OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPod Touch Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case

Otterbox iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case

Just got your new iPod touch 4g? Keep it safe and clean with the OtterBox Defender Series case for iPod touch 4th generation today!
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(177 Reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
9
160 out of 177(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Review 101 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Survived the Washing Machine

Date:February 10, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
My six year old son's iPod recently made it into the washing machine and went through the full cycle. When it came out he was devastated, and so was I at the prospect of buying another. We took the iPod out of the case and while a little damp it did not seem wet. We dried it off, and let it sit for a few days. Plugged it in to charge and it turned on. Unbelievable.... No moisture under the screen, nothing.
While I am sure a little bit of luck was involved with all the plugs being in etc., I am sure that any other case would not have provided that level of protection.
Thanks Otterbox.
Pros: Durable
+2points
13out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 102 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

best case ive ever had

Date:January 15, 2013
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
ok I have had this case for about 3 months. We have about a 17 acre farm so my iPod lives a pretty hard life on gravel drive ways and I take it hunting.one time I dropped it from the 15 foot stand and it DID NOT CRACK. so all in all its a really tough case.i would totally recommend this to a friend so...
Pros: High quality, Durable, great for farm use, case fits tightly, cool looking
Cons: rubber case hard to get off
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 103 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Nice Case!!!

Date:September 12, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I got this case just a few days ago and it's nice compared to the 2011 version of this case. Except for the buttons are hard to push the buttons down. Still over all protection. Over all great case. Love otterbox!
Pros: Durable, great look
Cons: hard to press buttons
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 104 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Job Once Again Otterbox!

Date:September 8, 2012
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the defender series Otterbox for my iPod touch and I was totally satisfied with it! Actually I love to just drop my iPod for the heck of it because it won't break. However one day I dropped it (on accident) and the screen hit a rock. Now there isn't a scratch, crack, or dent on the iPod itself, but there is a little dent in the screen protecter at the site where the rock hit it. The dent is tiny and not really noticeable so I won't complain about it. I own the case in viola and while I love that color scheme, I adore all the new colors Otterbox has released! I will defiantly be purchasing another case!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 105 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:August 27, 2012
Location: Fredericton NB
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is a fantastic case for my iPod touch. I really wanted this case and I finally got it a few days ago. It has already withstood a few bumps and drops. The built in screen protector is really fantastic and I would reccomend this case to a friend.
Pros: High quality, Durable, built in screen protector
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 106 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Good Protection

Date:August 4, 2012
Location: Brampton, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
While this case isn't the most protective out there, it is much more protective than most. I like this case because of the quality of the material and the design, it sure feels like it would save my iPod during a fall, but it is also stylish (can't say that about the more protective one) and comfortable to hold. With this case I can easily plug in any headphones or plug into the audio jack, others I have tried you can only fit the Apple ear buds into the jack, another plus for me is the openings for the light sensor and the Apple logo. The screen protector is so well designed you can barely notice it, and it hardly takes away from the Retina Display. Overall this is a well made case that will protect your iPod quite well, I will be sure to buy OtterBox products again!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 107 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A considerable improvement

Date:July 10, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The newest model, available in the current batch of colors, improves nearly everything about the previous model of Defender.
The silicon outer layer is now made out of a thicker, stronger version of the material, that, in conjunction with the new design of the inner plastic shell, stays in place much better than the previous design.
Due to the redesigned shell, the silicon doesn't (can't, really) shift out of place around the home button or the camera holes anymore, and the bottom flap has been redesigned as one piece rather than separate flaps for the dock connector and headphone jack, and stays in place until opened, unlike the previous model of Defender.
The silicon also feels less tacky and doesn't invite dust and dirt into the crevasses like the previous mix of the material did.
It may have taken a few revisions, but if you don't mind a little extra weight and bulk on your iPod and need an all-encompassing protective case, this is for you.
Pros: High quality, Durable, non-tacky, stays fitted
Cons: slightly heavy and bulky
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 108 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Why you should buy this product

Date:April 6, 2012
Location: Barrie, ON
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I was in English class and my friend didn’t believe how durable the Otterbox defender case really is, so I chucked it at the floor and it was fine. But I would have to say that the ultimate way I found out that this case is so good was yesterday. I was biking and I got hit by an S.U.V on my left hand side, my hip, knees, ect ect are pretty messed up but the ipod that was in my left pocket was still playing music after it got hit, wasn’t even scratched. So yes you should buy this product, best case around.
Pros: High quality, Durable, can withstand being hit by a feaking s.u.v
+49points
57out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 109 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

protects it like crazy!

Date:April 3, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
So the other day my friend doubted how good this case was and said, "i bet you won't throw that at a wall." and responded by chucking my iPod across the room and when it hit the wall with a thud i walked over, picked it up, unlocked it, and went back to playing angry birds.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 110 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Survived an amazing fall!

Date:February 26, 2012
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I got mine in the mail yesterday and today I managed to drop my ipod off of my balcony. It dropped about 20 feet and landed on the screen. I picked it up, dusted it off and there was no damage. I'm impressed.
Pros: High quality, Durable, exceeds expectations
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 111 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very cool case

Date:February 17, 2012
I've bought a lot of cases over the years and the otterbox is by far the coolest looking one and the most reliable..great buy
Pros: High quality
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 112 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Dare I say Bulletproof?

Date:February 8, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The defender series for the ipod touch 4th generation is great! I've had this for over a year now and it's still protecting just as good as when i got the case. I got the case to protect it when I'm out doing my work, (farmer) and it hasn't had any problems, but the biggest test it's gone through are my 3 and 1 year kids, they have dropped it countless times and the only wear that has shown is the silicone has just started to tear a little at the headphone jack cover tab where my 3 year old has a tendency to play with that sometimes. But is has gotten sprayed with water and the cover tabs have done their job flawlessly. The silicone outer cover is great for dexterity, and it gives you something to hold on to. If I haven't put it through it's paces then I don't know who has. It's like your own personal security team for your electronics. I recommend Otterbox to anyone!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 113 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

LOVE IT!!!

Date:February 2, 2012
Location: MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had to have a new Ipod touch, well I had an otter box for my old Ipod touch and I have dropped the thing on more than one occasion and well the Ipod still worked. I bought a new Ipod touch and I love these cases. It protects agaist anything. One day I was walkiing to school in a down pour and well my Ipod stayed dry and I will say I love this case. I have not had any problems with puttling the Ipod/case in my jeans pocket. I would say if you are going to get an Ipod touch get one of these cases. Yes they are expencive but it is worth the money to keep your Ipod touch proteted.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 114 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

OtterBox Envy!

Date:January 17, 2012
Location: Western PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My daughter's favorite present is her iPod Touch, but my favorite present is the OtterBox for the iPod Touch.
Shortly after Christmas at a school event all the other parents were checking it out and commenting that they've never seen such a great case! I feel my investment is safe in my daughters hands now. Thanks OtterBox!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 115 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

good product

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: california
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
We have got a lot of otterboxes over the years. Always great product. We did have a problem with one red outer skin not fitting well, but we called them and the sent us a new one. One thing I do wish is you could mix and match colors. I would like to have a red/white one.
Pros: High quality
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 116 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case Ever!!

Date:January 11, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got this case in red and i love it! i thought the red would look boyish but it don't at all.!! I love it it is a wonderful case.!!(: I would deff recommend this to a friend! I really recommend this if you are clumsy like me. i drop my iPod all the time. but if you just want something to look good i recommend the OtterBox Commuter.!!
#OtterBoxxForever.!!(:
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: a little flimsy but overall great.!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 117 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

iPod Defender 4th G (AWESOME CASE)

Date:January 6, 2012
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is hands down the best case available for the ipod touch 4th generation, and their customer service is even better! Love the product, love the brand! I would recomend this to anyone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, custom fit, not afraid to take this anywhere
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 118 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox is the best

Date:December 21, 2011
Location: Providence RI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I put Otterbox products on all of my phones, mp3 players etc. The iPod touch was no different. These new gadgets are very sensitive. I have the defender on my phone and ipod and have dropped both and never had any problem at all. Very important to me to have this protection and i would not go without it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 119 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

AMAZING!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!

Date:December 15, 2011
Location: florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had many cases before this one!!! This is by far the best case i have ever had!!! Its amazing in every way from protection to quality!! Do not hesitate when thinking of buying this product!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, the best!!
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 120 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Goes Anywhere

Date:November 28, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case, I've had it for four months, and it is virtually indestructible. It goes everywhere and anywhere with me, and protects my iPod from almost anything. Worried your iPod (with your Otterbox) will fall on rocks, fall on the job, or fall on any other hard/rough object? No problem. I dropped this thing one time on the ground, the screen protecter was scratched all over and the plastic on the outside was chipped, but when I opened the case, aside from all the dust and dirt, it was perfect. No, you cannot step on this thing and expect it to not crack. I've had two iPods with this case (first one stopped working, had nothing to do with the case), and I stepped on it by accident, and the edge chipped. This is the crowned jewel of protection in the armory of iPods. Oh, and I must warn you. If this stays in your pocket a lot, it is extremely hard to get in and out of pockets.
Pros: High quality, Durable, epic
Cons: too big for some pockets
-7points
9out of 25found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>