OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case

HOT SELLER: Get 'em while you can! When you purchase the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 / 4S, 10% of the purchase price will be donated to the Avon Breast Cancer Crusade . Funding will support finding a cure for breast cancer and advancing access to care for all, regardless of ability to pay. Looking for a stylish, yet tough iPhone 4 / 4S case that can keep up with you? Then the OtterBox Commuter Series "Strength" case for iPhone 4 /4S is what you need. With three layers of protection (including a self-adhering screen protector), worrying about scratches, bumps and shocks will be a thing of the past.
Average Customer Rating:
3.411 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
15
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
13
39 out of 73(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Review 21 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Pretty Case, HARD to keep clean

Date:December 4, 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I purchased the pink and white case. The case is durable. There isn't a quality problem with the silicone but, it is a nightmare to keep clean. With makeup and general dirt and oil from hands it needs to be cleaned, and I mean scrubbed, at least every other day to keep it white. If you go any longer than that the white part will be filthy. The defender was probably a lower maintenance choice. I had a solid pink commuter on my iPhone 3gs and it wasn’t hard to keep clean.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: difficult to keep clean
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not what product says it is?

Date:December 9, 2011
I bought my otter box to protect my phone and would not normally pay this much but I wanted protection for my phone. Well I dropped my phone and thought omg I am glad I bought this, thinking well I only dropped it 3ft and it didnt hit hard. I picked my phone up and the whole back side of my phone is shattered into pieces??? OMG I thought this was supposed to protect my expensive phone and it did not? I am so upset about this. I would not recommend paying so much for a product that is supposed to protect your high priced phone and it doesnt.
I now have to leave my case on so that the remaining glass doesnt come off??
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love This Case!

Date:December 18, 2011
Location: Texas
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first OtterBox case. It was easy to put on, fit like a glove on my IPhone 4S and looks great! I love the breast cancer ribbon, that's why I purchased it! Had it for one month and my hubby drops my phone , on our ceramic tile floor!! My heart sinks! The phone is fine but the case did crack on one corner where it hit. But that is what it is supposed to do, protect the phone and it did. If I did not have it in a case I'm sure it would have shattered the glass. So my hubby owes me another case and it will be an Otter!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

black lining and pink outer case do not fit well

Date:December 18, 2011
Location: TX
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have been watching for the pink/black "Strength" case to become available for a while. Finally, I was able to get one while they were in stock. I already had a black/black Commuter series case for my 4s and it fit fine; I just wanted something with more color so it would show in my bag better and when I put it down on tables, etc. The black liner does not fit well inside this pink case. The problem is on the sides, where the pink wraps around where your fingers would be. The little black edge that fits just on top of those areas -- fits on one side but not the other -- it's always too loose and not right in the notch on one side or the other. I have taken the case apart several times trying to re-adjust. I will probably call Otter tomorrow to ask if this case might defective. I don't have this problem at all when I put my 4s in the black/black Commuter. I will see if they will exchange or I might return.
Pros: Durable
Cons: liner and outer case don't fit together well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

ok case,, not the best out there

Date:December 22, 2011
Location: south jersey
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased this case 2 months ago for my wife's new I phone.
The one side of the pink plastic never seemed to fit tight , like it was a little warped and after 2 months the black silicon has become so loose I think if she dropped her phone it would pop out of the case. she only carried it in her purse and never in her pocket. She loved the look and style of the case when I first got it.. for the price I thought the case would last much longer. She now has a Speck candy shell ( my second case) I own the defender and have no issues.
Pros: nice looks
Cons: Not durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

iPhone 4S cover

Date:January 2, 2012
I have read the majority of the reviews. I have the Avon White and Pink Breast Cancer one. I have not experienced any of the "concerns" other viewers have had.
I did have a employee of Best Buy put my on and that may make a difference.
Very Happy Customer ;)
Pros: High quality, Durable, cute
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case!

Date:January 6, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I personally think this is a great case. I had the green and white one for my iPhone 4, and I loved it so much that I bought this one for my 4S. I think it's great protection, and it definitely keeps my phone protected. I have four young children, so I don't let them play with my phone, but there are times that they manage to get their hands on it. (They're fast!!!). But this case does a great job of protecting it. For the people who say that the case has gaps in how it fits, or the silicone and hard shell don't match up properly, here's what I discovered: Most two layer cases like this, you put the silicone on and then the hard shell. With the Commuter case, I put it all on at once, and then adjust the edges around the screen as needed. I think the reason being that the hard shell does fit SO tightly that it moves the silicone if you try to put it on separately. Once I did that, I didn't have any gaps at all, and it fit perfectly. Also, the white does tend to get dirty, but I just wipe it and it looks brand new. All in all, a perfect case - and does look absolutely gorgeous with the white iPhone! I'd definitely recommend this to a friend. In fact, I have! =)
Pros: High quality, Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very good case!

Date:January 8, 2012
Location: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had a commuter for my iPhone 4 previously and now have one for my iPhone 4S. I like how the pink and white one looks on my white phone. I also like how there is a cutout for the Apple logo to show. I feel the phone is much more secure and protected from damage while in the Otterbox. I'm sure its still possible to damage your phone while its in this case. If you are looking for a case where you would never be able to damage your phone, have fun carrying around an ugly brick. All the ports on my case line up nicely and all the silicone "plugs" close nicely. I don't have any trouble getting the charging/syncing cable plugged in and I haven't had any trouble with headphones or auxillary cables fitting into the headphone jack. The white silicone on my case has not discolored but it does get minimally dirty on occasion (duh, its WHITE). I have recommended this case to co-workers and friends. The only recommendation I could make to Otterbox is to have a bigger variety of colors so I can mix and match the silicone and outer plastic. So far all the colors I like have the same color silicone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good, not too bulky for amount of protection
Cons: need more colors!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 29 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

I love this case!

Date:January 10, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
This case is amazing!!! It provides extra protection for your iPhone without all of the bulk. The included screen protector is an added bonus. A lot of people were complaining that when they dropped their phone it broke with this case. Well... iPhones are glass and this case is meant to add protection, not make you phone unbreakable. So don't buy this case thinking your phone will withstand anything and everything, it's just a higher quality case then the hard plastic ones and gel ones. The only complaint I have about this case is that the headphone jack is covered too much, and my AUX cable won't fit into it without taking the entire case off. Apple headphones fit just fine.
Pros: High quality, included screen protector, two-layer protection
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

My phone lives, my case does not.

Date:January 17, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I have had two of these commuter series cases and gone through both since Thanksgiving. I wish the outer plastic shell were a bit more durable. My phone is unharmed though so I can't complain too much and am going to purchase yet another.
Cons: Not durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Impossible to keep clean!

Date:January 24, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I purchased the Hot Pink Plastic/White Silicone case and while I loved the initial look, three weeks later the white silicone has picked every speck of dirt that is somehow in my purse in addition to the makeup the rubs off on it when I talk on the phone. I guess a key or something must have nicked it while in my purse as well because somehow there's a gash in the silicone. As far as phone protection, though, so far so good.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: hard to clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Adequate but not complete protection

Date:February 3, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
The info section states compatiable with 4/4S and all carriers, however, I have an AT&T 4 iPhone. The case did NOT fit the phone completely. The plastic casing did cover the rubber completely. It would not snap completely into place, no matter how many different ways I tried putting the plastic on over the rubber. I will be returning the item. I loved the color, the cause & the case seems durable, however, it does not adequately cover all the "outlets" on the phone. The camera & the "vibrate" button both we open. Coming from a Defense model Otter Box, I was not prepared for this either. I wish that a dark purple w/ black color option for the 4 was available. The lavendar is too light of a color for me. The color options are limited, which is why I went with the breast cancer option. Otter box protection, but better color option - plus donation to a great cause. But since my phone is not compatiable with this version of case, I will have to return the case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: not compatiable with all phone types as stated
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

not the best

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: VA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
i've had this case for like a month. i dont really like it this much because the white rubbery part gets dirty real quick. i carry my phone in my pocket so when i slide it in my back pocket it has this blue stain on it from my jeans. Also whenever i take it off it looks even more dirtier compared to the white covered by the pink. and not to mention, the pink plastic outer layer of protection does not even fit right around the white! idk but im sorta a major ocd freak so it bothers me ALOT! dont get this case.. TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY! i recommend a candy shell speck case. that's what im getting next
Cons: Low quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love this case!

Date:February 5, 2012
Location: Susquehanna, PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have a few other Otterbox cases and the Commuter is my hands down favorite. I wanted the pink ribbon strength case and had to patiently wait for them to become available. I am a three year alumni of the Avon Two Day Walk for Breast Cancer and love that I can have a cute case and support a great cause.
The silicone can attract fuzzies, but it's easy enough to wipe them off. To me, the fuzzies are a fair trade for the protection I'm getting! All in all, this is a great case!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

looks nice for about a month

Date:February 8, 2012
The white rubber piece gets dirty quick.
It does not wash off!!!
What a waist of money, got to get a new one.
Get something other then the white and pink one.
Pros: Durable
Cons: white gets dirty and doesn't wash off
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Decent Case-Does the Job

Date:February 10, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I bought the pink and white Otter Box, this is the first Otter Box case I've tried after busting several of the cheaper plastic versions. I tend to drop my phone frequently and it seems to do a great job as far as protection. The case is easy to take off and put on. It looks nice and is very sleek. My only complaint is the white rubber gets dirty way too easy, it picks up dirt from anything it comes in contact with and doesn't wipe off well. I had to take the entire case apart and clean in hot water and soap. It would be great if this style was offered in other colors or you could do a "build it" option and mix and match colors.
Pros: Durable, cute
Cons: white rubber gets dirty easy, hard to clean
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Discolors easily

Date:February 15, 2012
I had this case on my phone for barely a week before taking it off because the white silicone picked up so much color from dirt and stuff. The white turned gray very fast, I tried washing it several times but the color never came off. Other than that the case is alright, the two cases do not align perfectly which is annoying and shows poor quality.
I had the white/pink color.
Cons: discolors easily
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Break

Date:February 17, 2012
Location: Ontario
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I just bought one of these cases for my new phone so far I have gone through two of these cases the first one cracked (near the camera hole) the second one the bottom white rubber started to peal off (where it covers the plug in hole....
Cons: Not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Need More Color Options

Date:February 21, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Nice case, exactly as pictured. We have Oterbox on everything (iPods, iPhones, HTC phone). We swear by them, you absolutely cannot beat their customer service and waranty...I just wish there were more color options. I like the subtle look of the white/pink case, just wish the case came with either white or black silicone option. The white gets make-up on it immediately, and is very hard to clean. Didn't care for the case with the big ribbon on the back or I would have gotten it just for the black silicone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: color option
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for iPhone 4 / 4S Commuter Series Strength Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

BEST customer service EVER!!!

Date:March 29, 2012
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This hot pink is a fabulous and vibrant color! After experiencing a slight defect in my case I was shipped a second one free of charge. The customer service rep. was helpful and friendly! My new case arrived in no time and I love it, everything is perfect! My phone is stylish and protected. Plus it's not overly bulky.
Pros: High quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>