OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPod Touch Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

Otterbox iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case

Just got your new iPod touch 4g? Keep it safe and clean with the OtterBox Defender Series case for iPod touch 4th generation today!
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
115
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
8
144 out of 159(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Review 101 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Dare I say Bulletproof?

Date:February 8, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The defender series for the ipod touch 4th generation is great! I've had this for over a year now and it's still protecting just as good as when i got the case. I got the case to protect it when I'm out doing my work, (farmer) and it hasn't had any problems, but the biggest test it's gone through are my 3 and 1 year kids, they have dropped it countless times and the only wear that has shown is the silicone has just started to tear a little at the headphone jack cover tab where my 3 year old has a tendency to play with that sometimes. But is has gotten sprayed with water and the cover tabs have done their job flawlessly. The silicone outer cover is great for dexterity, and it gives you something to hold on to. If I haven't put it through it's paces then I don't know who has. It's like your own personal security team for your electronics. I recommend Otterbox to anyone!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 102 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

LOVE IT!!!

Date:February 2, 2012
Location: MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had to have a new Ipod touch, well I had an otter box for my old Ipod touch and I have dropped the thing on more than one occasion and well the Ipod still worked. I bought a new Ipod touch and I love these cases. It protects agaist anything. One day I was walkiing to school in a down pour and well my Ipod stayed dry and I will say I love this case. I have not had any problems with puttling the Ipod/case in my jeans pocket. I would say if you are going to get an Ipod touch get one of these cases. Yes they are expencive but it is worth the money to keep your Ipod touch proteted.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 103 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

OtterBox Envy!

Date:January 17, 2012
Location: Western PA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My daughter's favorite present is her iPod Touch, but my favorite present is the OtterBox for the iPod Touch.
Shortly after Christmas at a school event all the other parents were checking it out and commenting that they've never seen such a great case! I feel my investment is safe in my daughters hands now. Thanks OtterBox!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 104 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

good product

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: california
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
We have got a lot of otterboxes over the years. Always great product. We did have a problem with one red outer skin not fitting well, but we called them and the sent us a new one. One thing I do wish is you could mix and match colors. I would like to have a red/white one.
Pros: High quality
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 105 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best Case Ever!!

Date:January 11, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I just got this case in red and i love it! i thought the red would look boyish but it don't at all.!! I love it it is a wonderful case.!!(: I would deff recommend this to a friend! I really recommend this if you are clumsy like me. i drop my iPod all the time. but if you just want something to look good i recommend the OtterBox Commuter.!!
#OtterBoxxForever.!!(:
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: a little flimsy but overall great.!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 106 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

iPod Defender 4th G (AWESOME CASE)

Date:January 6, 2012
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is hands down the best case available for the ipod touch 4th generation, and their customer service is even better! Love the product, love the brand! I would recomend this to anyone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, custom fit, not afraid to take this anywhere
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 107 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox is the best

Date:December 21, 2011
Location: Providence RI
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I put Otterbox products on all of my phones, mp3 players etc. The iPod touch was no different. These new gadgets are very sensitive. I have the defender on my phone and ipod and have dropped both and never had any problem at all. Very important to me to have this protection and i would not go without it.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks good
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 108 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

AMAZING!!!! I LOVE IT!!!!

Date:December 15, 2011
Location: florida
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I have had many cases before this one!!! This is by far the best case i have ever had!!! Its amazing in every way from protection to quality!! Do not hesitate when thinking of buying this product!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, the best!!
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 109 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Goes Anywhere

Date:November 28, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case, I've had it for four months, and it is virtually indestructible. It goes everywhere and anywhere with me, and protects my iPod from almost anything. Worried your iPod (with your Otterbox) will fall on rocks, fall on the job, or fall on any other hard/rough object? No problem. I dropped this thing one time on the ground, the screen protecter was scratched all over and the plastic on the outside was chipped, but when I opened the case, aside from all the dust and dirt, it was perfect. No, you cannot step on this thing and expect it to not crack. I've had two iPods with this case (first one stopped working, had nothing to do with the case), and I stepped on it by accident, and the edge chipped. This is the crowned jewel of protection in the armory of iPods. Oh, and I must warn you. If this stays in your pocket a lot, it is extremely hard to get in and out of pockets.
Pros: High quality, Durable, epic
Cons: too big for some pockets
-7points
9out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 110 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox, Don't leave home without it!

Date:November 18, 2011
Location: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my 4th Otterbox and they've all been great. My iPod touch 4G went right from the original store packaging to this case, and as long as there is an Otterbox available, it will be that way for every portable device I purchase. I love it, very protective without adding to much bulk like defender cases do for some devices. I love the look and feel of the case, the grip makes it easier to hold. The built in screen protector is great, I don't even know it's there. Like with any case you do have to take it off and clean out the dust and dirt every so often. The covers for the headphone jack and charging port do come open and could fit better, but for the protection this case provides, that was far from a deal breaker. I let my 3 year old neice watch movies on my iPod without much concern because of this case and she loves it. iPods and cellphones aren't cheap and it's good to know that with an Otterbox, there's a lot better chance your device will survive when "life" happens.
Pros: High quality, Durable, totally covers the ipod, built in screen protector, a lot of colors available, price considering what it could save you
Cons: no belt clip, loose covers for headphone jack & headphone port
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 111 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

my first otterbox

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
this was the first otterbox i purchased. i am very tough on my pieces of technology and have broken my last three ipods. this offers low weight compared to its size it appears bulky without being bulky. and i don't have to spend money on screen protectors because it has one built in.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 112 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Protection even against PARENTS!!

Date:November 6, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
So I have an otterbox for my 4th generation ipod touch and my dad got mad at me one day. My dad is a pretty big guy and so he took my ipod and threw it against my bedroom floor as hard as he could. All I saw was the case fall apart and the ipod land on the ground. I thought that the ipod was going to be destroyed. I picked it up and realized that it was completely fine and didn't even have a scratch on it. The case was just a little banged up. Great case!! Go buy it right now if you get in trouble alot with your parents!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 113 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

GREAT CASE!!

Date:November 3, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I'm no longer worried about my iPod breaking! Fits perfectly, shipped CRAZY FAST!! Only dropped it from about 3 feet, but the case took it like a champ. Best case you could ever buy for the iPod. Buy this if you don't want your iPod to break. :)
Pros: High quality, Durable, fits great no problems
Cons: big but not too much still fits in pockets great, ports are a little hard to use not horrible though
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 114 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my Touch 4G many Times

Date:September 24, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Purchased my Otterbox Defender February, 2011.
The Otterbox Defender has saved my iPod Touch from destruction more the once. One of those "saves" happened when my right foot, unknown to me, got tangled in a length of the docking cable hanging off of the desk. when I went to stand up my foot jerked the Touch off of the desk and it went flying across to room, bounced off of a wall and hit the floor. Like the young man who dumped his Touch off of the car at 40 mph I too thought I had destroyed my Touch 4G. I picked it up and the case didn't have a scratch, and the Touch protected inside was undamaged. Every Smart phone, Apple devices, and anything else I purchase that has a defender case available will be in one.
The only complaint I could lodge is the way the protective tabs at the bottom fit, they are hard to place, especially the tab that protects the earphone jack. This fit causes the bottom cover to be loose and it interferes the operation of the "home" button. a redesign of this area would be nice.
To the People at Otterbox how about coming up with a Defender case for the MacBook Air.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: the the protective cover fits at the botton, this fit causes problems with the home button.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 115 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:September 6, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
excelent product and i have discovered its 3 year old resistant i have no worries when my son uses the ipod now
Pros: High quality, Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 116 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

40MPH protection

Date:July 21, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My mom and I were getting ready to drive to the mall. I was carrying a lot of stuff so i put my ipod (in the otterbox) on top of the roof. i forgot it was up there. we were going 40 MILES PER HOUR down the road when we heard a huge thump! It was my ipod flying off the car and onto the road. It was face down on the pavement and i was terrified that it had broken. There wasn't a scratch on my ipod and ONLY a scratch on the otter box. I am EXTREMELY happy with my otter box. If your looking for durability this is an amazing product.
Pros: High quality, Durable, stylish
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 117 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

A pretty decent purchase.

Date:July 15, 2011
Location: Leesville, LA
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This product was well worth it's pay but somethings that I didn't like at all is that it didn't have a belt clip. The bottom of the case where it has the silicone plugs ins would always seem to stretch when I would put my headphone jack in. Those where just some minor things that bugged me and overall it was a great product and it protected my iPod.
Pros: High quality, Durable, long lasting
Cons: silicone would stretch quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 118 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Case! :)

Date:May 18, 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The Case protects the Ipod very well with the cushioned outer layer that it has and the screen protector does it job. it is also easy to take on and off. I've had my case for about 4 months now, I drop my Ipod all the time and I take the case off and on constantly to dock my Ipod and It's really good. Let's just hope that the new reflex series case is as good as this one.. I have my doubts about it but lets hope :)
Pros: High quality, Durable, good protection
Cons: dust gets inside the screen
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 119 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great product, great design

Date:May 12, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Product works great. I've dropped my iPod a few times and it has done its job. I like the thinner design from the old iPod Touch cases.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 120 for iPod Touch 4th Generation Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Awesome except one thing

Date:April 24, 2011
this case has done an outstanding job protecting my ipod, but the only bad thing is that the screen protector lowers the ipod's screen resolution.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: screen protector lowers screen resolution
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>