OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

HOT SELLER: Get 'em while you can! When you purchase the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 / 4S, 10% of the purchase price will be donated to the Avon Breast Cancer Crusade . Funding will support finding a cure for breast cancer and advancing access to care for all, regardless of ability to pay. Looking for a stylish, yet tough iPhone 4 / 4S case that can keep up with you? Then the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 /4S is what you need. With three layers of protection (including a self-adhering screen protector), worrying about scratches, bumps and shocks will be a thing of the past.
Average Customer Rating:
3.414 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
12
2 stars
7
1 star
13
37 out of 70(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Review 21 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love!

Date:October 25, 2011
Location: RSM, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I read some of the reviews for the commuter case for the iphone 4 and saw a lot of people were saying that the silicone did not fit snugly on their phone. I'm happy to report that this is definitely not the case for the 4s commuter case. It fit's so nice and snug, it really is a beautiful case.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Iphone Case ever!

Date:October 25, 2011
Location: california
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is the best! Initially I bought a defender series case for my iphone because I wanted maximum protection, but I found it to be a bit too bulky and unnecessary. Then i ordered this case on a whim because i loved the pink and white design, but now i just love everything about it! I tend to be a bit clumsy with my phones and drop it quite often and ive been amazed how well the rubber edge protects my screen from getting scratched or cracked! The way the case covers the ear bud plug and charger plug is great too.. helps to keep out dust and water! I love this case so much, i just ordered the Victory case also... can't wait to fall in love with that one too!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 20, 2011
Location: Rialto, CA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Otterbox is awesome and has great customer service!
Pros: High quality, Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing

Date:October 19, 2011
Location: MIchigan
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case. I don't have to baby my new phone. I love the colors, I'm a pink person, and it's going to a great cause. I would totally recommend this case to anyone!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: black fuzz/cathair gets caught on white.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Cute Case, Just Breaks.

Date:September 15, 2012
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
The day I got this case, it started getting dirty... About a few weeks ago, when I tried to take it off, it cracked in the back. Not a very big crack, but it still worries me. With the protection so far, I give it 4 stars.
Pros: cute
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Dont like the white

Date:June 24, 2012
Location: NC
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I really like the product, but the white won't stay clean ... I should have gotten a different color... But the pink is pretty! They should make it so I can get different colors in the rubber part so they can be changed out....and not have to buy the whole thing !
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 27 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:June 4, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I really like it! Just don't like that the white gets really dingy really fast!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 28 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Need More Color Options

Date:February 21, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Nice case, exactly as pictured. We have Oterbox on everything (iPods, iPhones, HTC phone). We swear by them, you absolutely cannot beat their customer service and waranty...I just wish there were more color options. I like the subtle look of the white/pink case, just wish the case came with either white or black silicone option. The white gets make-up on it immediately, and is very hard to clean. Didn't care for the case with the big ribbon on the back or I would have gotten it just for the black silicone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color option
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 29 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Decent Case-Does the Job

Date:February 10, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought the pink and white Otter Box, this is the first Otter Box case I've tried after busting several of the cheaper plastic versions. I tend to drop my phone frequently and it seems to do a great job as far as protection. The case is easy to take off and put on. It looks nice and is very sleek. My only complaint is the white rubber gets dirty way too easy, it picks up dirt from anything it comes in contact with and doesn't wipe off well. I had to take the entire case apart and clean in hot water and soap. It would be great if this style was offered in other colors or you could do a "build it" option and mix and match colors.
Pros: Durable, cute
Cons: white rubber gets dirty easy, hard to clean
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Impossible to keep clean!

Date:January 24, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased the Hot Pink Plastic/White Silicone case and while I loved the initial look, three weeks later the white silicone has picked every speck of dirt that is somehow in my purse in addition to the makeup the rubs off on it when I talk on the phone. I guess a key or something must have nicked it while in my purse as well because somehow there's a gash in the silicone. As far as phone protection, though, so far so good.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 31 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

My phone lives, my case does not.

Date:January 17, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have had two of these commuter series cases and gone through both since Thanksgiving. I wish the outer plastic shell were a bit more durable. My phone is unharmed though so I can't complain too much and am going to purchase yet another.
Cons: Not durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 32 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

iPhone 4S cover

Date:January 2, 2012
I have read the majority of the reviews. I have the Avon White and Pink Breast Cancer one. I have not experienced any of the "concerns" other viewers have had.
I did have a employee of Best Buy put my on and that may make a difference.
Very Happy Customer ;)
Pros: High quality, Durable, cute
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

black lining and pink outer case do not fit well

Date:December 18, 2011
Location: TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have been watching for the pink/black "Strength" case to become available for a while. Finally, I was able to get one while they were in stock. I already had a black/black Commuter series case for my 4s and it fit fine; I just wanted something with more color so it would show in my bag better and when I put it down on tables, etc. The black liner does not fit well inside this pink case. The problem is on the sides, where the pink wraps around where your fingers would be. The little black edge that fits just on top of those areas -- fits on one side but not the other -- it's always too loose and not right in the notch on one side or the other. I have taken the case apart several times trying to re-adjust. I will probably call Otter tomorrow to ask if this case might defective. I don't have this problem at all when I put my 4s in the black/black Commuter. I will see if they will exchange or I might return.
Pros: Durable
Cons: liner and outer case don't fit together well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Love the pink/white case!!

Date:November 12, 2011
Location: Walnut Creek, California
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I highly recommend this 4s commuter pink/ white case. It looks great with the white iPhone and it's sturdy, the edges conform well and I'm happy with it! Sure, it gets a little dirty and I just wipe it with a wet wipe. Great otterbox product. I also bought a defender series one, but too bulky for everyday use.
Pros: Durable, looks great with white iphone
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

BITTER SWEET

Date:November 8, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS CASE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE FACT THAT THE WHITE SILICONE GETS DIRTY QUICKLY WITH NORMAL USE AND STORAGE OF THE PHONE.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: white silicone gets really dirty quick
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Breast Cancer Ribbon Case

Date:October 30, 2011
Location: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I like the case; the colors are amazing and the breast cancer ribbon design is awesome. I do not like the fact that the silicone and the hard shell do not meet properly :( Major issue for me... contemplating returning it for this very reason. Other than that, the case is protective and stylish, it doesn't add a lot of bulk and it gives you the dual protection of both soft and hard shell in one.
Pros: nice looking
Cons: Not durable, cheap silicone seems to be the issue for this case
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case but...

Date:October 24, 2011
Location: College Station, TX
Gender: female
looks great and I know my phone is very well protected but the silicone and the plastic don't fit well together and the part with the camera whole doesn't even look like the picture, the pink is lighter than pictured and the black part is thinner and there is a bit of an indentation where as in the picture it looks even which is what attracted me to this case in the first place. But regardless of that the case is of very good quality and I will buy from otterbox in the future, for protection you can't go wrong.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not as pictured, doesn't fit together well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great case but...

Date:October 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Very improved quality but the plastic doesn't fit perfectly over the silicone, it's nothing problematic but since I expected perfection that bothered me quite a bit. Other than that I love that it benefits a great cause and I'm very proud to use it on my iphone
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor fit
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Impossible to clean, but durable

Date:September 23, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had the old version of this case (white and pink) and it was great, until it broke. I was really impressed with the company for standing behind their product and replacing it. On the other hand, the newer version of this case is a bit different. The white, rubber part is actually impossible to keep clean, and once it is dirty, you cant get it off! I even tried a magic eraser, and nothing. It makes your case look awful, but other than that, it has protected my phone very well. I even dropped it in a parking lot and it was returned to me after being stepped on (i think) with the case broken but my phone was protected.
Pros: Durable
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Pricey for questionable durability

Date:August 4, 2012
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I bought this case 6 months ago when I first got my iPhone looking for a case with good shock absorption that wasn't too bulky. The case isn't too bulky, but also isn't too durable. I dropped the phone 3 times before the case cracked in the corner near the camera. It only fell from about a foot up when it broke! The phone survived, but there is now a significant delay when switching to the camera mode. I would have expected better protection from a moderately priced case.
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>