OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

HOT SELLER: Get 'em while you can! When you purchase the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 / 4S, 10% of the purchase price will be donated to the Avon Breast Cancer Crusade . Funding will support finding a cure for breast cancer and advancing access to care for all, regardless of ability to pay. Looking for a stylish, yet tough iPhone 4 / 4S case that can keep up with you? Then the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 /4S is what you need. With three layers of protection (including a self-adhering screen protector), worrying about scratches, bumps and shocks will be a thing of the past.
Average Customer Rating:
3.411 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
15
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
13
39 out of 73(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Review 41 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Case Cracked and Broke

Date:April 3, 2012
Location: Ada, OK
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This is my 2nd OtterBox. The 1st one worked great but was too bulky and rubbery for me so I decided to try this sleeker and slicker version. I really liked it, however I a realtor and have a lockbox accessory that had to be plugged into the same place where you charge it and my accessory would not fit unless I removed the hot pink outer layer. I am not sure if my removing the hot pink outer layer on a few rare occasions caused it to crack up or if it was because it was dropped. I have only had this case for a little less than 2 months. Anyway...I am now in the market for another case. I would suggest you look at another case.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, cracked and broke
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 42 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Poor Design

Date:April 9, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Love the case, but DO NOT love the fact that every time I use the phone my foundation rubs off the the white silicone protection and I can't get it to come clean!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: won't stay clean!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Problems with Inner Layer

Date:April 9, 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought the Hot Pink case 2 weeks ago and have already had problems with it. It is nice and durable, its somewhat slim but still offers protection, it is stylish. I love all those things about it however the inner white silicon gets very dirty very easily. I had to stop putting it in my jeans pocket because the blue dye runs off on it. The case dosent fit it properly, the silicon doesnt go into the hard shell the way it is supposed to. That is the only reaason i wouldnt reccomend it to a frind, i dont want them going through the problems i have, but if they could fix that error i would love it.
Pros: Durable, stylish, somewhat slim
Cons: Low quality, inner silicon
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

love it

Date:April 10, 2012
Location: Maysville MO
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I purchased the defender first and did not like the bulkiness. This otterbox is great. I highly recommend it to everyone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, not bulky
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Doesn't fit well

Date:April 13, 2012
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I got this case and had to take it back. It was very protective and I loved the color however the white part got dirty very easly and the inner rubber part didn't fit well with the hard part and there were sharp edges!
Pros: Durable, fun, slim
Cons: didn't line up, gets dirty
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case

Date:April 16, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is wonderful. I drop my phone all the time so I picked otterbox. I didnt care for the bulky defender series so I bought the commuter one. The case fits great on my iPhone 4, yes it does get dirty but if it is really bothersome, a white eraser does the trick.
Pros: High quality, Durable, thin, non-bulky
Cons: discolors easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 47 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my life

Date:April 19, 2012
Location: CT
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was in a very bad car accident a few weeks ago at 3:45am (car was totaled, I was hospitalized for over a week, still undergoing surgeries, etc.). After I regained consciousness I was able to reach my phone and call 911 and then called my parents and stayed on the phone with my mom until help arrived. I've had the case since August 2011, and despite dropping my phone multiple times, I never had any problems with it. The accident caused major damage to the case, but protected my phone 100%. If my phone had been damaged and was unusable, I am not sure what would have happened. I am so grateful that I had the case on my phone and it was protected. This is the only brand I really trust to protect my phone now.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 48 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Disappointment

Date:April 21, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had such high expectations for this case. I eagerly put it on my brand new Iphone 4s and was happy with it for about two days and that is when I first noticed the silicone starting to deteriorating on the sides. It looked as if it was flaking and it got dirty extremely fast. After about two weeks and my first time dropping it in the kitchen the plastic cracked and within a week it was broken off leaving gaps in the case on the back. Both the silicone and the plastic cracked along the volume buttons and headphone jack. The plastic completely broke off the bottom where the cord connected. All the buttons were hard to use even before it started falling apart. The home button was basically impossible and the volume buttons were obnoxious to use. My case fell to pieces within a month and I have never been so disappointed in a brand that had been praised so highly.
Pros: light weight
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, breaks easily, silicone is very low quality, design is horrible
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 49 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I Love it But...

Date:April 21, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The White Rubber Part Gets Dingy Looking =[
How Can I Clean That?!?!?!?
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: gets dirty
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Strength design is understated yet powerful

Date:April 27, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I initially wanted the Defender case, but the Strength design sold me on trying the Commuter case. I have been more than satisfied, it's a great case for protection and looks fantastic. I have people pick up my phone to take a look at the understated design. Great case!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Doesn't come clean.

Date:May 14, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I was very excited to receive this case. I am not an outdoors person at all. I have two small children and I work in an office. As far as protection, the case is great. But the white rubber part of the case was FILTHY within a week. I have no idea from what. Makeup? ink from touching papers all day? I don't know really. NOTHING made this rubber part come anywhere near clean.
Pros: great protection cute.
Cons: gets dirty fast doesn't come clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:May 24, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I was really excited to get this Strength case. It looked great when I got it and I loved the protection it gave my phone. I am very careful with my phone as I dropped my first one, so I am not throwing it in bags with keys, as I hear some people say on reviews. Anyway, the corners of this got worn and gross really fast and the case looks awful. So bad that I took it off. This is not a cheap case so I expected a lot more from it. I am very disappointed. I know Otterbox is great for protection but I can't use this case since it looks so bad!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Problem solved.

Date:May 25, 2012
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had this case for only 2 months and it cracked and broke at the bottom. They are sending me a replacement. I really enjoy the slim design. Not to bulky:)
Pros: cute, protects phone great
Cons: broke easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:June 4, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I really like it! Just don't like that the white gets really dingy really fast!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Worked swell! One minor flaw.

Date:June 10, 2012
Location: Indianapolis indiana
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Worked great but after a whole the rubber snapped and tore. Other than that it worked well and protected my phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: breaks after awhile
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 56 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Great case, but gets really dirty

Date:June 15, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I bought this case a week ago and the white on it is already really dirty and won't come clean. I tried the white eraser trick, water, everything, and nothing gets it clean. It makes the case and phone look cheap. I wish I could just buy a replacement rubber part for it in black because I love the pink. :( other than the rubber part issue I love the case!
Pros: Durable, looks nice, slim design
Cons: doesn't stay clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 57 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

best case ever

Date:June 15, 2012
Location: MIami Springs Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Love the Otter Box Cases.
Great Product
good grip
Protects Great
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

White

Date:June 18, 2012
Location: Arizona
Gender: female
The white is horrible! I am less then 48 hrs in and can't get it clean!
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality, white gets dirty to easily
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

OK Product... but the hot pink is awesome! :)

Date:June 19, 2012
Location: Rochester, New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I've been using Otter Box products for the past 2 years. I've had the defender series & commuter series for iPhone 3GS, and this is the 3rd product I've purchased from them. I bought the hot pink & white case a new product being discontinued & discounted at a tech shop. The white piece covering the headphone jack and power button on the top left of the case started fraying off by using it after just having the case for 1 month. I have NO idea how this happened.... I do use my iPhone a lot, and I treat the product well. It's the 3rd case I've had by Otter Box, and it's the 1st time this has ever happened to me or had to return a product due to breaking. The white part of the case also tends to ware out quickly, and it can get dirty pretty quick, as well. The most difficult thing about the case is taking it off to put in my docking alarm clock/charger and in my workout arm band. I wish that Otter Box made a work out arm band to place this case in... The color of the pink attracted me most to the product, as I has a hot pink commuter & defender cases for my old iPhone 3GS (which I liked a lot better!!). I wish that the white part of the case were different, and it were easier to "break in," which would make using it a lot easier. I did contact Otter Box, though, and they are sending me a new case to replace this one, which is the best thing about the company. :)
Pros: Durable, color, looks good with white iphone 4s
Cons: Low quality, the white gel frayed, difficult to "break it in", docking issues
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice case

Date:June 23, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This a very nice case. The color is vibrant and it's not bulky so it fits nicely in your pocket. However, I have the same complaint as many others. The white area gets filthy. I'm someone that washes her hands a lot and it's still nasty just after only 2 weeks. I've tried bleach and magic erasers to remove the dirt and it dosen't come off. I won't carry a dirty looking phone case so this was a huge waste of money.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: white shows dirt
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>