OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Defender Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

Our iPhone 4S cases also fit your iPhone 4. Check them out ! Your iPhone 4 has become a big part of your life. With FaceTime video, retina display, multitasking, HD video recording and more–you've got a lot to lose. You won't find a tougher case than the iPhone 4 Case Defender Series from OtterBox. This rugged iPhone 4 case offers top-notch protection in just about any environment. The iPhone 4 Defender Series case is built out of a high-impact polycarbonate shell, resilient silicone and a clear protective membrane for screen protection. If you're worried about damaging your iPhone 4, don't sweat it, OtterBox has it covered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (362 reviews)
5 stars
192
4 stars
82
3 stars
45
2 stars
21
1 star
22
294 out of 362(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Review 321 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great protection

Date:October 12, 2011
Location: salem, Oregon
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is the second otter box I have purchased. First for my 3s and now for my 4. After installing it on my phone last week, I got out of my truck and proceeded to drop my phone on the concrete. No damage not even to the case!
Pros: Durable
Cons: bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 322 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product!!!!

Date:October 12, 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I purchaced the Otterbox to protect my new IPhone. At first I thought it was quite bulky at first, but after I was involved in a bad motorcycle crash.... I gained a new appreciation for my otterbox!!! My husband and I both had iphones, mine was in an otterbox, and his wasn't. I still have my phone, and his now serves as a paper weight! We were hit at 60 miles an hour, and I was drug 30 yards under the truck that hit us. My phone was still on, and even though it was really dirty, and has two very small dings. Thank you Otterbox! I will never have another electronic device with out an otterbox!!!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 323 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Excellent Product with drawbacks

Date:October 13, 2011
Location: Bangkok,Thailand
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
The Defender Series case is a good all around case. The level of protection is far better than anything I could get over here in Thailand. I have due to my work dropped my iPhone more times that I can count, had I not been using this case it surely would have been broken by now. So overall a great product.
The one of the three drawbacks to this product is the "well" around the camera and flash bulb in the back. When photos are taken and a flash is used the light is reflected by the case rim that is closest to the flash bulb which creates a blinding effect on the photos. I have tested this with and without the case. With the case the flashback is there, without the case the flashback is no longer present.
The second drawback is the case holder (belt clip) out of the entire construction this is the weakest point of the whole product. The belt clip has fallen off more times that I can count and has even broken off the clip lock that was on there.
The Third Drawback is the clear film protection over the front and touch pad and camera area. Once this is damaged or scratched or it is in a moist environment it becomes more of a problem than anything. The cover over the front facing camera if scratched does not do well with photos as well.
Overall I have to say despite the drawbacks mentioned this is a great case and I would like to see improvements made on it in the areas that I said, but even with out it the case is still top notch and much better than anything else out there in the market.
Pros: High quality, Durable, visually appealing
Cons: bad design around the back camera and flashbulb, bad design on belt clip
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 324 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love more than my Car

Date:October 14, 2011
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am an Engineer and while working on the roof, I have dropped my iPhone 4 with Defender Case on it at about 20 feet high on a solid concrete floor, I was bit scared but when I came down and check the phone and the case then only got one minor non noticable scratch on the case, phone was in same new condition, just gave a nice wipe to the case and it was good to go...The case is a lifesaver, wish Otterbox was making 'Human' Cases too...Thanks a lot Otterbox
Pros: High quality, Durable, excellent design, reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 325 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great phone case

Date:October 16, 2011
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought my iPhone 4 and I bought the otter box few weeks later and I LOVE the case I have dropped it so many times and thanks to the case there is not a single scratch on my phone it is worth $50 to save a very expensive phone :) couldn't be happier
Pros: High quality, Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 326 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

SUPER HAPPY AFTER IT GOT CRUSHED

Date:October 17, 2011
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
So, I set my iPhone 4 on the rear bumper of my truck and forgot about it before I drove away. After reaching my destination I noticed my phone was missing. I did some "back tracking" in my mind and with my wife's help, remembered leaving the phone on my rear bumper and figured it would laying on the road somewhere close to our subdivision, unless of course it had already been picked up. I figured I would be able to find it if that were the case with Apple's Find My Phone feature. My other suspicion was it would still be on the road, but run over. And run over it was, laying lonely in the middle of the back entrance to our subdivision. It had been run over at least once, but IMPRESSIVELY the phone itself was UNHARMED. My SUPER OTTERBOX DEFENDER took all the damage and safely guarded my iPhone 4 until my return. I am an EXTREMELY HAPPY CUSTOMER! Now if I could just get a complimentary Otterbox Defender for my iPhone 4 I would really appreciate it. I will gladly send you guys my crushed one.
Pros: High quality
Cons: pricey
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 327 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

otterbox defender iphone 4 vs 3gs

Date:October 18, 2011
Location: gold coast australia
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I can comment on the form change between 3gs to 4g...
4g feels alien & clumsy... the 3gs was the ducksnuts!
the belt clip hinge mechanism position of center compared to top will take getting used to...
maybe center will be stronger than top...
I notice the belt clip component cannot be ordered as a replacement for the 4 series.
It looks like no difference from online images of 4, vs 4s, belt clip, but, the website does say...
This case does not fit the white iPhone 4 or the iPhone 4S. Our iPhone 4S cases do.
Anticipating future release of otterbox defender iphone 4s case, with slight hope of an increase in variety of colour choices.
I chose glacier but I'm a fan of red & black!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: belt clip fail
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 328 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Two Year old at home...

Date:October 25, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Like most of us, I've had numerous phones over the years & seen what can happen to them.
When my wife and I got iPhones, we were certain something would happen to at least one of them, given that we have a 2 year old at home that loves to 'talk' on the phone. I got the Defender Series and my wife got the Commuter Series w/ the hard back.
Neither of us has been disappointed at all. I can give the baby either phone & she can play, throw, drool, etc. and I don't have to worry about it.
I've worked in industiral and office environments and have decided the Defender is just the best for me. I've dropped it, had it kicked, had tools dropped on it, etc. The plastic case finally did crack (time to get a new one...maybe), but the phone is spotless. No issues at all with the silicone.
The only weakness to the case is the screen. It's got a protective cover, but a direct hit to the screen will break it, regardless of the case. Clipping it face-in on the belt clip is the best way to protect the screen from accidental damage.
The defender was just too big for my wife & caught too much in her purse, so she ended up getting the Commuter which gives her nearly the same protection in a smaller profile. The only problem with it is you have to be meticulous putting the plastic over the silicone cover for all the flaps to fit properly.
All said and done, we're both very happy with the Otter cases.
Pros: High quality, Durable, 2-year-old proof
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 329 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Phone Saver

Date:October 26, 2011
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first Otterbox case I have purchased. I was a little worried about the size and bulkiness of the case. I have been using it for about a year and it is truly an amazing case. Yes it is bulky and yes it will turn your pocket inside out. But this case will save your phone from total destruction.
I am an electrician and I was working 20 feet up in the air. While needing to place my phone down, (on speaker phone) I laid my phone next to me on a beam. I turned to pick up my phone and it was not there. I looked down and there it was on the concrete floor below me. Needless to say, I had a sick feeling in my stomach that I just destroyed my phone. I climbed down and pick up my phone. The rubber flaps where all opened the the skin was partial dislodged. I press the power button and she came on to my astonishment. I quickly removed my phone from the case to discover the phone did not have a scratch on it and works perfectly. WOW
This case is not for everyone. So if your not afraid of dropping your case from high up I would recommend a smaller case. I personally only use this case when I go to work and keep it in a cheap case at home. But if you want total protection look no farther, this is it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: limited colors, bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 330 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Dissapointed with my Purchase

Date:October 27, 2011
Location: Midwest
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I work behind a desk 8 hours a day and not in an occupation that demands a lot of protection for thier phone. However the young guy at Verizon said you need the otterbox to protect your Iphone 4. I will agree it does a great job protecting the phone but the case after four months is falling apart. First the clip and now the plastic under skin is breaking (almost like crystalizing) So will not be replacing it with another otterbox. Hate to see what would happen if I was in a high impact job.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 331 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Awesome case

Date:October 28, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Love the case. If your not too concerned about bulkiness, and all about protecting your phone, this is the case to get. Surprisingly, despite Otterbox saying the iPhone 4 Defender case won't fit on the 4S, it does. Even the button placement is positioned accurately. I upgraded to the 4S from the 4, and I already had the Defender. I had heard that iPhone 4 cases would not fit the 4S, so decided what the heck. I put the case on my 4S and voila, fits like a glove. Buttons, camera, sensors all positioned correctly. Now if only it was completely waterproof. Would love to be able to take pics underwater.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: not waterproof.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 332 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my IPhone!

Date:November 6, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love the case it's wonderful . I was ridding my very rambunctious horse dropped my phone and before I could dismount my 2000lb horse stepped on it! I then recovered it an it didn't have a scratch! Also the black and pink is super cute!
Pros: High quality, Durable, horse proof
Cons: bulky
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 333 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Solid case, not as complicated as it seems

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I bought the Otterbox Defender to protect the iPhone 4 given to me by my workplace. I haven't experienced any phone-related peril since purchasing it, but the Defender seems exceptionally sturdy.
While putting the case on can take some time, it's not as complicated as it looks, and the solid, tight fit makes it seem like it will do a better job on impact. And it doesn't make the phone too bulky, though I am accustomed to the dimensions of Android devices.
I've had only two issues with the Defender so far. First was trying to get all the dust off my iPhone and off the screen protector before putting it together - a sterile environment was very nearly in order! But if you're like me and don't plan to take off your case very often, the Defender is a great choice.
The second issue has been typing. It may just be that I'm used to the screen real estate of Droids, but the sides of the Defender being as high as they are tends to make typing space a little cramped, especially in Portrait mode. I'm sure I will get used to that over time, but if you have big fingers, a more flush case might be in order for you.
As a final note, the rubberized backing doesn't catch on things like I thought it would - it's relatively smooth and sometimes even a little slippery, which was surprising. Good feel in the hand.
Pros: High quality, Durable, smooth rubberized backing, viewing stand option with belt clip
Cons: some assembly required, cumbersome to repeatedly take off & put on, high sides can impede typing
-10points
8out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 334 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Third Time, Not A Charm

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Washington, dC
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I am on my third Defender case for iPhone 4. I will not buy a forth. The reason is the tendency of an important (to me) part of the holster to break. I speak of the piece of plastic that holds the clip open, allowing it to serve as a display stand for the phone in the case.
I bought the case because of how well it secures the phone, but also because of this feature. It's an important feature to me because I use my phone as a media device to watch videos, read documents, etc., during the day, and it's nice to be able to do so hands-free, while also not having to buy a separate piece of hardware.
However, the piece of plastic that makes this possible has proven extremely flimsy on the Defender holster. At first, I thought it was my mistake, because of the way I released the clip when I wanted to wear the holster. But the second time, this piece of plastic broke because I bumped the holster while wearing the case. Today it broke again while I was releasing the clip exactly as the AT&T sales agent suggested I do so, in order to avoid this problem again.
If I could just buy another holster, I might do so. But at this point, I think I'm going to cut my losses. At this point, if I bought another case I would have spent over $200 buying and replacing Defender cases in just three months.
Time to look elsewhere for an effective iPhone 4 case.
Cons: flimsly plastic holter clip breaks frequently
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 335 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:November 8, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had an otter box for my iPhone 3G, and my phone spend its life inside that case, and only had one little scuff mark on the back from taking it out to clean the dust out of it, and you had to look for the scuff in just the right light. So naturally I got an otter box for my iphone 4 when I bought it. Great cases!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 336 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 14, 2011
Location: carson ca.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
best protection for a expensive phone!! and worth the price
Pros: High quality
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 337 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Definately get one!

Date:November 19, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had the iphone 4 for about 4 weeks and right once i took it out of the box i immediately put the otterbox on it! i have dropped my phone twice already and if it wasnt for this case i probaly wouldnt have a phone. I will definately keep the otterbox on it! I love everything about it except that the silicon over the plastic is already loose and the little compartment plugs wont stay in:/ but overall it was worth the money.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 338 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent

Date:November 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the black/pink Defender about 2 weeks ago after the cheap case for my 4 fell apart. I take really good care of my phones, and have never had one break or need to be replaced, but I liked the idea of added protection. Well, 3 days ago my phone fell out of my pocket and into my dogs water bucket. It was completely submerged! This is the first time I've had a phone go for a swim. As I was removing the otter box I noticed that my phone was pretty dry, but I turned it off and put it in a bag of rice to be safe. My phone works perfectly, something I completely thank my otter box for. I realize that they don't advertise it as water proof, and I'm sure that if it sat in the water for an excessive amount of time the outcome may be different. But I'm a believer in the otter box! A little bulky, but worth it for the protection.
Pros: Durable, High quality, saved my phone from a watery grave, best protection, awesome color combos
Cons: a little bulky
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 339 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Truly reliable and protective cover

Date:November 26, 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
If you value your iPhone as I do, this cover is a great buy. Some reviews mentioned the soft rubber outer coming away from the hard plastic inner casing, and, granted this does occasionally happen - but in everyday life it's an extremely minimal issue. And, you learn how to handle your case in such a way that it disappears as a 'problem' altogether (at least this has been my experience). Putting your phone into the case initially takes a little patience as well.. it's quite a 'close' fit. After this tho, it's really 'set and forget'. I never ever worry about damaging my phone - and this is what a good case is all about - peace of mind. Plus, the headphone hole in the case IS in the right place - it's a flap tho. You need to lift it up to use the headphone jack hole. One again tho, in practice, this is very simple and not a problem. Only thing is using the touchscreen - the plastic case cover does have a surface 'finger trail' effect.. which others may have posted video of online - so I'll just say that again, this isnt an issue. Sure, it's not as perfect as viewing the phone screen 'naked', but in daily usage it's irrelevant. I've used the phone with the case for at least a year now and dont notice the difference. Buy this cover, you won't be disappointed!
Pros: High quality, Durable, great protection, looks slick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 340 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

DO NOT PURCHASE

Date:November 28, 2011
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I purchased an OB defender case for my Iphone 4 dropped it 2.5 ft and the glass shattered! The case has not a scratch on it. It's going to cost me $150 to replace because they won't stand behind their product. They advertise is as "indestructible" and they show a video of if falling over 6ft and the phone working just fine so not only is the product not worth it, they falsely advertise it's protective value.
Cons: does not protect phone
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 next>>