OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Defender Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

Our iPhone 4S cases also fit your iPhone 4. Check them out ! Your iPhone 4 has become a big part of your life. With FaceTime video, retina display, multitasking, HD video recording and more–you've got a lot to lose. You won't find a tougher case than the iPhone 4 Case Defender Series from OtterBox. This rugged iPhone 4 case offers top-notch protection in just about any environment. The iPhone 4 Defender Series case is built out of a high-impact polycarbonate shell, resilient silicone and a clear protective membrane for screen protection. If you're worried about damaging your iPhone 4, don't sweat it, OtterBox has it covered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (362 reviews)
5 stars
192
4 stars
82
3 stars
45
2 stars
21
1 star
22
294 out of 362(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Review 321 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Dissapointed with my Purchase

Date:October 27, 2011
Location: Midwest
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I work behind a desk 8 hours a day and not in an occupation that demands a lot of protection for thier phone. However the young guy at Verizon said you need the otterbox to protect your Iphone 4. I will agree it does a great job protecting the phone but the case after four months is falling apart. First the clip and now the plastic under skin is breaking (almost like crystalizing) So will not be replacing it with another otterbox. Hate to see what would happen if I was in a high impact job.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 322 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

My Phone Looks Like Harvey Dent :(

Date:October 10, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Title mostly explains the issue. I LOVE all my past Otterbox cases, but this one was a disappointment - especially considering how much I paid for it. The only plus is that of all the times I dropped my phone/dropped things on them, it survived every incident without damage to the phone.
If you plan on keeping it in the holster, or are a woman who plans on keeping this phone in your purse, or a guy keeping it in your backpack, it's great. However, I always want my phone with me, and do not like wearing it in a holster on my hip, so my only option is to keep it in my pocket. I had the Otterbox Defender on my iPhone 4 for about a week before the silicone outer case started to give a little around the edges. Now, after only a couple months, every time I pull out my phone, the silicone case comes completely off the hard shell, and even once I fix it, the bottom charger port and headphone port are always coming out of their places. Very frustrating. I am going to try out the Commuter. Not as good of protection, but my last phone had one and never had an issue.
Sidenote: If you still go with this case, be careful about ever removing it once you put it on the first time. It will get lint under the screen protector/will not fit the same ever again.
Pros: Durable, tough
Cons: Low quality, frustrating, not long-lasting
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 323 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Broke within 5 months

Date:October 4, 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have broken my iphone twice, apple said they are not going to just give me any more free iphones and to get a case. So I got the defender. I have had the defender for five months. I broke it while getting into my car. It was no more than a 3 ft drop! The front right side hard part cracked and broke and is now slowly chipping away. The hard part came off the protective screen cover and now wont stay on. I tried getting a new otterbox with the "lifetime guarantee". They claimed since I broke it and it wasn't their fault they would not replace it. Also the proximity sensor sucks on it. I will be on a call, hold it near my cheek, keep talking and the other person on the line will ask "Are you there?" and then hang up on me. This happens EVERY call I have. I tried taking out the plastic that covers the sensor, still does not work.
Pros: cute color, screen is well protected
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, proximity sensor sucks, breaks easily
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 324 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

not long lasting

Date:October 2, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
we only had this case for about 5 months now, already the outer skin is is lose and does not properly cover the bottom charging port. It also has become difficult to press the home screen button, you have to press hard to get it to work now.. as a new case this was a five star plus item well worth the money but the outer skin did not hold up for very long, it is now lose. we never removed it from the case so cant say we stretched it out.. oh well
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, temp protection
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 325 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case with Holster

Date:July 16, 2011
Location: Missouri
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The case is very good and sturdy however the "Holster" is very flimsy and didn't last very long. Just not worth the price.
Pros: case very good!
Cons: holster very flimsy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 326 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

good, and bad

Date:July 4, 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
plastic portion fit is excellent, silicon part not so good, does not stay sealed, even reasonably and I baby my electronics.. We have 2 iPhone 4s and 2 otterbox defenders, not sorry I bought them but would likely not replace them with same.. plastic screen cover scratches rather easily and like I said, the silicon portion, where it interlocks into the plastic, in a word, poor...
Pros: Durable
Cons: low quality for price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 327 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

It didn't last...

Date:June 15, 2011
Location: Winston Salem NC
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I had this case for just a few months when it broke. Thank goodness my phone didn't get damaged. I dropped the phone maybe a foot. I was laying at the pool at it rolled off my lounge chair and it actually cracked the case. Up until that point I loved my case, but after seeing how easy it broke I guess I trusted the case way to much!
Pros: attractive
Cons: Not durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 328 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Bring Back the OLD

Date:June 7, 2011
Location: Suwanee, GA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I've had my Otter Box now since January. I actually really don't like it! I had the iphone 3, and the case was the best thing ever! I almost wish I had my old phone back, because the case was so smart. All of the plugs stayed in, it didn't creak when you held it. Everything was tight! This iphone 4 case, the silicone cover is SOOOO... thin, that every time you hold it, the silicone comes off on the sides, and the bottom plug comes undone. I'm ALWAYS having to fix it after a simple phone call, or even grabbing it out of my purse! PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD STYLE TO THE NEW PHONE!!!!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, cover comes off easily!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 329 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Date:May 22, 2011
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I would not recommend this case. I had mine for two months, then it fell out of my pocket down the stairs. The case was fine but my iPhone screen is spider web cracked on the top half.
Cons: Not durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 330 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Very disappointed

Date:March 18, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I was very disappointed with this case, not with the protection I suppose, but with the design. The case made my proximity sensor on my phone not work so when I would be talking on the phone I was pressing buttons with my face, which I was able to stand for about half a day before I snapped and decided I'd just risk going case-less. Also, the screen protector made the screen quality go down A LOT. Definitely a lot more than I expected. I don't want to hate my phone, but since I got the case and the phone on the same day, I was almost starting to before I realized it was the case's fault. The protection is great, no doubt, and as always Otter Box excels in quality, but functionality of design? not so much. I'd almost rather risk breaking my phone than use this thing.
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor design, proximity sensor doesn't work, screen protector severely decreases image quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 331 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

annoying

Date:March 16, 2011
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
While I am glad the Otterbox protects my Iphone 4, the silicone is constantly coming loose.
The flaps are at times also difficult to close. It is bulky, and is difficult to remove from my pocket.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 332 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Quality compromised for Aesthetics :(

Date:December 31, 2010
Location: Fort Collins
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Disappointed with the new design, I had the “Defender Case” for my iphone 3G and so did my friend who drop it off his motorcycle at 55 mph, then clipped by a car and slid 100ft down the road into a pile of rocks. Phone was fine. Same friend iphone 4, with the defender case, fell off again at 35 mph and the phone shattered into pieces.
The neoprene skin is much thinner and tears easily. It does not stay on the plastic shell at all. Heard rumors that Apple would not release specs early enough and the design was rushed but time to now it’s time to hit the drawing board again and redesign this case and once again show that Otterbox has cases that can protect my investments without hesitation.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-1point
26out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 333 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Promising...but no

Date:December 29, 2010
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I wanted to like this case. It had all ingredients of something that I would like. It was black, rugged and most importantly it would protect my phone. As far as protection goes it does do that. I never did it, but I get the feeling that if I would have dropped it it would have been well protected. But the pros end there.
Despite my affinity towards ruggedness it was TOO bulky. If using both the case and the belt clip it it occupies about 3 times the volume of space as the phone itself.
The rubber outer covering was loose and not tight fitting. Although designed to fit perfectly around the hard shell underneath, its elasticity allowed it to come away from the shell at times.
I have pets and it attracted all kinds of hair because of the rubber cover, and also due to the cover it was a pain to get in and out of your pocket, it does not slide in and out easily.
Then why not use the belt holder? It went unused due to it's size and tray like appearance.
Lastly...the clear plastic screen protection (also protects the front facing camera aperture and sensor) that is permanently glued into the case have a tendency towards accumulating finger smudges and crud in the nooks and crannies. When it becomes marred and unusable they would have to be taken out and replaced with an adhesive screen protector.
Like I said, the appearance appeals to me and if I happen to go hiking anytime soon and need to take my phone I'll use it. But for practical day to day use I find it unsuitable.
Cons: too bulky, outer cover needs attention, screen protection needs redesign
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 334 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Doesn't seal like the 3g or 3gs models

Date:December 19, 2010
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I have owned both the original i Phone otter-box and the 3gS otter-box, and the 4 design may look better, but it doesn't provide the same protection. There are holes at the top headphone jack, top speaker, and bottom speakers. The filter screens are no longer there, which means that dust infiltrates this case very badly. I have to take it apart every week to clean out all the dust. The silicone outer layer comes off very easily, and practically comes off just from opening the headphone port cover. I am always having to put the silicone back in place. If you put it in your pocket, the silicone comes off completely, which doesn't help the dust issue and is very annoying. I know it isn't water"Proof", but the old cases were water"resistant". Why the decrease in protection, otter-box? I miss having that security. Overall, I was very disappointed when I received this case after the other excellent otter-box covers I have owned.
Pros: looks good when clean, good drop protection
Cons: no dust protection, silicone shell comes off easily, no minimal water resistance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 335 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

bad materials

Date:December 8, 2010
Location: australia
Gender: male
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Good idea, not bad design but the silicon is extremely tacky, i dont even use this case at all because it literally takes 2 minutes to get in and out of my pocket and then the silicon just comes off after all that..
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, terrible silicon, too tacky, too grippy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 336 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Work construction, careful of grit.

Date:December 8, 2010
Location: Cordelia, Ca
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
I had a Defender series case for my 3g that was awesome. I work in underground construction so I spend a LOT of time in dirty/sandy trenches. With the 3g case there was a paper-type filter over the earpiece and the dock boot closed up nice and tight to the shell. The new rear camera and square shape of the 4 obviously posed a minor challenge in the design of this new Defender. My problem is with the 3g case I only had to open the shell and clean the phone of grit maybe every week and a half. With the 4 series case not having the filter on the earpiece and NO PLASTIC over the rear camera, when I work with this phone (even in my pocket) I have to clean it DAILY. Unfortunately, leaving the phone in my crew truck is not a viable option. Disappointed with the much increased volume of dirt that finds it's way into the case, but it's still the best out there. I've placed some additional screen protection on the front AND back as I've had the phone a month and have already developed minor scratches front and OMG on the LENS of the rear camera. So now when I want to shoot video, I have to remove the case, remove the screen protection from the rear camera (that I bought seperately) and then replace it (an expensive phone, an expensive case, and expensive screen protection just for the rear camera - not real happy).
Pros: still the best- for now
Cons: dirt will find a way- daily, no earpiece filter this gen-why?, no rear lens protection-already scratched, doesn't fit together as good as 3g did
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 337 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

I hate this case!

Date:November 24, 2010
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Ok, I've dealt with this case for a couple months now and I absolutely hate it!
First - It does offer great protection for the phone.
But, I spend tons of time everyday re-tucking the silicone cover back into it's grooves. It drives me nuts, I carry my phone in my pants or jacket pocket and the second I pull it out of my pocket, I have to put the cover back on cause it pulls half off.
Just tucking the cover back on the bottom connector is a task in itself!
Durable - yes
Good Design - Think Again Otter!
IMO, Otter should be redesigning this thing with a stiffer cover and upgrading all the poor souls that bought the first generations cause it's horrible.
Pros: Durable, looks good
Cons: Low quality, a real pain to deal with.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 338 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

needs improvement

Date:November 23, 2010
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I don't like the fact that I can't pull my iphone4 out of my pocket without this ill-fitting case coming loose at one or more corner. I like the protection it offers but I'm ready to try another case so I don't have to constantly adjust the silicone cover.
Pros: Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 339 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

just dont fit quite right

Date:October 29, 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
I am very unsatisfied with this product. The silicon case gets real loose fitting and it shifts. I love the protection it provides but hate the way the silicon cover gets stretch out of shape. I am displeased with this otterbox series.
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 340 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Not up to par with 3G model

Date:October 19, 2010
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Ive had the 3G iPhone models and the otterbox for those models was superb!!! However, the protection quality of the iPhone 4 version is marginal at best... Primarily the box itself allows way to much foreign material inside, especially on the screen side. I think this has a lot to do with the fact that none of the 'port seals' seal as completely as they should and are also a pain to even close!! That and the built in screen protector does not seat against the phone nearly as well as the 3G model...(definitely need a secondary screen protector in conjunction). As much as I have loved the otterbox line for older models I am very disappointed with the iphone4 version and personally feel that there was a lot of cut backs to produce profit over quality. All in all there is quite a bit of work that needs to be done in this design to come back to the quality that use to be. Otherwise I feel many will fall away from these cases that USED to be the ultimate protection for your iPhone
Pros: the otterbox name (questionable with this model)
Cons: Low quality, poorly designed for ultimate protection
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 next>>