makeup? ink from touching papers all day? I don't know really. NOTHING made this rubber part come anywhere near clean.
Pros: great protection cute.
Cons: gets dirty fast doesn't come clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Break

Date:February 17, 2012
Location: Ontario
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I just bought one of these cases for my new phone so far I have gone through two of these cases the first one cracked (near the camera hole) the second one the bottom white rubber started to peal off (where it covers the plug in hole....
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 46 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Adequate but not complete protection

Date:February 3, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The info section states compatiable with 4/4S and all carriers, however, I have an AT&T 4 iPhone. The case did NOT fit the phone completely. The plastic casing did cover the rubber completely. It would not snap completely into place, no matter how many different ways I tried putting the plastic on over the rubber. I will be returning the item. I loved the color, the cause & the case seems durable, however, it does not adequately cover all the "outlets" on the phone. The camera & the "vibrate" button both we open. Coming from a Defense model Otter Box, I was not prepared for this either. I wish that a dark purple w/ black color option for the 4 was available. The lavendar is too light of a color for me. The color options are limited, which is why I went with the breast cancer option. Otter box protection, but better color option - plus donation to a great cause. But since my phone is not compatiable with this version of case, I will have to return the case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not compatiable with all phone types as stated
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

ok case,, not the best out there

Date:December 22, 2011
Location: south jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased this case 2 months ago for my wife's new I phone.
The one side of the pink plastic never seemed to fit tight , like it was a little warped and after 2 months the black silicon has become so loose I think if she dropped her phone it would pop out of the case. she only carried it in her purse and never in her pocket. She loved the look and style of the case when I first got it.. for the price I thought the case would last much longer. She now has a Speck candy shell ( my second case) I own the defender and have no issues.
Pros: nice looks
Cons: Not durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Pretty Case, HARD to keep clean

Date:December 4, 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I purchased the pink and white case. The case is durable. There isn't a quality problem with the silicone but, it is a nightmare to keep clean. With makeup and general dirt and oil from hands it needs to be cleaned, and I mean scrubbed, at least every other day to keep it white. If you go any longer than that the white part will be filthy. The defender was probably a lower maintenance choice. I had a solid pink commuter on my iPhone 3gs and it wasn’t hard to keep clean.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: difficult to keep clean
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 49 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

So-So

Date:November 25, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Bought for my new white iPhone 4s. The pink is not as dark as the picture. White part not the best quality. Also, I tend to use the speaker phone mostly, but in 2 days, the white got dirty. I probably brought the phone up to my ear a few times and my face powder got on it & won't come clean. The only positive, the grip feels good to hold the phone.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 50 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Stains easy

Date:November 1, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Unfortunately the silicone has gotten so dirty and brown I have taken it off and bought another case. Its sad because its an awesome case, but i just couldn't find anything to clean the silicone with and I even tried bleach!
Pros: Durable
Cons: silicone gets dirty easily
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

disappointed

Date:September 17, 2012
Location: bismarck, nd
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased this case because I am a huge cancer supporter and wanted to show my cause. I have the iphone 4s and the black sleeve went on fine but the pink body never fit right. I tried a hundred different ways to make it fit correctly but it never did. I could use the case but I feel like to get the protection of the otter the case needs to fit well and mine did not. I would probably try another Otter case but I am hesitant at this time to spend more money on a case that I can't really use.
Pros: supports a great cause
Cons: Low quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Broken

Date:July 4, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have second case, Battery Boys never returned my reciept. The new case is cracked on the side again and I cannot return it.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:May 24, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I was really excited to get this Strength case. It looked great when I got it and I loved the protection it gave my phone. I am very careful with my phone as I dropped my first one, so I am not throwing it in bags with keys, as I hear some people say on reviews. Anyway, the corners of this got worn and gross really fast and the case looks awful. So bad that I took it off. This is not a cheap case so I expected a lot more from it. I am very disappointed. I know Otterbox is great for protection but I can't use this case since it looks so bad!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor Design

Date:April 9, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Love the case, but DO NOT love the fact that every time I use the phone my foundation rubs off the the white silicone protection and I can't get it to come clean!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: won't stay clean!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

looks nice for about a month

Date:February 8, 2012
The white rubber piece gets dirty quick.
It does not wash off!!!
What a waist of money, got to get a new one.
Get something other then the white and pink one.
Pros: Durable
Cons: white gets dirty and doesn't wash off
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

White Silicone Gets Dirty Very Easily

Date:October 26, 2011
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This is my first Otterbox and I was really excited about getting the pink. Not having an Otterbox previously, I wasnt aware that the silicone was a porous surface. The silicone on this specific Otterbox is white and stains very easily. I've had the otterbox on my phone for less than a week and the white silicone is already stained and looking brown from just putting the phone in my purse, setting it on counters and holding the phone up to my face and make-up coming off on it. It's a great case, the silicone just needs to be a darker color.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 57 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Disappointed

Date:October 25, 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have a few friends with iPhones and they raved about their OtterBox cases. So when I finally took the plunge and bought an iPhone 4s I immediately ordered an OtterBox case at the same time.
It seems sturdy enough, but I was disappointed in the quality. The polycarbonate hard shell has "gaps" between its edges and the silicone inner sleeve. This causes my hair to get caught in the gaps and pulled every time I put the phone to my ear. There are also rough edges along the seams where the shell was molded, like they left a bit of extra plastic. And finally the port protector for the charger will not stay closed.
I will be calling OtterBox to see about an exchange maybe for a Reflex case. But I'm wondering if in their rush to have cases ready for the release of the iPhone 4s, they didn't possibly sacrifice some quality control?
Pros: the pink and white case is pretty, looks good with the white iphone
Cons: Low quality, quality control seems to be lacking
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 58 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor Protection

Date:September 11, 2012
Location: Jamestown, NC
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I bought this case right at a month ago. Loved it until today. My phone slipped out of my hand while taking it out of my pocket, its happened before, and the case had been great. TODAY, the entire back of my phone is shattered. Luckily it still works, as of now. But, for a fairly expensive, supposedly "top of the line" "case to have" for ultimate protection of an Iphone, it failed me today! Yes, I would understand if i tossed it accidentally or dropped it out of the car or off a table- fine. But it only fell about 2 feet and the back of my phone is ruined-- the case doesn't even look like it had dropped. For protecting my phone, I could've paid about half the price and gotten the same quality of phone protection. VERY unhappy and would probably tell friends to save their money and just buy the one off the shelf.
Cons: Low quality, poor protection of phone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Screen film does not adhere well

Date:September 4, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Screen film is useless. One week after applying to the screen of iphone, corners started peeling up. Within a month i threw it away because so much of it would no longer adhere to the screen.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Regret purchasing this

Date:July 31, 2012
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Very disappointing . . .As many other reviewers have noted, the white silicone is impossible to keep clean - it is always filthy looking and disgusting! When I purchased this, a black silicone was not an available option. Even worse, in my opinion: I have dropped my phone two times, both times the outer pink shell has broken!!!!! What?!!!
Yes, my PHONE is okay, but now the CASE is worthless. The price for this case is WAY too high to be so easily breakable. A VERY poor investment. Don't waste your money.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, absorbs grime, breaks easily
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>