OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Defender Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

Our iPhone 4S cases also fit your iPhone 4. Check them out ! Your iPhone 4 has become a big part of your life. With FaceTime video, retina display, multitasking, HD video recording and more–you've got a lot to lose. You won't find a tougher case than the iPhone 4 Case Defender Series from OtterBox. This rugged iPhone 4 case offers top-notch protection in just about any environment. The iPhone 4 Defender Series case is built out of a high-impact polycarbonate shell, resilient silicone and a clear protective membrane for screen protection. If you're worried about damaging your iPhone 4, don't sweat it, OtterBox has it covered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.106 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (377 reviews)
5 stars
203
4 stars
82
3 stars
46
2 stars
21
1 star
25
305 out of 377(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Review 321 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

BROKE MY NEW PHONE

Date:September 28, 2011
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
i had bought this case thinking that if i dropped it, it would not break since i had dropped my old iPhone and the screen cracked. So i just bought the iPhone 4 and got an otter box. i dropped my phone a few days ago and the WHOLE screen cracked. the case didn't help at all.
Cons: Not durable
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 322 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Date:September 30, 2011
Location: Missouri
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have now had this case for about 6 months. I had previously broken my first iPhone 4 so I definitely caved into getting a case.
I chose this phone because it comes with a screen protector already on the case, so as to not take away the high resolution that some screen protectors do when you have to 'stick' it on yourself.
I do admit to wishing it wasn't as bulky, but I have dropped it several times with only the case taking the full blow of impact. But on the rare occasion I take my phone out of the case to clean, I feel like I have a completely different phone in my hand.
Another down side besides the size, is that after some time the silicone fitting become rather loose. I have trouble sometimes with keeping the flaps in their correct closed position especially since I have to charge my phone every night and opening and closing that flap has made it even looser.
Overall this is a decent case.
Pros: Durable
Cons: silicone loosens over time
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 323 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

iPhone protection

Date:October 1, 2011
Location: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
We bought an Otterbox for my daughter's iPhone 4 because we thought it would protect the phone like no other case would. We were very wrong. The phone was in a Vera bradley wallet and when the wallet dropped on the floor from about 3ft, the iPhone screen shattered.
Highly disappointed in Otter box cases.
Cons: Not durable
-14points
1out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 324 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Always as expected from OtterBox ...

Date:October 2, 2011
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
When our company changed over from Sprint to Verizon I had to turn in my Blackberry that I had been issued 2 years prior. When I did, our MIS department couldn't believe how good of shape it was in. I told that that since day one I had it in a OtterBox for protection. So when we made the conversion to the iPhone 4 I didn't even think twice to buy this case. Other than the design (button management and access needs improvement) the case is GREAT ! Just as I expect from Otter Box.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: button management
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 325 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:October 2, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
My husband has just purchased the Otterbox case for his new phone and then a couple of weeks later his phone fell 16 feet off a latter at work. It bounced and that was it. No marks, no scratches. I could not imagine what his phone would of looked like if it did not have this case. I would recommend this to anyone to protect there phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 326 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

not long lasting

Date:October 2, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
we only had this case for about 5 months now, already the outer skin is is lose and does not properly cover the bottom charging port. It also has become difficult to press the home screen button, you have to press hard to get it to work now.. as a new case this was a five star plus item well worth the money but the outer skin did not hold up for very long, it is now lose. we never removed it from the case so cant say we stretched it out.. oh well
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, temp protection
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 327 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Broke within 5 months

Date:October 4, 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have broken my iphone twice, apple said they are not going to just give me any more free iphones and to get a case. So I got the defender. I have had the defender for five months. I broke it while getting into my car. It was no more than a 3 ft drop! The front right side hard part cracked and broke and is now slowly chipping away. The hard part came off the protective screen cover and now wont stay on. I tried getting a new otterbox with the "lifetime guarantee". They claimed since I broke it and it wasn't their fault they would not replace it. Also the proximity sensor sucks on it. I will be on a call, hold it near my cheek, keep talking and the other person on the line will ask "Are you there?" and then hang up on me. This happens EVERY call I have. I tried taking out the plastic that covers the sensor, still does not work.
Pros: cute color, screen is well protected
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, proximity sensor sucks, breaks easily
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 328 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Astonishing

Date:October 6, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First day I got this case I accidentally left my phone on top of my car and didn't realize until I was going 50mph and hearing something rolling off my car. I turn around and to my amazement the case was had a hairline tear maybe 1/8th of an inch long. My phone was entirely fine!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable, good design
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 329 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

best case for me...

Date:October 6, 2011
Location: Tewksbury, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
On January 13, 2011 at about 11:30 pm while clearing snow from my snowmobile trailer at our camp in New Boston, NH I managed to misplace my new iPhone 4. I searched for several hours that night and again first thing in the morning with no success. I was unable to search longer at that time as we were headed out on a weekend snowmobile trip at 5am.
Returning to camp the following weekend there had been several new feet of snow and while I diligently shoveled and sifted I was unable to locate the phone. Knowing that I had invested in an Oterbox defender specifically for snowmobiling because it seemed to offer the most protection from the elements I was pretty sure that as long as I found it before all the snow melted that moisture would not be an issue… pretty sure…
Well Saturday April 16, 2011 after having given up all hopes of ever finding my phone the snow had melted enough and I noticed something blue when I got out of my truck at camp. There it was sitting on the ground right where I had searched countless times with shovel marks in the silicone sleeve and the plastic case.
Over the course of the winter the snow pile it was buried in had been up to 6 feet tall and over 20 feet across it was big enough it lasted over 4 months! After finding it I tried to power it up and got the dead battery warning so I removed it from the case to inspect it and I saw nothing damaged. I plugged it in to charge and everything still works!
Now I know this case is not waterproof but, after spending $400.00 to replace the phone and another $50.00 for a new case, I am more than impressed that it withstood not only the elements but my shovel attack. I will definitely recommend both the defender series and the new iPhone.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 330 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

A little bit disappointed

Date:October 7, 2011
Location: LA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I need to say I WAS a big otterbox fan. I had the defender for the 3Gs and it was just awesome. I’m a pool contractor and need a case that I can touch with wet hands and I can drop once in a while.
The Defender for the iPhone 4 is by far NOT as good as the one for the 3Gs. The rubber coat gets very lose and flappy by time and doesn’t fir well but the worse is yet to come. I actually bought the case before I bought the phone so I can take the phone out of the box and put it directly into the new defender. Now several months later I took it apart to clean the case and I expected an almost new phone.
That was FAR off. The Aluminum on the phone is scratched on the corners from the case and worse the top of the class in the front has scratches from the case. And the case is still intact and has no cracks or dents or so. But my phone has.
So much for protection. Very Very sad and disappointed!
Cons: case scratches aluminum
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 331 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

4 otterbox defenders

Date:October 7, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Our family has owned 4 of these cases. Every one has been excellent, and we have only changed as we changed phone models or for different color choices (thanks for giving more choices btw ;). We have numerous police officers in the family and they ALL use this case to protect their phones. I have dropped my phone numerous times on tile, wood, cement, and there still is not a scratch or mark on it. Only concerns are how big it is, its like carrying a brick and that the outside rubberized case becomes loose over time. Overall though definitely worth it, as it definitely protects and is cheaper than having to buy a new phone.
Pros: High quality, Durable, now has more colors to choose from
Cons: the outside case becomes loose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 332 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

The great case

Date:October 9, 2011
Location: Denver Colo
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I bought this case 8 months ago for my iphone after using the defender on my storm for 2 years. I work on elevators and run a small construction company and my phone looks like brand new even after a 80 ft drop down an elevator shaft. I am about to buy a new one but after 8 months of use and abuse its well worth the money...
Pros: High quality
Cons: the plastic case is falling apart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 333 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

My Phone Looks Like Harvey Dent :(

Date:October 10, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Title mostly explains the issue. I LOVE all my past Otterbox cases, but this one was a disappointment - especially considering how much I paid for it. The only plus is that of all the times I dropped my phone/dropped things on them, it survived every incident without damage to the phone.
If you plan on keeping it in the holster, or are a woman who plans on keeping this phone in your purse, or a guy keeping it in your backpack, it's great. However, I always want my phone with me, and do not like wearing it in a holster on my hip, so my only option is to keep it in my pocket. I had the Otterbox Defender on my iPhone 4 for about a week before the silicone outer case started to give a little around the edges. Now, after only a couple months, every time I pull out my phone, the silicone case comes completely off the hard shell, and even once I fix it, the bottom charger port and headphone port are always coming out of their places. Very frustrating. I am going to try out the Commuter. Not as good of protection, but my last phone had one and never had an issue.
Sidenote: If you still go with this case, be careful about ever removing it once you put it on the first time. It will get lint under the screen protector/will not fit the same ever again.
Pros: Durable, tough
Cons: Low quality, frustrating, not long-lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 334 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

First-time user, and very impressed.

Date:October 12, 2011
Location: Malaysia
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
When I first got my iPhone in August, I immediately went to Otterbox's site to debate on covers. I spent about one hour trying to decide if I should get the Commuter or the Defender and I decided on the Defender since it's considered the best of the whole series.
After 5 days (including non-working days), my cover finally arrived and I am very impressed with the service. I am from Malaysia, so for a package from the States to arrive here in less than a week is amazing.
So far, the Defender has served its purpose well. I have dropped my phone a few times and my phone still looks brand new. I even dropped it on my foot by accident and my foot was in pain for about 10 minutes; that's how thick and sturdy the Defender is!
As for the screen protector issue, prior to purchasing the Defender I already had a screen protector on my phone. Although my phone has 2 screen protectors now (thanks to the one attached with the Defender), the sensitivity of the screen has not been affected at all.
The con with this cover is that I didn't know it would be this bulky; most of the time I had to carry my phone in my purse and it's difficult to slip it in and out of my pocket.
Also, I ordered the case in black/pink. The pink I saw on this site looked like baby pink, so that's why I got it. Had I known the pink was actually hot pink, I would have gotten the case in white/pink.
Other than that, I think this case is wonderful. Thank you, Otterbox!
I would say that the Defender definitely lives up to its name. Some of my friends jokingly asked if I was gonna join the military because my case made my phone look like a tank.
Pros: High quality, Durable, looks cool, choice of colours
Cons: misleading colour for black/pink, too bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 335 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection

Date:October 12, 2011
Location: salem, Oregon
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the second otter box I have purchased. First for my 3s and now for my 4. After installing it on my phone last week, I got out of my truck and proceeded to drop my phone on the concrete. No damage not even to the case!
Pros: Durable
Cons: bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 336 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product!!!!

Date:October 12, 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchaced the Otterbox to protect my new IPhone. At first I thought it was quite bulky at first, but after I was involved in a bad motorcycle crash.... I gained a new appreciation for my otterbox!!! My husband and I both had iphones, mine was in an otterbox, and his wasn't. I still have my phone, and his now serves as a paper weight! We were hit at 60 miles an hour, and I was drug 30 yards under the truck that hit us. My phone was still on, and even though it was really dirty, and has two very small dings. Thank you Otterbox! I will never have another electronic device with out an otterbox!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 337 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent Product with drawbacks

Date:October 13, 2011
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The Defender Series case is a good all around case. The level of protection is far better than anything I could get over here in Thailand. I have due to my work dropped my iPhone more times that I can count, had I not been using this case it surely would have been broken by now. So overall a great product.
The one of the three drawbacks to this product is the "well" around the camera and flash bulb in the back. When photos are taken and a flash is used the light is reflected by the case rim that is closest to the flash bulb which creates a blinding effect on the photos. I have tested this with and without the case. With the case the flashback is there, without the case the flashback is no longer present.
The second drawback is the case holder (belt clip) out of the entire construction this is the weakest point of the whole product. The belt clip has fallen off more times that I can count and has even broken off the clip lock that was on there.
The Third Drawback is the clear film protection over the front and touch pad and camera area. Once this is damaged or scratched or it is in a moist environment it becomes more of a problem than anything. The cover over the front facing camera if scratched does not do well with photos as well.
Overall I have to say despite the drawbacks mentioned this is a great case and I would like to see improvements made on it in the areas that I said, but even with out it the case is still top notch and much better than anything else out there in the market.
Pros: High quality, Durable, visually appealing
Cons: bad design around the back camera and flashbulb, bad design on belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 338 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love more than my Car

Date:October 14, 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am an Engineer and while working on the roof, I have dropped my iPhone 4 with Defender Case on it at about 20 feet high on a solid concrete floor, I was bit scared but when I came down and check the phone and the case then only got one minor non noticable scratch on the case, phone was in same new condition, just gave a nice wipe to the case and it was good to go...The case is a lifesaver, wish Otterbox was making 'Human' Cases too...Thanks a lot Otterbox
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent design, reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 339 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great phone case

Date:October 16, 2011
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought my iPhone 4 and I bought the otter box few weeks later and I LOVE the case I have dropped it so many times and thanks to the case there is not a single scratch on my phone it is worth $50 to save a very expensive phone :) couldn't be happier
Pros: High quality, Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 340 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

SUPER HAPPY AFTER IT GOT CRUSHED

Date:October 17, 2011
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
So, I set my iPhone 4 on the rear bumper of my truck and forgot about it before I drove away. After reaching my destination I noticed my phone was missing. I did some "back tracking" in my mind and with my wife's help, remembered leaving the phone on my rear bumper and figured it would laying on the road somewhere close to our subdivision, unless of course it had already been picked up. I figured I would be able to find it if that were the case with Apple's Find My Phone feature. My other suspicion was it would still be on the road, but run over. And run over it was, laying lonely in the middle of the back entrance to our subdivision. It had been run over at least once, but IMPRESSIVELY the phone itself was UNHARMED. My SUPER OTTERBOX DEFENDER took all the damage and safely guarded my iPhone 4 until my return. I am an EXTREMELY HAPPY CUSTOMER! Now if I could just get a complimentary Otterbox Defender for my iPhone 4 I would really appreciate it. I will gladly send you guys my crushed one.
Pros: High quality
Cons: pricey
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 next>>