OtterBox Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At OtterBox
Shop iPhone Cases or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Otterbox iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case

Otterbox iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case

The Defender Series iPhone 4 / 4S case gives you tough protection for your tough lifestyle. It's not just a case, it's an OtterBox.
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(711 Reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (711 reviews)
5 stars
439
4 stars
122
3 stars
46
2 stars
54
1 star
50
578 out of 711(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Review 21 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not so much...

Date:January 5, 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I ripped the rubber piece off the first one; taking it out of the box. Second one ripped as well and the color started changing; gray to red..? Weird! Finally last straw was the clip breaking for the second time.
Will most likely buy cheaper cases if I have to keep buying new ones.
Cons: Low quality
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 22 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Would not recommend

Date:December 14, 2012
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
When I first got my iPhone last year, my friends all told me Otterbox was the best and this was the best protection for my phone. Well, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It started falling apart very quickly and not fitting the phone appropriately, and I had only taken it off and put it back one time! Very disappointed after spending what I think is a considerable amount of money for a phone case
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

would not buy

Date:December 14, 2012
Location: Flat Rock Mi
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This is the 2nd otter box I have owned both of them broke. The belt clip broke on both of them. The case broke on the 2nd one. I had them for just a little over a year when they broke. I would not recommend!!!!
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

poor quality

Date:October 28, 2012
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I like the Defender for my iPhone 4 so much, that I bought a new Defender for my wife's new iPhone 4S. This one is not near the quality as mine, even though it is the same model, just for different models of iPhone. The protective rubber skin is very thin, and feels mushy. The covers for the charging port and headphone jacks won't stay in. And the rubber that is supposed to be tucked into the hard plastic won't stay secured. I am not happy with this new design. I ordered 2 Defenders at the same time for my daughter's 3GS's that are not here yet, and I am kinda worried about the quality I will receive.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Shattered back of phone

Date:October 8, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Dropped iphone from about 3 feet and the back shattered with the Otterbox Defender on it. Very disappointed after hearing so many positive things about the Defender case.
The rubber on the top left has broken from taking the cover off.
Purchased the iphone and the Otterbox case in mid-July...phone shattered 6 weeks later in September and the rubber on the top left broke about a week after that. I take the case off about once - maybe twice - a week to plug it into a speaker.
Bought the Otterbox Defender specifically for protection. Should have saved my money and gotten a cheaper, cuter case.
Cons: Low quality
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 26 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Don't waste you money

Date:September 22, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This case is strong but it does more damage to the phone than a cheap rubber one and the outer rubber shell stretches out in less than a month otter box replaced it once but I have had three of them for my job and I will never buy another otter box again
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, scratches you phone
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 27 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Seams pull apart

Date:August 22, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Seams pull apart worry about iphone protection it is durable but what about seam
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Best purchase ever? not a chance

Date:August 21, 2012
Location: South Carolina
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
Protection: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
This product provides good protection and plenty of aggravation. The rubber piece around the outside does not fit. Pull it out your pocket? Good luck because the rubber won't stay in place. Otterbox got this one wrong.
Cons: rubber piece
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 29 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not worth the money

Date:August 3, 2012
Location: Bradford PA
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had 3 of these cases my first the plastic literally broke apart I got a replacement under warranty and now the replacement does not fit properly the plastic does not lock in correctly and my other case the screen protector is falling of and I will not waste my money on these anymore they are not worth it and break constantly
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 30 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Silicone Cover is the Worst!!!

Date:July 27, 2012
Location: Knightdale, NC
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I purchased my Defender Series case in March 2012. I had to call for a replacement in May. It is July and I now need a new case!!! Here's my issue, the first time around, the thing just was stretched all out of place thus not protecting my phone. In both instances, the flap covering the charging port is always the first to go. The flap stops locking into the hardcover. It's just not a great cover at all!
The reason I rated this 3 stars for protection is, for this thing to have both the hardcover and the silicone coverings, I still have a crack in the back of my phone and the crack happened while in it's case.
Searching now for a different case.
Cons: Not durable
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 31 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Bad silicone

Date:July 19, 2012
Location: Oregon
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
After 3 times removing outer silicone to clean my iPhone the shell stretched, and finally tore making the case unusable. For the cost of the case you should be able to remove the outer shell to clean your phone without causing damage to the case! I tried removing it very carefully due to reading other reviews of this problem, never had this issue on the 3G case. I will not be buying another otterbox case for this phone. I will try another brand. So all in all, too expensive for the short lifespan of this product! I should have listened to the reviews! Completely disappointing!
Pros: good protection, looks nice
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, bad silicone, tears too easy, unremovable, short life span, too expensive for lifespan
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 32 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Love the protection hate the quality

Date:July 18, 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had this case for two months. In terms of protection nothing will beat it but about a mont ago the top left corner of the case broke. This was not a problem because of the 1 year warranty and the otter box's great customer service it took about a week and i got a new one. Then tonight the flap that covers the charger broke when i opened it to charge my iPhone the protection is great but i am seriously considering switching to life proof because this are just as protective and they are waterproof.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 33 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Dissapointed

Date:July 11, 2012
Protection: 
3  /  5
3  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
This case is truly a terrible product. From day one the rubber/silicone does not fit the inner plastic jacket and is constantly falling off. The durability of the built in screen protector is poor at best and objecs frequently become stuck between the cover and the actual screen. The inner jacket has already cracked after only 6 months of easy usage. Additionally many accessory cables and docks will not fit into their ports with the case in place. Overall I am extremely disappointed with this product and will be very hesitant to try any other otterbox products.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable, overpriced
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 34 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Ill fitting

Date:June 25, 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have had this case replaced twice (Defender series for iphone 4S), both times, the bottom charging port cover ripped completely off at about the 2 month mark. The second case they shipped me, the silicone was ill fitting and makes it hard to push the home button, the corner also falls off the hard plastic a lot. I had the Defender series for the 3GS and LOVED it. It never broke, always looked fabulous and was worth every penny. This new case barely does its job. The screen protector does not reach the glass of the iphone case in certain areas making it difficult to use the screen. Customer service is amazing and they send you a replacement fairly quickly, but it is of no use because you will have a case that falls apart every two months.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Have 2 cases and both are horrible on the 4S

Date:June 11, 2012
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
My wife and I both have had the 4S Otterbox Defender's on our iphone 4S's for 6 months and the fit is absolutely horrible. They have even stretched over time and become worse. The flap over the charging port will not stay closed and is even ripping apart on one of the phones. They have had issues since NEW and it has only gotten worse.
I was a BIG FAN of the Defender as I had one on my iphone 3G and it even survived a dunking in water. The current cases on both of our 4S phones will NOT EVEN KEEP OUT DUST, much less water.
We are both adult, casual phone users so these have not been abused or carelessly thrown around.
This generation of cases is POOR QUALITY at PREMIUM PRICING!
The OtterBox folks need to address these issues in quality!
Pros: none in this version
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 36 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Poor Quality

Date:June 7, 2012
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
The outter rubber is of poor quality. I purchased the box in December 2011 and Im looking to upgrade already June 2012. The corners are ripped the rubber has cracked and the flap for the charging port ripped off within the first month. The outer rubber will not stay on the protective box. Poor design I do not recommend.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 37 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Broke my lock button on my iPhone 4

Date:May 21, 2012
Location: Ohio
Age: Under 18
Gender: male
Protection: 
5  /  5
5  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
4  /  5
4  /  5
It protects your phone good and the only problem I have had with it is it pushed in my lock button and now I can't turn off my phone
Pros: Durable
Cons: makes me wanna burn the case
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Bad new design

Date:May 2, 2012
Protection: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
I have the Red AT@T version of the Defender and I do not like the new rubber case. The color red is dull and shows the dirt. The old silcon design was nice and cushy and it did not show the dirt. Plus I have found the screen proctector makes the iPhone colors look washed out dull. It is hard to read text. The hard case does not fit secure in the bottom groves. For what this cost the design should be better and need to go back to a better silcon with bright colors instead of dull looking colors.
Cons: Low quality, Not durable
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Date:April 25, 2012
We bought 2 of this case from AT&T when we upgraded to 4S. Barely a month, the outer silicone covers appeared worn out and torn. They appear as if they have been in use for years. The defects make the case too pricy.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low quality
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 40 for iPhone 4/4S Defender Series Graphics Case
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Keep your money in your pocket!

Date:April 1, 2012
Protection: 
2  /  5
2  /  5
Design: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Quality: 
1  /  5
1  /  5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is the second product I purchased from Otterbox. The first was the Commuter case, I returned it and got the Defender case. BOTH had the same issues... Silicone, silicone, silicone! The silicone became loose within a month and lint and dirt started to collect within the gaps (GROSS!)
The only good thing I can say about Otterbox is their customer service, but no matter how many times they give me a replacement, the problem will always be there. THE SILICONE WILL ALWAYS BECOME LOOSE.
CHECK MY PHOTOS
0points
21out of 42found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>