OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Defender Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

Our iPhone 4S cases also fit your iPhone 4. Check them out ! Your iPhone 4 has become a big part of your life. With FaceTime video, retina display, multitasking, HD video recording and more–you've got a lot to lose. You won't find a tougher case than the iPhone 4 Case Defender Series from OtterBox. This rugged iPhone 4 case offers top-notch protection in just about any environment. The iPhone 4 Defender Series case is built out of a high-impact polycarbonate shell, resilient silicone and a clear protective membrane for screen protection. If you're worried about damaging your iPhone 4, don't sweat it, OtterBox has it covered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(362 Reviews) 362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (362 reviews)
5 stars
192
4 stars
82
3 stars
45
2 stars
21
1 star
22
294 out of 362(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox Deffender

Date:January 5, 2012
Location: Gresham, OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is AMAZING. I have no words to express how I feel right now. My husband has the iPhone 4 with one of these cases on it and just tonight ran it over with his drive axle on his semi tow truck (13,000 pounds) and the phone has NO damage mechanically or visually. The only thing that happened was the plastic screen on the otterbox came off. But that can be glued back on. I LOVE these cases and they really do make the phone virtually indestructible. I will recommend this case to anyone I know of till I am blue in the face.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fantastic iPhone Case

Date:February 13, 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've had this case for over a year and I have been nothing but pleased. I try to be careful with my phone but accidents do happen. The outer silicone case provides a good feel while using the device and doesn't scratch or scuff easily. The plastic inner-case has kept my iPhone (which is now almost 20 months old) looking brand new.
The covers for the buttons and ports are fantastic and do a great job at keeping the phone clean.
The only issue - and it's a slight one - is that the screen protector can lose some of its clarity after a bit. Other than that this case does exactly what it is supposed to - protect your iPhone - all while providing a good feel for the consumer while using it!
Pros: High quality, Durable, good feel during use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing for iPhone 4

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: Winnipeg Beach, Manitoba, Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I reside in Manitoba, Canada. Was having huge reception, dropped calls, inside our home. Purchased my iPhone this month (January 2012) and was very disappointing with the inhome reception.
Purchased my OtterBox and it is absolutely amazing, no more issues at all. In past 24 hours have spent 1.5 hours on my phone talking and no dropped calls at all.
MTS (Manitoba Telephone System) needs to be aware of this situation as it sure fixed my issues.
Now I can enjoy my iPhone everywhere even in comfort of my own home.
Regards Gordon
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:January 20, 2012
Location: New York
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had this case for my iphone for 8 months now and I love it. When I take it off my phone still looks brand new with no scratches or anything. I work with horses so I am constantly around dirt and dust and this case does a wonderful job with it! My only complaint would be the rubber outer shell. When I take it out of my pocket it comes off a little and from doing that multiple times a day the rubber has started to rip and its almost ripped all the way through. Either way this case is well worth the high cost!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor rubber case design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Nice Product!

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have used OtterBox cases on my phone since my upgrade to the 3G from my first 2G iPhone. I currently have a 4S that is in an iPhone 4 Defender case and it has saved my phone twice from a few short drops. Everyone knows how great their cases are but, I also wanted to review their customer service. I called this afternoon because the silicone on my case has become stretched out over that last few months (which is the only reason I gave it a good on quality because I have seen it happen to others.) My service representative's name was Andrea. She picked up the call almost immediately and within 5 mins, she had an order for replacement silicone sleeves processed. That is great customer service, a great warranty, and a great company that stands by its products.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it!!

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: Queensbury, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first time purchasing an otterbox, I bought it for the protection and look. Im very happy with my purchase!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

excellent

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: indianapolis in
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The only con is that the setup isnt dressy. Looks kinda goofy when wearing a suit and tie however this is the best protection product I've ever purchased hands down. Delivered on time and ultra easy to install. Thanks otteebox!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

From Lemonade to Blacktop, Defender Can Take It!!

Date:January 12, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First off, I'm a cop who has abused many phones on the streets. When I upgraded to the iPhone 4 (finally an iPhone!), I knew that I had to get a case that could take the punishment that the streets dole out. I went with the Defender. And thankfully so!
I dropped my first Otterbox and phone into a Gatorade cooler of lemonade. The phone worked fine when I pulled it out, but I replaced the Otterbox due to the residue from the lemonade.
A month later, I was arresting a subject and left my phone on top of the car and drove off. It landed in the middle of one of our busiest 5-lane freeways. And stayed there for 2 1/2 hours. When I finally located the phone (Apple's "Find My iPhone" app) in the middle of the road, I witnessed it get run over by a Mack truck. I thought it was a gonner. Nope. Picked it up and the phone showed three missed calls and worked like a charm. Heck, all I had to do was wipe the tire tread marks off the silicone and I was good as new.
I will always go with Otterbox for my personal electronics protection!
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great case

Date:January 9, 2012
Location: Boone, NC
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case does exactly what you would expect it to do, protect your phone from anything. I felt when I bought my Iphone that it was dumb not to get a case that would prevent the phone from breaking. Everybody I spoke to recommended the Otterbox and I was a little hesitant at first because of the price, but after some deliberation I was convinced that it was more than just a phone case and that I would be investing in an insurance plan. The defender has protected my phone from many scary falls and has provided me with many fun games of "Otterbox" with my friends. By all means buy this case you won't be dissapointed
Pros: Durable, High quality
Cons: a little bulky
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case I have seen to date

Date:January 5, 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I picked up this case the day that I got my iPhone and it had left the case all but 2 times in 2 years. I work as a paramedic and love that I can clean it with out damaging the phone. I also love the grip that you have with the phone, never feels like it is going to slip out of your hand. As well there is NO impairment to function and camera, light and everything work flawlessly. Overall the BEST case that I have seen to date. I have recommended it to all of my colleges and they all agree as well.
Pros: Durable, fits well in my hand, good grip, perfect holster
Cons: lip for iphone connection tricky to place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

does what a case is supposed to do

Date:December 29, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
i cracked the screen of my iphone and was able to get it fixed under the condition that i got a protective case for it once it was fixed. i got the otter box and still drop it a ton. nothing has happened to my iphone and for that i loveeeeee it. the designs are really ugly in my opinion (color, etc) and the case makes the phone extremely bulky... but thats what you have to deal with if you want a case that protects well, which this one does
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Impressed Very Durable

Date:December 4, 2011
Location: CT
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
the other day i had this case on and i had dropped my phone when getting into my car when i realized it was to late i had driven off and someone had run over my phone. NO HARM DONE TO MY PHONE AT ALL. i was so happy al that happened was the screen protecter popped out on one side.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Super awesome iphone 4 defender series case

Date:November 29, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love this case, i dropped my phone with the defender case from the 3rd floor and it protected the phone 100%. Its a must get case for the iphone people. No joke
Pros: High quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Truly reliable and protective cover

Date:November 26, 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
If you value your iPhone as I do, this cover is a great buy. Some reviews mentioned the soft rubber outer coming away from the hard plastic inner casing, and, granted this does occasionally happen - but in everyday life it's an extremely minimal issue. And, you learn how to handle your case in such a way that it disappears as a 'problem' altogether (at least this has been my experience). Putting your phone into the case initially takes a little patience as well.. it's quite a 'close' fit. After this tho, it's really 'set and forget'. I never ever worry about damaging my phone - and this is what a good case is all about - peace of mind. Plus, the headphone hole in the case IS in the right place - it's a flap tho. You need to lift it up to use the headphone jack hole. One again tho, in practice, this is very simple and not a problem. Only thing is using the touchscreen - the plastic case cover does have a surface 'finger trail' effect.. which others may have posted video of online - so I'll just say that again, this isnt an issue. Sure, it's not as perfect as viewing the phone screen 'naked', but in daily usage it's irrelevant. I've used the phone with the case for at least a year now and dont notice the difference. Buy this cover, you won't be disappointed!
Pros: High quality, Durable, great protection, looks slick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Excellent

Date:November 22, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I bought the black/pink Defender about 2 weeks ago after the cheap case for my 4 fell apart. I take really good care of my phones, and have never had one break or need to be replaced, but I liked the idea of added protection. Well, 3 days ago my phone fell out of my pocket and into my dogs water bucket. It was completely submerged! This is the first time I've had a phone go for a swim. As I was removing the otter box I noticed that my phone was pretty dry, but I turned it off and put it in a bag of rice to be safe. My phone works perfectly, something I completely thank my otter box for. I realize that they don't advertise it as water proof, and I'm sure that if it sat in the water for an excessive amount of time the outcome may be different. But I'm a believer in the otter box! A little bulky, but worth it for the protection.
Pros: Durable, High quality, saved my phone from a watery grave, best protection, awesome color combos
Cons: a little bulky
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Date:November 14, 2011
Location: carson ca.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
best protection for a expensive phone!! and worth the price
Pros: High quality
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great case

Date:November 8, 2011
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I had an otter box for my iPhone 3G, and my phone spend its life inside that case, and only had one little scuff mark on the back from taking it out to clean the dust out of it, and you had to look for the scuff in just the right light. So naturally I got an otter box for my iphone 4 when I bought it. Great cases!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Solid case, not as complicated as it seems

Date:November 7, 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I bought the Otterbox Defender to protect the iPhone 4 given to me by my workplace. I haven't experienced any phone-related peril since purchasing it, but the Defender seems exceptionally sturdy.
While putting the case on can take some time, it's not as complicated as it looks, and the solid, tight fit makes it seem like it will do a better job on impact. And it doesn't make the phone too bulky, though I am accustomed to the dimensions of Android devices.
I've had only two issues with the Defender so far. First was trying to get all the dust off my iPhone and off the screen protector before putting it together - a sterile environment was very nearly in order! But if you're like me and don't plan to take off your case very often, the Defender is a great choice.
The second issue has been typing. It may just be that I'm used to the screen real estate of Droids, but the sides of the Defender being as high as they are tends to make typing space a little cramped, especially in Portrait mode. I'm sure I will get used to that over time, but if you have big fingers, a more flush case might be in order for you.
As a final note, the rubberized backing doesn't catch on things like I thought it would - it's relatively smooth and sometimes even a little slippery, which was surprising. Good feel in the hand.
Pros: High quality, Durable, smooth rubberized backing, viewing stand option with belt clip
Cons: some assembly required, cumbersome to repeatedly take off & put on, high sides can impede typing
-10points
8out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Saved my IPhone!

Date:November 6, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I love the case it's wonderful . I was ridding my very rambunctious horse dropped my phone and before I could dismount my 2000lb horse stepped on it! I then recovered it an it didn't have a scratch! Also the black and pink is super cute!
Pros: High quality, Durable, horse proof
Cons: bulky
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Phone Saver

Date:October 26, 2011
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first Otterbox case I have purchased. I was a little worried about the size and bulkiness of the case. I have been using it for about a year and it is truly an amazing case. Yes it is bulky and yes it will turn your pocket inside out. But this case will save your phone from total destruction.
I am an electrician and I was working 20 feet up in the air. While needing to place my phone down, (on speaker phone) I laid my phone next to me on a beam. I turned to pick up my phone and it was not there. I looked down and there it was on the concrete floor below me. Needless to say, I had a sick feeling in my stomach that I just destroyed my phone. I climbed down and pick up my phone. The rubber flaps where all opened the the skin was partial dislodged. I press the power button and she came on to my astonishment. I quickly removed my phone from the case to discover the phone did not have a scratch on it and works perfectly. WOW
This case is not for everyone. So if your not afraid of dropping your case from high up I would recommend a smaller case. I personally only use this case when I go to work and keep it in a cheap case at home. But if you want total protection look no farther, this is it!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: limited colors, bulky
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>