OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop Defender Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at OtterBox.

iPhone 4 Defender Series Case

Our iPhone 4S cases also fit your iPhone 4. Check them out ! Your iPhone 4 has become a big part of your life. With FaceTime video, retina display, multitasking, HD video recording and more–you've got a lot to lose. You won't find a tougher case than the iPhone 4 Case Defender Series from OtterBox. This rugged iPhone 4 case offers top-notch protection in just about any environment. The iPhone 4 Defender Series case is built out of a high-impact polycarbonate shell, resilient silicone and a clear protective membrane for screen protection. If you're worried about damaging your iPhone 4, don't sweat it, OtterBox has it covered.
Average Customer Rating:
4.106 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (377 reviews)
5 stars
203
4 stars
82
3 stars
46
2 stars
21
1 star
25
305 out of 377(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Review 1 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Otterbox Deffender

Date:January 5, 2012
Location: Gresham, OR
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case is AMAZING. I have no words to express how I feel right now. My husband has the iPhone 4 with one of these cases on it and just tonight ran it over with his drive axle on his semi tow truck (13,000 pounds) and the phone has NO damage mechanically or visually. The only thing that happened was the plastic screen on the otterbox came off. But that can be glued back on. I LOVE these cases and they really do make the phone virtually indestructible. I will recommend this case to anyone I know of till I am blue in the face.
Pros: High quality, Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Fantastic iPhone Case

Date:February 13, 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I've had this case for over a year and I have been nothing but pleased. I try to be careful with my phone but accidents do happen. The outer silicone case provides a good feel while using the device and doesn't scratch or scuff easily. The plastic inner-case has kept my iPhone (which is now almost 20 months old) looking brand new.
The covers for the buttons and ports are fantastic and do a great job at keeping the phone clean.
The only issue - and it's a slight one - is that the screen protector can lose some of its clarity after a bit. Other than that this case does exactly what it is supposed to - protect your iPhone - all while providing a good feel for the consumer while using it!
Pros: High quality, Durable, good feel during use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Amazing for iPhone 4

Date:February 4, 2012
Location: Winnipeg Beach, Manitoba, Canada
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I reside in Manitoba, Canada. Was having huge reception, dropped calls, inside our home. Purchased my iPhone this month (January 2012) and was very disappointing with the inhome reception.
Purchased my OtterBox and it is absolutely amazing, no more issues at all. In past 24 hours have spent 1.5 hours on my phone talking and no dropped calls at all.
MTS (Manitoba Telephone System) needs to be aware of this situation as it sure fixed my issues.
Now I can enjoy my iPhone everywhere even in comfort of my own home.
Regards Gordon
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

always the same problems

Date:January 23, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
im on my second i4 defender case, and both times the clips broke, and the silicone cover losses its form and get weak, bet on this lastest one, the plastic cracked as well as the above.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Great Product

Date:January 20, 2012
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have had this case for my iphone for 8 months now and I love it. When I take it off my phone still looks brand new with no scratches or anything. I work with horses so I am constantly around dirt and dust and this case does a wonderful job with it! My only complaint would be the rubber outer shell. When I take it out of my pocket it comes off a little and from doing that multiple times a day the rubber has started to rip and its almost ripped all the way through. Either way this case is well worth the high cost!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: poor rubber case design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Very Nice Product!

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
I have used OtterBox cases on my phone since my upgrade to the 3G from my first 2G iPhone. I currently have a 4S that is in an iPhone 4 Defender case and it has saved my phone twice from a few short drops. Everyone knows how great their cases are but, I also wanted to review their customer service. I called this afternoon because the silicone on my case has become stretched out over that last few months (which is the only reason I gave it a good on quality because I have seen it happen to others.) My service representative's name was Andrea. She picked up the call almost immediately and within 5 mins, she had an order for replacement silicone sleeves processed. That is great customer service, a great warranty, and a great company that stands by its products.
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Love it!!

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: Queensbury, NY
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This is my first time purchasing an otterbox, I bought it for the protection and look. Im very happy with my purchase!!
Pros: High quality, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

excellent

Date:January 14, 2012
Location: indianapolis in
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
The only con is that the setup isnt dressy. Looks kinda goofy when wearing a suit and tie however this is the best protection product I've ever purchased hands down. Delivered on time and ultra easy to install. Thanks otteebox!
Pros: High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

From Lemonade to Blacktop, Defender Can Take It!!

Date:January 12, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
First off, I'm a cop who has abused many phones on the streets. When I upgraded to the iPhone 4 (finally an iPhone!), I knew that I had to get a case that could take the punishment that the streets dole out. I went with the Defender. And thankfully so!
I dropped my first Otterbox and phone into a Gatorade cooler of lemonade. The phone worked fine when I pulled it out, but I replaced the Otterbox due to the residue from the lemonade.
A month later, I was arresting a subject and left my phone on top of the car and drove off. It landed in the middle of one of our busiest 5-lane freeways. And stayed there for 2 1/2 hours. When I finally located the phone (Apple's "Find My iPhone" app) in the middle of the road, I witnessed it get run over by a Mack truck. I thought it was a gonner. Nope. Picked it up and the phone showed three missed calls and worked like a charm. Heck, all I had to do was wipe the tire tread marks off the silicone and I was good as new.
I will always go with Otterbox for my personal electronics protection!
Pros: Durable, High quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

great case

Date:January 9, 2012
Location: Boone, NC
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
This case does exactly what you would expect it to do, protect your phone from anything. I felt when I bought my Iphone that it was dumb not to get a case that would prevent the phone from breaking. Everybody I spoke to recommended the Otterbox and I was a little hesitant at first because of the price, but after some deliberation I was convinced that it was more than just a phone case and that I would be investing in an insurance plan. The defender has protected my phone from many scary falls and has provided me with many fun games of "Otterbox" with my friends. By all means buy this case you won't be dissapointed
Pros: Durable, High quality
Cons: a little bulky
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

defender series protects the iphone i have two

Date:January 8, 2012
Location: mississauga
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
but the belt clip hoister is not industrial product needs improvement
Pros: Durable
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Not the best

Date:January 5, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I got this
for my iphone 4 and i went to go charge it in my ihome and it wouldnt fit because the case is to bulky. I love the desgin and procetion but just desnt fit in my ihome.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Best case I have seen to date

Date:January 5, 2012
Location: Toronto, ON
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I picked up this case the day that I got my iPhone and it had left the case all but 2 times in 2 years. I work as a paramedic and love that I can clean it with out damaging the phone. I also love the grip that you have with the phone, never feels like it is going to slip out of your hand. As well there is NO impairment to function and camera, light and everything work flawlessly. Overall the BEST case that I have seen to date. I have recommended it to all of my colleges and they all agree as well.
Pros: Durable, fits well in my hand, good grip, perfect holster
Cons: lip for iphone connection tricky to place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Great but holster breaks too easily

Date:January 4, 2012
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
This product, as other Otter products I've used, provides excellent protection for the phone. The protective covering itself is ironclad. The holster, however, breaks too easily....it's almost as if the plastic is too brittle. I've had two break on me within 8 months and I didn't even drop them. Other than this flaw, the product is fantastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

does what a case is supposed to do

Date:December 29, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
i cracked the screen of my iphone and was able to get it fixed under the condition that i got a protective case for it once it was fixed. i got the otter box and still drop it a ton. nothing has happened to my iphone and for that i loveeeeee it. the designs are really ugly in my opinion (color, etc) and the case makes the phone extremely bulky... but thats what you have to deal with if you want a case that protects well, which this one does
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

2nd time screen has been broken

Date:December 25, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I'm going to have to find a new case. This is the second time my screen has been broken with a Defender Case.
Cons: Not durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

I wish I could understand the enthusiasm

Date:December 17, 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had my Defender Series case for my white iPhone 4 for about a month and a half. I still, even in this case, am very careful to not drop my phone. Just something I am used to practicing. So, while I am sure it offers superb protection, for me the bulk in my pocket almost isn't worth it. The real problems with this case are in the screen protector, this thing is constantly getting dust under even when I know I have cleaned both sides thoroughly to remove all visible dust. The lint and dust around the camera cut out and front facing camera cutout makes for a daily cleaning routine. Now, the biggest problem with the case is the screen protector seems to adhere partially to the actual iPhone screen making these weird spots or "bubbles" and the only way to get rid of that is to take the front of the case off but within minutes of putting it back on there are the "bubbles" again. The height of the sides that roll up around the screen do make it cramped for texting. Lastly the sensor in the phone that tells the screen to go off when its next to my ear, is covered up so therefor when I am on a call the phone screen stays on and I am constantly putting the person on speakerphone or muting the call or switching to my blue tooth that I don't have on and this is all with my ear, very very annoying. Oh one more thing I thought of, when taking a picture with flash there is a white/blue hue over the picture like the cutout might be reflecting the flash in the camera eye or something, I don't know but that is very very annoying as well.
Overall I would say it offers outstanding protection, but at the cost of bulk in your pocket and poor design that makes some of the phones features unusable. Check pics to see what I am talking about with the camera and the flash, also this does not happen when it is out of the case for those who wondered.
Cons: so many things wrong
-3points
9out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Great defender

Date:December 16, 2011
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
I got this case because my son is 1 year old and has a tendency to throw things. I've only had it a couple weeks so I can't really speak for how durable it is, but since putting the case on my phone it won't turn the screen off when I have it to my ear so now it keeps going to FaceTime or worse the mute button keeps getting pushed! It is really annoying!
Pros: High quality, Durable
Cons: flaws in design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
3  /  5
3  /  5

Date:December 8, 2011
Age: Under 18
Gender: female
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
It's a well designed case with good protection. Only thing is that the silicon is made of poor quality.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iPhone 4 Defender Series Case
Overall Rating: 
4  /  5
4  /  5

Overally great product

Date:December 5, 2011
Location: Roswell, NM
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
I work in the oilfield and am insanely paranoid about damaging my iPhone!
I have dropped it in very sandy areas and have not had any dirt get into the phone. It has been dropped a few times and still runs like a champ and the case only has very minor battle scars.
My only complaint about the case is in the design. In order for me to be able to use my iPhone with my satellite radio (skydock) or any other docking radios, I have to remove the case. aside from that down fall the case is great!
My main complaint is that the cases for the iPhone 4 don't have nearly as many color options as the 4S.
Pros: High quality, Durable, dust/dirt protection
Cons: inability to dock without removing case
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>